Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada - Chile Free Trade Agreement

Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Chile Government Procurement Chapter to be added to the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement

I. Executive Summary

This report outlines the results of the Initial Environmental Assessment (EA) of the negotiations between Canada and Chile towards a government procurement chapter to be added to the existing Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement (CCFTA).

This EA follows the process outlined in the 2001 Framework for the Environmental Assessment of Trade Negotiations (Framework). The process focuses on the environmental impacts in Canada and normally involves three phases – the Initial, Draft and Final assessments. The middle, or Draft phase, is not undertaken if the agreement is not expected to generate significant economic effects in Canada. Public and stakeholder consultations are an integral part of the EA and are undertaken throughout the process.

The Initial EA of the Canada-Chile government procurement negotiations identifies the likely economic effects of the chapter and, on this basis, draws conclusions about the potential environmental impacts in Canada. The report also considers the impact of the chapter on the ability of Canada to regulate in the interest of environmental protection.

The results of the Initial EA indicate that there will be no significant changes to the level of existing government procurement activity by the Canadian federal government as a result of these negotiations. This agreement may result in an increase in the number of Chilean government procurement contracts awarded to Canadian suppliers. While these contracts will be economically significant to the successful Canadian bidder the economic activity that will be generated by these contracts, relative to the overall output of the Canadian economy, will be small in scale. In addition, the Chilean government procurement contracts for which Canadian suppliers would most likely be successful bidders will be in areas such as architectural, engineering and other consulting services and large scale public works projects. As any construction activity will be undertaken in Chile the environmental impact within Canada is expected to be minimal.

The Canada-Chile government procurement chapter will not have a negative effect on Canada’s ability to develop and implement environmental policies and regulations. Canada will safeguard its ability to maintain and expand the current framework of policies, regulations, and legislation for the protection of the environment in a manner consistent with its domestic and international obligations.

The Government of Canada welcomes comments on this Initial EA. A Draft EA will not be carried out as the economic effects in Canada of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter are expected to be relatively small. The Final EA will coincide with the conclusion of the negotiations. Please submit comments to: consultations@international.gc.ca.

II. Introduction

Both governments and suppliers benefit from efforts to open government procurement markets to free trade. Government procurement agreements open up new opportunities for Canadian suppliers to bid on procurement contracts issued by governments outside of Canada. These agreements also help to ensure that Canadian suppliers are treated in an open, transparent and non-discriminatory manner when they bid on these procurement contracts.

There is a government procurement chapter in the North American Free Trade Agreement. Canada is also a Party to the World Trade Organisation Agreement on Government Procurement.

A chapter on government procurement was not included in the original CCFTA. Upon the conclusion of the U.S.-Chile Free Trade Agreement, which includes a chapter on government procurement, Chile agreed to negotiate a chapter on government procurement to be added to the CCFTA. Canada is seeking this addition to the CCFTA so that Canadian suppliers of goods and services will enjoy similar treatment by the Government of Chile as U.S. suppliers of goods and services enjoy. Canada and Chile engaged in negotiations of the government procurement chapter in May, 2004.

III. Background on the EA Process

The Framework provides a methodology for conducting an EA of a trade negotiation. It is intentionally flexible so that it can be applied to different types of negotiations (e.g., multilateral, regional, bilateral) while ensuring a systematic and consistent approach to meet two key objectives.

The first objective is to assist Canadian negotiators to integrate environmental considerations into the negotiating process by providing information on the possible environmental impacts of the proposed trade agreement. As such, trade negotiators and environmental experts are involved in the EA and work proceeds in tandem with the negotiations.

The second objective is to respond to the environmental concerns expressed by the public. The Framework contains a strong commitment to communications and consultations throughout each EA of trade negotiations.

Three phases of assessment are generally undertaken: the Initial, Draft, and Final EA. These phases correspond to progress within the negotiations. The Initial EA is a preliminary examination to identify key issues. It occurs early on in the negotiations. The Draft EA builds on the findings of the Initial EA and requires detailed analysis. A Draft EA is not undertaken if the negotiation is not expected to yield large economic changes. The Final EA takes place at the end of the negotiations. At the conclusion of each phase, a public report is issued with a request for feedback.

A consistent analytical methodology is applied during each phase. The Framework recognizes that economic and environmental effects can relate to changes in the level and pattern of economic activity, the type of products traded, technology changes, as well as regulatory and policy implications.

The Government of Canada has completed Initial EAs of the WTO, FTAA, Singapore, and CA4 trade negotiations, and is currently undertaking the Draft EA for the WTO negotiations. The original CCFTA was never subject to an EA as its negotiation predated the development of the EA process. The Government of Canada will continue to apply the Framework to future trade and investment negotiations.

Given the small change in economic activity that is expected to result from this chapter, we will proceed directly to the Final EA stage. The findings of this Initial EA have been communicated to Canada’s lead negotiator and to an interdepartmental committee. Any comments the public has on this report will inform the Final EA.

IV. Invitation to Submit Comments

In keeping with the Framework, an Environmental Assessment Committee (EAC) has been formed to undertake the analysis of this negotiation. Coordinated by Foreign Affairs Canada and International Trade Canada, the Canada-Chile Government Procurement Chapter EAC includes representatives from other federal government departments. An important responsibility of the EAC is to gather input from Provincial and Territorial Governments, stakeholders representing business, academia, and non-governmental organizations, as well as the general public.

As part of its commitment to an open and transparent process, the Government has opened this Initial EA for public comment from October 24, 2005 to November 24, 2005. Feedback on the likely economic effects and the likelihood and significance of resultant environmental impacts are especially welcome. Keep in mind that the assessment is focused on the possible environmental impacts in Canada.

Comments on this document may be sent by email, mail or fax to:

Initial Environmental Assessment of the Government Procurement Chapter of the Canada-Chile Free Trade Agreement.
Consultations and Liaison Division (EBC)
International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2
Fax: (613) 944-7981
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

V. Analysis of the Canada-Chile Government Procurement Chapter

Canada engaged with Chile in negotiations of a government procurement chapter to be added to the CCFTA in May, 2004. The Canada-Chile negotiations are anticipated to conclude before the end of 2005.

a) Identification of Likely Economic Effects

Once negotiated, the government procurement chapter will ensure Canadian suppliers of goods and services will receive the same treatment by the Government of Chile as that received by Chilean suppliers. The same will be true for Chilean suppliers seeking to bid on government procurement contracts awarded by the Government of Canada. The chapter will oblige the Parties to make notices of upcoming contracts available to suppliers from the other Party and to evaluate their bids fairly and in the same manner as domestic bidders.

The Chilean government procurement contracts that Canadian suppliers would most likely pursue will be in areas such as architectural, engineering and other consulting services and large scale public works projects. It is in these sectors that Canadian suppliers enjoy a competitive advantage. Suppliers of professional services may see an increase in their business activities as a result of this agreement.

In terms of scale of activity, it is not expected that this chapter will lead to a significant increases in domestic production or consumption. It is difficult to predict the number or types of contracts that Canadian suppliers may win. It is likely, however, that the number each year will be modest. While winning a Chilean government procurement contract may be economically significant to the successful Canadian bidder, the economic activity that will be generated by these contracts, relative to the overall output of the Canadian economy, will be small in scale.

b) Identification and Assessment of Likely Environmental Impacts in Canada and the Context for these Impacts

The contracts of most interest to Canadian suppliers will likely consist of consulting and building projects. Any activity involving the use of physical resources will be undertaken in Chile. It is conceivable that if Canadian suppliers are successful in bidding on large scale public works contracts in Chile there may be a transfer of environmentally-responsible technologies in areas such as sewage and water management and electricity generation.

Changes to consumption and production in Canada are not expected as a result of this chapter. Therefore the environmental impact within Canada is expected to be minimal.

c) Policy and Regulatory Context

This chapter will be entirely consistent with Canada’s obligations under multilateral environmental agreements, such as the Montreal Protocol, the Bio-diversity Convention and the Kyoto Protocol.

The Canada-Chile government procurement chapter will not have a negative effect on Canada’s ability to develop and implement environmental policies and regulations, including with respect to green procurement. Canada will safeguard its ability to maintain and expand the current framework of policies, regulations, and legislation for the protection of the environment in a manner consistent with its domestic and international obligations.

VI. Stakeholder Feedback

A Notice of Intent to conduct an EA of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter was posted on the Trade Negotiations and Agreements website of International Trade Canada on August 19, 2005. The Notice included an invitation to interested parties to submit their views on the likely environmental impacts of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter in Canada. No comments were received.

VII. Conclusion and Next Steps

The Initial EA concludes that significant increases in the level of economic activity in Canada are not expected as a result of the Canada-Chile government procurement chapter negotiations. The Chilean government procurement contracts for which Canadian suppliers would most likely be successful bidders will be in areas such as architectural, engineering and other consulting services and large scale public works projects where most of the activity involving the use of physical resources will be undertaken in Chile. As such, the environmental impacts within Canada are expected to be minimal.

The Initial EA will be circulated to decision makers to inform the conclusion of the negotiations as well as other policy development activities. Following the receipt of public and stakeholder comments on the Initial EA, the Final EA will be completed taking into account the consultative findings. In the light of the Initial EA’s conclusions that there will be no significant environmental impacts in Canada, preparation of a Draft EA is deemed to be unnecessary. The Final EA will coincide with the conclusion of the negotiations with Chile.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili

Évaluation environnementale initiale du chapitre sur les marchés publics à ajouter à l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili

I. Sommaire

Le présent rapport contient les résultats de l’évaluation environnementale (EE) initiale des négociations entre le Canada et le Chili concernant un chapitre sur les marchés publics à ajouter à l’actuel Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili (ALECC).

L’EE suit le processus énoncé dans le document de 2001 et intitulé Cadre pour l’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales (le
« cadre »). Ce processus porte sur les répercussions environnementales au Canada et, habituellement, comporte trois phases, c’est-à-dire les évaluations initiale, préliminaire et finale. La phase intermédiaire, c’est-à-dire l’évaluation préliminaire, n’est effectuée que si l’accord doit produire des effets économiques importants au Canada. Les consultations du public et des intervenants font partie intégrante de l’EE et sont menées tout au long du processus.

L’EE initiale des négociations Canada-Chili sur les marchés publics détermine les effets économiques probables du chapitre et, sur cette base, tire des conclusions sur les répercussions environnementales possibles au Canada. Le rapport traite également de l’incidence de ce chapitre sur la capacité du Canada de réglementer afin d’assurer la protection de l’environnement.

D’après les résultats de l’EE initiale, le niveau actuel d’activité du gouvernement fédéral canadien en matière de marchés publics n’enregistrera aucun changement important à la suite de ces négociations. L’accord peut engendrer une augmentation du nombre de marchés publics que le gouvernement chilien attribuera à des fournisseurs canadiens. Même si ces marchés auront de l’importance pour les soumissionnaires canadiens retenus, l’activité économique qui découlera de ces marchés sera modeste, par rapport au rendement global de l’économie canadienne. De plus, les marchés publics du gouvernement du Chili pour lesquels des fournisseurs canadiens auraient le plus de chance d’être retenus se situeront dans des domaines comme l’architecture, l’ingénierie et autres services de consultation ainsi que dans les grands projets de travaux publics. Puisque toute activité de construction sera entreprise au Chili, les répercussions environnementales au Canada devraient être minimes.

Le chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Chili ne nuira pas à la capacité du Canada d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des politiques et des règlements environnementaux. Le Canada protégera sa capacité de maintenir et d’élargir le cadre actuel des politiques, règlements et lois concernant la protection de l’environnement d’une manière conforme à ses obligations nationales et internationales.

Le gouvernement du Canada est ouvert aux observations que l’on voudra formuler sur cette EE initiale. Il n’y aura pas d’EE préliminaire, car les effets économiques du chapitre sur les marchés publics devraient être relativement modestes au Canada. L’EE finale coïncidera avec la conclusion des négociations. Veuillez faire parvenir vos observations par courriel à l’adresse suivante : consultations@international.gc.ca.

II. Introduction

Les gouvernements aussi bien que les fournisseurs bénéficieront des efforts visant à ouvrir au libre-échange les marchés publics gouvernementaux. Les accords sur les marchés publics offrent aux fournisseurs canadiens de nouvelles possibilités de soumissionner des marchés d’approvisionnement proposés par des gouvernements à l’extérieur du Canada. Ces accords permettent également de veiller à ce que les fournisseurs canadiens soient traités de façon ouverte, transparente et non discriminatoire lorsqu’ils soumissionnent ces marchés publics.

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) comporte un chapitre sur les marchés publics. Le Canada est également partie à l’Accord sur les marchés publics de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

La version initiale de l’ALECC ne contenait pas de chapitre sur les marchés publics. À la conclusion de l’Accord de libre-échange États-Unis-Chili, dont un chapitre porte sur les marchés publics, le Chili a accepté de négocier un chapitre à cet égard à ajouter à l’ALECC. Le Canada souhaite cet ajout à cet accord afin que ses fournisseurs de produits et de services bénéficient du même traitement que leurs homologues américains de la part du gouvernement chilien. Le Canada et le Chili ont entamé en mai 2004 des négociations concernant le chapitre sur les marchés publics.

III. Contexte du processus d’EE

Le cadre offre une méthodologie pour effectuer l’EE d’une négociation commerciale. Il est souple intentionnellement afin qu’il puisse s’appliquer à divers types de négociations (p. ex., multilatérales, régionales, bilatérales), tout en garantissant une démarche systématique et cohérente visant à satisfaire deux objectifs clés.

Le premier objectif vise à aider les négociateurs canadiens à intégrer les considérations environnementales au processus de négociation en offrant de l’information sur les répercussions environnementales possibles du projet d’accord commercial. Ainsi, les négociateurs commerciaux et les spécialistes de l’environnement s’occupent de l’EE et leurs travaux s’effectuent parallèlement aux négociations.

Le second objectif consiste à répondre aux préoccupations environnementales exprimées par le public. Le cadre contient un ferme engagement à l’égard de communications et de consultations tout au long de chacune des EE des négociations commerciales.

L’évaluation s’effectue généralement en trois phases : EE initiale, EE préliminaire et EE finale. Ces phases correspondent aux progrès accomplis dans les négociations. L’EE initiale est un examen préliminaire permettant de dégager les enjeux clés. Elle intervient tôt dans les négociations. L’EE préliminaire tire parti des conclusions de l’EE initiale et nécessite une analyse détaillée. Elle n’est effectuée que si on estime que les négociations n’apporteront pas de changements économiques importants. L’EE finale a lieu à la fin des négociations. À l’issue de chaque phase, on publie un rapport public à l’égard duquel on demande une rétroaction.

Une méthode analytique cohérente est appliquée à chaque phase. Le cadre reconnaît que les effets économiques et environnementaux peuvent avoir trait à des changements dans le niveau et le profil de l’activité économique, au type de produits négociés, à des changements technologiques, ainsi qu’à des répercussions réglementaires et politiques.

Le gouvernement du Canada a mené des EE initiales concernant les négociations commerciales de l’OMC, l’ALEA, Singapour et du Groupe des quatre de l’Amérique centrale et entreprend actuellement l’EE préliminaire des négociations de l’OMC. L’ALECC initial n’a jamais fait l’objet d’une EE, car sa négociation était antérieure à l’élaboration du processus d’EE. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d’appliquer le cadre aux futures négociations en matière de commerce et d’investissement.

Étant donné les changements minimes dans l’activité économique qui devrait découler de ce chapitre, nous passerons directement à l’étape de l’EE finale. Les conclusions de l’EE initiale ont été transmises au négociateur en chef du Canada et à un comité interministériel. Toutes observations du public concernant ce rapport contribueront à l’établissement de l’EE finale.

IV. Invitation à présenter des commentaires

Conformément aux dispositions du cadre, un comité d’évaluation environnementale (CEE) a été créé pour effectuer l’analyse de cette négociation. Coordonné par Affaires étrangères Canada et Commerce international Canada, le CEE du chapitre sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et le Chili compte des représentants d’autres ministères fédéraux. Une de ses grandes responsabilités consiste à réunir les observations des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des parties intéressées représentant les entreprises, les universités et les organisations non gouvernementales, de même que du grand public.

Dans le cadre de son souci d’assurer un processus ouvert et transparent, le gouvernement a ouvert cette EE initiale aux observations du public de 24 Octobre 2005 à 24 Novembre 2005. Il souhaite particulièrement recevoir des commentaires sur les effets économiques probables et sur l’éventualité et l’importance des répercussions environnementales qui en résultent. Nous vous prions de ne pas oublier que l’évaluation porte sur les répercussions environnementales possibles au Canada.

Les observations sur le présent document peuvent être envoyées par courriel, courrier ou télécopieur à l’adresse suivante :

Évaluation environnementale initiale du chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Chili
Direction des consultations et de la liaison (EBC)
Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2
Téléc. : (613) 944-7981
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca

V. Analyse du chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Chili

Le Canada a entamé en mai 2004 des négociations avec le Chili concernant un chapitre sur les marchés publics à ajouter à l’ALECC. On prévoit que les négociations entre le Canada et le Chili devraient se terminer avant la fin de 2005.

a) Détermination des effets économiques probables

Une fois négocié, le chapitre sur les marchés publics permettra aux fournisseurs canadiens de produits et de services d’être traités par le gouvernement du Chili de la même manière que les fournisseurs chiliens. Il en ira de même des fournisseurs chiliens désirant soumissionner des marchés publics offerts par le gouvernement du Canada. En vertu de ce chapitre, les parties devront publier des avis sur les prochains marchés ouverts aux fournisseurs de l’autre partie et évaluer les soumissions de ceux ci de façon équitable et de la même manière que les soumissionnaires nationaux.

Les marchés publics chiliens que les fournisseurs canadiens souhaiteraient très probablement soumissionner se situeraient dans des domaines comme l’architecture, l’ingénierie et autres services consultatifs ainsi que dans les grands projets de travaux publics. C’est dans ces secteurs que les fournisseurs canadiens bénéficient d’un avantage concurrentiel. Les fournisseurs de services professionnels constateront peut-être une augmentation de leurs activités commerciales à la suite de cet accord.

En ce qui a trait à l’ampleur des activités, on ne s’attend pas à ce que ce chapitre suscite une augmentation importante de la production ou de la consommation intérieures. Il est difficile de prévoir le nombre ou le type de marchés que les fournisseurs canadiens pourraient remporter. Il est toutefois probable que leur nombre annuel sera modeste. Même si le fait de remporter un marché public du gouvernement chilien peut avoir de l’importance pour le soumissionnaire canadien retenu, l’activité économique qui découlera de ces marchés sera modeste par rapport au rendement global de l’économie canadienne.

b) Détermination et évaluation des effets environnementaux probables au Canada et mise en contexte

Les marchés qui intéresseront le plus les fournisseurs canadiens seront probablement les projets de construction ou de consultation. Toute activité comprenant le recours à des ressources physiques sera effectuée au Chili. Il est concevable de penser que si des fournisseurs canadiens remportent de grands marchés de travaux publics au Chili, il pourrait se produire un transfert de technologies respectueuses de l’environnement dans des domaines comme la gestion des égouts et de l’eau ainsi que la production d’électricité.

Ce chapitre ne devrait pas apporter de changements dans la consommation et la production au Canada. Par conséquent, on s’attend à ce que les répercussions environnementales y soient minimes.

c) Contexte politique et réglementaire

Ce chapitre sera absolument conforme aux obligations du Canada aux termes d’ententes environnementales multilatérales, telles que le Protocole de Montréal, la Convention sur la biodiversité et le Protocole de Kyoto.

Le chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Chili ne nuira pas à la capacité du Canada d’élaborer et de mettre en oeuvre des politiques et des règlements environnementaux, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’approvisionnement écologique. Le Canada protégera sa capacité de maintenir et d’élargir le cadre actuel des politiques, règlements et lois concernant la protection de l’environnement d’une manière conforme à ses obligations nationales et internationales.

VI. Rétroaction des parties intéressées

Une déclaration d’intention d’effectuer une EE du chapitre sur les marchés publics de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Chili a été affichée le 19 août 2005 sur le site Web des négociations et accords commerciaux. Cette déclaration invitait les parties intéressées à présenter leurs opinions sur les incidences environnementales probables, au Canada, de ce chapitre sur les marchés publics. On a reçu aucune observation.

VII. Conclusion et prochaines étapes

L’EE initiale a conclu qu’il ne fallait pas s’attendre à une augmentation importante du niveau d’activité économique au Canada en raison des négociations sur le chapitre des marchés publics de l’Accord entre le Canada et le Chili. Les marchés publics chiliens que les fournisseurs canadiens sont les plus susceptibles de remporter se situeront dans des domaines comme l’architecture, l’ingénierie et autres services de consultation, ainsi que dans les grands projets de travaux publics, où la plus grande partie de l’activité imposant le recours à des ressources physiques se déroulera au Chili. Ainsi, les répercussions environnementales au Canada devraient être minimes.

L’EE initiale sera communiquée aux décideurs pour faciliter la conclusion des négociations et toute autre activité d’élaboration des politiques. Après réception des observations du public et des parties intéressées concernant l’EE initiale, nous préparerons l’EE finale en tenant compte des constatations de la consultation. À la lumière des conclusions de l’EE initiale, selon laquelle il n’y aura aucun effet environnemental important au Canada, il n’est pas utile de préparer une EE préliminaire. L’EE finale coïncidera avec la conclusion des négociations avec le Chili.