What's Being Said

Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters
“The conclusion of the CETA has the potential to help Canadian manufacturers and exporters diversify their sales into new export markets, increase their presence in Europe, and position Canada as a more attractive destination for manufacturing investment.”Jayson Myers, President and CEO, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters 

Canadian Federation of Independent Business
“Canadian small- and medium-sized businesses have always favoured freer trading arrangements.  They therefore welcome the CETA agreement as it will make it easier for these firms to take advantage of opportunities in the enormous European market.  It is particularly appealing that the agreement will reduce paperwork and other costs that can be a major deterrent for small businesses.” Catherine Swift, President, Canadian Federation of Independent Business 

Canadian Chamber of Commerce
“The Canadian Chamber has always been a strong supporter of the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement (CETA). A successful CETA will benefit Canadian businesses of all sizes and throughout the country. It will facilitate trade procedures, reduce technical barriers and send a clear message of support for open, rules-based global trade and investment.” Perrin Beatty, President and CEO, Canadian Chamber of Commerce  

Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance
“A Canada-EU trade agreement is vital to expanding markets for Canadian agriculture and food products. Canada exports half of its agri-food production. It is critical that we continue to identify new export opportunities for our high-quality products.”Kathleen Sullivan, Executive Director, Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance

Canada Europe Roundtable for Business
“The CETA negotiations come at a critical time against the backdrop of a fragile global economic recovery, when it is imperative for Canadian companies to diversify and intensify their trade and investment with major global markets. To remain competitive, innovate and prosper, the businesses that make our economy thrive know they must pursue overseas commercial and investment opportunities with new ambition. The European Union represents a huge wealth of such opportunities. An ambitious CETA will expand market access for Canadian resources, agricultural products, manufactured goods and services, enhance two-way investment, and better plug Canada into transatlantic and global value chains.” Roy MacLaren, Canadian Chairman, Canada Europe Roundtable for Business 

I.E. Canada
“I.E.Canada strongly believes that the liberalization of trade in general has significant benefits to the Canadian economy. As an ambitious and far-reaching trade agreement, CETA has the potential to provide new export markets for Canadian businesses, offer competitive advantages to Canadian companies and increase employment opportunities for Canadians both in Canada and abroad. ” —Joy Nott, President & CEO, I.E. Canada  

“A trade agreement with the European Union would give businesses on the East Coast a level playing field on which to expand, compete and invest for growth and to benefit workers, […] We welcome the government’s efforts to strengthen the transatlantic ties that make our economies stronger.” Ian Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Clearwater

Economic Development and Innovation
“Our priority here is job creation. Our priority is growing our economy. We’re not going to be able to do that if we don’t increase our exports, and so we commend Minister Fast for his efforts to reach out to the rest of the world and expand those opportunities for Ontario and the rest of the provinces to increase our employment and increase our economic opportunities.” Brad Duguid, Ontario Minister of Economic Development and Innovation

Alliance Grain Traders Inc.
“A trade agreement with the EU represents an opportunity for small and medium-sized businesses to increase growth and create jobs by diversifying their exports.” —Murad Al-Katib, Chairman of the Minister of International Trade’s Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises Advisory Board, and President and CEO of Alliance Grain Traders Inc.

Italian Chamber of Commerce in Canada - West
“A trade agreement with the European Union will give Canadian businesses a competitive advantage.” Celso Boscariol, President of the Italian Chamber of Commerce in Canada - West

Cavendish Farms
“A new agreement with European Union countries would represent significant opportunities for exporters in Atlantic Canada to develop new markets.” Robert Irving, President of Cavendish Farms

Greater Halifax Partnership
"As the increased trade flow occurs both ways, a lot of that movement will come through the Port of Halifax. Some of it may indeed be moving through the airport, through the cargo aspects, and that kind of thing […] And we know every ship that comes through the harbour creates four full-time jobs per year. Fisheries also stand to benefit because of reductions in tariffs and the ability to move more products at a better price into Europe." —Fred Morley, Executive Vice President & Chief Economist, Greater Halifax Partnership

Ce que l'on dit

Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada
« La conclusion de l’AECG pourrait aider les fabricants et les exportateurs canadiens à diversifier leurs ventes dans de nouveaux marchés d’exportation, à accroître leur présence en Europe et à faire du Canada une destination plus attrayante pour les investissements dans le secteur de la fabrication. » – M. Jayson Myers, président et chef de la direction, Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada

Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante
« Les PME sont depuis toujours en faveur d’ententes de libre-échange. Elles accueillent donc favorablement l’AECG puisqu’il leur permettra de tirer plus facilement avantage des occasions qu’offre l’énorme marché européen. Le fait que l’Accord réduira les formalités administratives et autres coûts qui constituent un important élément dissuasif pour les petites entreprises le rend encore plus attrayant. » – Mme Catherine Swift, présidente, Fédération canadienne de l’entreprise indépendante

Chambre de commerce du Canada
« La Chambre de commerce du Canada a toujours été en faveur d’un accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. Un AECG bénéficiera à toutes les entreprises canadiennes, grandes ou petites, partout au Canada. Il assouplira les règles commerciales, réduira les obstacles techniques et appuiera sans équivoque le commerce et l’investissement ouverts et réglementés. » – M. Perrin Beatty, président et chef de la direction, Chambre de commerce du Canada

Alliance canadienne du commerce agroalimentaire
« Il est essentiel d’ouvrir le marché européen aux produits agricoles et alimentaires canadiens. Le Canada exporte la moitié de sa production agricole et alimentaire. Nous devons absolument continuer de trouver de nouvelles possibilités d’exportation pour nos excellents produits. » – Mme Kathleen Sullivan, directrice générale, Alliance canadienne du commerce agroalimentaire

Forum sur le commerce Canada-Europe
« Les négociations sur l’AECG surviennent à un moment crucial dans le contexte de la fragile reprise économique mondiale, alors que les entreprises canadiennes ont la nécessité impérieuse de diversifier et d’intensifier leurs échanges commerciaux et leurs investissements avec les grands marchés du monde. Pour continuer d’innover et demeurer concurrentielles et prospères, les entreprises qui font grandir notre économie savent qu’elles doivent chercher activement de nouveaux débouchés commerciaux et des possibilités d’investissement à l’étranger. L’Union européenne est riche en débouchés de cette nature. Un AECG ambitieux accroîtra l’accès au marché des ressources, des produits agricoles, des biens fabriqués et des services canadiens, stimulera l’investissement bilatéral et facilitera l’intégration du Canada dans les chaînes de valeur mondiales et transatlantiques. » – M. Roy MacLaren, président canadien du Forum sur le commerce Canada-Europe

Association canadienne des importateurs et exportateurs (I.E.Canada)
« I.E.Canada croit fermement que la libéralisation du commerce en général entraîne des retombées importantes pour l’économie canadienne. Un accord ambitieux et de grande envergure tel que l’AECG pourra éventuellement ouvrir de nouveaux marchés d’exportation aux entreprises canadiennes, leur procurer des avantages concurrentiels et accroître les possibilités d’emplois pour les Canadiens, tant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. » – Mme Joy Nott, présidente, Association canadienne des importateurs et exportateurs (I.E.Canada)

Clearwater
« Un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne assurerait aux entreprises de la côte Est des chances égales de prendre de l’expansion, de faire face à la concurrence et d’investir dans ce marché de façon à renforcer leur croissance et à en faire bénéficier les travailleurs […] Nous nous réjouissons des efforts du gouvernement pour renforcer les liens transatlantiques qui rendent nos économies plus solides. » – M. Ian Smith, chef de la direction, Clearwater

Développement économique et de l’Innovation
« Nos priorités sont la création d’emplois et la croissance de l’économie. Nous n’y parviendrons pas sans augmenter nos exportations, et c’est pourquoi nous félicitons le ministre Fast pour les efforts qu’il a déployés afin de nouer des liens avec le reste du monde et d’accroître les débouchés pour l’Ontario et les autres provinces, dans le but de créer des emplois et de renforcer les possibilités économiques qui s’offrent à nous. » – M. Brad Duguid, ministre du Développement économique et de l’Innovation de l’Ontario

Alliance Grain Traders Inc.
« Un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne donnerait aux PME l’occasion de prendre de l’expansion et de créer des emplois tout en diversifiant leurs exportations. » –M. Murad Al‑Katib, président du Conseil consultatif sur les PME du ministre du Commerce international, et président et chef de la direction d’Alliance Grain Traders Inc.

Chambre de commerce italienne au Canada – Section ouest
« Un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne conférera aux entreprises canadiennes un avantage concurrentiel. » – M. Celso Boscariol, président de la Chambre de commerce italienne au Canada – Section ouest

Fermes Cavendish
« Un nouvel accord avec les pays de l’Union européenne offrirait d’excellentes occasions, pour les exportateurs du Canada atlantique, d’exploiter de nouveaux marchés. » – Robert Irving, président des Fermes Cavendish

Greater Halifax Partnership
« Puisque le flux des échanges commerciaux se fait dans les deux sens, une grande partie du transport des marchandises se fera par l’intermédiaire du port de Halifax. Une certaine partie du fret pourrait aussi expédiée en avion, en cargo par exemple. […] Nous savons que chaque navire qui arrive au port crée quatre emplois à temps plein par année. Le secteur de la pêche pourrait aussi bénéficier de la réduction des droits de douane et de la capacité d’acheminer vers l’Europe une plus grande quantité de produits à meilleur prix. » – M. Fred Morley, vice-président exécutif et économiste en chef du Greater Halifax Partnership