Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada - Chile Free Trade Agreement

Final Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Chile Government Procurement Chapter to be added to the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement

This report outlines the results of the Final Environmental Assessment (EA) of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter to be added to the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA). Canada and Chile engaged in negotiations of the government procurement chapter in May, 2004. Negotiations on this chapter were concluded successfully early in 2006. The text of the chapter was finalised and translations were completed in October, 2006.

These negotiations are subject to the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations. The process focuses on the likely economic effects of the trade and investment negotiations and their likely related environmental impacts in Canada. The process involves three phases - the Initial EA, Draft EA and Final EA. The middle phase, also known as the Draft EA, is not undertaken if the agreement under negotiation is not expected to generate significant economic effects and environmental impacts in Canada. Public consultations are an integral part of the EA and are undertaken throughout the process.

An ARCHIVED - Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter was completed in October, 2005. The Government of Canada opened the Initial EA for public comments from October 25 to November 25, 2005. No public comments were received.

The findings of this Initial EA were communicated to Canada's lead negotiator and were made a part of the negotiation strategy. These findings indicated that significant changes to economic activity within Canada were not expected as a result of these negotiations and therefore any environmental impacts would be minimal.

A Draft EA was not carried out as the Initial EA concluded that no significant environmental impacts in Canada were expected as a result of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter negotiations. The purpose of the Final EA is to document the outcome of the negotiations in relation to the EA process, i.e. to confirm the findings of the previous analysis based on the concluded negotiation.

The results of the Final EA of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter negotiations confirm the findings of the Initial EA. No new issues arose during the latter stages of the negotiations with respect to potential environmental impacts in Canada. The economic effects and environmental impacts of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter are expected to be minimal in Canada.

In terms of scale of activity, it is not expected that this chapter will lead to significant increases in domestic production or consumption. While winning a Chilean government procurement contract may be economically significant to the successful Canadian bidder, the economic activity that will be generated by these contracts, relative to the overall output of the Canadian economy, will be small in scale.

The Canada-Chile government procurement chapter will not have a negative effect on Canada's ability to develop and implement environmental policies and regulations. Canada will safeguard its ability to maintain and expand the current framework of policies, regulations, and legislation for the protection of the environment in a manner consistent with its domestic and international obligations.

Comments on this report may be sent by email, mail or fax to:

Consultations and Liaison Division (CSL)
Final Environmental Assessment of the Government Procurement Chapter of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement.
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Any comments received will be circulated to the lead negotiator and the Government of Canada's EA of Trade Steering committee in order to inform future EAs of trade and investment negotiations and other relevant policy development and decision making processes.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili

Évaluation environnementale finale du chapitre sur les marchés publics à ajouter à l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili

Le présent rapport donne un aperçu des résultats de l'évaluation environnementale (EE) finale du chapitre sur les marchés publics à ajouter à l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili (ALECC). Le Canada et le Chili ont entamé, en mai 2004, des négociations concernant le chapitre sur les marchés publics. Les négociations ont connu un dénouement fructueux au début de 2006. Le texte du chapitre a été parachevé et les traductions ont été terminées en octobre 2006.

Ces négociations sont assujetties au Cadre pour l'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales de 2001. Le processus porte sur les effets économiques probables des négociations en matière de commerce et d'investissement et leurs répercussions environnementales probables au Canada. Il comporte trois phases : l'EE initiale, l'EE préliminaire et l'EE finale. La phase intermédiaire, c'est-à-dire l'EE préliminaire, n'est effectuée que si l'accord en cours de négociation doit produire des effets économiques importants ou des répercussions environnementales au Canada. Les consultations du public font partie intégrante de l'EE et sont menées tout au long du processus.

Une ARCHIVÉE - évaluation environmental initiale du chapitre sur les marchés publics a été menée à bien en octobre 2005. Le gouvernement du Canada a ouvert cette EE aux observations du public du 25 octobre au 25 novembre 2005. Il n'a reçu aucun commentaire.

Les conclusions de l'EE initiale ont été transmises au négociateur en chef du Canada et prises en considération dans la stratégie de négociation. Elles ont montré qu'il ne fallait pas s'attendre à d'importants changements de l'activité économique au Canada en raison des négociations et donc que les répercussions environnementales seraient minimes.

Il n'y pas eu d'EE préliminaire puisque l'EE initiale a conclu qu'il ne devrait pas y avoir de répercussions environnementales importantes au Canada en raison des négociations concernant le chapitre sur les marchés publics. L'EE finale a pour but de documenter le résultat des négociations par rapport au processus d'EE, c'est-à-dire confirmer les résultats de l'analyse précédente en fonction des négociations menées à bien.

Les résultats de l'EE finale confirment ceux de l'EE initiale. Aucune question nouvelle n'a été soulevée au cours des dernières phases des négociations en ce qui concerne les répercussions environnementales possibles au Canada. Les effets économiques et les répercussions environnementales du chapitre sur les marchés publics devraient être minimes au Canada.

En ce qui a trait à l'ampleur des activités, on ne s'attend pas à ce que ce chapitre suscite une augmentation importante de la production ou de la consommation intérieures. Même si le fait de remporter un marché public du gouvernement chilien peut avoir de l'importance pour le soumissionnaire canadien retenu, l'activité économique qui découlera de ces marchés sera modeste par rapport au rendement global de l'économie canadienne.

Le chapitre sur les marchés publics ne nuira pas à la capacité du Canada d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des politiques et des règlements environnementaux. Le Canada protégera sa capacité de maintenir et d'élargir le cadre actuel des politiques, règlements et lois concernant la protection de l'environnement d'une manière conforme à ses obligations nationales et internationales.

Les commentaires sur le présent rapport peuvent être envoyés par courriel, par la poste ou par télécopieur à :

Direction des consultations et de la liaison (CSL)
Évaluation environnementale finale du chapitre sur les marchés publics de l'Accord de libre-échange Canada-Chili
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléc. : 613-944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca 

Tout commentaire sera transmis au négociateur en chef ainsi qu'au Comité directeur des évaluations environnementales des négociations commerciales du gouvernement du Canada afin de faciliter les futures EE des négociations sur le commerce et l'investissement et autres processus pertinents d'élaboration de politiques et de prise de décisions.