Types of Sanctions

Sanctions imposed by Canada on specific countries, organizations, or individuals vary and can encompass a variety of measures, including restricting or prohibiting trade, financial transactions or other economic activity between Canada and the target state; or the seizure or freezing of property situated in Canada.

For specific information, consult the relevant regulations linked below.

Arms and Related Materials Embargo

An arms embargo aims to prevent weapons and military equipment from leaving or reaching a targeted country. It prohibits exporting and importing arms and related materials to and from the targeted country, and may also prohibit communicating technical data or financial transactions related to military activities.

An arms embargo can be imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA) or the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). An example of an exception that might apply is providing protective or non-lethal military equipment for use by media or human rights personnel.

Canada's sanctions apply an arms and related materials embargo on the following countries:

An embargo on arms and related materials also applies to Terrorist Entities under the United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations.

Asset Freeze

An asset freeze aims to prevent an individual or entity from gaining access to property or other assets it may hold under Canadian jurisdiction. It prohibits persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada from dealing in any property held by, or on behalf of, a person named in the relevant sanctions regulation. It also prohibits facilitating or providing financial services related to such a dealing.

Asset freezes can be imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA), the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA) or the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act. Exceptions may include transactions with UN agencies, Canadian NGOs, or other aid agencies.

Export/Import Restrictions

Export and import restrictions aim to hinder the economy, or specific sectors of the economy, of the targeted country. They typically prohibit buying, selling or shipping identified goods to or from the country; for example, oil and petroleum products or certain telecommunication products.

Export and import restrictions can be imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA) or the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). Exemptions may apply to food; medical supplies; goods used for public health purposes or disaster relief; or goods required under pre-existing contracts. The specific exemptions are listed in the regulations for each set of sanctions.

Export and import restrictions can also be authorised under the Export and Import Permits Act. Notably, exports to any country named in the Area Control List of this act are banned. For more information, please see Export and Import Controls.

Canada's sanctions apply export/import restrictions provisions on the following countries:

Financial Prohibitions

Financial prohibitions prohibit persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada from conducting financial transactions with, or on behalf of or at the direction of, certain listed persons. Equally, they may target specific types of financial transactions with listed individuals or entities.

Financial prohibitions can be imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA), the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA) or the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act. Exceptions may include transactions related to humanitarian aid; transactions required to move financial assets away from designated persons; financial transactions required under pre-existing contracts; and remittances between family members. The specific exemptions are listed in the relevant regulations.

Canada's sanctions apply financial prohibition provisions on the following countries:

Technical Assistance Prohibition

Technical assistance prohibitions aim to prevent a country targetted by an arms embargo or an export ban from obtaining services and information related to the banned products. They typcially prohibit providing technical data, training or other technical assistance. Prohibitions on technical assistance will usually affect dealings with all persons in the targeted country.

Technical assistance prohibitions can be imposed under the United Nations Act (UNA) or the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA). Some exemptions may be listed in the relevant sanctions regulations.

Canada's sanctions apply technical assistance prohibitions provisions on the following countries:

Related Measures

While United Nations ActSpecial Economic Measures Act and the Justice for Victims of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act are the primary laws by which Canada prohibits dealings with foreign countries, individuals or entities, measures authorized under other laws can add further restrictions. Travel restrictions can be imposed under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, exports can be restricted under the Export and Imports Permits Act, criminal measures can be applied to terrorist entities listed under the Criminal Code, and under the Freezing of Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act, Canada may acquiesce to a demand by a country in turmoil to freeze the assets of certain of its government officials or politicians.

Types de sanctions

Les sanctions imposées par le Canada à l'encontre de certains pays, organisations ou personnes varient et peuvent englober bon nombre de mesures, dont la restriction ou l'interdiction du commerce, des transactions financières ou d'autre activité économique entre le Canada et l’État visé, ou encore la saisie ou le gel de biens se trouvant au Canada.

Pour obtenir de l’information précise sur les sanctions qui s’appliquent au pays où vous souhaitez mener des affaires, veuillez consulter la réglementation applicable. Les règlements figurent sur les pages des pays dont l’hyperlien apparait plus bas.

Embargo sur les armes et le matériel connexe

Un embargo sur les armes vise à prévenir l’entrée ou la sortie d’armes ou d’équipement militaire dans le cas d’un pays visé. Il interdit l’exportation et l’importation d’armes et de matériel connexe dans le cas d’un pays visé, et peut aussi interdire la communication de données techniques ou les transactions financières se rapportant à des activités militaires.

Un embargo sur les armes peut être imposé aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Il peut y avoir certaines exceptions, par example dans le cas d’équipement militaire de protection ou non mortel au service des médias ou du personnel voué aux droits de la personne.

Les sanctions canadiennes appliquent de dispositions d'un embargo sur les armes et le matériel connexe à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Un embargo sur les armes et le matériel connexe s'applique aussi à l'encontre des entités terroristes dans le cadre du Règlement d’application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al-Qaïda et le Taliban.

Gel des avoirs

Un gel des avoirs vise à empêcher une personne ou entité d'accéder à des biens ou d’autres actifs qu’elle peut détenir au Canada. Il interdit à toute personne au Canada d’effectuer une transaction portant sur un bien détenu par une personne désignée dans la règlementation applicable ou en son nom. Il interdit également de soutenir ou de fournir des services financiers se rapportant à de telles transactions. Un gel des avoirs ne s’applique qu’aux biens appartenant aux personnes ou entités désignées et s’accompagne souvent d’autres interdictions financières.

Un gel des avoirs peut être imposé aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Il peut y avoir certaines exceptions dans le cas d’opérations avec des organismes des Nations Unies, des ONG canadiennes ou d’autres organismes d’aide.

Les sanctions canadiennes appliquent de dispositions d'un gel des avoirs à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Restrictions à l’exportation et à l’importation

Les restrictions à l’exportation et à l’importation visent à freiner l’économie, ou des secteurs précis de l’économie, du pays visé. Elles interdisent généralement d’acheter, de vendre ou d’expédier des biens désignés en provenance ou en direction du pays visé, par exemple des produits pétroliers ou certains produits de télécommunication.

Les restrictions à l’exportation et à l’importation peuvent être autorisées aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Des exceptions peuvent s’appliquer aux aliments, aux fournitures médicales, aux biens utilisés à des fins de santé publique ou aux biens requis en fonction de contrats préexistants. Celles-ci sont précisées dans les règlements de chaque série de sanctions.

Les restrictions à l’exportation et à l’importation peuvent aussi être imposées aux termes de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation. À noter que les exportations dans tout pays inscrit à la Liste des pays visés de cette loi sont interdites. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Contrôles à l’exportation et l’importation.

Les sanctions canadiennes appliquent de dispositions des restrictions à l’exportation et à l’importation à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Interdictions financières

Les interdictions financières peuvent interdire toute personne dans le pays visé par les sanctions d’effectuer des opérations financières avec des personnes se trouvant au Canada et des Canadiens à l’étranger. De plus, elles ne peuvent s’appliquer qu’à certains types d’opérations financières ou d’opérations financières avec les personnes ou les organisations listées.

Les interdictions financières peuvent être imposées en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Des exceptions peuvent inclure les transactions relatives à l'aide humanitaire, aux opérations requises pour éloigner des actifs financiers de personnes désignées, aux opérations financières requises en fonction de contrats préexistants et à l’envoi de fonds entre les membres d’une famille. Celles-ci sont précisées dans les règlements de chaque série de sanctions.

Les sanctions canadiennes appliquent de dispositions des interdictions financières à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Interdictions en matière d’aide technique

Les interdictions en matière d’aide technique visent à empêcher un pays visé par un embargo sur les armes ou une interdiction d’exportation d’obtenir des services et de l’information se rapportant aux produits proscrits. Elles défendent généralement la prestation de données techniques, de formation ou d’autre forme d’aide technique. Les interdictions en matière d’aide technique auront généralement une incidence sur les transactions effectuées avec toute personne se trouvant dans le pays visé.

Les interdictions en matière d’aide technique peuvent être imposées aux termes de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Certaines exceptions peuvent être listées dans les règlements des sanctions.

Les sanctions canadiennes appliquent de dispositions des interdictions en matière d’aide technique à l'encontre des pays suivants :

Mesures connexes

Bien que la Loi sur les Nations Unies et la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales soient les principales lois aux termes desquelles le Canada interdit les transactions avec des pays étrangers ou des entités étrangères, des mesures autorisées en vertu d’autres lois peuvent entrainer des restrictions additionnelles. Les restrictions de voyage peuvent être imposées aux termes de la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés, les exportations peuvent être limitées aux termes de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation, et de mesures criminels peuvent être appliquées aux entités terroristes inscrites en vertu du Code criminel. Aux termes de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, le Canada peut accepter la demande d’un pays en crise de geler les avoirs de certains de ses politiciens ou représentants gouvernementaux.