Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

Latin America and the Caribbean

PDF (163 KB)Footnote * | Market Reports

Lima, Peru

From resource-rich South America to the resorts of the Caribbean and Central America, Latin America and the Caribbean is a vast and diverse market. In recent years, economic and legal reforms have helped create a more predictable environment for commercial engagement. Global direct investment is flowing to the region, a reflection of its growing significance as home and host to multinational corporations. In fact, foreign investment has been a significant driver of rapid development in the telecommunications sector, which in turn is expected to help raise productivity and living standards throughout the hemisphere. Growing trade with Asia is also providing strong incentives for investment in innovation and infrastructure. Commercial opportunities for Canadian business are plentiful and wide ranging. In Central America and the Caribbean, for example, the tourism industry and infrastructure projects are creating opportunities for environmental services. As well, the mineral and energy-rich Andean countries are important to Canadian extractive industries and offer strong growth potential for Canadian suppliers of related information and communication technologies and environmental products and services. The Government of Canada and Canadian companies play a key role in the promotion of Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) in the region. Most recently the Government of Canada has announced a CSR strategy for the Canadian International Extractive Sector.

Commercial Relations

  • Canadian merchandise exports reached $4.4 billion, while imports reached $10.3 billion.
  • Canadian services exportsFootnote 1 were $2.8 billion in 2007, a significant portion of which was in the form of commercial services provided to the Caribbean. Services exports increased by 10.3 percent from 2002 to 2007.
  • Canada is currently a major source of foreign direct investment,Footnote 2 with some $93.4 billion in holdings at the end of 2009. Extractive industries constitute an important area of Canadian investment in the region.

Market Opportunities

The Government of Canada has identified Latin America and the Caribbean as a GCS priority market—based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives—and has developed a comprehensive Market Plan that identifies the following sectors as offering clear market opportunities well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests in the region:

  • Building Products and Construction: Specific opportunities for projects, public-private partnerships, and concessions are present in infrastructure projects and value-added products. Tourism projects, notably in the Caribbean, are coming back on track following the recession. Reconstruction in Haiti following the January 2010 earthquake is another important opportunity.
  • Electric Power Equipment and Services: Important opportunities come from the generation and transmission sectors through the sale of equipment and engineering services. The countries of Venezuela, Chile and Peru also offer significant growth potential.
  • Environmental Industries: Argentina, Barbados, Chile, Ecuador, Guatemala, and Trinidad and Tobago rank among the largest markets for Canadian environmental industries. Across the region, commercial opportunities are evident in water treatment, wastewater management (domestic, commercial, industrial, agricultural), solid waste treatment and studies for project sponsors and financiers.
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT): While Venezuela’s massive oil reserves dominate this market, other countries of note include Cuba, Colombia (large oil and gas reserves), Trinidad and Tobago (world-leading exporter of ammonia, methanol and liquefied natural gas), Ecuador and Guyana.
  • Oil and Gas Equipment and Services: While Venezuela’s massive oil reserves dominate this market, other countries of note include Cuba, Colombia (large oil and gas reserves), Trinidad and Tobago (world-leading exporter of ammonia, methanol and liquefied natural gas), Ecuador and Guyana.
  • Mining and Minerals: Canadian mining companies have a significant presence in many countries of the region. This provides opportunities for Canadian suppliers of mining-related goods and services.

Canada-Latin America and the Caribbean Commercial Relations, 2005-2009

Text Alternative: Canada-Latin America and the Caribbean Commercial Relations
Canada-Latin America and the Caribbean Commercial Relations, 2005-2009
 Canadian Merchandise ExportsCanadian Merchandise ImportsCanadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA)Foreign Direct Investment in Canada (FDI)
2009$4,439,100,000$10,333,500,000$93,388,000,000$2,602,000,000
2008$5,973,400,000$10,854,300,000$105,378,000,000$3,077,000,000
2007$5,058,300,000$10,214,700,000$78,627,000,000$3,598,000,000
2006$4,317,700,000$9,472,200,000$84,544,000,000$1,658,000,000
2005$3,833,600,000$8,798,700,000$69,825,000,000$1,178,000,000

Government Leadership and Support

The Government of Canada’s overarching objective for Latin America and the Caribbean is to help build a more prosperous, democratic and secure hemisphere and boost Canada’s presence in the region. Canadian commercial engagement is a key mechanism for achieving this. In addition to the NAFTA (1994), Canada has ratified Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) in the Americas with Chile (1997), Costa Rica (2002), and Peru (2009). Canada recently signed FTAs with Colombia and Panama.

Canada remains committed to concluding ongoing Free Trade Agreement negotiations with, the Dominican Republic, the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM) and the Central America Four (CA4) countries of Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua and honduras. As these efforts continue, Canadian officials are also working to monitor and influence commercial policies and regulations in favour of Canadian interests. The Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) will continue to facilitate Canadian commercial engagement in the region by actively promoting two-way trade, investment, and science and technology exchanges and by supporting Canadian investors already active in the region.

Market Access

Canada has a number of bilateral trade and investment policy instruments in place that are helping to facilitate and support Canadian commercial engagement in the region:

1976

  • Canada-Dominican Republic Double Taxation Agreement (DTA)

1978

  • Canada-Jamaica DTA

1980

  • Canada-Barbados DTA

1985

  • Canada-Guyana DTA

1993

  • Canada-Argentina Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA)
  • Canada-Argentina DTA

1996

  • Canada-Trinidad and Tobago FIPA

1997

  • Canada-Barbados FIPA
  • Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (FTA)
  • Canada-Ecuador FIPA

1998

  • Canada-Panama FIPA
  • Central America Memorandum of Understanding on Trade and Investment (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua)
  • Southern Cone Common Market (MERCOSUR) Trade and Investment Cooperation Arrangements (Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay)
  • Canada-Venezuela FIPA
  • Canada-Chile DTA

1999

  • Canada-El Salvador FIPA
  • Andean Community Trade and Investment Cooperation Arrangement (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela)
  • Canada-Uruguay FIPA

2001

  • Canada-Ecuador DTA
  • Canada-Venezuela DTA

2002

  • Canada-Costa Rica FTA

2007

  • Canada-Peru FIPA

2008

  • Canada-Colombia FTA (signed)

2009

  • Canada-Peru FTA

2010

  • Canada-Panama (signed)

Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars. All data based on latest available national statistics drawn from a variety of sources, including Statistics Canada, Export Development Canada, Bank of Canada, IMF WEO and UNCTAD.

For further information, visit the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada website or contact the Trade Commissioner Service at 1-888-306-9991.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Footnote 1

Services exports to South America, Central America and the Caribbean, excluding Brazil, Mexico and Bermuda.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

FDI to South America, Central America and the Caribbean, excluding Brazil, Mexico and Bermuda. Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Fast Facts

  • Combined Population (est.): 260.7 million (Same IMF Apr 2010)
  • Combined GDP (est.): $1.7 trillion (Same IMF Apr 2010)
  • Main Canadian Exports (Millions): Cereals ($944.7), Machinery ($703.4), Paper and paperboard ($357.0), Mineral fuels and oils ($309.4) Electrical and electronic equipment ($207.3)
  • Major Canadian Imports (Millions): Precious stones and metals ($3.6 billion), Mineral fuels and oils ($1.5 billion), Fruits and nuts ($944.8), Mineral ores ($436.7), Copper and copper articles ($385.3)

The Canada Trade Commissioner Service

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

L’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes

PDF (157 ko)Note de bas de page * | Études de marchés

Lima, Pérou

De l’Amérique du Sud, riche en ressources, aux centres de villégiature des Caraïbes et de l’Amérique centrale, l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes constituent un marché vaste et diversifié. Ces dernières années, les réformes économiques et juridiques ont aidé à créer un environnement plus prévisible pour les initiatives commerciales. La région attire l’investissement étranger direct, ce qui témoigne de son importance grandissante tant comme région d’origine que comme région d’accueil des multinationales. En fait, l’investissement étranger a été un des principaux facteurs du développement rapide du secteur des télécommunications, lequel devrait en retour contribuer à améliorer la productivité et les niveaux de vie dans tout l’hémisphère. L’accroissement des échanges commerciaux de la région avec l’Asie incite également à investir dans l’innovation et l’infrastructure. Les débouchés commerciaux sont nombreux et très divers pour les entreprises canadiennes. Par exemple, en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes, les projets dans l’industrie touristique et dans l’infrastructure créent des débouchés pour les fournisseurs de produits du bâtiment et de la construction et les fournisseurs de services environnementaux. De plus, les pays andins riches en ressources minérales et énergétiques constituent un marché important pour les industries extractives canadiennes et présentent un potentiel de croissance énorme pour les fournisseurs canadiens de technologies de l’information et des communications, et de produits et de services environnementaux connexes. Le gouvernement canadien et les entreprises canadiennes jouent un rôle capital dans la promotion de la responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) dans la région. Le gouvernement du Canada a récemment annoncé une stratégie de RSE pour les sociétés extractives canadiennes présentes à l’étranger

Les relations commerciales

  • Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises ont atteint 4,4 milliards de dollars, et les importations, 10,3 milliards de dollars.
  • En 2007, les exportations canadiennes de servicesNote de bas de page 1 se sont chiffrées à 2,8 milliards de dollars. Une part considérable de ces exportations consistait en services commerciaux fournis dans les Caraïbes. De 2002 à 2007, les exportations de services ont progressé de 10,3 pour cent.
  • Le Canada, dont les investissements atteignaient 93,4 milliards de dollars dans la région à la fin de 2009, est actuellement une importante source d’investissement étranger directNote de bas de page 2. Ce sont les industries extractives qui bénéficient le plus de l’investissement canadien dans la région.

Les débouchés

Le gouvernement du Canada a décidé, dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM), de faire de la région de l’Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes un marché prioritaire. Après de vastes consultations avec des représentants des gouvernements, des universités, des entreprises et des secteurs industriels canadiens, il a élaboré un plan de développement du marché exhaustif dans lequel sont ciblés les secteurs riches en possibilités et compatibles avec les capacités du Canada et ses intérêts en Chine, notamment :

  • Produits de construction et projets dans le secteur de la construction : Les projets d’infrastructure et les produits à valeur ajoutée offrent des possibilités de participation à des projets, d’établissement de partenariats public-privé et de concessions. Des projets touristiques, en particulier dans les Caraïbes, qui étaient jusque-là en veilleuse en raison de la récession, offriront des débouchés. La reconstruction d’Haïti, pays dévasté par le séisme de janvier 2010, procurera  également des occasions d’affaires non négligeables.
  • Équipement et services de production d’électricité : Les secteurs de la production et du transport d’énergie présentent des débouchés importants pour les fournisseurs d’équipement et de services d’ingénierie. Le Venezuela, le Chili et le Pérou offrent aussi un potentiel de croissance important.
  • Industrie de l’environnement : L’Argentine, la Barbade, le Chili, l’Équateur, le Guatemala et Trinité-et-Tobago figurent parmi les principaux marchés pour l’industrie canadienne de l’environnement. Dans toute la région, les promoteurs de projets et les bailleurs de fonds trouveront des débouchés intéressants dans les sous-secteurs du traitement de l’eau, de la gestion des eaux usées (ménagères, commerciales, industrielles, agricoles), du traitement des déchets solides et de la réalisation d’études.
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) : Des débouchés commerciaux très variés se présentent dans les sous-secteurs de la téléphonie fixe et de la téléphonie mobile, de l’infrastructure, de la prestation d’accès à Internet, de logiciels spécialisés et de services des TI.
  • Matériel et services d’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz : Si le Venezuela domine ce marché avec ses énormes réserves pétrolières, d’autres pays producteurs sont à signaler, dont Cuba, la Colombie (importantes réserves pétrolières et gazières), Trinité-et-Tobago (principal exportateur mondial d’ammoniac, de méthanol et de gaz naturel liquéfié), l’Équateur et le Guyana.
  • Mines et minéraux : Les sociétés minières canadiennes sont très présentes dans bon nombre de pays de la région. Cette présence se traduit par des débouchés pour les fournisseurs canadiens offrant des produits et des services liés à l’exploitation minière.

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, 2005-2009

Texte alternatif : Relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes
Relations commerciales entre le Canada et l’Amérique latine et les Caraïbes, 2005-2009
 Exportations canadiennes de marchandisesImportations canadiennes de marchandisesInvestissement canadien direct à l'étrangerInvestissement étranger direct au Canada
20094 439 100 000 $10 333 500 000 $93 388 000 000 $2 602 000 000 $
20085 973 400 000 $10 854 300 000 $105 378 000 000 $3 077 000 000 $
20075 058 300 000 $10 214 700 000 $78 627 000 000 $3 598 000 000 $
20064 317 700 000 $9 472 200 000 $84 544 000 000 $1 658 000 000 $
20053 833 600 000 $8 798 700 000 $69 825 000 000 $1 178 000 000 $

Le leadership et le soutien du gouvernement

L’objectif premier du gouvernement du Canada en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes est de contribuer à l’accroissement de la prospérité et au renforcement de la démocratie et de la sécurité dans l’hémisphère, et de renforcer la présence canadienne dans la région. Les activités commerciales canadiennes sont un excellent moyen d’y parvenir. Dans la foulée de la signature de l’ALENA (1994), le Canada a ratifié certains accords de libre-échange (ALE) signés avec des pays des Amériques, notamment avec le Chili (1997), le Costa Rica (2002) et le Pérou (2009). Plus récemment, des ALE ont été conclus avec la Colombie et le Panama.

Le Canada reste déterminé à poursuivre les négociations en vue de conclure des ALE avec la République dominicaine, la Communauté des Caraïbes (CARICOM) et le Groupe des quatre de l’Amérique centrale (CA4), à savoir le Guatemala, El Salvador, le Nicaragua et le Honduras. Parallèlement à ces efforts, les représentants canadiens s’emploient aussi à suivre de près et à influencer les politiques et les réglementations commerciales de manière à ce qu’elles tiennent compte des intérêts canadiens. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada (SDC) continuera de faciliter les initiatives commerciales canadiennes dans la région en favorisant activement le commerce bilatéral, l’investissement, de même que les échanges scientifiques et technologiques, et en appuyant les investisseurs canadiens déjà établis dans la région.

L’accès au marché

Canada a mis en place différents mécanismes bilatéraux en matière de commerce et d’investissement pour faciliter et appuyer ses activités commerciales dans la région, notamment :

1976

  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-République Dominicaine

1978

  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-Jamaïque

1980

  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-La Barbade

1985

  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-Guyane

1993

  • l’Accord de promotion et de protection de l’investissement étranger (APIE) Canada-Argentine
  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-Argentine

1996

  • l’APIE Canada–Trinité-et-Tobago

1997

  • l’APIE Canada-Barbade
  • l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili 
  • l’APIE Canada-Équateur 

1998

  • l’APIE Canada-Panama
  • le Protocole d’entente avec l’Amérique centrale sur le commerce et l’investissement (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras et Nicaragua)
  • l’Entente de coopération avec le Marché commun du cône sud (MERCOSUR) sur le commerce et l’investissement (Brésil, Argentine, Paraguay et Uruguay)
  • l’APIE Canada-Venezuela
  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-Chili

1999

  • l’APIE Canada-El Salvador
  • l’Accord de coopération avec la Communauté andine sur le commerce et l’investissement (Bolivie, Colombie, Équateur, Pérou et Venezuela)
  • l’APIE Canada-Uruguay

2001

  • l’Accord relatif à la double imposition Canada-Équateur

2002

  • l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

2007

  • l’APIE Canada-Pérou

2008

  • l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Colombie (accord signé)

2009

  • l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Pérou

2010

  • l’Accord Canada-Panama (accord signé)

Sauf indication contraire, les données portent sur l’année 2009 et sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. Toutes les données sont fondées sur les plus récentes statistiques nationales accessibles, lesquelles sont tirées de diverses sources, dont Statistique Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, la Banque du Canada, le rapport Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI et la CNUCED.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les États-Unis, visitez le site Web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ou communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au 1-888-306-9991.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

Note de bas de page 1

Les exportations canadiennes de services à destination de l’Amérique du Sud, de l’Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes excluent le Brésil et les Bermudes.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Investissement direct à l’étranger (IDE) en Amérique du Sud, en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes, à l’exclusion du Brésil, du Mexique et des Bermudes.Les débouchés

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

En bref

  • Population combinée (approx.) : 260,7 millions (conforme aux données du FMI, avril 2010)
  • PIB combiné (approx.) : 1,7 billion de dollars (conforme aux données du FMI, avril 2010)
  • Principales exportations canadiennes (en dollars) : céréales (944,7 millions), machines (703,4 millions), papier et carton (357,0 millions), combustibles et huiles minéraux (309,4 millions), équipement électrique et électronique (207,3 millions)
  • Principales importations canadiennes (en dollars) : pierres et métaux précieux (3,6 milliards), combustibles et huiles minéraux (1,5 milliard), fruits comestibles et noix (944,8 millions), minerais (436,7 millions),  cuivre et produits du cuivre (385,3 millions)

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada