Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

This page contains information about Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy (2007-2013). To learn about Canada’s new trade plan, visit Global Markets Action Plan.

Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)

PDF (155 KB)Footnote * | Market Reports

Dubai, United Arab Emirates

The six-member Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC)—Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain and Oman—represents one of the wealthiest country groupings in the world. Blessed with extensive oil and gas reserves, development and investment in the sector is substantial. The GCC countries are seeking to diversify their economic base and reinvest a substantial amount of their surplus capital in massive infrastructure projects, including hospitals, medical centres and educational institutions. Despite the current global economic slowdown and lower oil revenues, GCC governments are determined to draw down their accumulated reserves to maintain the level of these investments in order to sustain their economies. Rising levels of disposable income, government subsidization of basic necessities, and more flexible consumer and business lending practices are creating a new generation of affluent consumers influenced considerably by Western lifestyles and tastes. The GCC is also a major source of foreign investment capital: by 2020, GCC countries are expected to have over US$3.5 trillion in foreign direct investment holdings. Furthermore, the region is being positioned as a leading trading hub serving the Middle East, Africa and Southeast Asia. Canadian businesses are well suited to engage in the substantial economic activity under way in the GCC, particularly in the infrastructure, oil and gas, agriculture and health care sectors. Canadian companies that establish commercial credibility in the region will also be in a preferential position to attract the region’s substantial investment resources.

Commercial Relations, 2009

  • Canada’s two-way merchandise trade with GCC countries exceeded $4.8 billion.
  • Canadian merchandise exports to the region reached almost $3.0 billion, while imports reached $1.8 billion.
  • During the past five years, exports to the GCC countries from Canada have more than doubled while imports from the region which had more than doubled during the five years leading up to 2008, declined by 28.4% in 2009.

Market Opportunities

The Government of Canada has identified the GCC as a GCS priority market—based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives—and has developed a comprehensive Market Plan that identifies the following sectors as offering clear market opportunities well suited to Canadian capabilities and interests in the region:

  • Service Industries and Capital Projects: Rapid population growth, substantial revenues from oil and gas, large allocations by government to public projects, and major real estate developments are contributing to an infrastructure and construction expansion, as well as increasing demand for education and training. Canadian business has played a key role in infrastructure developments worldwide, and a number of leading firms have already established a credible presence in the GCC region. Canadian expertise in education is also well respected.
  • Oil and Gas Equipment and Services: Canadian firms have world-renowned expertise in the oil and gas sector and are well placed to supply the industry’s needs as they upgrade their facilities and processing in the GCC.
  • Health Industries: GCC countries are building and upgrading many health care facilities, the development and management of which match well with Canadian capabilities. The GCC countries also import virtually all of their medical equipment and supplies and are highly dependent on foreign-trained physicians. GCC demand for Canadian expertise in the sector is in part due to the significant influence of GCC decision makers who have returned from studies in Canada. Sub-sectors include health care facilities management, hospitals, pharmaceuticals, and institutional devices and supplies.
  • Agriculture, Food and Beverages: The GCC has limited local agricultural production, a growing demand for imported foodstuffs, and a strong re-export market. Canadian agri-food products are looked upon as high-quality, with a distinctive North American image, and represent a substantial percentage (30 percent) of Canada’s overall merchandise exports to the region.

Canada-Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Commercial Relations, 2005-2009

Text Alternative: Canada-Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Commercial Relations
Canada-Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Commercial Relations, 2005-2009
 Canadian Merchandise ExportsCanadian Merchandise ImportsCanadian Direct Investment Abroad (CDIA)Foreign Direct Investment in Canada (FDI)
2009$2,991,000,000$1,831,000,000n/an/a
2008$2,921,000,000$2,556,000,000n/an/a
2007$2,182,000,000$1,915,000,000$99,000,000n/a
2006$1,613,000,000$2,044,000,000$65,000,000n/a
2005$1,282,000,000$1,895,000,000$76,000,000n/a

Government Leadership and Support

The Government of Canada will continue to monitor, assess and influence GCC bilateral trade and investment to advance Canadian interests. Officials will be reviewing trade policy and access issues, including the feasibility of additional Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) negotiations, a potential Free Trade Agreement (FTA) and an evaluation of current bilateral air treaties. Canada’s Trade Commissioner Service will continue to provide information and encourage export-ready Canadian firms to pursue opportunities in the GCC and will continue to communicate business intelligence on GCC partnership and investment opportunities, as well as promote Canadian investment opportunities to GCC investors.

Market Access

Canada has a number of bilateral trade and investment policy instruments in place that are helping to facilitate and support Canadian commercial engagement in the region:

1991

  • Canada-Saudi Arabia Air Transport Agreement

1999

  • Canada-UAE Air Transport Agreement

2007

  • Canada-Kuwait Air Transport Agreement
  • Canada entered into discussions about a FIPA with Kuwait and is exploring possible FIPAs with other GCC countries.

2008

  • Conclusion of FIPA negotiations with Kuwait

2009

  • FIPA concluded with Bahrain
  • Further progress towards signing of FIPA with Kuwait
  • Signed Memorandum of Understanding on Trade Cooperation with Kuwait. 

Unless otherwise stated, all data is for 2009 and expressed in Canadian dollars. All data based on latest available national statistics drawn from a variety of sources, including Statistics Canada, Export Development Canada, Bank of Canada, IMF WEO and UNCTAD.

For further information, visit the Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada website or contact the Trade Commissioner Service at 1-888-306-9991.

Footnotes

Footnote *

If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view a file on this page, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to footnote * referrer

Fast Facts

  • Population (est.): 37.8 million
  • GDP (est.): $1.1 trillion
  • Main Canadian Exports (millions): Machinery ($636), Cereals ($512.6), Aerospace products ($284), Oil seeds ($149.1), Motor vehicles ($140.3)
  • Main Canadian Imports (millions): Mineral fuels and oils ($1.7 billion), Precious stones and metals ($62.7), Fertilizers ($12.3), Mineral ores ($6.4), Machinery ($6.0)

The Canada Trade Commissioner Service

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Cette page contient de l’information sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale du Canada (2007-2013). Pour en savoir davantage sur le nouveau plan commercial du Canada prière de consulter la page Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.

Le Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG)

PDF (156 ko)Note de bas de page * | Études de marchés

Dubaï, Émirats arabes unis

Le Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG), qui regroupe six États membres - l’Arabie saoudite, les Émirats arabes unis, le Koweït, le Qatar, le Bahreïn et Oman -  constitue l'un des regroupements de pays les plus riches du monde. Disposant de vastes réserves de gaz et de pétrole, la région connaît un développement et un investissement substantiel dans ce secteur. Les pays du CCG cherchent à diversifier leur assise écono-mique et à réinvestir une quantité importante de leurs recettes gazières et pétrolières dans des projets d’infrastructure massifs, comme les hôpitaux, les centres médicaux et les établissements d’enseignement. Malgré le ralentissement économique mondial et des revenus pétroliers moindres, les gouvernements du CCG sont déterminés à réduire les réserves accumulées pour préserver le niveau d’investissement nécessaire au maintien de leur économie. La hausse des revenus disponibles, l’octroi de subventions publiques pour les produits de première nécessité et l’assouplissement des modalités de prêt aux parti-culiers et aux entreprises créent une nouvelle génération de consommateurs fortunés grandement influencés par les modes de vie et les goûts occidentaux. Le CCG représente également une source importante d’investissements étrangers : d’ici 2020, il est prévu que les États du CCG détiendront plus de 3,5 billions de dollars américains en investissements directs à l’étranger. De plus, la région se prépare à devenir l’une des principales plaques tournantes du commerce pour le Moyen-Orient, l’Afrique et l’Asie du Sud-Est. Les entreprises cana-diennes ont ce qu’il faut pour mener d’importantes affaires dans ce marché effervescent, en particulier dans les secteurs de l’infrastructure, de l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz, de l’agriculture et de la santé. Celles qui établiront leur crédibilité sur le plan commercial dans cette région seront les mieux placées pour attirer les importants investissements de la région.

Les relations commerciales en 2009

  • Les échanges bilatéraux de produits entre le Canada et les États du CCG ont dépassé les 4,8 milliards de dollars.
  • Les exportations de produits canadiens dans cette région ont presque atteint les 3 milliards de dollars, et les importations se sont chiffrées à 1,8 milliard de dollars.
  • Au cours des cinq dernières années, les exportations canadiennes à destination des États du CCG ont plus que doublé, alors que les importations du Canada en provenance de la région, qui avaient doublé en 2008 pendant la même période, ont chuté de 28,4 pour cent en 2009.

Les débouchés

Le gouvernement du Canada a décidé, dans le cadre de la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM), de faire du CCG un marché prioritaire. Après de vastes consultations avec des représentants des gouvernements, des universités, des entreprises et des secteurs industriels canadiens, il a élaboré un plan de développement exhaustif du marché dans lequel sont ciblés les secteurs riches en possibilités et compatibles avec les capacités et l’intérêt du Canada dans la région:

  • Industries de services et projets d’immobilisations : L’accroissement rapide de la population, la hausse marquée des revenus provenant de l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz, les investissements importants du gouvernement dans les projets publics et les grands projets immobiliers contribuent à l’essor des secteurs de l’infrastructure et de la construction. Ils augmentent en outre la demande en matière d’éducation et de formation. Les entreprises canadiennes jouent un rôle clé dans les projets d’infrastructure aux quatre coins du monde, et un certain nombre d’entreprises de premier plan ont déjà établi leur crédibilité dans la région du CCG. L’expertise du Canada dans le domaine de l’éducation est également reconnue.
  • Matériel et services d’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz : Les entreprises canadiennes se sont illustrées dans le monde grâce à leur expertise dans le secteur de l’exploitation du pétrole et du gaz. Elles sont bien placées pour répondre aux besoins de l’industrie dans le cadre de la modernisation des installations et de traitement dans les pays du CCG.
  • Industries de la santé : Les États du CCG construisent et modernisent de nombreux établissements de santé, dont l’expansion et la gestion pourraient certainement tirer parti des compétences des entrepreneurs canadiens. Ces États importent aussi pratiquement l’ensemble de l’équipement médical et des fournitures médicales, et comptent beaucoup sur les médecins étrangers. Leur demande d’expertise canadienne dans ce secteur est en partie attribuable à la grande influence des décideurs du CCG qui ont fait leurs études au Canada. Les sous-secteurs comprennent la gestion des établissements de santé, les hôpitaux, les produits pharmaceutiques et les fournitures et appareils médicaux.
  • Agriculture, aliments et boissons : Au sein des pays du CCG, la production agricole est limitée, la demande de produits alimentaires importés ne cesse de croître et le marché de réexportation est dynamique. Les produits agricoles canadiens ont la réputation d’être de grande qualité, assortis d’une image nord-américaine distinctive, et représentent un pourcentage important (30 pour cent) de l’ensemble des exportations canadiennes dans cette région.

Relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG), 2005-2009

Texte alternatif : Relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG)
Relations commerciales entre le Canada et le Conseil de coopération du Golfe (CCG), 2005-2009
 Exportations canadiennes de marchandisesImportations canadiennes de marchandisesInvestissement canadien direct à l'étrangerInvestissement étranger direct au Canada
20092 991 000 000 $1 831 000 000 $s.o.s.o.
20082 921 000 000 $2 556 000 000 $s.o.s.o.
20072 182 000 000 $1 915 000 000 $99 000 000 $s.o.
20061 613 000 000 $2 044 000 000 $65 000 000 $s.o.
20051 282 000 000 $1 895 000 000 $76 000 000 $s.o.

Le leadership et le soutien du gouvernement

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de suivre de près, d’évaluer et d’influencer les échanges et les investissements bilatéraux avec le CCG pour faire progresser les intérêts canadiens. Les représentants commerciaux examineront les questions liées à la politique commerciale et à l’accès aux marchés, notamment la possibilité d’amorcer des négociations en vue de conclure d’autres accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements (APIE), ainsi qu’un éventuel accord de libre-échange, et d’évaluer les traités bilatéraux sur le transport aérien. Le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada continuera de fournir des renseignements aux entreprises canadiennes prêtes à l’exportation pour qu’elles puissent tirer parti des débouchés offerts. Il continuera aussi à donner les renseignements commerciaux sur les possibilités de partenariat et d’investissement dans les États du CCG et à renseigner les investisseurs de la région du CCG sur les possibilités d’investir au Canada.

L’accès au marché

Le Canada dispose d’un certain nombre d’instruments bilatéraux en matière de commerce et d’investissement pour faciliter et appuyer les activités des entreprises canadiennes dans les pays du CCG, notamment :

1991

  • l’Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et l’Arabie saoudite

1999

  • l’Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et les Émirats arabes unis

2007-2008

  • l’Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et la Koweït
  • Le Canada a conclu des négociations avec le Koweït sur un Accord sur la promotion et la protection de l'investissement étranger (APIE) en 2008 et envisage divers accords de la même nature avec d’autres pays du CCG

2009

  • l’APIE conclu avec le Bahreïn
  • Progrès réalisés en vue de la signature d’un APIE avec le Koweït, et signature avec celui-ci d’un mémorandum d’accord en matière de relations commerciales.

Sauf indication contraire, les données portent sur l’année 2009 et sont exprimées en dollars canadiens. Toutes les données sont fondées sur les plus récentes statistiques nationales accessibles, lesquelles sont tirées de diverses sources, dont Statistique Canada, Exportation et développement Canada, la Banque du Canada, le rapport Perspectives de l’économie mondiale du FMI et la CNUCED.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les États-Unis, visitez le site Web d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ou communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au 1-888-306-9991.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à un fichier sur cette page, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *

En bref

  • Population (approx.) : 37,8 millions
  • PIB (approx.) : 1,1 billion de dollars
  • Principales exportations canadiennes (en dollars) : machines (636 millions), céréales (512,6 millions), produits aérospatiaux (284 millions), oléagineux (149,1 millions), véhicules automobiles (140,3 millions)
  • Principales importations canadiennes (en dollars) : pétrole et combustibles minéraux (1,7 milliards), pierres et métaux précieux (62,7 millions), engrais (12,3 millions), minerais (6,4 millions), machines (6 millions)

Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada