On July 30, 2004, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, the United Nations Security Council adopted Resolution 1556 imposing sanctions against Sudan in response to the humanitarian crisis and widespread human rights violations resulting from the conflict in Darfur region. The sanctions regime was subsequently modified and strengthened with the adoption of Resolution 1591 on March 29, 2005.

The United Nations Sudan Regulations implement the decisions of the United Nations Security Council in Canadian domestic law. Implementation of the travel ban imposed by Resolution 1591 (2005) is ensured in Canada under existing provisions of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.


Subject to certain exceptions, the measures imposed against Sudan pursuant to United Nations Security Council resolutions include:

  • a prohibition on the export of arms and related material to any person in Sudan;
  • a prohibition on the provision, to any person in Sudan, of technical assistance related to arms and related material;
  • an assets freeze against those persons designated by the Committee of the Security Council of the United Nations established by Resolution 1591 to oversee the sanctions measures (1591 Committee); and
  • a travel ban against persons designated by the 1591 Committee.

Canada also has certain policy measures in place with regard to Sudan, outside the context of United Nations Security Council decisions. More information on these measures can be found on the Embassy of Canada to Sudan website.

Selected Documents

Regulations made under the United Nations Act:


If you have any comments, questions or suggestions relating to this page, please e-mail