Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement (FTA) - Negotiations on Market Access for Goods, Services and Investment

Closing date: January 15, 2008

It is anticipated that Canada and the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) will exchange initial tariff offers for goods, services and investment in early 2008. To ensure that Canada’s priorities, interests and concerns are fully taken into account in our negotiating strategy, the Government of Canada is seeking your views on the following issues pertaining to tariffs, rules of origin, non-tariff measures, services and investment.

CARICOM Member countries are: Antigua and Barbuda, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Canada is committed to negotiating a modern trade agreement with CARICOM Members that will take into account differing levels of development, vulnerabilities associated with island states, and trade-related capacity challenges.

For more information, see: Canada-CARICOM Free Trade Agreement Negotiations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et la CARICOM – Négociations d’accès aux marchés pour les produits, les services et l’investissement

Date limite : 15 janvier 2008

Le Canada et la Communauté des Caraïbes (CARICOM) devraient échanger leurs premières propositions tarifaires pour les produits, les services et l’investissement au début de 2008. Pour veiller à ce que les priorités, les intérêts et les préoccupations des Canadiens soient bien pris en compte dans la stratégie de négociation que nous allons élaborer, le Gouvernement du Canada souhaite recueillir votre point de vue sur les questions suivantes liées aux droits de douane, aux règles d’origine, aux mesures non tarifaires, aux services et à l’investissement.

Les pays membres de la CARICOM sont Antigua-et-Barbuda, les Bahamas, la Barbade, le Belize, la Dominique, la Grenade, le Guyana, Haïti, la Jamaïque, Montserrat, Sainte-Lucie, Saint Kitts et Nevis, Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines, le Suriname et Trinité-et-Tobago.

Le Canada est déterminé à négocier avec les membres de la CARICOM un accord commercial moderne qui tiendra compte des différents niveaux de développement, des sensibilités associées aux États insulaires et des problèmes relatifs aux capacités commerciales.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consulter le site Web Le Canada et le Marché commun des Caraïbes (CARICOM) - Négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange.