Ukraine

Overview

Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych abandoned plans to sign an agreement with the European Union (“the EU”) in November 2013, instead announcing that Ukraine would strengthen ties with Russia and the Commonwealth of Independent States. In response, more than half a million Ukrainians took to the streets to protest. The December 2013 announcement of a deal with Russia including $15 billion in loans and gas subsidies generated a fresh wave of protests, which were suppressed by the Ukrainian government. Activists were beaten, kidnapped and tortured. On February 22, the Ukrainian parliament voted to impeach President Yanukovych. That same night, he fled to Russia.

Since February 27, 2014, Ukrainian provincial-level officials in Crimea, with Russian backing, have taken a series of measures that violate both the Ukrainian constitution and, because of Russian involvement, international law. Heavily armed Russian soldiers have taken control of the Ukrainian province of Crimea, surrounding or seizing direct control of Crimea’s airports, government buildings, provincial legislature and military installations. They have also severed telephone lines within Crimea, set up roadblocks on Crimean roads, and built trenches to sever the Crimean peninsula from the Ukrainian mainland.

With the Crimean provincial legislature under Russian military control, the legislature’s Speaker Volodymyr Konstantynov, announced that legislators had passed a vote of non-confidence in the provincial government of Crimea, and had appointed Serhiy Aksyonov as the new prime minister of Crimea. Aksyonov declared himself in charge of all military, police, air forces, navy and border guards in Crimea, and also announced that a referendum on whether Crimea should separate from Ukraine was being moved forward two months, from May 25, 2014 to March 30, 2014.

The acting president of Ukraine, Oleksandr Turchynov, has decreed that the appointment of Aksyonov as the head of the Crimean government was unconstitutional, and a Ukrainian court has since ordered the arrest of Aksyonov and Konstantynov for "actions aimed at the violent overthrow, change of constitutional order, or the seizure of state power."

On March 5, 2014, the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Ukraine) Regulations took effect to freeze the assets of 18 designated persons.

On March 6, the Crimean Parliament adopted a resolution announcing its unanimous decision to become part of Russia, and moving forward the date of the referendum by another two weeks to March 16, 2014. The Ukrainian Ministry of Justice has declared the referendum illegal, and noted that, according to the Ukrainian constitution, only national referendums are permitted.

On March 17, 2014, the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations (“the SEMA Regulations”) came into force in order to respond to the gravity of the situation in Ukraine. The SEMA Regulations were amended on March 19 2014, April 12 2014, May 12 2014 and June 21, 2014 to include the names of additional designated persons.

On July 11, 2014, these Regulations were amended to include additional names.

On July 24, 2014, these Regulations were amended to include additional names.

Sanctions

The SEMA Regulations include a list of names of persons for which the Governor in Council considers there are reasonable grounds to believe that they are engaged in activities that directly or indirectly facilitate, support, provide funding for, or contribute to the deployment of Russian armed forces to Crimea or to the seizing of control of Ukrainian government and military entities inside Crimea. The SEMA Regulations provide a review mechanism to remove names from the schedule upon receipt of an application from a designated person.

The SEMA Regulations impose an asset freeze on designated persons. They prohibit persons in Canada and Canadians abroad from:

  • dealing in any property held by or on behalf of a designated person, or facilitating or providing financial or other related services in respect of such a dealing;
  • making any goods available to a designated person; and
  • providing any financial or related services to or for the benefit of a designated person.

Causing, assisting or promoting prohibited activities is likewise prohibited. Some exemptions exist, including for the following:

  • payments made by or on behalf of designated persons pursuant to contracts entered to before their designation, provided the payment is not for their benefit;
  • pension payments to any person in Canada or Canadian abroad;
  • certain transactions in respect of diplomatic missions;
  • transactions to UN agencies, the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, and Canadian NGOs in certain circumstances;
  • transactions necessary for a Canadian to transfer to a non-designated person any accounts, funds or investments held by a designated person when that person became a designated person;
  • financial services required in order for a designated person to obtain certain legal services in Canada; and
  • payments to any person in Canada or any Canadian abroad in respect of loans entered into prior to March 17, 2014.

The Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act (SEMA), authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Ukraine SEMA Regulations.

FACFOA Prohibitions

The Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act (FACFOA) permits the Government to freeze the assets or restrain property of politically exposed foreign persons at the written request of a foreign state, where the Governor in Council has determined that the foreign state is in a state of turmoil or political uncertainty, and where the making of an order or regulation is in the interest of international relations.

On March 5, 2014, the Governor in Council made the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Ukraine) Regulations (the "FACFOA Regulations"), pursuant to the FACFOA. These regulations give effect to written requests from Ukraine, which has recently experienced political upheaval, to freeze assets of their former leaders and senior officials or their associates and family members suspected of having misappropriated state funds, or obtained property inappropriately as a result of their office or family, business or personal connections.

Given Canada's support for accountability, rule of law and a transition to democracy in Ukraine, the FACFOA Regulations ensure that misappropriated assets held by officials of the former government can be seized so that politically exposed foreign persons may be held accountable.

The FACFOA Regulations create a freeze of the assets of the politically exposed foreign person listed in the Regulations by prohibiting the following activities by anyone in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada:

  • dealing, directly or indirectly, in any property, wherever situated, of a listed politically exposed foreign person;
  • entering into or facilitating, directly or indirectly, any financial transaction related to a dealing referred to in point (1);
  • providing financial services or other related services in respect of any property of a listed politically exposed foreign person.

The official list of persons whose assets are subject to freezing under the FACFOA Regulations is found in the link to the regulations below.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Announcements related to the Regulations made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Regulations made under the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials Act:

Links

If you have any questions with respect to the Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations, please email sanctions@international.gc.ca. For questions with respect to the Freezing Assets of Corrupt Foreign Officials (Ukraine) Regulations, please email freeze-gel@international.gc.ca.

Ukraine

Aperçu

Le président ukrainien Viktor Ianoukovitch a abandonné les plans de signer un accord avec l’Union européenne en novembre 2013, annonçant que l’Ukraine renforcerait les liens avec la Russie et la Communauté des États indépendants. En réponse, plus d’un demi millions d’Ukrainiens sont descendus dans les rues pour protester. La déclaration en décembre 2013 d’un accord avec la Russie dont 15 milliards de dollars en prêts et subventions de gaz a généré une nouvelle vague de protestations, qui ont été supprimés par le gouvernement ukrainien. Les manifestants ont été battu, kidnappé, et torturé. Le 22 février 2014, le Parlement ukrainien a voté de mettre en accusation le président Ianoukovitch. Cette même nuit, il a fui en Russie.

Du 27 février 2014, les fonctionnaires Ukrainiens de niveau provincial en Crimée, avec le soutien russe, ont pris une série de mesures qui violent à la fois la constitution ukrainienne et, en raison de la participation russe, le droit international. Les troupes russes lourdement armés ont pris le contrôle de la province ukrainienne de Crimée, entourant ou saisissant le contrôle des aéroports, des édifices gouvernementaux, de l’assemblée législative provinciale et des installations militaires.

Avec l’assemblée législative provinciale de Crimée sous contrôle militaire russe, Volodymyr Konstantynov, Président de la législature, a annoncé que les législateurs avaient passé un vote de non-confiance dans le gouvernement provincial de la Crimée, et avait nommé Serhiy Aksyonov le nouveau Premier ministre de la Crimée. Aksyonov s’est déclaré en charge de du militaire, de la police, des forces aériennes, de la marine et des gardes-frontières en Crimée, et a également annoncé qu'un référendum concernant si la Crimée devait se séparer de l'Ukraine a été avancé deux mois, du 25 mai 2014 au 30 mars, 2014.

Le président par intérim de l'Ukraine, Oleksandr Turchynov, a décrété que la nomination d’Aksyonov comme chef du gouvernement de la Crimée était inconstitutionnelle, et un tribunal ukrainien a ordonné l'arrestation de Aksyonov et Konstantynov pour "des actions visant le renversement violent, le changement de l'ordre constitutionnel, ou la prise du pouvoir de l'État."

Le 5 mars 2014, le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Ukraine) a pris effet pour imposer un gel des avoirs l'encontre des 18 personnes désignées.

Le 6 mars, le Parlement de la Crimée a adopté une résolution annonçant sa décision unanime de devenir partie de la Russie, et d’avancer la date du référendum par deux semaines au 16 Mars 2014. Le ministère ukrainien de la Justice a déclaré le référendum illégal, et a noté que, conformément à la Constitution ukrainienne, seuls les référendums nationaux sont autorisés.

Le 17 mars 2014, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine («le Règlement LMES») est entré en vigueur afin de répondre à la gravité de la situation en Ukraine. Le Règlement LMES a été modifié le 19 mars 2014, le 12 avril 2014,  le 12 mai 2014 et le 21 juin 2014 afin d’inclure des noms additionnels des personnes désignées.

Le 11 juillet 2014, ces Règlements ont été modifiés afin d’inclure des noms additionnels.

Sanctions

Le Règlement LMES comprend une liste de noms de personnes pour lesquelles le gouverneur en conseil estime qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle soit associée au gouvernement de l’Ukraine, ou qu’elle soit une personne dont les activités menacent sérieusement la démocratie, le respect des droits de la personne et la primauté du droit à l’Ukraine. Le Règlement LMES prévoit un mécanisme de révision qui permet de retirer des noms placés à l'annexe suite à une demande d'une personne désignée.

Le Règlement impose un gel des avoirs l’encontre des personnes désignées, en interdisant les activités suivantes pour toute personne au Canada et tout Canadien a l’étranger :

  • Effectuer une opération portant sur un bien détenu par une personne désignée, faciliter une telle opération ou fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes a l’égard d’une telle opération;
  • Mettre des marchandises à la disposition d’une personne désignée ;
  • Fournir des services financiers ou des services connexes à toute personne désignée ou pour son bénéfice.

Il est également interdit d’occasionner, de faciliter ou de favoriser la perpétration d’actes interdits. Certaines exceptions sont prévues, dont les suivantes :

  • Exécution des paiements faits par ou pour le compte d’une personne désignée en vertu d’un contrat ayant été signe avant que la personne n’ait été désignée ;
  • Les versements de pensions à toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien a l’étranger ;
  • Certaines transactions relatives à une mission diplomatique;
  • Toute transaction relative à une institution des Nations Unies, au Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge, ou aux organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes en certaines circonstances;
  • Toute transaction nécessaire pour qu’un Canadian transfère d’une personne désignée a une personne non désignées les comptes, fonds ou investissements existants de Canadiens ;
  • Fournir des services financiers requises pour la prestation de certaines services juridiques ; et
  • Exécution des paiements à une personne au Canada ou un Canadien à l’étranger a l’égard des emprunts contractes avant le 17 mars 2014.

Le Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Ukraine),pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d'autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l'étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d'opérations qui fait l'objet d'une interdiction ou d'une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Activités interdites en vertu de FACFOA

La Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus permet au gouvernement de geler les biens ou de restreindre la propriété d'étrangers politiquement vulnérables à la demande écrite d'un État étranger, lorsque le gouverneur en conseil est convaincu que l'État étranger connaît une période de troubles internes ou une situation politique incertaine et quand la prise d'un décret ou d'un règlement est dans l'intérêt des relations internationales.

Le 5 mars 2014, le gouverneur en conseil a pris, en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus, le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Ukraine) («le Règlement FACFOA»). Ce règlement vise à donner suite aux demandes d'aide écrites de l’Ukraine qui vient de connaître un bouleversement politique. Les demandes d'aide cherchent à bloquer les biens d'anciens dirigeants et hauts fonctionnaires ou de leurs associés et membres de leur famille qui sont soupçonnés d'avoir détourné des fonds de l'État ou obtenu des biens de manière inappropriée en profitant de leurs fonctions ou de leurs relations familiales, commerciales ou personnelles.

Compte tenu de l'appui qu'apporte le Canada à la responsabilisation, à la primauté du droit et à la démocratisation dans les deux pays, le Règlement FACFOA fait en sorte qu'il soit possible de saisir les biens détournés par les représentants de l'ancien gouvernement de façon à ce que les étrangers politiquement vulnérables puissent être tenus responsables.

Le Règlement FACFOA prévoit le gel des biens des étrangers politiquement vulnérables visés par le Règlement en interdisant les activités suivantes à toute personne au Canada et à tout Canadien se trouvant à l’étranger:

  • toute opération effectuée, directement ou indirectement, portant sur un bien de tout étranger politiquement vulnérable visé par le Règlement, indépendamment de la situation du bien;
  • le fait de conclure, directement ou indirectement, toute opération financière liée à une opération visée au point 1) ou d’en faciliter, directement ou indirectement, la conclusion;
  • la prestation de services financiers ou des services connexes relativement aux biens de tout étranger politiquement vulnérable visé par le Règlement.

Pour la liste officielle des personnes dont les biens sont soumis au gel, veuillez consulter le Reglement par le lien ci-dessous.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les déclarations se rapportant aux règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus :

Liens

Pour toute question concernant le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l’Ukraine , veuillez nous contacter par couriel à sanctions@international.gc.ca. Pour toute question concernant le Règlement sur le blocage des biens de dirigeants étrangers corrompus (Ukraine), veuillez nous contacter par couriel à freeze-gel@international.gc.ca.