Zimbabwe

Overview

On September 4, 2008, the Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Regulations came into force in order to respond to the gravity of the situation in Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe has been in serious decline for a decade; however, events since March 2008, including a marked escalation in human rights violations and violence directed at the political opposition, a stolen election, the denial of a peaceful democratic transition and a worsening humanitarian situation have taken the crisis to a new level.

Sanctions

Subject to certain exceptions, the measures implemented by the Regulations include:

  • a ban on the export of arms and related material to Zimbabwe or to any person in Zimbabwe;
  • a prohibition on the transport of arms and related material to Zimbabwe aboard a Canadian vessel or aircraft;
  • a prohibition on the provision of technical or financial assistance or services relating to arms and related material, including the provision, transfer or communication of technical data, to Zimbabwe or any person in Zimbabwe;
  • requirement on any person in Canada and Canadian outside of Canada to freeze the assets of listed Zimbabwean persons and entities; and
  • a prohibition on Zimbabwean aircraft from flying over or landing in Canada.

The Regulations include a list of names of persons for which the Governor in Council believes there are reasonable grounds to believe that they are connected with the Government of Zimbabwe or persons or entities engaged in activities that seriously undermine democracy, respect for human rights and the rule of law in Zimbabwe. The Regulations provide a review mechanism to remove names from the schedule upon receipt of a petition from a designated person.

The Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Permit Authorization Order, made pursuant to subsection 4(4) of the Special Economic Measures Act, authorizes the Minister of Foreign Affairs to issue to any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada a permit to carry out a specified activity or transaction, or any class of activity or transaction, that is restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

Selected Documents

Regulations and Orders made under the Special Economic Measures Act:

Links

  • Canada also has certain policy measures in place with regard to Zimbabwe. More information on these measures can be found at the following link: Canada-Zimbabwe Relations.

If you have any comments, questions or suggestions relating to this page, please e-mail sanctions@international.gc.ca.

Zimbabwe

Aperçu

Le 4 septembre 2008, le Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Zimbabwe est entré en vigueur afin de répondre à la gravité de la situation en Zimbabwe. Depuis une décennie, le Zimbabwe connaît un important déclin. Or, cette crise a été aggravée par les événements qui y sont survenus depuis mars 2008, y compris une nette escalade en matière de violations des droits de la personne, des actes de violence dirigés contre les membres de l'opposition politique, des élections frauduleuses, un refus d'opérer une transition démocratique pacifique et une aggravation de la situation humanitaire.

Sanctions

Le Règlement impose les mesures suivantes :

  • l'interdiction d'exporter au Zimbabwe ou à toute personne au Zimbabwe des armes et du matériel connexe;
  • l'interdiction de transporter des armes et du matériel connexe au Zimbabwe à bord d'un navire ou d'un aéronef canadien;
  • l'interdiction pour toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien à l'étranger de fournir de l'aide financière ou technique ou des services liés aux armes et au matériel connexe, y compris la fourniture, le transfert ou la communication de données techniques, au Zimbabwe ou à toute personne au Zimbabwe;
  • l'obligation pour toute personne au Canada ou tout Canadien à l'étranger de geler les avoirs des entités et ressortissants zimbabwéens désignés;
  • l'interdiction aux aéronefs enregistrés au Zimbabwe de survoler le Canada ou d'y atterrir.

Le Règlement comprend une liste de noms de personnes pour lesquelles le gouverneur en conseil estime qu'il existe des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'elle soit associée au gouvernement du Zimbabwe. Le Règlement prévoit un mécanisme de révision qui permet de retirer des noms placés à l'annexe suite à une demande d'une personne désignée.

Le Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Zimbabwe), pris en vertu du paragraphe 4(4) de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, confère au ministre des Affaires étrangères le pouvoir d'autoriser, par permis, toute personne se trouvant au Canada ou tout Canadien se trouvant à l'étranger à procéder à une opération ou catégorie d'opérations qui fait l'objet d'une interdiction ou d'une restriction au titre du Règlement.

Documents sélectionnés

Les règlements et décrets adoptés en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales :

Liens

  • Le Canada a également en place des mesures politiques à l'égard du Zimbabwe. Ces mesures sont décrites sur le lien suivant: Relations Canada-Zimbabwe.

Pour tout commentaire, question, ou suggestion relatifs à cette page, veuillez nous contacter par couriel à sanctions@international.gc.ca.