Canada in Action

  • Latrines and tippy taps help more girls attend school in Ghana

    2015-12-22 - Sixteen-year-old Fusheina Abibatu hopes to become a nurse. She knows that attending school and studying hard will enable her to achieve her goals. As a level two student at Rajia Junior High School (JHS), she is behind students her age in other parts of the country who are already in senior high school. Fusheina explains, “I used to skip school when menstruating because I could soil myself and be mocked by the other students, especially the boys,” Fusheina said.

  • Canada helps improve access to livelihoods and water for communities in northern Ghana

    2015-12-22 - The annual rainy season in northern Ghana runs from March to November. When the rains arrive late, however, there are serious consequences for the incomes and livelihoods of the local peasant farmers and livestock keepers.

  • WASHing practices in Ghana improve family health

    2015-07-03 - For Canada, WASH can refer to its Water, Sanitation and Hygiene in Disaster-Prone Communities project. It also signals Canada’s commitment and understanding about how access to a safe water source greatly improves the health of mothers and children in Ghana and throughout the developing world.

  • Rallying together to end child marriage

    2015-06-12 - Every day, the voices of thousands of girls in the developing world are silenced as they are forced into marriage. The practice of Child, early and forced marriage (CEFM) in Zimbabwe is deep-rooted and widespread, with a staggering 1 in 3 girls married before the age of 18. A key challenge to ending this practice is that laws that set the minimum age for marriage in Zimbabwe are inconsistent and not properly enforced.

  • Child Early and Forced Marriage in Tanzania

    Child Early and Forced Marriage in Tanzania

    2015-05-06 - Canada is giving a platform to a powerful voice calling for an end to child, early, and forced marriage (CEFM) in Tanzania. In Tanzania, it’s estimated that 4 of every 10 women were, or will be married before their 18th birthday, often against their will. Worldwide, an estimated 100 million girls have been forced to marry before the age of 18 in the last decade alone.

  • Connecting Kids despite Conflict

    Connecting Kids despite Conflict

    2015-05-04 - In December 2013, as war abruptly broke out in Juba, the capital of South Sudan, thousands of civilians fled for their lives to United Nations compounds all over the country. Now known as Protection of Civilians sites, or PoCs, these areas still house 113,000 people, and a further 1.4 million are living in more informal shelters across the country.

  • Rock and talk promoting religious freedom in Indonesia

    Rock and talk promoting religious freedom in Indonesia

    2015-05-04 - Cartoon characters, a Canadian rock band and the Embassy of Canada teamed up to promote freedom of religion and discussion between faiths in Indonesia. Respect, diversity and tolerance were the key words on everyone’s minds at Indonesia’s first ‘PeaceTival’ – which Canada was proud to support.

  • The Lost Boy who found his way

    The Lost Boy who found his way

    2015-05-01 - A Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk, written by Nova Scotia author Jan Coates profiles the real-life struggle, endurance and hopes of Jacob Deng. Jacob is one of the Lost Boys of Sudan, displaced by civil war at the early age of seven he embarks on a seemingly endless journey that tests his courage and determination. The exceptional account of Jacob’s journey has won a handful of literary awards, and was nominated as a finalist for Canada’s 2011 Governor General’s Literary Award. Highlighting the work done by a bright young member of the Canadian Sudanese diaspora, the ‘hero’ of The Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk inspires Canadians and South Sudanese alike.

  • Protecting Widows and Orphans in Northwestern Cameroon

    Protecting Widows and Orphans in Northwestern Cameroon

    2015-04-16 - For widowed women in Cameroon’s Northwest Region, losing your husband often also means losing your property rights, your home, land, and sometimes even your children. Although protected by Cameroon’s inheritance laws, widows and their children often find themselves at the mercy of their communities and are treated without regard for their basic human rights.

  • Community initiatives feed school children in Kenya

    Community initiatives feed school children in Kenya

    2015-01-06 - The UN’s World Food Programme (WFP) school meal program in Kenya, as in many African countries, has been well established in communities for decades. Since the 1980s, hundreds of thousands of girls and boys who attend school eat a hot meal at lunch thanks to the WFP and to support from Canada and other countries.

  • Changing Lives

    2014-12-04 - Sergeant Tracey Coghlin of the Ontario Provincial Police and Staff Sergeant Clare Smart of the Calgary Police Service have recently returned to Canada from South Sudan where they spent their vacation helping street girls of Juba at the Confident Children out of Conflict (CCC) orphanage.

  • Canada helps South Sudanese refugees return home as physicians

    2014-12-01 - On a recent visit to the Bor hospital, Canadian Ambassador Nick Coghlan celebrated signs of reconciliation, healing and hope—the fruits of the remarkable bravery of a special group of refugees and years of Canadian support.

