Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

Global Opportunities

Strengthening Canada’s International Commercial Network

The Government of Canada’s international commercial network – the Trade Commissioner Service – currently encompasses over 900 Canadian Trade Commissioners active in over 150 cities worldwide, including 17 regional offices across Canada.

Working side-by-side with Canadian diplomats, officials from some 22 federal departments and agencies, commercial partners like Export Development Canada and the Canadian Commercial Corporation, as well as with provincial and territorial counterparts and other stakeholders, Canadian Trade Commissioners provide thousands of Canadian clients each year with information, advice and support that helps them advance their international commercial strategies.

In the face of rising complexity and competition, the Government of Canada recognizes that Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service needs to be expanded and strengthened in key markets that are aligned with Canadian business interests.

This is essential as Canada’s international presence is small in comparison with other nations like the U.S., the U.K., Germany, France, Japan and Australia, all of whom continue to expand efforts to support their companies.

It is also necessary to meet rising demand from Canadian companies for increasingly sophisticated support in accessing global value chain opportunities, establishing operations abroad, connecting with global innovation networks, finding potential joint venture partners, licensing technologies and attracting talent and capital.

  • Increasing the footprint of the Trade Commissioner Service in key centres around the world:

    The Government is expanding resources in a number of key locations abroad and opening offices in a number of new markets. In China, for example, new offices will be opened in Chengdu, Nanjing, Qingdao, Shenyang, Shenzhen and Wuhan.

    In India, Canada is expanding its presence to include Hyderabad, Kolkata and Ahmadabad.

    The Government is also establishing new trade missions in Ulaanbaatar (Mongolia), Porto Alegre and Recife (Brazil) and Tijuana and Villahermosa (Mexico).

  • Strengthening the Canada-based Trade Commissioner Service:

    Canada-based Trade Commissioners are often the first point of contact for many Canadian businesses seeking to broaden their international trade and investment interests.

    They also act as an essential link to Canada’s network abroad.

    The Government is expanding the Canada-based network by increasing resources in existing locations across Canada.

Across Canada and around the world, the Trade Commissioner Service is also re-aligning its services to better meet Canadian companies’ broader range of needs in today’s highly integrated global economy.

Trade Commissioners are being trained to enhance their capacity to support Canadian investment abroad.

They are also being equipped with new tools to promote Canada as a destination for foreign investment and enterprise.

Trade Commissioners are increasingly tailoring their efforts and services to the specific opportunities and challenges of the market in which they are operating.

In some markets, for example, Trade Commissioners are sharply focused on highlighting Canada as an investment destination and/or supporting Canadian business investors active in that market.

In others, the greatest focus is on supporting innovation and technology partnerships.

In still other markets, Trade Commissioners may be actively supporting trade negotiations or focusing on more traditional export promotion activities.

Of course, as services are driven by Canadian business needs, Trade Commisisoners around the world are engaged in all of these activities to some degree or another.

Thanks to greater information sharing and collaboration with key partners like Export Development Canada, the Canadian Commercial Corporation, the provinces and various industry stakeholders, Trade Commissioners are able to ensure that their efforts are consolidated and maximized on behalf of Canadian companies, as they confront the challenges and opportunities presented by today's integrated global economy.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

Débouchés mondiaux

Renforcer le réseau commercial du Canada dans le monde

Le réseau commercial international du gouvernement du Canada – c’est-à-dire le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada – compte actuellement plus de 900 délégués commerciaux, situés dans plus de 150 villes à travers le monde et 17 bureaux régionaux au Canada.

En collaborant de très près avec des diplomates canadiens, avec des hauts dirigeants de quelque 22 ministères et agences gouvernementales, avec des partenaires comme Exportation et développement Canada et la Corporation commerciale canadienne ainsi qu’avec leurs homologues provinciaux et territoriaux et avec d’autres intervenants, les délégués commerciaux du Canada offrent à des milliers de clients canadiens chaque année l’information, les conseils et le soutien qui aident ceux-ci à mettre en oeuvre leurs stratégies commerciales à l’étranger.

Comme le marché international se fait de plus en plus complexe et concurrentiel, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu’il doit étendre et renforcer son Service des délégués commerciaux sur les principaux marchés qui correspondent aux intérêts des entreprises canadiennes.

Cela est d’autant plus important que la présence du Canada dans le monde est modeste comparativement à celle d’autres nations telles que les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l’Allemagne, la France, le Japon et l’Australie, qui s’efforcent continuellement d’étendre leurs activités pour appuyer leurs entreprises.

Le gouvernement doit aussi répondre à la demande croissante de soutien toujours plus complexe que réclament les entreprises canadiennes pour saisir les débouchés qui existent au sein des chaînes de valeur mondiales, pour établir des bases d’exploitation à l’étranger, pour se joindre à des réseaux d’innovation internationaux, pour trouver des associés potentiels, pour faire agréer leurs technologies et pour attirer des talents et des capitaux.

  • Accroître la présence du Service des délégués commerciaux dans les grands centres du monde :

    Le gouvernement augmente ses ressources dans plusieurs endroits stratégiques et ouvre des bureaux dans de nouveaux marchés en expansion.

    Par exemple, en Chine, des bureaux ouvriront à Chengdu, Nankin, Qingdao, Shenyang, Shenzhen et Wuhan.

    En Inde, le Canada étend sa présence à Hyderabad, à Kolkatta et à Ahmadabad.

    Le gouvernement établira aussi une présence canadienne à Oulan-Bator (Mongolie), à Porto Alegre et Recife (Brésil), et à Tijuana et Villahermosa (Mexique).

  • Renforcer le Service des délégués commerciaux au Canada :

    Les délégués commerciaux basés au Canada sont souvent les premiers auxquels s’adressent les entreprises canadiennes qui cherchent à élargir leurs activités commerciales et leurs investissements dans le monde.

    Ils assurent aussi un lien essentiel avec le réseau du Canada à l’étranger.

    Le gouvernement étend son réseau intérieur en augmentant les ressources dans tous ses bureaux régionaux.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux réoriente aussi les services qu’il offre au Canada et à l’étranger afin de mieux répondre aux besoins toujours plus variés des entreprises canadiennes qui doivent faire face à une économie mondiale de plus en plus intégrée.

Nous formons nos délégués commerciaux de façon à ce qu’ils acquièrent les compétences nécessaires pour appuyer les investissements canadiens à l’étranger.

Nous mettons aussi à leur disposition de nouveaux instruments leur permettant de promouvoir le Canada comme une excellente destination pour les investissements et les entreprises. Les délégués commerciaux adaptent de plus en plus leurs activités et leurs services en fonction des débouchés et des défis particuliers que présentent les marchés qu’ils servent.

Ainsi, dans certains marchés, les délégués commerciaux visent avant tout à présenter le Canada comme une destination d’investissement et/ou à soutenir les investisseurs canadiens déjà présents sur place.

À d’autres endroits, les délégués commerciaux se penchent surtout sur le soutien aux partenariats en matière d’innovation et de technologie.

Ailleurs encore, ils appuient activement les négociations commerciales ou mènent des activités plus traditionnelles de promotion des exportations.

Bien entendu, comme les services auxquels ils se consacrent dépendent des besoins des entreprises canadiennes, les délégués commerciaux qui travaillent partout dans le monde mènent toutes ces activités avec plus ou moins d’intensité.

Grâce à l’échange d’information et à la collaboration de partenaires clés comme Exportation et développement Canada et la Corporation commerciale canadienne ainsi que de leurs homologues provinciaux et territoriaux, et d’autres intervenants, les délégués commerciaux du Canada peuvent assurer aux entreprises canadiennes des services regroupés et optimaux pour les aider à affronter les défis de l'économie mondiale intégrée ainsi qu’à profiter des occasions qui découlent de ce dernier.