Somalia

Latest Developments

On June 8, 2012, Canada imposed further sanctions against Somalia under the United Nations Act in response to United Nations Security Council Resolution 2036 (2012). The new measures prohibit the import of charcoal from Somalia and from persons in Somalia, whether or not the charcoal originated in Somalia.

Overview

On January 23, 1992, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 733 (1992) imposing a complete embargo on all deliveries of weapons and military equipment to Somalia in response to the rapid deterioration of the situation in Somalia and the heavy loss of human life and widespread material damage resulting from the conflict in the country. Security Council resolutions 1425 (2002), 1725 (2006), 1744 (2007) and 1772 (2007) subsequently strengthened and created a number of exceptions to the arms embargo. The arms embargo contained in Resolution 733 (1992) and subsequent resolutions was applied in Canada through existing provisions of the Export and Import Permits Act.

On November 20, 2008, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1844 (2008) imposing additional sanctions against Somalia in response to the acts of violence in Somalia and the increase in acts of piracy and armed robbery at sea against vessels off the coast of Somalia. The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Somalia implement the decisions of the Security Council in Canadian domestic law, including the additional sanctions imposed by Resolution 1844 (2008).

Sanctions

The measures imposed against Somalia pursuant to United Nations Security Council resolutions include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Somalia and to persons designated by the Security Council sanctions committee established to oversee the sanctions against Somalia (the “751 Committee”);
  • a prohibition on the provision, to any person in Somalia and to persons designated by the 751 Committee, of technical, financial or other assistance related to military activities or to the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture, maintenance or use of arms and related material;
  • a prohibition on the direct or indirect import of charcoal from Somalia or from a person in Somalia, whether or not the charcoal originated in Somalia;
  • an assets freeze against persons designated by the 751 Committee; and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 751 Committee, ensured under provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:

Links

If you have any comments, questions or suggestions relating to this page, please email: sanctions@international.gc.ca.

Somalie

Développements les plus récents

Le 8 juin 2012, le Canada a imposé des sanctions additionnelles contre la Somalie en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies suite à la résolution 2036 (2012) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Les nouvelles mesures interdisent l’importation de charbon de bois de la Somalie et de personnes s’y trouvant, quelle qu’en soit la provenance.

Aperçu

Le 23 janvier 1992, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 733 (1992) et imposé un embargo général et complet sur toute livraison d’armes et d’équipements militaires en Somalie en réponse à la détérioration rapide de la situation en Somalie et aux lourdes pertes en vies humaines et aux dommages matériels étendus résultant du conflit dans ce pays. Les résolutions 1425 (2002), 1725 (2006), 1744 (2007) et 1772 (2007) ont par la suite réaffirmé l’embargo sur les livraisons d’armes tout en l’assortissant de certaines exceptions. L’embargo sur les armes prévu par la résolution 733 (1992) et par les résolutions subséquentes était alors appliqué au moyen des dispositions existantes de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

Le 20 novembre 2008, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1844 (2008), qui impose des sanctions supplémentaires à la Somalie en réponse aux actes de violence commis dans ce pays et à la récente multiplication des actes de piraterie et des vols à main armée commis contre des navires au large des côtes somaliennes. Le Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Somalie met en œuvre les décisions du Conseil de sécurité en droit canadien, y compris les sanctions additionnelles imposées par le Conseil de sécurité en vertu de la résolution 1844 (2008).

Sanctions

Les mesures imposées contre la Somalie en vertu des résolutions du Conseil de Sécurité des Nations Unies comprennent notamment :

  • l'interdiction d’exporter des armes et du matériel connexe à toute personne en Somalie et aux personnes désignées par le Comité des sanctions du Conseil de sécurité mis sur pied pour superviser les sanctions (le « Comité 751 ») en tant que menace à la paix, la sécurité ou la stabilité de la Somalie;
  • l'interdiction de fournir, à toute personne en Somalie et aux personnes désignées par le Comité 751, de l’aide technique, financière ou autre, liée à des activités militaires ou à la fourniture, à la vente, au transfert, à la fabrication, au maintien ou à l’utilisation d’armes et de matériel connexe;
  • l’interdiction sur l’importation directe ou indirecte de charbon de bois, quelle qu’en soit la provenance, de la Somalie ou de toute personne en Somalie;
  • l'imposition d'un gel des avoirs à l’encontre des personnes désignées par le Comité 751; et
  • l'interdiction de voyager visant les personnes désignées par le Comité 751 assurée au Canada par les dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies :

Liens

Si vous avez des commentaires, des questions ou des suggestions au sujet de cette page, veuillez faire parvenir un courriel à sanctions@international.gc.ca.