  • Canada celebrates 2014 International Day of the Girl Child in Kinshasa

    2014-11-21 - To mark the 2014 International Day of the Girl Child, Canada organized a conference to advocate for improving the status of Congolese girls in collaboration with the Congolese Ministry of Gender, Family Affairs and Children, the UK Department for International Development and UNICEF.

  • Protecting Human Rights by Training Congolese Journalists (July 2014)

    Protecting Human Rights by Training Congolese Journalists (July 2014)

    2014-09-02 - Fifteen journalists from across the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) are freshly equipped to fight against human rights violations, thanks to a two-day workshop organized by the Embassy of Canada, the Gmedia Center and Journaliste en Danger.

  • Canada's expertise in education helps develop skilled workers in Tanzania

    Canada's expertise in education helps develop skilled workers in Tanzania

    2014-08-14 - Education is the foundation for building economies in countries around the world. It is true in Canada, and it is a key driver for economic growth in developing countries such as Tanzania, where the demand for skilled labour remains unmet despite the large number of people seeking jobs.

  • Three reasons to bet on the future of Mali

    Three reasons to bet on the future of Mali

    2014-08-14 - To say that Mali has just lived through an "annus horribilis" is to state the obvious. But it would be a mistake to give up on Mali, which, despite its setbacks, continues to inspire confidence in Canada and among numerous other donors. Let us look back on a few recent accomplishments that speak volumes on Mali's ability to transform itself despite frequent adversity.

  • Registering birth days in Tanzania

    Registering birth days in Tanzania

    2014-08-14 - In December 2013, UNICEF reported that, worldwide, the births of as many as 230 million children were not officially recorded. In July 2013, funded by Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada and supported by the UNICEF Tanzania Country Office, Voluntary Services Overseas and TIGO the Tanzania Registration, Insolvency and Trusteeship Agency (RITA) launched the first mass birth registration campaign.

  • Educating the next generation of leaders in Senegal

    Educating the next generation of leaders in Senegal

    2014-08-14 - At PAH-Unit 7 primary school, about ten kilometres from Dakar, the capital of Senegal, the unfailing commitment of school staff to the pupils' success is matched only by the pupils' active participation in achieving it. With the support of Canada and UNICEF, this school has introduced a new primary-level curriculum.

  • Senegal's market gardening as a means to a secure future

    Senegal's market gardening as a means to a secure future

    2014-08-14 - Through the commitment to Senegal as one of its 20 countries of focus for international development, Canada is improving the ability of small-scale farmers to provide food for their families in addition to building a viable, productive business in the process.

  • Corporate Social Responsibility at the heart of La Francophonie in Kinshasa (July 2014)

    Corporate Social Responsibility at the heart of La Francophonie in Kinshasa

    2014-06-19 - Each year, countries around the world celebrate the French language. In Kinshasa, Canada united this celebration of Francophone legacies and culture with a modern take on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as it relates to resource development in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

  • Canada helps deliver childbirth education in Ethiopia

    Canada helps deliver childbirth education in Ethiopia

    2014-05-28 - In Ethiopia, many women give birth in their homes, especially in rural areas. With some of the highest rates of maternal and child mortality in the world, these home births can put both the mother and the baby at risk.

  • Canada Supports Innovative Child Health Solutions in Africa (April 2014)

    Canada Supports Innovative Child Health Solutions in Africa (April 2014)

    2014-04-22 - Canada is helping to build awareness of innovative approaches to address the three largest causes of child mortality in sub-Saharan Africa: pneumonia, malaria and diarrhea.

  • Canada trains Ghana’s journalists in data journalism and visual storytelling (March 2014)

    Canada trains Ghana’s journalists in data journalism and visual storytelling (March 2014)

    2014-03-18 - One of the challenges of modern journalism is learning how to communicate about data and how to share the stories that live inside the numbers. Canadian volunteers with Journalists for Human Rights (JHR) helped train Ghanaian reporters to produce infographics that make data more compelling and accessible to their readers.

  • Reducing Sexual Violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo (March 2014)

    Reducing Sexual Violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo (March 2014)

    2014-03-18 - For the past several years, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) has endured repeated conflicts characterized by serious human rights violations, particularly in the eastern region of the country. The Embassy of Canada in Kinshasa organized a round-table discussion with non-governmental human rights advocacy organizations with a view to stimulating thinking and creating an open, productive dialogue about the development of human rights in the DRC.

  • Innovative Canada-Ghana Partnership Provides Transformative Neurosurgery Skills (Feb 2014)

    Innovative Canada-Ghana Partnership Provides Transformative Neurosurgery Skills (Feb 2014)

    2014-02-12 - Using a series of webcams and computers, surgeons in Ghana will be trained in the surgical technique used to treat hydrocephalus, Endoscopic Third Ventriculostomy (ETV), by expert neurosurgeons who will be teaching from Toronto Western Hospital in Ontario, Canada. If successful, the team hopes their partnership can continue to grow by expanding the program to teach other techniques and surgical specialties, and to provide remote surgical mentoring in the operating room in Ghana.

Le Canada en action

  • Des latrines et des robinets à bascule permettent à plus de filles d’aller à l’école au Ghana

    2015-12-22 - Fusheina Abibatu a 16 ans et veut devenir infirmière. Elle sait qu’en allant à l’école et en étudiant de façon assidue, elle pourra atteindre son but. Élève de deuxième année à l’école secondaire de premier cycle Rajia, elle accuse du retard par rapport aux élèves de son âge des autres régions du pays, qui fréquentent déjà l’école secondaire de deuxième cycle. « Je n’allais pas à l’école quand j’avais mes règles parce que je me salissais et que les autres élèves, surtout les garçons, se moquaient de moi », explique Fusheina.

  • Le Canada aide des collectivités du nord du Ghana à avoir un meilleur accès à l’eau et ainsi à accroître leurs sources de revenus

    2015-12-22 - Chaque année, de mars à novembre, c’est la saison des pluies dans le nord du Ghana. Toutefois, lorsque la pluie tarde à tomber, les paysans et les éleveurs de la région voient leurs sources de revenus gravement menacées.

  • Améliorer les pratiques d’hygiène au Ghana pour des familles en meilleure santé

    2015-07-03 - Pour le Canada, l’amélioration des pratiques d’hygiène est indissociable du projet Eau, assainissement et hygiène dans les communautés exposées aux catastrophes au nord du Ghana. Ce projet témoigne de l’engagement du Canada dans ce domaine, et il ne fait aucun doute que l’accès à une source d’eau potable améliore grandement la santé des mères et des enfants au Ghana et dans tous les pays en développement.

  • Se rassembler pour mettre fin au mariage d’enfants

    2015-06-12 - Chaque jour, le mariage forcé réduit au silence les voix de milliers de filles dans les pays en voie de développement. La pratique des mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF) est si profondément ancrée et répandue au Zimbabwe, que les filles se retrouvent mariées avant 18 ans dans la proportion stupéfiante de 1 sur 3. Le principal obstacle à l’abolition de cette pratique tient au fait que les lois établissant l’âge minimal du mariage au Zimbabwe sont incohérentes et ne sont pas convenablement appliquées.

  • Les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés en Tanzanie

    Les mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés en Tanzanie

    2015-05-06 - Le Canada offre une tribune aux voix puissantes qui réclament la fin des mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF) en Tanzanie. Dans ce pays, on estime que 4 femmes sur 10 sont ou seront mariées avant leur 18e anniversaire de naissance, et ce, contre leur gré dans la plupart des cas. Au cours des dix dernières années seulement, on estime que 100 millions de jeunes filles dans le monde ont été forcées de se marier avant l'âge de 18 ans.

  • Aider les enfants à garder le contact malgré le conflit

    Aider les enfants à garder le contact malgré le conflit

    2015-05-04 - En décembre 2013, une guerre éclatait abruptement à Juba, la capitale du Soudan du Sud, poussant des milliers de civils à s'enfuir pour sauver leur vie et à s’installer dans des bâtiments des Nations Unies aux quatre coins du pays. Maintenant connues sous le nom de « sites de protection des civils », ou SPC, ces installations abritent encore à ce jour 113 000 personnes, alors que quelque 1,4 million de personnes vivent dans des refuges improvisés un peu partout au pays.

  • Musique rock et discussions en Indonésie pour promouvoir la liberté de religion

    Musique rock et discussions en Indonésie pour promouvoir la liberté de religion

    2015-05-04 - Des personnages de dessins animés, un groupe rock canadien et l’ambassade du Canada ont fait équipe pour promouvoir la liberté de religion et le dialogue interconfessionnel en Indonésie. Les mots clés « respect », « diversité » et « tolérance » étaient sur toutes les lèvres au premier « PeaceTival », un festival que le Canada était fier d’appuyer.

  • L’orphelin qui a trouvé sa voie

    L’orphelin qui a trouvé sa voie

    2015-05-01 - A Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk, roman écrit par l’auteur Jan Coates de la Nouvelle‑Écosse, décrit la lutte authentique, l’endurance et les espoirs de Jacob Deng, qui fait partie des Enfants perdus du Soudan. Déplacé par la guerre civile alors qu’il avait à peine sept ans, il entame un voyage apparemment interminable qui met à l’épreuve son courage et sa détermination. Le récit exceptionnel du périple de Jacob a remporté une poignée de prix littéraires, et a été nommé parmi les finalistes du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général du Canada en 2011. Mettant en relief le travail accompli par un brillant représentant de la diaspora soudanaise au Canada, le héros du roman A Hare in the Elephants Trunk inspire autant les Canadiens que les Soudanais du Sud.

  • Protéger les veuves et les orphelins du Nord-Ouest du Cameroun

    Protéger les veuves et les orphelins du Nord-Ouest du Cameroun

    2015-04-16 - Pour une veuve vivant dans le Nord-Ouest du Cameroun, perdre un mari signifie souvent également perdre ses droits de propriété, sa maison, sa terre et, parfois, même ses enfants. Bien que protégées par les lois successorales du Cameroun, les veuves et leurs enfants se retrouvent souvent à la merci de leur communauté et sont traités sans égard à leurs droits fondamentaux.

  • Des initiatives communautaires pour nourrir les écoliers au Kenya

    Des initiatives communautaires pour nourrir les écoliers au Kenya

    2015-01-06 - Au Kenya, comme dans de nombreux pays d’Afrique, le programme des cantines scolaires offert par le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) des Nations Unies est bien établi dans les collectivités depuis des dizaines d’années. Depuis les années 1980, des centaines de milliers d’écoliers prennent un repas chaud à l’heure du midi grâce au PAM, et au soutien du Canada et d’autres pays.

  • Changer des vies

    2014-12-04 - La sergente Tracey Coghlin de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario et la sergente‑chef du Service de police de Calgary sont récemment rentrées au Canada après avoir passé leurs vacances au Soudan du Sud, où elles ont aidé des filles de la rue à Djouba à l’orphelinat Confident Children out of Conflict (CCC).

  • Le Canada aide des réfugiés sud-soudanais à rentrer chez eux en tant que médecins

    2014-12-01 - Lors d'une visite récente à l'hôpital Bor, l'ambassadeur canadien Nick Coghlan a célébré un témoignage de réconciliation, de guérison et d'espoir, l'aboutissement du courage remarquable d'un groupe de réfugiés hors du commun et d'années de soutien de la part du Canada.

  • Le Canada célèbre la journée internationale de fille 2014 à Kinshasa

    2014-11-21 - A l’occasion de la Journée Internationale de la fille 2014, le Canada a organisé une conférence de plaidoyer pour l’amélioration de la situation de la fille congolaise. L’activité organisée en collaboration avec le Ministère congolais du Genre de la Famille et de l’Enfant, la Coopération britannique et l’UNICEF.

  • Protéger les droits de la personne en formant des journalistes congolais (juillet 2014)

    Protéger les droits de la personne en formant des journalistes congolais (juillet 2014)

    2014-09-02 - Grâce à un atelier de deux jours organisé par l’ambassade du Canada, le Gmedia Center et Journaliste en Danger, 15 journalistes de toute la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) ont de nouveaux outils pour lutter contre les violations des droits de la personne.

  • Le savoir-faire du Canada en matière d'éducation aide à former des travailleurs spécialisés en Tanzanie

    Le savoir-faire du Canada en matière d'éducation aide à former des travailleurs spécialisés en Tanzanie

    2014-08-14 - L'éducation est la pierre angulaire sur laquelle se pose l'économie de tous les pays du monde, et c'est le cas au Canada. L'éducation est également un moteur essentiel de la croissance économique dans les pays en développement comme la Tanzanie, où la demande de travailleurs spécialisés demeure insatisfaite malgré le grand nombre de chercheurs d'emploi.

  • Trois raisons de miser sur l'avenir du Mali

    Trois raisons de miser sur l'avenir du Mali

    2014-08-14 - Affirmer que le Mali vient de connaître une annus horribilis relève de l'évidence. On aurait tort toutefois de renoncer à aider ce pays d'Afrique de l'Ouest qui, malgré ses revers de fortune, continue d'inspirer confiance au Canada et à de nombreux autres donateurs. Faisons un retour sur quelques réalisations récentes qui en disent long sur la capacité du Mali de se transformer, et ce, souvent dans l'adversité.

  • L'enregistrement des naissances en Tanzanie

    L'enregistrement des naissances en Tanzanie

    2014-08-14 - En décembre 2013, l'UNICEF a révélé qu'à l'échelle mondiale, jusqu'à 230 millions de naissances d'enfants n'avaient pas été enregistrées officiellement. En juillet 2013, financée par Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada et aidée par le bureau national de l'UNICEF en Tanzanie, l'organisme Voluntary Services Overseas et l'entreprise TIGO, l'Agence d'enregistrement, d'insolvabilité et de tutelle ( Registration, Insolvency and Trusteeship Agency ― RITA ) de la Tanzanie a lancé la première campagne intensive d'enregistrement des naissances.

  • Instruire les chefs de file de la prochaine génération au Sénégal

    Instruire les chefs de file de la prochaine génération au Sénégal

    2014-08-14 - À l'école primaire PAH-unité 7, située à une dizaine de kilomètres de Dakar, la capitale du Sénégal, l'engagement sans faille du personnel scolaire en ce qui a trait au succès des élèves ne trouve de comparaison que dans la participation active de ces derniers à leur réussite. Avec le soutien du Canada et de l'UNICEF, l'école a mis en place un nouveau programme d'enseignement primaire.

  • La production maraîchère au Sénégal : un moyen de garantir un avenir sûr

    La production maraîchère au Sénégal : un moyen de garantir un avenir sûr

    2014-08-14 - Par son engagement à l'égard du Sénégal, l'un des 20 pays ciblés par l'aide au développement international qu'il offre, le Canada améliore la capacité des petits exploitants agricoles à nourrir leur famille en plus de bâtir une entreprise productive et viable en cours de route.

  • La responsabilité sociale des entreprises au cœur de la Francophonie à Kinshasa (juillet 2014)

    La responsabilité sociale des entreprises au cœur de la Francophonie à Kinshasa (juillet 2014)

    2014-06-19 - Chaque année, des pays du monde entier rendent hommage à la langue française. Lors de la célébration de ce patrimoine et de cette culture francophones à Kinshasa, le Canada a introduit le concept contemporain de la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE) qui est étroitement lié au développement des ressources en République démocratique du Congo.

  • Le Canada contribue à offrir de l’éducation périnatale en Éthiopie

    Le Canada contribue à offrir de l’éducation périnatale en Éthiopie

    2014-05-28 - En Éthiopie, dans les régions rurales surtout, de nombreuses femmes accouchent à la maison. Mais ce type d’accouchement, dont le taux de mortalité maternelle et infantile figure parmi les plus élevés du monde, comporte des risques tant pour la mère que pour le nourrisson.

  • Le Canada en faveur de solutions novatrices en santé infantile en Afrique

    Le Canada en faveur de solutions novatrices en santé infantile en Afrique

    2014-04-22 - Le Canada contribue à mettre en lumière des moyens innovateurs pour endiguer les trois principales causes de mortalité infantile en Afrique subsaharienne : la pneumonie, la malaria et la diarrhée.

  • Le Canada forme des Ghanéens en journalisme de données et en narration visuelle (mars 2014)

    Le Canada forme des Ghanéens en journalisme de données et en narration visuelle (mars 2014)

    2014-03-18 - Une des difficultés du journalisme moderne est de savoir exprimer et interpréter des données. Des bénévoles canadiens de Journalistes pour les droits humains (JDH) ont enseigné à des journalistes ghanéens comment créer des infographies rendant les données plus attrayantes et plus accessibles pour le lecteur.

  • Réduire la violence sexuelle en République démocratique du Congo (mars 2014)

    Réduire la violence sexuelle en République démocratique du Congo (mars 2014)

    2014-03-18 - Depuis plusieurs années, la République démocratique du Congo (RDC) est touchée par des conflits incessants, marqués par de graves violations des droits de la personne, surtout dans l’est du pays. L’Ambassade du Canada à Kinshasa a organisé une table ronde avec des organismes non gouvernementaux de défense des droits de la personne, dans le but de stimuler la réflexion et d’engager un dialogue ouvert et fructueux sur le développement des droits de la personne en RDC.

  • Transmission de compétences en neurochirurgie grâce à un partenariat innovateur (février 2014)

    Transmission de compétences en neurochirurgie grâce à un partenariat innovateur (février 2014)

    2014-02-02 - À l’aide de caméras Web et d’ordinateurs, des neurochirurgiens spécialisés du Toronto Western Hospital, en Ontario, enseigneront à des collègues du Ghana une technique chirurgicale appelée ventriculo-stomie endoscopique du troisième ventricule (VETV), qui est utilisée pour le traitement des hydrocéphalies. Si l’expérience s’avère concluante, l’équipe espère poursuivre ce partenariat et enseigner d’autres techniques ou spécialités à distance, ainsi qu’offrir des services de mentorat aux chirurgiens ghanéens, directement dans les salles d’opération.