Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

United States of America

PDF (2.31 MB)Footnote * | Market Reports

Washington, D.C.

The United States  remains the largest and wealthiest economy in the world. U.S. consumer demand for goods and services is considerable, even in light of recent economic downturn. The American manufacturing sector is one the world’s largest and its demand for high-quality manufacturing inputs is also strong. The U.S. is one of the world leaders in science and technology, accounting for one third of global research and development spending among OECD members (OECD 2010, Main S&T indicators, vol. 2010/11). It represents the primary source of foreign direct investment (FDI) in Canada. U.S. innovation networks have long drawn on this vast pool of capital to build an unparalleled track record in the commercialization of new ideas. Given the many global enterprises with a U.S. presence, the U.S. market provides Canadian companies with excellent access to global value chains. As other countries continue to deepen their trade links with the U.S., the competitive advantage Canada has enjoyed as a partner in the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) will erode. At the same time, U.S. concerns about border security, product safety, the recent economic downturn as well as currency fluctuation have created uncertainties in the U.S. market. Due to the size, dynamism and proximity of the U.S. market, our southern neighbour will remain Canada’s most important economic partner and largest source of commercial opportunity.

Commercial Relations, 2009

  • Canada’s bilateral goods and services trade with the U.S. was $592.8 billion.
  • Canadian goods and services exports to the U.S. were $306.6 billion, while imports were $286.2 billion
  • Canada’s exports of goods and services to the U.S. are equivalent to 20 percent of our gross domestic product (GDP).
  • The U.S. receives 70.2 percent of Canadian goods and services, and 61.7 percent of Canada’s goods and services imports come from the U.S
  • About 28.7 percent of Canada-U.S. trade is now said to be “intra-firm” trade with inputs and outputs crossing the border multiple times during production cycles.
  • The U.S. is the largest foreign investor in Canada and the most popular destination for Canadian investment abroad. In 2009, the stock of American direct investment in Canada was close to $288.3 billion, while Canadian direct investment holdings in the U.S. reached $261.3 billion.

Market Opportunities

The Government of Canada has identified the U.S. as a GCS priority market—based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives—and has developed a comprehensive Market Plan that identifies the following sectors as offering clear market opportunities well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests in the country:

  • Aerospace and Defence: The U.S. is the single largest market for Canadian aerospace and defence companies, accounting for 59 percent of the sector’s exports in 2009.
  • Agriculture, Food and Beverages: Canada is the largest exporter of food products to the U.S., many of which are processed and sold through supply chains that span the globe.
  • Bio-Industries: With the largest health care market in the world, deep pools of investment capital and a strong record in the commercialization of research and development, the U.S. is the number one market for Canadian life science companies.
  • Clean-technologies: Encompassing environmental industries and renewable energy, the U.S. offers significant growth and innovation potential for Canadian companies.
  • Green Building: The green building market require Canadian companies able to differentiate their product offering. Demand for green and energy efficient technologies covers the construction of new houses, the retrofitting of buildings and more stringent building codes.
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT): In the first Quarter of 2010, 63 percent of Canadian ICT goods were exported to the United States, according to Industry Canada. The key priority ITC sub-sectors for Canada in the U.S. include digital media, wireless, and health IT.

Canada-U.S. Commercial Relations, 2005-2009

Text Alternative: Canada-U.S. Commercial Relations
Canada-U.S. Commercial Relations, 2005-2009
 Canadian Merchandise ExportsCanadian Merchandise ImportsCanadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA)Foreign Direct Investment in Canada (FDI)
2009$270,129,000,000$18,615,000,000$261,326,000,000$288,287,000,000
2008$375,480,000,000$227,285,000,000$297,712,000,000$283,494,000,000
2007$359,135,000,000$220,903,000,000$226,453,000,000$283,494,000,000
2006$359,135,000,000$220,903,000,000$226,453,000,000$265,096,000,000
2005$365,741,000,000$215,155,000,000$202,398,000,000$251,477,000,000

Government Leadership and Support

Canada’s most important trade policy instrument with the U.S. is the NAFTA, which has revolutionized continental trade and investment and helped unlock our region’s economic potential. The Government of Canada is committed to leveraging the NAFTA to further strengthen our nation’s regional linkages, including addressing outstanding issues such as regulatory differences, border requirements and national procurement preferences (e.g. Buy American) in sectors that have a high degree of business integration and commonality of interests and where there is clear potential for improvement. Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service—which was expanded in 2003 and now comprises 22 Consulates General, Consulates and Trade Offices located in major commercial centres across the country—will continue to provide Canadian businesses with the information, advice and support they need to advance their U.S. commercial interests, with increasing emphasis on cultivating foreign investment and technology commercialisation partnership opportunities for Canadian firms to integrate into U.S.-led and other global value chains.

Market Access

Canada has a number of bilateral trade and investment policy instruments in place that are helping to facilitate and support Canadian commercial engagement in the country:

1984

  • Canada-U.S. Convention with respect to Taxes on Income & Capital (updated in 2008)

1989

  • Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement

1994

  • North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

2007

  • Canada-U.S. Air Transport Agreement

2010

  • Canada-U.S. Government Procurement

Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars. All data based on latest available national statistics drawn from a variety of sources, including Statistics Canada, Export Development Canada, Bank of Canada, IMF WEO and UNCTAD.

For further information, visit the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada website or contact the Trade Commissioner Service at 1-888-306-9991.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Fast Facts

  • Capital: Washington, D.C.
  • Total Area: 9,629,091 km²
  • Population: 307 million
  • Language(s): English, Spanish
  • Type of Government: Constitution-based federal republic
  • GDP: $16.1 trillion
  • GDP per capita: $52,519
  • Share of Global Economy: 24.4%
  • Total Trade/GDP: 21.0%
  • Main Export Destinations: Canada, Mexico, China, Japan and the United Kingdom
  • Main Import Sources: China, Canada, Mexico, Japan and Germany
  • Main Exports: Machinery, Electrical and electronic equipment, Aerospace products, Motor vehicles, Scientific and precision instruments
  • Main Imports: Mineral fuels and oils, Electrical and electronic equipment, Machinery, Motor vehicles, Pharmaceutical products
  • Main Canadian Exports (billions): Mineral oil, fuel ($75.3), Motor vehicles ($36.4), Machinery ($20.2), Electrical and electronic equipment ($11.5), Paper and paperboard ($9.1)
  • Main Canadian Imports (billions): Motor vehicles ($32.4), Machinery ($28.5), Electrical and electronic equipment ($13.2), Mineral fuels and oils ($10.7), Plastic ($9.3)
  • Currency: C$1=0.88 American dollars (US)

The Canada Trade Commissioner Service

U.S. Midwest

U.S. Northeast

U.S. Northwest

U.S. South Central

U.S. Southeast

U.S. Southwest

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

Les États-Unis d’Amérique

PDF (2,4 Mo)Note de bas de page * | Études de marchés

Washington, D.C.

L’économie des États-Unis demeure la plus riche et la plus vaste du monde. La demande de biens et de services des consommateurs y est considérable, même à la suite du récent ralentissement économique. Le secteur de la fabrication américain se classe parmi les plus importants du monde, et la demande d’intrants manufacturiers de haute qualité est également forte. Les États-Unis constituent l’un des chefs de file mondiaux en matière de sciences et de technologies; en effet, le tiers de toutes les dépenses en recherche et développement des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) sont attribuables à ce pays (OCDE 2010, Principaux indicateurs de la science et de la technologie, édition 2010-2011) Par ailleurs, les États-Unis représentent également la principale source de l’investissement étranger direct (IED) au Canada. Les réseaux d’innovation américains ont depuis longtemps tiré profit des volumes considérables de capitaux pour établir une feuille de route inégalée au chapitre de la commercialisation de nouvelles idées. Compte tenu du nombre important d’entreprises mondiales présentes aux États-Unis, le marché américain offre aux entreprises canadiennes un accès privilégié aux chaînes de valeur mondiales. Alors que d’autres pays continuent de renforcer leurs liens commerciaux avec les États-Unis, l’avantage concurrentiel dont bénéficie le Canada en sa qualité de partenaire dans le cadre de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) diminuera. Parallèlement, les préoccupations des États-Unis à l’égard de la sécurité frontalière, de la sûreté des produits, du récent ralentissement économique et de la fluctuation des taux de change ont engendré des incertitudes dans le marché américain. En raison de la taille, du dynamisme et de la proximité de ce marché, le voisin du sud du Canada restera son plus important partenaire économique et sa plus grande source de débouchés commerciaux.

Les relations commerciales en 2009

  • Les échanges bilatéraux de biens et de services du Canada avec les États-Unis se sont élevés à 592,8 milliards de dollars.
  • Les exportations canadiennes de biens et de services vers les États-Unis ont atteint 306,6 milliards de dollars, tandis que les importations canadiennes en provenance des États-Unis ont totalisé 286,2 milliards de dollars.
  • Les exportations canadiennes de biens et de services vers les États-Unis représentent 20 pour cent du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada.
  • Au total, 70,2 pour cent des exportations canadiennes de biens et de services sont destinées aux États-Unis; 61,7 pour cent des importations canadiennes de biens et de services proviennent des États-Unis.
  • Environ 28,7 pour cent des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et les États-Unis sont maintenant sous forme d’échanges « intra-entreprises », c’est-à-dire que les intrants et les extrants franchissent la frontière à maintes reprises durant les cycles de production.
  • Les États-Unis sont le plus grand investisseur étranger au Canada et la principale destination de l’investissement canadien à l’étranger. En 2009, l’investissement direct des États-Unis au Canada s’est élevé à près de 288,3 milliards de dollars, tandis que l’investissement direct du Canada aux États-Unis a atteint une valeur de 261,3 milliards de dollars.

Les débouchés

Le gouvernement du Canada considère les États-Unis comme un marché prioritaire dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale – choix qui fait suite à de vastes consultations avec des représentants gouvernementaux, du milieu des affaires et de l’industrie ainsi que des universitaires. Il a élaboré à cet égard un plan de développement du marché exhaustif, qui cible les secteurs clés où s’offrent clairement des débouchés, compatibles avec les capacités du Canada et ses intérêts par rapport à ce marché. Ces secteurs prioritaires sont :

  • Aérospatiale et défense : Les États-Unis constituent le plus grand marché pour les entreprises canadiennes de l’aérospatiale et de la défense. En 2009, 59 pour cent des exportations de ce secteur étaient destinées aux États-Unis.
  • Agriculture, aliments et boissons :  Le Canada est le plus grand exportateur de produits alimentaires aux États-Unis. Bon nombre de ces produits sont transformés et vendus par l’intermédiaire de chaînes d’approvisionnement regroupant des intervenants des quatre coins de la planète.
  • Bioindustries :  Les États-Unis bénéficient du plus important marché des soins de santé du monde, de volumes considérables de capitaux d’investissement et d’une feuille de route impressionnante sur le plan de la commercialisation de la recherche et du développement; ce pays constitue donc le premier marché pour les entreprises canadiennes du domaine des sciences de la vie.
  • Technologies propres : Les États-Unis présentent un potentiel de croissance et d’innovation considérable pour les entreprises canadiennes dans ce secteur qui englobe l’industrie de l’environnement et l’énergie renouvelable.
  • Bâtiment écologique : Les entreprises canadiennes du marché du bâtiment écologique doivent être en mesure de se différencier par leur offre de produits. La demande de technologies écologiques et écoénergétiques entraîne la nécessité de construire de nouvelles maisons, de moderniser les immeubles et d’établir des codes du bâtiment plus rigoureux.
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) : Au premier trimestre de 2010, 63 pour cent des marchandises canadiennes des TIC ont été exportées vers les États-Unis, selon les données d’Industrie Canada. Parmi les sous-secteurs prioritaires du Canada aux États-Unis en matière de TIC, on compte les médias numériques, les produits sans fil et les technologies de l’information dans le domaine de la santé.

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et les États-Unis, 2005-2009

Texte alternatif : Relations commerciales entre le Canada et les États-Unis, 2005-2009
Relations commerciales entre le Canada et les États-Unis, 2005-2009
 Exportations canadiennes de marchandisesImportations canadiennes de marchandisesInvestissement canadien direct à l'étrangerInvestissement étranger direct au Canada
2009270 129 000 000 $18 615 000 000 $261 326 000 000 $288 287 000 000 $
2008270 129 000 000 $227 285 000 000 $261 326 000 000 $283 494 000 000 $
2007359 135 000 000 $220 903 000 000 $226 453 000 000 $290 983 000 000 $
2006359 135 000 000 $217 845 000 000 $224 020 000 000 $265 096 000 000 $
2005365 741 000 000 $215 155 000 000 $202 398 000 000 $251 477 000 000 $

Le leadership et le soutien du gouvernement

L’ALENA est le plus important instrument de la politique commerciale dont dispose le Canada dans le cadre de ses échanges avec les États-Unis. Cet accord a révolutionné le monde du commerce et de l’investissement sur le continent et a aidé à faire éclore le potentiel économique de la région. Le gouver-nement du Canada est donc résolu à tirer profit de l’ALENA pour renforcer ses liens régionaux. Pour ce faire, il entend régler certains points en litige, comme les différences sur le plan de la réglementation et les exigences douanières ainsi que les préférences en matière d’approvisionnement national (par exemple, la loi « Buy American ») dans certains secteurs qui présentent un degré élevé d’intégration opérationnelle et des intérêts communs et où il y a manifestement place à l’amélioration. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada, qui a pris de l’expansion en 2003 et qui comprend maintenant 22 consulats généraux, consulats et bureaux commerciaux répartis dans les grands centres d’échanges commerciaux du pays, continuera à fournir aux entreprises canadiennes les renseignements, les conseils et l’appui dont elles ont besoin pour défendre leurs intérêts commerciaux sur le marché américain. Le Service des délégués commerciaux se consacrera davantage à la promotion de l’investissement étranger et des possibilités de partenariats pour la commercialisation des technologies, afin d’aider les entreprises canadiennes à se tailler une place dans les chaînes de valeur mondiales, que ces dernières soient ou non contrôlées par des entreprises américaines.

L’accès au marché

Le Canada dispose d’un certain nombre d’instruments bilatéraux de politique de commerce et d’investissement pour faciliter et appuyer les activités des entreprises canadiennes aux États-Unis, à savoir :

1984

  • la Convention entre le Canada et les États-Unis d’Amérique en matière d’impôts sur le revenu et sur la fortune (mise à jour en 2008)

1989

  • l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis

1994

  • l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA)

2007

  • l’Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et les États-Uni

2010

  • l’Accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis

Sauf indication contraire, les données portent sur l’année 2009 et sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. Toutes les données sont fondées sur les plus récentes statistiques nationales accessibles, lesquelles sont tirées de diverses sources, dont Statistique Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, la Banque du Canada, le rapport Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI et la CNUCED.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les États-Unis, visitez le site Web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ou communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au 1-888-306-9991.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

En bref

  • Capitale : Washington, D.C.
  • Superficie totale : 9 629 091 km²
  • Population : 307 millions
  • Langues : anglais et espagnol
  • Type de gouvernement : république fédérale constitutionnelle
  • PIB : 16,1 billions de dollars
  • PIB par habitant : 52 519 $
  • Part de l’économie mondiale : 24,4 %
  • Échanges totaux des marchandises/PIB : 21 %
  • Principales destinations des exportations :Canada, Mexique, Chine, Mexique, Japon, Royaume-Uni
  • Principales sources des importations : Chine, Canada, Mexique, Japon et Allemagne
  • Principales exportations : machines, matériel électrique et électronique, produits de l’aérospatiale, véhicules motorisés, instruments scientifiques et de précision
  • Principales importations : huiles et combustibles minéraux, matériel électrique et électronique, machines, véhicules motorisés, produits pharmaceutiques
  • Principales exportations canadiennes (en dollars) : huiles et combustibles minéraux (75,3 milliards), véhicules motorisés (36,4 milliards), machines (20,2 milliards), matériel électrique et électronique (11,5 milliards), papier et carton (9,1 milliards)
  • Principales importations canadiennes (en dollars) : véhicules motorisés (32,4 milliards), machines (28,5 milliards), matériel électrique et électronique (13,2 milliards), huiles et combustibles minéraux (10,7 milliards), matières plastiques (9,3 milliards)
  • Taux de change : 1 $CAN=0,88 dollar américain (US)

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada

Midwest

Nord-Est

Nord-Ouest

Centre-Sud

Sud-Est

Sud-Ouest