Russia

Overview

Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych abandoned plans to sign an agreement with the European Union (“the EU”) in November 2013, instead announcing that Ukraine would strengthen ties with Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States. In response, more than half a million Ukrainians took to the streets to protest. The December 2013 announcement of a deal with Russia including $15 billion in loans and gas subsidies generated a fresh wave of protests, which were suppressed by the Ukrainian government. Activists were beaten, kidnapped and tortured. The Russian government encouraged, and supported, these measures. On three occasions, President Yanukovych flew to Russia to coordinate his actions with President Vladimir Putin.

On February 22, the Ukrainian parliament voted to impeach President Yanukovych. That same night, he fled to Russia. On February 27, 2014 in Simferopol, the capital of the Ukrainian province of Crimea, uniformed and heavily armed men seized government buildings and the provincial parliament. They had removed their insignia and were wearing masks, but their uniforms and equipment strongly suggested that they were Russian soldiers. On February 28, 2014, Russian troops occupied Crimea’s airports and other strategic facilities. Ukraine’s interior minister described it as a “military invasion and occupation”. On March 1, 2014, President Putin asked the Russian parliament for approval to send troops to Ukraine, without limiting the request to Crimea only. Parliament granted his request. By March 2, 2014, Russia reportedly had more than 6,000 troops in Crimea. Ukraine appealed for international help. In response, the G7 suspended preparations for the G8 Summit in Sochi, Russia, scheduled for June 2014. Russia has now deployed significant military forces to the Crimea, beyond the scope of its basing arrangements with Ukraine and in clear violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity.

On March 17, 2014, the Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations (“the Regulations”) came into force in order to respond to the gravity of Russia’s violation of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Ukraine.

The Regulations were amended on March 18, 2014 and March 21, 2014 to include additional names.

On April 28, 2014, section 2 of these Regulations was expanded. On May 4, 2014, May 12, 2014 and June 21, 2014, the Regulations were also amended to include additional names.

On July 24, 2014, these Regulations were amended to include additional names.

On August 6, 2014, these Regulations were amended to include additional names.

Sanctions

The Regulations include a list of names of persons for which the Governor in Council considers there are reasonable grounds to believe that they are connected with the Government of Russia, or that they are individuals or entities engaged in activities that directly or indirectly facilitate, support, provide funding for, or contribute to the deployment of Russian armed forces to Crimea in clear violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity. The Regulations provide a review mechanism to remove names from the schedule upon receipt of an application from a designated person.

The Regulations impose an asset freeze on designated persons. They prohibit persons in Canada and Canadians abroad from:

  • dealing in any property held by or on behalf of a designated person, or facilitating or providing financial or other related services in respect of such a dealing;
  • making any goods available to a designated person; and
  • providing any financial or related services to or for the benefit of a designated person.

Causing, assisting or promoting prohibited activities is likewise prohibited. Some exemptions exist, including for the following:

  • payments made by or on behalf of designated persons pursuant to contracts entered to before their designation, provided the payment is not for their benefit;
  • pension payments to any person in Canada or Canadian abroad;
  • certain transactions in respect of diplomatic missions;
  • transactions to UN agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and Canadian NGOs in certain circumstances;
  • transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-designated person any accounts, funds or investments held by a designated person when that person became a designated person;
  • financial services required in order for a designated person to obtain certain legal services in Canada; and
  • payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian abroad in respect of loans entered into prior to March 17, 2014.

The Special Economic Measures (Russia) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Links

If you have any comments, questions or suggestions relating to this page, please e-mail sanctions@international.gc.ca.

Russie

Aperçu

Le président ukrainien Viktor Ianoukovitch a abandonné les plans de signer un accord avec l’Union européenne en novembre 2013, annonçant que l’Ukraine renforcerait les liens avec la Russie et la Communauté des États indépendants. En réponse, plus d’un demi millions d’Ukrainiens sont descendus dans les rues pour protester. La déclaration en décembre 2013 d’un accord avec la Russie dont 15 milliards de dollars en prêts et subventions de gaz a généré une nouvelle vague de protestations, qui ont été supprimés par le gouvernement ukrainien. Les manifestants ont été battu, kidnappé, et torturé. Le gouvernement russe a encouragé et soutenu ces mesures. À trois reprises, le président Ianoukovitch a volé à la Russie pour coordonner ses actions avec le président Vladimir Poutine.

Le 22 février 2014, le Parlement ukrainien a voté de mettre en accusation le président Ianoukovitch. Cette même nuit, il a fui en Russie. Le 27 février 2014, à Simferopol, la capitale de la province ukrainienne de Crimée, des hommes lourdement armés vêtus d'uniformes ont assiégé les édifices du gouvernement et le parlement provincial. Ils avaient retiré leur insigne et portaient des masques, mais leurs uniformes et leur équipement laissaient entendre qu'ils appartenaient à l'armée russe. Le 28 février 2014, les troupes russes ont pris le contrôle des aéroports de Crimée et d'autres installations stratégiques. Des troupes russes supplémentaires sont ensuite arrivées par avion. Selon le ministre de l'Intérieur de l'Ukraine, il s'agissait d'une « invasion armée et d'une occupation ». Le 1er mars 2014, Le président Vladimir Poutine a demandé l'accord du parlement russe pour l'envoi de troupes en Ukraine et pas seulement en Crimée. Le parlement lui a donné le feu vert. Le 2 mars 2014, on a estimé pas moins de 6 000 soldats russes déployés en Crimée. L'Ukraine a lancé un appel à la communauté internationale. En réponse à cet appel, le G-7 a décidé de suspendre les préparatifs du G-8 de Sotchi, prévu en juin 2014. La Russie a maintenant déployé d'importantes forces militaires en Crimée, outrepassant les accords conclus avec l'Ukraine et violant la souveraineté et l'intégrité territoriale du pays.

Le 17 mars 2014, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Russie est entré en vigueur afin de répondre à la gravité de la violation de la souveraineté et de l'intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine par la Russie.

Le Règlement a été modifié le 18 mars 2014 et le 21 mars 2014 afin d’inclure des noms additionnels.

Le 28 avril 2014, l'article 2 du présent règlement est élargi. Le 4 mai 2014, le 12 mai 2014 et le 21 juin 2014 ,le Règlement a été modifié afin d’inclure des noms additionnels.

Le 24 juillet 2014, ces Règlements ont été modifiés afin d’inclure des noms additionnels.

Sanctions

Le Règlement comprend une liste de noms de personnes pour lesquelles le gouverneur en conseil estime qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle soit associée au gouvernement de la Russie, ou qu’elle soit une personne dont les activités facilitent, procurent un soutien ou du financement, ou contribue au déploiement des forces armées russes à la Crimée, en violation clair de la souveraineté et l'intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine. Le Règlement prévoit un mécanisme de révision qui permet de retirer des noms placés à l'annexe suite à une demande d'une personne désignée.

Le Règlement impose un gel des avoirs l’encontre des personnes désignées, en interdisant les activités suivantes pour toute personne au Canada et tout Canadien a l’étranger:

  • Effectuer une opération portant sur un bien détenu par une personne désignée, faciliter une telle opération ou fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes a l’égard d’une telle opération;
  • Mettre des marchandises à la disposition d’une personne désignée ;
  • Fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à toute personne désignée ou pour son bénéfice.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de favoriser la perpétration d’actes interdits. Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • Exécution des paiements faits par ou pour le compte d’une personne désignée en vertu d’un contrat ayant été signe avant que la personne n’ait été désignée ;
  • Les versements de pensions à toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien a l’étranger ;
  • Certaines transactions relatives à une mission diplomatique;
  • Toute transaction relative à une institution des Nations Unies, au Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge, ou aux organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes en certaines circonstances;
  • Toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadian transfère d’une personne désignée a une personne non désignées les comptes, fonds ou investissements existants de Canadiens ;
  • Fournir des services financiers requises pour la prestation de certaines services juridiques ; et
  • Exécution des paiements à une personne au Canada ou un Canadien à l’étranger a l’égard des emprunts contractes avant le 17 mars 2014.

Le Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Russie), pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d'autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l'étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d'opérations qui fait l'objet d'une interdiction ou d'une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens

Pour tout commentaire, question, ou suggestion relatifs à cette page, veuillez nous contacter par couriel à sanctions@international.gc.ca