Canada - European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

Additional Information

The free trade agreement (FTA) between Canada and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland entered into force on July 2, 2009 (News Release: New Trade Agreement Eliminates Barriers and Opens Doors to European Markets). Also entering into force at the same time as the FTA were three associated bilateral agreements on agriculture with Iceland, Norway and Switzerland, with the Canada-Switzerland bilateral agreement covering Liechtenstein.

The Canada-EFTA FTA is a “first-generation” agreement with an emphasis on tariff elimination. It does not include substantial new obligations in areas such as services, investment, and intellectual property but does establish a commitment to review the Agreement with a view to considering the scope for possible expansion of the FTA into these and other areas at a later date.

Canada and the EFTA States have held two meetings of the CEFTA Joint Committee, most recently in Ottawa on May 9, 2012, to discuss the implementation and operation of the Canada-EFTA FTA.  During this latest meeting, as required under the terms of the Agreement, the Parties explored the possible expansion of the FTA into additional areas.  The Parties exchanged views on their respective negotiating approaches, in particular regarding market access for goods, TBT and SPS, services and investment, government procurement, intellectual property and sustainable development.  There was mutual interest in possible modernization, however, given busy negotiating agendas for all Parties, both sides agreed to meet again in Autumn 2012 to take stock and discuss possible next steps.

Background

On June 7, 2007, Canada and the EFTA countries announced the conclusion of free trade agreement negotiations, and on January 26, 2008, the FTA and associated Bilateral Agricultural Agreements were signed on the margins of the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland (News Release: ARCHIVED - New Free Trade Deal Caps Successful Year for Canada in Global Commerce).

The Government of Canada announced the launch of negotiations with the EFTA countries on October 9, 1998 following extensive consultations to gauge Canadians' interests and sensitivities. A free trade agreement with EFTA was supported by a broad cross-section of Canadian stakeholders.

Accord de libre-échange Canada - l'Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE)

Renseignements supplémentaires

L’Accord de libre-échange (ALE) entre le Canada et les pays de l’Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE), soit l’Islande, le Liechtenstein, la Norvège et la Suisse, est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2009 (voir le communiqué intitulé : Un nouvel accord commercial élimine les obstacles au commerce et ouvre les portes des marchés européens). De même, trois accords bilatéraux connexes sur l’agriculture conclus avec l’Islande, la Norvège et la Suisse, ainsi que l’accord bilatéral Canada-Suisse qui englobe le Liechtenstein, sont entrés en vigueur en même temps que l’ALE.

L’ALE Canada-AELE constitue un accord de première génération qui porte essentiellement sur l’élimination des droits de douane. Il ne prévoit aucune nouvelle obligation importante dans des domaines comme les services, l’investissement et la propriété intellectuelle. Toutefois, les parties se sont engagées à le revoir à une date ultérieure en vue d’en accroître potentiellement la portée dans les domaines susmentionnés ainsi que dans d’autres domaines.

Le Canada et les pays de l’AELE ont tenu deux réunions du comité mixte CAELE, dont la plus récente à Ottawa, le 9 mai 2012, pour discuter de la mise en œuvre et de l’application de l’accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’AELE. Lors de cette dernière réunion, tel que requis aux termes de l’accord, les parties ont étudié la possibilité d’étendre l’ALE à d’autres domaines. Les parties ont échangé des opinions sur leurs approches de négociation respectives, en particulier concernant l’accès au marché des biens, les obstacles techniques au commerce, les MSP, les services et l’investissement, les marchés publics, la propriété intellectuelle et le développement durable. Il existait un intérêt mutuel dans une modernisation possible de l’accord, toutefois, compte tenu du programme de négociation chargé de toutes les parties, celles-ci ont convenu de se rencontrer de nouveau à l’automne de 2012 pour faire le point et discuter des prochaines étapes possibles.

Contexte

Le 7 juin 2007, le Canada et les pays de l’AELE ont annoncé la conclusion des négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange, et le 26 janvier 2008, l’ALE et les accords agricoles bilatéraux parallèles ont été signés en marge du Forum économique mondial qui a eu lieu à Davos, en Suisse (voir le communiqué intitulé : ARCHIVÉE - La conclusion de négociations de libre-échange couronne une année fructueuse pour le canada sur le plan du commerce mondial).

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le lancement des négociations avec les pays de l’AELE le 9 octobre 1998 à la suite de vastes consultations visant à déterminer l’intérêt et les sensibilités des Canadiens. Un vaste éventail d’intervenants canadiens appuyait un accord de libre-échange avec l’AELE.