Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement

Notes

Chapter B

1. A good of a Party may include materials of other countries.

Chapter C

1. "Goods of the Party" includes goods produced in a province of that Party.

2. For the purpose of Article C-02, a good may refer to an originating good or a good which benefits from tariff elimination under a TPL.

3. This paragraph is not intended to prevent either Party from modifying its tariffs outside this Agreement on goods for which no tariff preference is claimed under this Agreement. This paragraph does not prevent either Party from raising a tariff back to an agreed level in accordance with the phase-out schedule in this Agreement following a unilateral reduction.

4. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this Article are not intended to prevent either Party from maintaining or increasing a customs duty as may be authorized by any dispute settlement provision of the WTO Agreement or any agreement under the WTO Agreement.

5. Where another form of monetary security is used, it shall not be more burdensome than the bonding requirement referred to in this subparagraph. Where a Party uses a non-monetary form of security, it shall not be more burdensome than existing forms of security used by that Party.

6. This paragraph does not cover goods imported in bond, into foreign-trade zones, or in similar status, that are exported for repair and are not re-imported in bond, into foreign trade zones, or in similar status.

7. For purposes of reference only, descriptions are provided next to the corresponding tariff provision.

8. An operation or process that is part of the production or assembly of an unfinished good into a finished good is not a repair or alteration of the unfinished good; a component of a good is a good that may be subject to repair or alteration.

9. The elimination of the MFN tariff is as follows:

"a"
denotes elimination by November 18, 1996;
"b"
denotes elimination on the date of entry into force of this Agreement;
"c"
denotes elimination not later than January 1, 1999;
"n.a."
denotes that the Item does not exist in the Party's tariff schedule.

Oil Seed Seeds

10. The following products are mentioned in this Law, but the Price Band System is not applied to them nor have they been subject to this System: 1201.0000; 1202.1000; 1202.2000; 1203.0000; 1204.0000; 1205.0000; 1206.0000; 1207.1000; 1207.2000; 1207.3000; 1207.4000; 1207.5000; 1207.6000; 1207.9100; 1207.9200; 1207.9900.

11. Paragraphs 1 and 2 shall not be construed to modify the rights and obligations set out in Chapter Ten of the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement.

Annex C-00-B

1. The general provisions of Chapter B (Definitions), Chapter C (Market Access), Chapter D (Rules of Origin) and Chapter F (Emergency Action) are subject to the specific rules for textiles and apparel goods set out in this Annex.

2. For purposes of Sections 3 and 4:

  • a. "increased quantities" is intended to be interpreted more broadly than the standard provided in Article F-01.1, which considers imports "in absolute terms" only. For purposes of these Sections, "increased quantities" is intended to be interpreted in the same manner as this standard is interpreted in the WTO "Agreement on Textiles and Clothing"; and
  • b. "serious damage" is intended as a less stringent standard than "serious injury" under Article F-01.1. The "serious damage" standard is drawn from the WTO "Agreement on Textiles and Clothing". The factors to be considered in determining whether the standard has been met are set out in Section 3.2 and are also drawn from that Agreement. "Serious damage" is to be interpreted in the light of its meaning in that Agreement.

3. In paragraph 5(c), the term "equitable treatment" is intended to have the same meaning as it has in customary practice under the WTO "Agreement on Textiles and Clothing".

4. For purposes of this Appendix only, references to U.S. Harmonized System Statistical Provisions are based on the 1992 Harmonized System.

Chapter D

1. The phrase "specifically describes" is intended solely to prevent Article D-01(d) from being used to qualify a part of another part, where the heading or subheading covers the final good, the part made from the other part and the other part.

2. Article D-02(4) applies to intermediate materials, and VNM in paragraphs 2 and 3 does not include:

  • i. the value of any non-originating materials used by another producer to produce an originating material that is subsequently acquired and used in the production of the good by the producer of the good, and
  • ii. the value of non-originating materials used by the producer to produce an originating self-produced material that is designated by the producer as an intermediate material pursuant to Article D-02(10).

With respect to paragraph 4, where an originating intermediate material is subsequently used by the producer with non-originating materials (whether or not produced by the producer) to produce the good, the value of such non-originating materials shall be included in the VNM of the good.

Under paragraph 4, with respect to any self-produced material that is not designated as an intermediate material, only the value of non-originating materials used to produce the self-produced material shall be included in the VNM of the good.

3. With respect to paragraph 8, sales promotion, marketing and after-sales service costs, royalties, shipping and packing costs, and non-allowable interest costs included in the value of materials used in the production of the good are not subtracted out of the net cost in the calculation under Article D-02(3).

4. With respect to paragraph 10, an intermediate material used by another producer in the production of a material that is subsequently acquired and used by the producer of the good shall not be taken into account in applying the proviso set out in that paragraph, exceptwhere two or more producers accumulate their production under Article D-04.

With respect to paragraph 10, if a producer designates a self-produced material as an originating intermediate material and the Customs Administration of the importing Party subsequently determines that the intermediate material is not originating, the producer may rescind the designation and recalculate the value content of the good accordingly. In such a case, the producer shall retain its rights of appeal or review with regard to the determination of the origin of the intermediate material.

5. For purposes of applying paragraph 6, the determination of the component that determines the tariff classification of the good shall be based on General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System. When the component that determines the tariff classification is a blend of two or more yarns or fibres, all yarns and, where applicable, fibres, in that component are to be taken into account.

6. The rules of origin under Chapter D are based on the 1996 Harmonized System, with each Party's tariff schedule amended to incorporat the new tariff items created for rules of origin purposes.

Annex D-01

1. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

2. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

3. For definition of "average yarn number" see Annex C-00-B, Section 6.

4. If a good provided for in subheading 8301.20 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

5. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

6. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

7. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

8. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

9. If the good provided for in subheading 8413.30 or 8413.60 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

10. If the good provided for in subheading 8414.59 or 8414.80 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

11. If the good provided for in subheading 8415.20 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

12. If the good provided for in subheading 8421.23, 8421.31 or 8421.39 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

13. If the good provided for in subheading 8425.39, 8425.42 or 8425.49 in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

14. If the good provided for in subheading 8431.10 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

15. If the good provided for in subheading 8481.20, 8481.30 or 8481.80 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

16. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

17. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

18. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

19. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

20. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

21. If the good provided for in subheading 8501.10, 8501.20, 8501.31 or 8501.32 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

22. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

23. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

24. If the good provided for in subheading 8512.20, 8512.30 or 8512.40 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

25. If the good provided for in subheading 8516.10 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

26. If the good provided for in subheading 8536.41, 8536.50 or 8536.90 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

27. If the good provided for in subheading 8537.10 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

28. If the good provided for in subheading 8539.10, 8539.21 or 8539.29 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

29. If the good provided for in subheading 8544.30 or 8544.41 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

30. If the good provided for in subheading 9017.80 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

31. If the good provided for in subheading 9026.10 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

32. If the good is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

33. If the good provided for in subheading 9032.10, 9032.20 or 9032.89 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

34.If the good provided for in heading 91.04 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

35. If the good provided for in subheading 9401.20 is for use in a motor vehicle, the provisions of Article D-03 may apply.

36. This table identifies the new eight-digit tariff classification provisions that have been created solely for purposes of application of the rules of origin under Chapter D. In the case of Chile in particular, these new tariff provisions do not apply to the benefits provided under Law 18.480 and therefore do not grant any new or additional rights under Law 18.480.

Chapter E

1. The Uniform Regulations will clarify that "determination of origin" includes a denial of preferential tariff treatment under Article E-06(4), and that such denial is subject to review and appeal.

Chapter G

1. This Chapter covers investments existing on the date of entry into force of this Agreement as well as investments made or acquired thereafter.

2. Article G-06 does not preclude enforcement of any commitment, undertaking or requirement between private parties.

Chapter I

1. For purposes of this Article, "monopoly" means an entity, including a consortium or government agency, that in any relevant market in the territory of a Party is maintained or designated as the sole provider of public telecommunications transport networks or services.

Chapter J

1. No investor may have recourse to investor-state arbitration under the Investment Chapter for any matter arising under this Article.

2. Nothing in this Article shall be construed to prevent a monopoly from charging different prices in different geographic markets, where such differences are based on normal commercial considerations, such as taking account of supply and demand conditions in those markets.

3. A "delegation" includes a legislative grant, and a government order, directive or other act transferring to the monopoly, or authorizing the exercise by the monopoly of, governmental authority.

4. Differences in pricing between classes of customers, between affiliated and non-affiliated firms, and cross-subsidization are not in themselves inconsistent with the provision; rather, they are subject to this subparagraph when they are used as instruments of anticompetitive behaviour by the monopoly firm.

Chapter K

1. A business person seeking temporary entry under this Appendix may also perform training functions relating to the profession, including conducting seminars.

2. Accountant

  • C.P.A.: Certified Public Accountant; C.A.:Chartered Accountant; C.G.A.: Certified General Accountant; C.M.A.: Certified Management Accountant

Dentist

  • D.D.S.: Doctor of Dental Surgery; D.M.D.: Doctor of Dental Medicine

Lawyer

  • LL.B.: Bachelor of Laws; J.D.: Doctor of Jurisprudence (not a doctorate); LL.L: Licence en Droit (Québec universities and University of Ottawa); B.C.L.: Bachelor of Civil Law

Librarian

  • M.L.S.: Master of Library Science; B.L.S.: Bachelor of Library Science

Physician

  • M.D.: Medical Doctor

Veterinarian

D.V.M.: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine; D.M.V.: Docteur en Médicine Vétérinaire

3. "University Title" means any document conferred by universities recognized by the Government of Chile and shall be deemed to be equivalent to the Minimum Education Requirements and Alternative Credentials for that profession. In the case of the profession of Lawyer (Abogado), the title is conferred by the Supreme Court of Chile.

4. "State/provincial licence" and "state/provincial/national licence" mean any document issued by a provincial or national government, as the case may be, or under its authority, but not by a local government, that permits a person to engage in a regulated activity or profession.

5. "Post-Secondary Diploma" means a credential issued, on completion of two or more years of post-secondary education, by an accredited academic institution in Canada or the United States of America.

6. "Post-Secondary Certificate" means a certificate issued, on completion of two or more years of post-secondary education at an academic institution:

  • in the case of Mexico, by the federal government or a state government, an academic institution recognized by the federal government or a state government, or an academic institution created by federal or state law; and
  • in the case of Chile, by an academic institution recognized by the Government of Chile.

7. A business person in this category must be seeking temporary entry to work in direct support of professionals in agricultural sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, forestry, geology, geophysics, meteorology or physics.

8. A business person in this category must be seeking temporary entry to perform in a laboratory chemical, biological, hematological, immunologic, microscopic or bacteriological tests and analyses for diagnosis, treatment or prevention of disease.

Canada - Chili Accord de libre-échange

Notes

Chapitre B

1. Un produit d'une Partie peut renfermer des matières provenant d'autres pays.

Chapitre C

1. L'expression « produits de la Partie » incllut les produits qui sont produits dans une province de cette Partie.

2. Aux fins de l'article C-02, le terme « produit » peut désigner un produit originaire ou un produit pour lequel le droit de douane est éliminé en vertu d'un NPT.

3. Ce paragraphe ne vise pas à empêcher une Partie de modifier ses droits de douane hors du cadre du présent accord à l'égard de produits pour lesquels aucune préférence tarifaire n'est réclamée en vertu du présent accord. Ce paragraphe n'empêche aucune des Parties de relever à nouveau un droit de douane à un niveau convenu, conformément au calendrier de réduction progressive prévu dans le présent accord, à la suite d'une réduction unilatérale.

4. Les paragraphes 1 et 2 du présent article ne visent pas à empêcher une Partie de maintenir ou de relever un droit de douane selon qu'il pourra être autorisé par une disposition de l'Accord sur l'OMC relative au règlement des différends ou par tout accord négocié dans le cadre de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

5. Lorsqu'une autre forme de garantie monétaire est utilisée, elle ne pourra constituer un fardeau plus lourd que le cautionnement mentionné dans cet alinéa. Les formes de garantie non monétaire auxquelles une Partie aura recours ne pourront constituer un fardeau plus lourd que les formes de garantie existantes utilisées par cette Partie.

6. Ce paragraphe ne vise pas les produits importés sous douane, dans une zone franche ou en vertu d'un régime analogue, qui sont exportés pour réparation et ne sont pas réimportés sous douane, dans une zone franche ou en vertu d'un régime analogue.

7. Les désignations qui figurent en regard des dispositions tarifaires sont fournies pour la seule commodité du lecteur.

8. Une opération ou un procédé qui entre dans la production ou l'assemblage d'un produit non fini pour en faire un produit fini ne constitue pas une réparation ou une modification d'un produit non fini; un élément d'un produit est un produit qui peut faire l'objet d'une réparation ou d'une modification.

9. L'élimination du droit NPF s'effectuera comme suit :

« a » :
élimination au 18 novembre 1996;
« b » :
élimination à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord;
« c » :
élimination au plus tard au 1er janvier 1999;
« s/o » :
article ne figurant pas dans la liste tarifaire de la Partie concernée.

Graines d'oléagineux :

10. Les produits suivants sont mentionnés dans cette loi, mais ils ne sont pas visés par le système des tranches de prix et n'y ont jamais été assujettis : 1201.0000; 1202.1000; 1202.2000; 1203.0000; 1204.0000; 1205.0000; 1206.0000; 1207.1000; 1207.2000; 1207.3000; 1207.4000; 1207.5000; 1207.6000; 1207.9100; 1207.9200; 1207.9900.

11. Les paragraphes 1 et 2 ne seront pas interprétés comme modifiant les droits et obligations énoncés au chapitre 10 de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Annexe C-00-B

1. Les dispositions générales du chapitre B (Définitions), du chapitre C (Accès aux marchés), du chapitre D (Règles d'origine) et du chapitre F (Mesures d'urgence) sont assujetties aux règles particulières visant les textiles et les vêtements indiquées dans la présente annexe.

2. Aux fins des sections 3 et 4 :

  • a. l'expression « quantités accrues » devrait s'interpréter plus libéralement que la norme énoncée au paragraphe F-01(1), qui ne porte que sur les importations « en termes absolus ». Aux fins de ces sections, l'expression « quantités accrues » devrait recevoir la même interprétation que celle qui est donnée à cette norme dans l'Accord sur les textiles et les vêtements de l'OMC; et
  • b. la norme applicable au « dommage grave » devrait être moins rigoureuse que la norme du « préjudice grave » énoncée au paragraphe F-01(1). La notion de « dommage grave » (« serious damage ») est tirée de l'Accord sur les textiles et les vêtements de l'OMC. Les facteurs qui permettent de déterminer si la norme est respectée sont exposés à la section 3.2 et sont aussi tirés de cet Accord. L'expression « dommage grave » doit être interprétée selon le sens qui est donné à l'expression « préjudice grave » dans ledit Accord.

3. À l'alinéa (5)c), l'expression « traitement équitable » est censée avoir le sens qu'elle a couramment sous le régime de l'Accord sur les textiles et les vêtements de l'OMC.

4. Aux seules fins du présent appendice, les référence aux U.S. Harmonized System Statistical Provisions sont basées sur le Système harmonisé de 1992.

Chapitre D

1. L'expression « décrit expressément » a pour seul but d'empêcher que le paragraphe D-01(d) soit utilisé pour rendre admissible à titre originaire une partie d'une autre partie, lorsque la position ou la sous-position vise le produit final, la partie faite à partir de l'autre partie et l'autre partie.

2. Le paragraphe D-02(4) s'applique aux matières intermédiaires, et la VMN aux paragraphes 2 et 3 ne comprend pas :

  • i. la valeur de toute matière non originaire utilisée par un autre producteur dans la production d'une matière originaire qui est par la suite acquise et utilisée dans la production du produit par le producteur, et
  • ii. la valeur des matières non originaires utilisées par le producteur dans la production d'une matière auto-produite originaire désignée par celui-ci comme une matière intermédiaire conformément au paragraphe D-02(10).

S'agissant du paragraphe 4, lorsqu'une matière intermédiaire originaire est par la suite utilisée par le producteur en combinaison avec des matières non originaires (produites ou non par le producteur) dans la production du produit, la valeur de ces matières non originaires sera incluse dans la VMN du produit.

Aux termes du paragraphe 4, et s'agissant de toute matière auto-produite qui n'est pas désignée comme matière intermédiaire, seule la valeur des matières non originaires utilisées dans la production de cette matière auto-produite sera incluse dans la VMN du produit.

3. S'agissant du paragraphe 8, les frais de promotion des ventes, de commercialisation et de service après vente, les redevances, les frais d'expédition et d'emballage et les frais d'intérêt non admissibles compris dans la valeur des matières utilisées dans la production du produit ne sont pas soustraits du coût net calculé aux termes du paragraphe D-02(3).

4. S'agissant du paragraphe 10, une matière intermédiaire utilisée par un autre producteur dans la production d'une matière qui est par la suite acquise et utilisée par le producteur du produit ne sera pas prise en compte dans l'application de la restriction faite dans ce paragraphe, sauf lorsque deux producteurs ou plus cumulent leur production aux termes de l'article D-04.

S'agissant du paragraphe 10, le producteur qui désigne une matière auto-produite comme matière intermédiaire originaire peut annuler cette désignation et recalculer en conséquence la teneur en valeur si l'administration douanière de la Partie importatrice détermine par la suite que la matière intermédiaire n'est pas originaire. Dans ce cas, le producteur conserve ses droits d'appel ou d'examen relativement à la détermination de l'origine de la matière intermédiaire.

5. Aux fins de l'application du paragraphe 6, l'élément qui détermine la classification tarifaire du produit sera établi sur la base des Règles générales d'interprétation du Système harmonisé. Lorsque l'élément qui détermine la classification tarifaire est un mélange de deux ou plusieurs filés ou fibres, tous les filés et, s'il y a lieu, toutes les fibres constituant cet élément doivent être pris en considération.

6. Les règles d'origine du chapitre D sont basées sur le Système harmonisé de 1996, la liste tarifaire de chacune des Parties étant modifiée de manière à inclure les nouveaux numéros tarifaires établis aux fins desdites règles.

Annexe D-01

1. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

2. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

3. Voir l'annexe C-00-B, section 6, pour la définition de l'expression « numéro moyen des fils ».

4. Si une marchandise visée à la sous-position 8301.20 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

5. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

6. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

7. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

8. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

9. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8413.30 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

10. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8414.59 ou 8414.80 doit être utilisée dansun véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

11. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

12. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8421.23, 8421.31 ou 8421.39 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

13. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8425.39, 8425.42 ou 8425.49 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

14. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8431.10 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

15. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8481.20, 8481.30 ou 8481.80 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

16. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

17. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

18. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

19. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

20. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

21. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8501.10, 8501.20, 8501.31 ou 8501.32 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

22. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

23. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

24. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8512.20, 8512.30 ou 8512.40 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

25. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8516.10 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

26. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8536.41, 8536.50 ou 8536.90 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

27. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8537.10 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

28. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8539.10, 8539.21 ou 8539.29 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

29. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 8544.30 ou 8544.41 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

30. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 9017.80 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 pourraient s'appliquer.

31. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 9026.10 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 pourraient s'appliquer.

32. Si la marchandise doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

33. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 9032.10, 9032.20 ou 9032.89 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

34. Si la marchandise visée à la position 91.04 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 peuvent s'appliquer.

35. Si la marchandise visée à la sous-position 9401.20 doit être utilisée dans un véhicule automobile, les dispositions de l'article D-03 pourraient s'appliquer.

36. Ce tableau contient la liste des numéros de classification tarifaire à huit chiffres qui ont été créés aux seules fins de l'application des règles d'origine du chapitre D. Dans le cas du Chili en particulier, ces nouveaux numéros ne s'appliquent pas aux avantages accordés par la Loi 18480, et, par conséquent, ne confèrent aucun droit nouveau ou supplémentaire en vertu de cette loi.

Chapitre E

1. La Réglementation uniforme stipulera clairement que l'expression « détermination d'origine » comprend le refus du traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu du paragraphe E-06(4), et qu'un seul refus peut faire l'objet d'un examen et d'un appel.

Chapitre G

1. Le présent chapitre vise les investissements existants à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, de même que les investissements faits ou acquis après cette date.

2. L'article G-06 n'empêche pas l'exécution des engagements pris ou le respect des exigences souscrites par des parties privées.

Chapitre I

1. Aux fins du présent article, « monopole » s'entend d'une entité, notamment un consortium ou un organisme gouvernemental, qui, sur un marché pertinent du territoire d'une Partie, est maintenue ou désignée comme le fournisseur exclusif de réseaux ou de services publics de transport des télécommunications.

Chapitre J

1. Aucun investisseur ne peut se prévaloir de la procédure d'arbitrage investisseur - État prévue par le chapitre sur l'investissement à l'égard d'une question découlant de l'application de cet article.

2. Aucune disposition du présent article ne sera interprétée comme empêchant un monopole de pratiquer des prix différents dans différents marchés géographiques, lorsque la différence repose sur des considérations commerciales normales, par exemple la situation de l'offre et de la demande sur ces marchés.

3. Le terme « délégation » s'entend notamment de la délégation au monopole de pouvoirs gouvernementaux, par voie législative, par voie de décrets ou de directives du gouvernement ou par d'autres moyens.

4. L'établissement de prix différents selon les catégories de clients, et selon qu'il s'agit d'entreprises affiliées ou non affiliées, et les participations croisées ne sont pas en eux-mêmes incompatibles avec cette disposition; ces pratiques y sont plutôt assujetties lorsque l'entreprise monopolistique s'en sert comme moyens anticoncurrentiels.

Chapitre K

1. L'homme ou la femme d'affaires qui demande l'admission temporaire en vertu du présent appendice peut aussi exercer des fonctions de formation liées à sa profession, ce qui comprend la tenue de séminaires.

2. Bibliothéconomie :

  • M.L.S. : Maîtrise en bibliothéconomie; B.L.S. : Baccalauréat en bibliothéconomie

Comptabilité :

  • C.P.A. : Certified Public Accountant; C.A. : Comptable agréé; C.G.A. : Comptable général licencié; C.M.A. : Comptable en management accrédité

Dentisterie :

  • D.D.S. : Docteur en chirurgie dentaire; D.M.D. : Doctor of Dental Medicine

Droit :

  • LL.B. : Baccalauréat en droit; J.D. : Doctor of Jurisprudence (n'est pas un Doctorat); LL.L : Licence en droit (universités québécoises et Université d'Ottawa); B.C.L. : Baccalauréat en droit civil

Médecine :

  • M.D. : Doctorat en médecine

Médecine vétérinaire :

  • D.V.M. : Doctor of Veterinary Medicine; D.M.V. : Docteur en médecine vétérinaire.

3. L'expression « diplôme d'études postsecondaires » s'entend d'un titre délivré par une institution d'enseignement accréditée du Canada ou des États-Unis d'Amérique après l'achèvement d'au moins deux années d'études postsecondaires.

4. L'expression « certificat d'études postsecondaires » s'entend d'un certificat délivré après l'achèvement d'au moins deux années d'études postsecondaires : dans le cas du Mexique, par le gouvernement fédéral ou par le gouvernement d'un État, un établissement d'enseignement reconnu par le gouvernement fédéral ou le gouvernement d'un État ou un établissement d'enseignement créé par une loi fédérale ou d'État; et, dans le cas du Chili, par un établissement d'enseignement reconnu par le gouvernement du Chili.

5. Les expressions « permis d'une province ou d'un État » et « permis provincial, national ou d'un État » désignent tout document délivré, selon le cas, par le gouvernement d'un État ou d'une province ou par un gouvernement national, ou sous son autorité, et qui habilite une personne à exercer une activité ou une profession réglementée. Les permis délivrés par les administrations locales n'entrent pas dans cette catégorie.

6. L'expression « titre universitaire » désigne tout document délivré par une université reconnue par le gouvernement national du Chili et est réputée correspondre au niveau minimum d'éducation et autres titres requis pour la profession concernée. Pour ce qui est de la profession d'avocat (Abogado), le titre est conféré par la Cour suprême du Chili.

7. L'homme ou la femme d'affaires de cette catégorie doit demander l'admission temporaire afin de collaborer directement avec les professionnels des domaines suivants : sciences agricoles, astronomie, biologie, chimie, foresterie, génie, géologie, géophysique, météorologie ou physique.

8. L'homme ou la femme d'affaires de cette catégorie doit demander l'admission temporaire afin d'aller procéder, dans un laboratoire, à des tests et à des analyses chimiques, biologiques, hématologiques, immunologiques, microscopiques ou bactériologiques, dans le but de diagnostiquer, de traiter ou de prévenir des maladies.