Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

Korea, Republic of

PDF (168 KB)Footnote * | Market Reports

Seoul, Korea

Since the 1960s, South Korea has achieved an incredible record of growth and integration into the world economy. Today Korea is a highly diversified economy with an annual gross domestic product (GDP) of about $951 billion dollars and a GDP per capita of $19,513. Living standards and education levels have risen and are now equivalent to or higher than those in industrialized western economies. Private consumption and exports of goods and services continue to be the key drivers of Korea’s economic growth. Korea is at the centre of northeast Asian global value chains and is a trading partner of many countries around the world. For example, Korea’s rise as a world leader in semiconductors (e.g. RAM and flash memory), digital displays (e.g. LCD and plasma panels) and other consumer electronics has been spectacular. Korean flagship companies like Samsung and LG have become household names around the world. The Korean government is now beginning to invest in industries ranging from aerospace, biotechnologies, clean technologies and robotics to financial services and entertainment. Businesses that succeed in Korea typically do so because they have a unique niche offering, can outperform competitors on quality, speed, price, reliability or service and have superior customer relationships.

Like other Asian economies, Korea has been strongly affected by the 2008/09 global economic downturn. The Korean economy started to contract in the fourth quarter of 2008, primarily due to a drop in manufacturing, and a decline in construction. In 2009, the Korean GDP increased by 0.2%, as growth resumed in the second half of he year. A rise in consumption and exports so far in 2010 have accelerated South Korea’s recovery., and good growth is anticipated for the year. While South Korea is experiencing one of the strongest recoveries among the OECD economies, further development will strongly depend on the course of government support measures.

Commercial Relations

  • Canada’s bilateral merchandise trade with Korea was almost $9.5 billion in 2009.
  • In 2009, Canada’s merchandise exports to Korea were $3.5 billion, while Canadian imports from Korea were $5.9 billion.
  • Canadian direct investment in Korea is valued at $921 million. Particular opportunites for Canadian direct investment in Korea exist in the automotive, clean technologies and service industries.
  • Direct investment from Korea in Canada was $2.7 billion at the end of 2009.
  • Canada-Korea trade in services reached almost $1.2 billion in 2007.

Market Opportunities

The Government of Canada has identified Korea as a Global Commerce Strategy priority market—based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives—and has developed a comprehensive Market Plan that identifies the following sectors as offering clear market opportunities well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests in the region:

  • Agriculture, Food and Beverages: Korea is an important market for Canadian producers. In 2009, Canada exported agriculture and agri-food products worth more than $396.4 million to Korea.
  • Education: Korea’s education market represents a significant opportunity for Canada. Koreans are committed to investing in education in terms of both time and resources. Canada is a competitive education provider for Korea, attracting 27,000 Korean foreign students who injected $850 million into the Canadian economy in 2008.
  • Environmental Industries - Renewable Energy and Green Technologies: The market has been growing at a steady pace, with annual growth rates of more than 10%. The value of the market was estimated at over $35 billion in 2009, of which approximately 10% of the market was supplied by imported goods and services. In 2009, the Korean government announced its "Five-year Plan for Green Growth". It is based on a budget of 2% of Korea’s annual GDP (USD 88 billion) to be invested in environment-related industries over the next five years, pushing stricter fuel efficiency and emission requirements.
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT): Korea is a prominent global supplier of ICT products including mobile handsets, optical devices and components and video games, providing Canadian companies with exciting market possibilities.
  • Mining and Minerals: Rising raw materials prices and increasing supply challenges have increased Korea’s appetite to invest in exploration and development projects around the world.

Canada-Korea Commercial Relations, 2005-2009

Text Alternative: Canada-Korea Commercial Relations
Canada-Korea Commercial Relations, 2005-2009
 Canadian Merchandise ExportsCanadian Merchandise ImportsCanadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA)Foreign Direct Investment in Canada (FDI)
2009$3,526,200,000$5,929,600,000$921,000,000$2,706,000,000
2008$3,836,400,000$6,006,800,000$951,000,000$1,364,000,000
2007$3,007,800,000$5,365,300,000$978,000,000$1,183,000,000
2006$3,286,400,000$5,764,100,000$478,000,000$839,000,000
2005$2,824,300,000$5,375,400,000$356,000,000$397,000,000

Government Leadership and Support

Canada is currently engaged in free trade agreement (FTA) negotiations with South Korea. A successful conclusion would deliver significant commercial benefits across a wide range of sectors of the Canadian economy—from agriculture to high-tech services—and expand opportunities for Canadian companies to capitalize on Korea’s strong place in supply chains that span Asia and the globe. As the FTA talks proceed, Canada’s Trade Commissioners in Korea continue to focus on promoting opportunities for greater bilateral trade in goods and services; facilitating investment in Korea by Canadian stakeholders; positioning Canada as a destination of choice for Korean investors; furthering science and technology and innovation partnerships with Korea’s many advanced-technology companies, and helping more Canadian companies successfully enter the market.

Market Access

Canada has a number of bilateral trade and investment policy instruments in place that are helping to facilitate and support Canadian commercial engagement in Korea:

2010

  • Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement negotiations (ongoing)

2009

  • Canada-Korea Air Transport Agreement (administratively in effect; not ratified)

2007

  • Renewal of the Canada-Korea Science and Technology Arrangement

Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars. All data based on latest available national statistics drawn from a variety of sources, including Statistics Canada, Export Development Canada, Bank of Canada, IMF WEO and UNCTAD.

For further information, visit the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada website or contact the Trade Commissioner Service at 1-888-306-9991.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Fast Facts

  • Capital: Seoul
  • Total Area: 99,434 km²
  • Population: 48.7 million
  • Language(s): Korean
  • Type of Government: Presidential republic
  • GDP: $951.4 billion
  • Per capita GDP: $19,513
  • Main Export Destinations: China, United States, Japan, Hong Kong and Singapore
  • Main Import Sources: China, Japan, United States, Saudi Arabia and Australia
  • Main Exports: Electric and electronic equipment, Ships and boats, Machinery, Motor vehicles, and scientific and precision instruments
  • Main Imports: Mineral fuels and oils, Electrical and electronic equipment, Machinery, Iron and steel, Scientific and precision instruments.
  • Main Canadian Exports (millions): Mineral fuels and oils ($1.1 billion), Machinery ($406.5), Mineral ores ($253.4), Aluminum & products ($251.2), Wood pulp ($234.9)
  • Main Canadian Imports (millions): Motor vehicles ($1.9 billion), Electrical and electronic equipment ($1.7 billion), Machinery ($819.2), Mineral fuels and oils ($289.9), Iron and steel ($192.9)
  • Currency:C$1=1,117.318 won (KRW)

The Canada Trade Commissioner Service

  • Seoul

    16-1, Jeong-dong, Jung-gu, CPO Box 6299
    Seoul, 100-662, Republic of Korea
    Tel: (011-82-2) 3783-6000
    Fax: (011-82-2) 3783-6147/ 3783-6115
    seoul-td@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

La Corée

PDF (156 ko)Note de bas de page * | Études de marchés

Séoul, Corée

Depuis les années 1960, la croissance économique de la Corée de Sud et son intégration à l’économie mondiale ont suivi un rythme sans précédent. La Corée d’aujourd’hui a une économie très diversifiée et son produit intérieur brut (PIB) annuel totalise près de 951 milliards de dollars, le PIB par habitant s’élevant à 19 513 de dollars. Le niveau de vie et le niveau de scolarité ont augmen­té et sont maintenant égaux ou supérieurs à ceux observés dans les pays développés occidentaux. La consommation privée et les exportations de biens et services demeurent les principaux vecteurs de croissance. La Corée est au centre de chaînes de valeur mondiales nord-est asiatiques et est un partenaire commercial important de bon nombre de pays du monde. L’ascension de la Corée au rang des leaders mondiaux dans le domaine des semi-conducteurs (p. ex. mémoire RAM et Flash), de l’affichage numérique (p. ex. les écrans LCD et plasma) et d’autres appareils électro­niques grand public, a été spectaculaire. Les entre­prises phares coréennes, comme Samsung et LG, sont devenues des noms courants dans tous les pays du monde. Le gouvernement coréen commence à investir dans des industries très diverses : aérospatiale, bio­technologies, technologies propres et robotique jusqu’aux services financiers et au divertissement. Les entreprises qui réussissent en Corée y parviennent essentiellement parce qu’elles offrent un produit dans un créneau unique, parce qu’elles peuvent faire mieux que leurs concurrents sur le plan de la qualité, de la vitesse, du prix, de la fiabilité ou du service ou parce qu’elles établissent de très bonnes relations avec leurs clients.

Comme bien d’autres économies asiatiques, la Corée a été durement touchée par la crise économique mondiale en 2008-2009. Le ralentissement de l’économie coréenne a été d’abord ressenti au quatrième trimestre de 2008. Cette baisse a été causée principalement par une diminution marquée dans le secteur manufacturier et de la construction. En 2009, le PIB de la Corée a augmenté de 0,2 pour cent, une reprise de la croissance ayant été enregistrée dans la seconde moitié de l’année. Jusqu’à maintenant en 2010, la hausse de la consommation et des exportations a accéléré la reprise économique en Corée du Sud, et une forte croissance est prévue au cours de l’année. Bien que le pays connaisse l’une des reprises les plus vigoureuses des pays de l’OCDE, une expansion accrue sera fortement tributaire de l’évolution des mesures de soutien de l’État.

Les relations commerciales

  • Les échanges de marchandises entre le Canada et la Corée ont totalisé près de 9,5 milliards de dollars en 2009.
  • En 2009, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises en Corée se sont élevées à 3,5 milliards de dollars et les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance de la Corée ont totalisées 5,9 milliards de dollars.
  • L’investissement canadien direct en Corée est estimé à 921 millions de dollars. Les possibilités d’investissement canadien direct en Corée se trouvent particulièrement dans les secteurs de l’automobile, des technologies propres et des services.
  • L’investissement coréen direct au Canada s’est chiffré à 2,6 milliards de dollars à la fin 2009.
  • Les échanges de services entre le Canada et la Corée ont atteint près de 1,2 milliard de dollars en 2007.

Les débouchés

Le gouvernement du Canada a désigné la Corée en tant que marché prioritaire dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale. Pour faire ce choix, il a tenu de vastes consultations avec des représentants du gouvernement, du milieu des affaires et de l’industrie ainsi que des universitaires. Puis, il a élaboré un plan de développement de marché exhaustif qui cible les secteurs riches en possibilités et compatibles avec les capacités du Canada et ses intérêts dans la région. Ces secteurs prioritaires sont:

  • Agriculture, aliments et boissons : la Corée est un marché important pour les producteurs canadiens. En 2009, la valeur des exportations canadiennes de produits agricoles et agroalimentaires dépassait les 396,4 millions de dollars.
  • Éducation : le marché de l’éducation en Corée offre de bonnes possibilités pour le Canada. Le peuple coréen est soucieux d’investir temps et ressources dans l’éducation. Le Canada, qui accueille environ 27 000 étudiants coréens – lesquels ont injecté plus de 850 millions de dollars dans l’économie canadienne en 2008 – est un fournisseur concurrentiel de services d’éducation à la Corée.
  • Industrie de l’environnement – énergies renouvelables et technologies propres : le marché coréen a connu une expansion soutenue, ayant enregistré des taux de croissance annuel supérieurs à 10 pour cent. En 2009, la valeur de ce marché se chiffrait à 35 milliards de dollars, dont approximativement 10 pour cent était fourni par des importations de produits et services. La même année, le gouvernement de la Corée a annoncé le lancement de son « plan quinquennal de croissance verte », assorti d’un budget équivalant à 2 pour cent du PIB annuel coréen (88 milliards de dollars américains), sommes qui seront investies dans des industries de l’environnement dans les cinq prochaines années. Ces investissements s’accompagneront de la mise en place d’exigences plus strictes en matière d’efficacité énergétique et d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) : la Corée est un fournisseur mondial de premier plan de produits des TIC, incluant la téléphonie mobile, les circuits optiques et leurs composantes ainsi que les jeux vidéos, ce qui offre aux entreprises canadiennes des possibilités intéressantes.
  • Mines et minerais : la hausse des prix des matières premières et les difficultés d’approvisionnement accrues incitent fortement la Corée à investir dans des projets de prospection et de mise en valeur partout dans le monde.

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et Corée, 2005-2009

Texte alternatif : Relations commerciales entre le Canada et Corée
Relations commerciales entre le Canada et Corée, 2005-2009
 Exportations canadiennes de marchandisesImportations canadiennes de marchandisesInvestissement canadien direct à l'étrangerInvestissement étranger direct au Canada
20093 526 200 000 $5 929 600 000 $921 000 000 $2 706 000 000 $
20083 836 400 000 $6 006 800 000 $951 000 000 $1 364 000 000 $
20073 007 800 000 $5 365 300 000 $978 000 000 $1 183 000 000 $
20063 286 400 000 $5 764 100 000 $478 000 000 $839 000 000 $
20052 824 300 000 $5 375 400 000 $356 000 000 $397 000 000 $

Le leadership et le soutien du gouvernement

Le Canada a entamé des négociations avec la Corée du Sud en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange (ALE). La conclusion de cet accord permettrait d’offrir beaucoup du point de vue commercial à des secteurs très divers de l’économie canadienne — de l’agriculture aux services de haute technologie — et permettrait ainsi aux entreprises canadiennes de tirer avantage de la position de premier plan qu’occupe la Corée dans les chaînes d’approvisionnement asiatiques et mondiales. Parallèlement aux négociations sur l’ALE, le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada en Corée continue de déployer ses efforts pour promouvoir les occasions d’accroître le commerce bilatéral des biens et des services entre les deux pays, faciliter l’investissement canadien en Corée, positionner le Canada comme une destination de choix pour les investisseurs coréens, promouvoir la mise en place de partenariats dans les domaines de la science, des technologies et de l’innovation avec de nombreuses entreprises coréennes de technologie de pointe et aider plus d’entreprises canadiennes à s’implanter avec succès sur le marché.

L’accès au marché

Le Canada dispose d’un certain nombre d’instruments bilatéraux en matière de commerce et d’investissement pour faciliter et appuyer les activités des entreprises canadiennes en Corée, à savoir :

2010

  • Les négociations en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée (en cours);

2009

  • l'Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et la Corée (en vigueur du point de vue administratif, mais non encore ratifié);

2007

  • le renouvellement de l’Accord scientifique et technologique entre le Canada et la Corée.

Sauf indication contraire, les données portent sur l’année 2009 et sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. Toutes les données sont fondées sur les plus récentes statistiques nationales accessibles, lesquelles sont tirées de diverses sources, dont Statistique Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, la Banque du Canada, le rapport Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI et la CNUCED.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les États-Unis, visitez le site Web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ou communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au 1-888-306-9991.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

En bref

  • Capitale : Séoul
  • Superficie totale : 99 434 km²
  • Population : 48,7 millions
  • Langue : coréen
  • Type de gouvernement : république présidentielle
  • PIB : 951,4 milliards de dollars
  • PIB par habitant : 19 513 $
  • Principales destinations des exportations : Chine, États-Unis, Japon, Hong Kong et Singapour
  • Principales sources des importations : Chine, Japon, États-Unis, Arabie saoudite et Australie
  • Principales exportations : matériel électrique et électronique, navigation maritime ou fluviale, machines, véhicules automobiles, instruments scientifiques de précision
  • Principales importations : pétrole et combustibles minéraux, matériel électrique et électronique, machines, fer et acier, instruments scientifiques de précision
  • Principales exportations canadiennes (en dollars) : pétrole et combustibles minéraux (1,1 milliard), machines (406,5 millions), minerais (253,4 millions), aluminium et produits de l'aluminium (190 millions), pâte de bois (234,9 millions)
  • Principales importations canadiennes (en dollars) : véhicules automobiles (1,9 milliard), matériel électrique et électronique (1,7 milliard),  machines (819,2 millions), pétrole et combustibles minéraux (289,9 millions), fer et acier (192,9 millions)
  • Taux de change : 1 $CAN=1 117,318 won (KRW)

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada

  • Séoul

    16-1, Jeong-dong, Jung-gu, C.P. 6299
    Séoul, 100-662, République de Corée
    Tél : (011-82-2) 3783-6000
    Téléc. : (011-82-2) 3783-6147/ 3783-6115
    seoul-td@international.gc.ca