Canada-Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Trade Agreement Negotiations

Background Information

Discussions concerning the negotiation of a possible Canada-CARICOM Trade Agreement were announced in Jamaica on January 19, 2001 at a Canada-CARICOM Summit.  Following four rounds of exploratory discussions, the Right Honourable Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced, on July 19, 2007, the launch of negotiations toward a trade agreement between Canada and the Caribbean Community member countries.

CARICOM Members are: Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago.