Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

China, People’s Republic of

PDF (161 KB)Footnote * | Market Reports

Beijing, China

As the world’s second largest economy, and an average yearly GDP growth of about 10 percent since 1980, China’s presence as a commercial force is felt around the world. Following several years of double-digit growth, economic expansion in China throughout 2008 was hampered by monetary policy tightening and the collapse of the stock market. This domestic slowdown was exacerbated by the financial turmoil that engulfed major industrialized economies, dramatically reducing demand for Chinese exports while slowing the pace of foreign direct investment. China’s real GDP growth sank to 6.2% in the first quarter of 2009, down from 10.6% a year earlier. However, following strong intervention from the Chinese government, China’s economy achieved an overall growth rate of 8.7% in 2009, followed by 12% in the first quarter of 2010. China has now recovered completely from the effects of the recession.

China took early and decisive action to counteract the effects of the global downturn, including a massive fiscal stimulus program. In November 2008, Beijing announced a wide-ranging RMB 4 trillion (CAD$700 billion) stimulus package. The package, consistent with President Hu’s stated objective of creating a “harmonious society”, combined economic growth (notably infrastructure development) with an emphasis on low income groups, regional agricultural development, pollution control and technological upgrades.

An important manufacturing centre for both Asian and global supply chains, the country is importing large amounts of machinery, oil, chemicals, vehicles and raw materials to feed its rapidly expanding industries. Its infrastructure needs are ballooning, generating tremendous opportunities in engineering, transportation and environmental technologies. Furthermore, China is an increasingly important source of investment capital with sharply rising outward direct investment flows that reached USD $48.0 billion in 2009. With a population of 1.3 billion, rising income levels, and a growing middle class, China’s potential as a consumer market is phenomenal. China is also a vast and complex country where conducting business can be difficult. Obtaining reliable information is a challenge, as is forging the right connections. The financial and taxation aspects of doing business there are intricate. Key challenges include import barriers, limitations on foreign service providers, inadequate intellectual property rights enforcement, subsidy practices and low transparency in contracting processes.

Commercial Relations, 2009

  • China continues to be Canada’s second largest merchandise trading partner after the United States. Two-way merchandise trade amounted to $50.8 billion in 2009, a 4.3 percent decline over 2008 levels.
  • In 2009, Canadian merchandise exports to China totaled $11.2 billion, a 6.6 percent increase from 2008, making China Canada’s third largest export market.
  • Furthermore, China continues to be Canada’s second largest source of imported merchandise.
  • While a substantial number of Canadian firms have invested in China, Canadian Direct Investments (CDIA) to China stood at $3.3 billion in 2009 and accounted for less than 1 percent of the total Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) into China.

Market Opportunities

The Government of Canada has identified China as a GCS priority market—based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives — and has developed a comprehensive Market Plan that identifies the following key sectors as offering clear opportunities well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests in the market:

  • Agriculture, Food and Beverages: Driven by growing consumption and resource constraints, China is expected to become the world’s largest importer of agri-food by 2015-2020. Canadian exports of agriculture, food and beverages to China rose 56 percent last year to reach almost $2.6 billion in 2009, generating a trade surplus of $1.6 billion.
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT): China is a world leader in both imports and exports of ICT products and services. Having made ICT industry growth a national priority China has been experiencing rapid increases in the use of cell phones and Internet users.
  • Automotive: China overtook the United States as the world’s largest car market in 2009, selling close to 13.6 million vehicles against the US’s 10.4 million. Canada’s total vehicle exports to China reached USD$49 million in 2009 (Source: J.D. Power & Associates; World Trade Atlas.)
  • Aerospace: It is expected that 600 new aircraft will be added to China's fleet in the next five years and Chinese demand for new aircraft could reach more than 3,800 over the next twenty years (Source: Boeing, Airbus.)
  • Mining and Related Equipment and Services: China is a large consumer and producer of metallurgical minerals. Strong economic growth is driving the development of China’s mining industry, which is generating large demand for mining technologies, services and equipment and for mineral products.
  • Life Sciences: China’s aging population, expanding health insurance, strong government support and increasing health consciousness is driving growth in life sciences. Opportunities exist for Canadian firms in joint research and development (R&D) projects, manufacturing, clinical trials, financing and distribution.

Cleantech is increasingly becoming an important sector for the Chinese economy. Chinese companies are actively seeking partners to help develop their own technology and expertise and to find innovative solutions to some of the challenges created by the rapid economic growth of the past 30 years. Specifically, significant opportunities exist for Canadian technology companies involved in municipal and industry wastewater treatment technology.

Canada-China Commercial Relations, 2005-2009

Text Alternative: Canada-China Commercial Relations
Canada-China Commercial Relations, 2005-2009
 Canadian Merchandise ExportsCanadian Merchandise ImportsCanadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA)Foreign Direct Investment in Canada (FDI)
2009$11,161,000,000$39,657,000,000$3,349,000,000$8,854,000,000
2008$10,473,000,000$42,623,000,000$3,430,000,000$5,239,000,000
2007$9,512,000,000$38,309,000,000$2,619,000,000n/a
2006$7,802,000,000$34,508,000,000$2,099,000,000n/a
2005$7,214,000,000$29,516,000,000$1,820,000,000$928,000,000

Government Leadership and Support

An increasing number of exchanges and visits at the ministerial and deputy ministerial-level have recently reinforced Canada’s and China’s commitment to advancing the bilateral relationship and strengthening commercial ties. Most notable, was the Prime Minister’s visit to China in December 2009 and President Hu’s visit to Canada in June 2010.

October 13, 2010, marks the date of the 40th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Canada and the People’s Republic of China. Canada was among the first Western countries to establish diplomatic relations with China, in 1970. In jointly celebrating this anniversary with China, we hope to enhance the bilateral relationship and increase business opportunities for Canadians in China by highlighting the longevity of our relationship and by increasing Canada’s visibility as a dynamic and innovative country.

Opportunities such as Canada’s involvement in the 2010 World Exposition in Shanghai, will serve to heighten the awareness of Canadian business expertise and competitiveness in and throughout the Chinese market. China’s theme for Expo 2010 is “Better City, Better Life.”

The Government of Canada will continue to monitor and influence Chinese commercial policies and regulations in favour of Canadian interests. Bilateral agreements on science and technology and a new memorandum of understanding on the establishment of a working group on environmental protection and energy conservation will help open new doors for Canadian companies, as will ongoing work to secure Canada’s place as an important gateway for Asia Pacific commerce.

Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service expanded its presence in China with the addition of new trade offices in Chengdu, Nanjing, Qingdao, Shenyang, Shenzhen and Wuhan and expanded resources in other cities. The offices will further support Canadian interests and develop opportunities for Canadian business in these emerging business centres.

Canadian Trade Commissioners will continue to actively promote Canadian commercial capabilities throughout China, while providing Canadian companies with the market intelligence, connections and support they need to capitalize on specific opportunities.

Market Access

Canada has a number of bilateral trade and investment policy instruments in place that are helping to facilitate and support Canadian commercial engagement in the region:

2005

  • Air Services Agreement

2007

  • Canada-China Agreement for Scientific and Technological Cooperation

2008

  • Aerospace Collaboration Agreement
  • Memorandum of Understanding on Trade Logistics Cooperation

2010

  • Cooperative Agreement with China allowing for staged access of Canadian beef and tallow into the Chinese market
  • Canada-China Approved Destination Status designation (ADS)
  • Canada-China Memorandum of Understanding on the Establishment of a Working Group on Environmental Protection and Energy Conservation

Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars. All data based on latest available national statistics drawn from a variety of sources, including Statistics Canada, Export Development Canada, Bank of Canada, IMF WEO and UNCTAD.

For further information, visit the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada website or contact the Trade Commissioner Service at 1-888-306-9991.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Fast Facts

  • Capital: Beijing
  • Population: 1.3 billion
  • Total Area: 9,600,000 km²
  • Language(s): Mandarin, Cantonese, others
  • Type of Government: One-party socialist republic
  • GDP: $5.6 trillion
  • GDP per Capita: $4,211
  • Main Export Destinations: United States, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea and Germany
  • Main Import Sources: Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, United States and Germany
  • Main Imports: Electrical and electronic equipment, Machinery, Knit apparel, Woven apparel, Furniture and bedding, Scientific and precision instruments
  • Main Exports: Electrical and electronic equipment, Machinery, Mineral fuels and oils, Mineral ores, Scientific and precision instruments
  • Main Canadian Exports (billions): Oilseeds ($1.6), Wood pulp ($1.5), Mineral ores ($1.4), Machinery ($0.9), Mineral fuels and oils ($0.9)
  • Main Canadian Imports (billions): Electrical and electronic equipment and machinery ($8.5), Machinery ($7.1), Toys and sports equipment ($3.1), Furniture and bedding ($2.5), Woven apparel ($2.1)
  • Currency: C$1=5.98 renminbi (Rmb)

The Canada Trade Commissioner Service

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

Chine (la République populaire de)

PDF (167 ko)Note de bas de page * | Études de marchés

Beijing, Chine

Deuxième puissance économique mondiale, la Chine, dont le taux de croissance annuel du PIB s’élève à environ 10 pour cent depuis 1980, a une présence commerciale qui se fait sentir aux quatre coins du globe. Après s’être située au-dessus de 10 pour cent pendant plusieurs années, la croissance économique de la Chine a été entravée en 2008 par un resserre-ment de la politique monétaire et par l’effondrement du marché boursier. Ce ralentissement à l’échelle nationale a été exacerbé par la crise financière qui a ébranlé les principales économies industrialisées, réduisant substantiellement la demande d’exportations chinoises tout en freinant le rythme de l’investissement étranger direct. Le taux de croissance réel du PIB de la Chine a chuté à 6,2 pour cent au premier trimestre de 2009, par rapport à 10,6 pour cent l’année précédente. Toutefois, à la suite de l’intervention vigoureuse du gouvernement chinois, l’économie du pays a atteint un taux de croissance global de 8,7 pour cent en 2009 et de 12 pour cent au premier trimestre de 2010. La Chine s’est maintenant complètement remise des effets de la récession.

La Chine a pris très tôt des mesures décisives afin de contrer les effets du ralentissement économique mondial, notamment la mise en place d’un programme de relance financière de grande envergure. En novembre 2008, Beijing a annoncé un vaste ensemble de mesures de relance d’une valeur de 4 billions de yuans (700 milliards de dollars canadiens). Ce programme, qui s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’objectif du président Hu de bâtir une société harmonieuse, était axé sur la croissance économique (notamment le développement des infrastructures) tout en mettant l’accent sur les groupes à faible revenu, le développement agricole régional, la lutte contre la pollution et les avancées technologiques.

Important pôle manufacturier pour les chaînes d’approvisionnement asiatiques et mondiales, la Chine importe de grandes quantités de machines, de pétrole, de produits chimiques, de véhicules et de matières premières pour alimenter ses industries en expansion rapide. Les besoins en infrastructures augmentent de manière fulgurante et créent d’innombrables débouchés dans les secteurs de l’ingénierie, du transport et des technologies de l’environnement. En outre, la Chine est une source de plus en plus importante de capitaux d’investissement. En effet, on assiste à une forte hausse de l’investissement direct chinois à l’étranger, lequel a atteint une valeur de 48 milliards de dollars américains en 2009. Par ailleurs, la Chine présente un potentiel phénoménal en tant que marché de consommation en raison de sa population de 1,3 milliard d’habitants, de la hausse des revenus et de l’expansion de sa classe moyenne. La Chine est aussi un pays vaste et complexe où il peut être problématique de faire des affaires. Il est difficile d’obtenir des renseignements fiables et de forger des relations adéquates. De plus, les aspects financiers et fiscaux de la conduite des affaires en Chine sont complexes. Au nombre des principaux problèmes figurent les obstacles à l’importation, les restrictions imposées aux fournisseurs de services étrangers, le manque de rigueur dans l’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle, les pratiques en matière de subventions et le manque de transparence des processus de passation des marchés.

Les relations commerciales en 2009

  • La Chine demeure le deuxième partenaire commercial en importance du Canada pour ce qui est des marchandises, après les États-Unis. Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises ont atteint une valeur de 50,8 milliards de dollars en 2009, une baisse de 4,3 pour cent par rapport aux niveaux de 2008.
  • En 2009, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers la Chine ont totalisé 11,2 milliards de dollars, en hausse de 6,6 pour cent par rapport à 2008, ce qui a fait de la Chine le troisième marché d’exportation du Canada en importance.
  • En outre, la Chine demeure la deuxième source de marchandises importées du Canada.
  • Si un grand nombre d’entreprises canadiennes ont investi en Chine, l’investissement direct canadien en sol chinois s’est établi à 3,3 milliards de dollars en 2009, soit moins de 2 pour cent du total de l’investissement étranger direct dans le pays. Le stock d’investissements directs de la Chine au Canada représentait moins de 1 pour cent de l’investissement étranger direct au Canada; toutefois, il est passé de 928 millions de dollars en 2005 à près de 8,9 milliards de dollars en 2009.

Les débouchés

Le gouvernement du Canada a décidé, dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM), de faire de la Chine un marché prioritaire. Après de vastes consultations avec des représentants des gouvernements, des universités, des entreprises et des secteurs industriels canadiens, il a élaboré un plan de développement du marché exhaustif dans lequel sont ciblés les secteurs riches en possibilités et compatibles avec les capacités du Canada et ses intérêts en Chine, notamment :

  • Agriculture, aliments et boissons : On prévoit que la Chine, qui doit composer avec une consommation en plein essor et des ressources limitées, deviendra le plus grand pays importateur de produits agroalimentaires du monde d’ici 2015-2020. Les exportations de produits agricoles, d’aliments et de boissons du Canada vers la Chine ont augmenté de 56 pour cent, pour atteindre près de 2,6 milliards de dollars en 2009, ce qui a donné lieu à un excédent commercial de 1,6 milliard de dollars.
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) : La Chine est un chef de file mondial quant à l’importation et à l’exportation de produits et services des TIC. Dans la foulée de sa décision de faire de la croissance de l’industrie des TIC une priorité nationale, la Chine a enregistré une expansion rapide de l’utilisation des téléphones cellulaires et d’Internet.
  • Automobile : En 2009, la Chine a dépassé les États-Unis à titre de plus grand marché de l’automobile du monde, ses ventes s’élevant à près de 13,6 millions de véhicules, par rapport à 10,4 millions pour les États-Unis. La valeur des exportations canadiennes de véhicules vers la Chine a atteint 49 millions de dollars américains en 2009. (Source : J.D. Power & Associates; World Trade Atlas)
  • Aérospatiale : On prévoit que 600 nouveaux aéronefs s’ajouteront à la flotte chinoise dans les cinq prochaines années. La demande chinoise pourrait atteindre plus de 3 800 nouveaux aéronefs dans les vingt prochaines années. (Source : Boeing, Airbus)
  • Exploitation minière et matériel et services connexes : La Chine est un grand consommateur et producteur de produits minéraux métallurgiques. La croissance économique vigoureuse stimule le développement de son industrie minière, ce qui occasionne une forte demande de produits minéraux ainsi que de technologiques minières, de services et de matériel connexes.
  • Sciences de la vie : En Chine, le vieillissement de la population, l’expansion de l’accès à l’assurance maladie, l’important soutien gouvernemental et la sensibilisation grandissante aux questions de santé sont autant d’éléments moteurs de la croissance du secteur des sciences de la vie. Les entreprises canadiennes pourront trouver des débouchés sous forme de projets conjoints de recherche et développement (R-D), d’activités de fabrication, d’essais cliniques, de financement et de distribution.

Le secteur des technologies propres revêt une importance grandissante pour l’économie de la Chine. Les entreprises chinoises cherchent activement des partenaires pour les aider à développer leurs propres technologies et à acquérir une expertise ainsi qu’à trouver des solutions novatrices à certains défis engendrés par la croissance économique rapide des 30 dernières années. Plus particulièrement, la Chine offre des débouchés intéressants pour les entreprises de technologies canadiennes qui œuvrent dans le domaine des technologies de l’épuration des eaux usées des municipalités et des industries.

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Chine, 2005-2009

Texte alternatif : Relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Chine, 2005-2009
Relations commerciales entre le Canada et la Chine, 2005-2009
 Exportations canadiennes de marchandisesImportations canadiennes de marchandisesInvestissement canadien direct à l'étrangerInvestissement étranger direct au Canada
200911 161 000 000 $39 657 000 000 $3 349 000 000 $8 854 000 000 $
200810 473 000 000 $42 623 000 000 $3 430 000 000 $5 239 000 000 $
20079 512 000 000 $38 309 000 000 $2 619 000 000 $s.o.
20067 802 000 000 $34 508 000 000 $2 099 000 000 $s.o.
20057 214 000 000 $29 516 000 000 $1 820 000 000 $928 000 000 $

Le leadership et le soutien du gouvernement

La multiplication des échanges et les visites de plus en plus fréquentes de ministres et de sous-ministres ont récemment renforcé l’engagement du Canada et de la Chine à raffermir leurs relations bilatérales et à resserrer leurs liens commerciaux. Soulignons notamment la visite du Premier ministre du Canada en Chine en décembre 2009 et celle du président Hu au Canada en juin 2010.

Le 13 octobre 2010 marquait le 40e anniversaire de l’établissement des relations diplomatiques entre le Canada et la République populaire de Chine. En 1970, le Canada fut l’un des premiers pays occidentaux à établir des relations diplomatiques avec la Chine. En célébrant cet anniversaire avec la Chine, le Canada espère renforcer les relations bilatérales entre les deux pays et accroître les occasions d’affaires pour les Canadiens en Chine, et ce, en mettant l’accent sur la longévité de ces relations et en augmentant la visibilité du Canada à titre de pays dynamique et innovateur.

Des occasions telles que la participation du Canada à l’Exposition universelle de Shanghai de 2010 per-mettront de promouvoir l’expertise commerciale et la compétitivité du Canada dans l’ensemble du marché chinois. Pour l’exposition, la Chine a choisi le thème « Meilleure ville, meilleure vie ». 

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de suivre de près les politiques et règlements à caractère commercial de la Chine et d’exercer son influence en faveur des intérêts canadiens. Les accords bilatéraux en matière de sciences et de technologie et un nouveau protocole d’entente relatif à l’établissement d’un groupe de travail sur la protection de l’environnement et la conservation de l’énergie, ainsi que les efforts continus visant à asseoir la position du Canada en tant qu’importante porte d’entrée du commerce avec l’Asie-Pacifique.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada a élargi sa présence en Chine grâce à l’ouverture de nouveaux bureaux commerciaux à Chengdu, Nanjing, Qingdao, Shenyang, Shenzhen et Wuhan et a accru ses ressources dans d’autres villes. Ces bureaux appuieront davantage les intérêts canadiens et permettront de trouver des débouchés pour les entreprises canadiennes dans ces nouveaux centres des affaires.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada continuera de promouvoir activement les capacités commerciales du Canada aux quatre coins de la Chine, tout en mettant à la disposition des entreprises canadiennes l’information commerciale, les contacts et le soutien dont elles ont besoin pour exploiter des débouchés particuliers.

L’accès au marché

Le Canada dispose d’un certain nombre d’instruments bilatéraux de politique de commerce et d’investissement pour faciliter et appuyer les activités des entreprises canadiennes en Chine, à savoir :

2005

  • l’Accord sur le transport aérien

2007

  • l’Accord de coopération scientifique et technologique entre le Canada et la Chine

2008

  • l’Accord de collaboration en aérospatiale
  • le Protocole d’entente en matière de logistique commerciale

2010

  • l’Accord de cooperation avec la Chine permettant la réintroduction progressive du boeuf et su suif canadiens sur le marché chinois
  • le Statut de destination approuvée (SDA) accordé au Canada par la Chine
  • le Protocole d’entente entre le Canada et la Chine relatif à l’établissement d’un groupe de travail sur la protection de l’environnement et la conservation de l’énergie

Sauf indication contraire, les données portent sur l’année 2009 et sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. Toutes les données sont fondées sur les plus récentes statistiques nationales accessibles, lesquelles sont tirées de diverses sources, dont Statistique Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, la Banque du Canada, le rapport Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI et la CNUCED.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les États-Unis, visitez le site Web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ou communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au 1-888-306-9991.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

En bref

  • Capitale : Beijing
  • Population : 1,3 milliard
  • Superficie totale : 9 600 000 km²
  • Langues : mandarin, cantonais, autres
  • Type de gouvernement : république socialiste à parti unique
  • PIB : 5,6 billions de dollars
  • PIB par habitant : 4 211 $
  • Principales destinations des exportations : États Unis, Hong Kong, Japon, Corée du Sud, et Allemagne
  • Principales sources des importations : Japon, Corée du Sud, Taïwan, États-Unis et Allemagne
  • Principales exportations : matériel électrique et électronique, machines, vêtements tricotés, vêtements tissés, articles de literie, instruments scientifiques et de précision
  • Principales importations : matériel électrique et électronique, machines, huiles et combustibles minéraux, minerais, instruments scientifiques et de précision
  • Principales exportations canadiennes (en dollars) : oléagineux (1,6 milliard), pâte de bois (1,5 milliard), minerais (1,4 milliard), machines (0,9 milliard), huiles et combustibles minéraux (0,9 milliard)
  • Principales importations canadiennes (en dollars) : matériel électrique et électronique (8,5 milliards), machines (7,1 milliards), jouets et articles de sport (3,1 milliards), meubles et articles de literie (2,5 milliards), vêtements tissés (2,1 milliards)
  • Taux de change : 1 $CAN=5,98 yuans (CNY)

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada