Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement

Background Information

Signed on December 5, 1996, and implemented on July 5, 1997, the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA) is a comprehensive agreement that covers trade in goods and services, as well as the bilateral investment relationship. The CCFTA was Canada’s first Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with a South American country, while for Chile it was the first comprehensive FTA concluded with any country.

The CCFTA is the cornerstone of Canada’s strong and growing trade and investment relationship with Chile. Since its launch in 1997, the CCFTA has brought benefits to both countries. Two-way merchandise trade has nearly quadrupled, reaching almost $2.9 billion in 2014. Additionally, a study on the Economic Impact of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement released in May 2013 concluded that Canada’s overall economic welfare gains from this agreement were approximately $250 million annually.

Efforts to modernize and broaden the CCFTA are ongoing. In 2008, a new government procurement chapter came into force, and in 2010, Canada and Chile signed a Note of Interpretation on Indirect Expropriation. On September 30, 2013, an agreement to amend the CCFTA came into force to include a financial services chapter and update the chapters on government procurement, dispute settlement and custom procedures. In November 2014, both countries announced the conclusion of negotiations of a new technical barriers to trade chapter to be added to the CCFTA. On April 10, 2015, the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade, and Heraldo Muñoz, Chile’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, announced the conclusion of negotiations toward a new chapter on sanitary and phytosanitary measures and technical amendments to the existing government procurement chapter. Both countries also agreed to bring into force amendments to the CCFTA rules of origin as soon as possible.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili

Renseignements supplémentaires

Signé le 5 décembre 1996 et mis en œuvre le 5 juillet 1997, l’Accord de libre­-échange Canada-Chili (ALECC) est un accord d’une vaste portée relatif au commerce de marchandises et de services ainsi qu’aux relations bilatérales en matière d’investissement. À l’époque, il s’agissait du premier accord de libre-échange (ALE) que le Canada signait avec un pays d’Amérique du Sud et le premier ALE d’importance jamais signé par le Chili.

L’ALECC est la pierre angulaire de la relation que le Canada entretient avec le Chile en matière de commerce et d’investissement. Depuis sa mise en œuvre en 1997, l’ALECC a généré des bénéfices pour les deux pays. Les échanges bilatéraux de marchandises ont presque quadruplé, atteignant près de 2,9 milliards de dollars en 2014. De plus, une étude des retombées économiques de l’Accord commercial entre le Canada et le Chili publiée en mai 2013 a conclu que les gains pour la prospérité économique du Canada attribuable à l’ALECC ont totalisé environ 250 millions de dollars annuellement.

Les efforts visant à moderniser et à élargir la portée de l’ALECC sont soutenus. En 2008, un nouveau chapitre portant sur les marchés publics est entré en vigueur et en 2010, le Canada et le Chili ont signé une Note d’interprétation sur l’expropriation indirecte. Le 30 septembre 2013, un accord visant à amender le ALECC a entré en vigueur afin d’y ajouter un chapitre sur les services financiers et de mettre à jour les chapitres portant sur les marchés publics, le règlement des différends et les procédures douanières. En novembre 2014, les deux pays ont annoncé la conclusion des négociations envers un nouveau chapitre relatif aux obstacles techniques au commerce. Le 10 avril, 2015, le ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Ed Fast, et le ministre chilien des Affaires étrangères, M. Heraldo Muñoz, ont annoncé la conclusion des négociations d’un nouveau chapitre relatif aux mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires, ainsi que des modifications techniques au chapitre sur les marchés publics. Les deux pays ont également convenu de mettre en vigueur les modifications aux règles d’origine de L’ALECC aussitôt que possible.