The Canadian Police Arrangement

RCMP training police in Afghanistan.

The goal of the Canadian Police Arrangement is to support the Government of Canada in its commitment to build a more secure world through Canadian participation in international peace and peacekeeping operations. These efforts are critical to longer-term security system reform and conflict prevention.  More than than 2,800 police officers have been deployed to 52 peacekeeping missions in 28 countries around the world since 1989.

The Canadian Police Arrangement is a partnership between the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Public Safety Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), which facilitates the deployment of police officers and police expertise following a request for police assistance from the  United Nations (UN), European Union (EU) and individual governments.

The Canadian Police Arrangement enhances the federal government’s ability to provide:

  • Response to International Crises: The Canadian Police Arrangement mechanism strengthens the Government of Canada’s ability to plan, develop, and carry out timely action in response to international crises.

  • Capacity Building: The Canadian Police Arrangement enhances an international capacity to promote comprehensive and sustainable rule of law through the re-establishment of effective public institutions such as law enforcement and judicial systems.

  • Training and Mentoring: In states where capacities for police services are limited or non-existent, there is a need to deliver police expertise, training and advice. The Canadian Police Arrangement provides training, mentoring and police expertise to meet these needs which helps local police forces in carrying out their policing responsibilities in accordance with democratic principles and international human rights conventions.

  • Safety and Security: Through the Canadian Police Arrangement, Canada helps to rebuild and strengthen police services in fragile and conflict affected countries. This is accomplished by supporting and strengthening the national and local police forces’ capacity to maintain law and order and contribute to a safe and stable environment.

Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada

GRC entraîne la police en Afghanistan.

L’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada a pour objet de soutenir les engagements du gouvernement du Canada à construire un monde plus sécuritaire, et ce, par la participation canadienne aux opérations de paix et de maintien de la paix à l’échelle internationale. Ces efforts sont essentiels aux réformes des systèmes de sécurité et à la prévention de conflits à long terme. Depuis 1989, plus de 2 800 agents de police ont été déployés dans le cadre de 52 missions de maintien de la paix dans 28 pays.

L’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada est le fruit d'un partenariat entre Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI), l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), Sécurité publique Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Il facilite le déploiement d'agents et de spécialistes de police pour répondre aux demandes d'aide adressées aux corps policiers par les Nations Unies (ONU), l’Union européenne (UE) et d'autres gouvernements nationaux.

L’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada fournit au gouvernement fédéral les moyens d’intervenir dans les domaines suivants :

  • Intervention en cas de crise internationale : Renforcer la capacité du gouvernement du Canada à planifier, à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre des interventions rapides en cas de crise internationale.

  • Renforcement des capacités : Accroître, à l’échelle mondiale, la capacité de promouvoir de manière durable et globale la primauté du droit en rétablissant des institutions publiques utiles comme les systèmes judiciaires et les groupes chargés du maintien de l’ordre.

  • Formation et encadrement : Dans les États où les capacités des services de police sont limités ou inexistants, il faut fournir aux agents de l’expertise, de la formation et des conseils. L’Arrangement sur la police civile au Canada offre de la formation, de l’encadrement et de l’expertise pour répondre à ces besoins et aider les forces policières locales à s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités conformément aux principes démocratiques et aux conventions internationales sur les droits de la personne.

  • Sûreté et sécurité : Contribuer à la reconstruction et au renforcement des services de police dans les États fragiles ou touchés par un conflit en soutenant et en renforçant les capacités des forces policières locales et nationales à maintenir l’ordre et à appliquer la loi et en contribuant à instaurer un climat de sécurité et de stabilité.