Canada’s FIPA Program: Its Purpose, Objective and Content

International investment is an essential corporate strategy for many Canadian companies competing in today’s global economy. By investing abroad, companies can gain access to overseas markets, reduce input costs, secure access to key resources, acquire new technologies and provide better support to foreign customers. Canadian consumers and businesses can also benefit from inbound foreign direct investment (FDI), through access to a wider variety of international products and services, improved job opportunities and added sources of tax revenue, which can go on to fund valuable domestic public services and infrastructure projects.

Still, each country operates with its own unique political, legal and regulatory environments. Many of these can be unfamiliar for Canadian investors looking to expand globally. Similarly, Canada places special importance on the autonomy of our indigenous communities, the protection of our natural environment and our commitments to international cooperation, highlighting the need to preserve policy flexibility in certain areas.

For this reason, the Canadian government pursues a policy of negotiating Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (FIPAs) that set out reciprocal binding obligations for signatory states in order to provide a more transparent and predictable climate for investors.

FIPAs are part of the expanding global network of bilateral investment treaties (BITs). According to the 2015 United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) World Investment Report, there are nearly 3,000 BITs worldwide. To date, Canada has 29 FIPAs in force. These FIPAs, combined with the investment obligations contained in Canada’s free trade agreements, provide protection for 57.1% of the known stock of outward direct investment of Canadian businesses at the end of 2014Footnote 1.

In addition to the information provided below, view the information session on FIPAs for an overview of Canada's FIPA program, including the obligations contained in the FIPA and common myths.

What is a FIPA?

A FIPA is an international treaty providing binding obligations on host governments regarding their treatment of foreign investors and investments. By setting out clear rules and an effective enforcement mechanism, a FIPA provides a stable legal framework to promote and protect foreign investment. It typically sets out a range of obligations that host governments guarantee pertaining to non-discriminatory treatment, expropriation, transfer of funds, transparency, due process and dispute settlement.

While Canada concludes FIPAs to protect Canadian investment abroad, the disciplines are reciprocal and serve to reinforce Canada as a stable and predictable destination for foreign investment. In this respect, FIPAs help enhance two-way investment flows between signatory countries.

In the absence of a FIPA, investors risk being subjected to potentially arbitrary or discriminatory measures of host country. These measures are often motivated by the unique political, geographic and economic characteristics of each country. While FIPAs play a critical role in setting a level playing field for investors, they also provide important exceptions to allow states to regulate in public interest.

The importance of foreign investment

The 2015 UNCTAD World Investment Report estimates that the global stock of outward foreign direct investment (FDI) has experienced phenomenal growth over the past two decades, increasing more than tenfold from US $2.3 trillion in 1990 to US $25.9 trillion in 2014Footnote 2.

The stock of foreign direct investment (FDI) in Canada has increased 92.6% since 2004, from $380 billion in 2004 to $732 billion in 2014Footnote 3. In the same time, the stock of Canadian direct investment abroad (CDIA) increased 84.6% from $449 billion in 2004 to $829 billion in 2014Footnote 4.

CDIA is important for Canadian companies to take advantage of global value chains and maximize efficiencies at every step of the production process. CDIA is a tool for companies to gain access to foreign markets (for example by establishing or acquiring international distribution systems), lower their input costs, secure access to key resources (both human and natural), and acquire strategic assets (for example by acquiring leading edge technologies, specialized skill sets or better management techniques) – thereby increasing their own productivity and profitability. In the services sector, CDIA is often the most effective way of meeting the needs and expectations of foreign customers.

CDIA is beneficial to the Canadian economy, particularly over the long term. For example, CDIA contributes to increased R&D and technology spillovers to the home economy leading to productivity improvements. It can also lead to increased exports of goods and services from Canada.

Most CDIA is concentrated in the finance and natural resources sectors. In 2014, 37.8% of CDIA stock was in finance and insurance, 18.4% in mining and oil and gas extraction, 14.6% in the management of companies and enterprises, and 8.3% in manufacturingFootnote 5. In the same year, 29.4% of inward FDI stock in Canada was in the manufacturing sector, 16.6% in the management of companies and enterprises, 20.9% in mining and oil and gas extraction, and 12.5% in finance and insuranceFootnote 6.

How are FIPA countries selected?

Canada identifies FIPA partners primarily on the basis of commercial compatibility, both in terms of Canadian Direct Investment Abroad and inbound Foreign Direct Investment. Canada has made it a priority to pursue investment agreements with markets, where Canadian business identified the need for better frameworks in business environment and where, inter alia, there is a strong likelihood of achieving a high quality and ambitious agreement.

An instrument of protection for Canadian investors

Given the importance of international investment to the market strategies of Canadian firms, it is now more important than ever to promote a fair, open and secure environment for Canadian investment abroad. The protections provided by FIPAs address a number of key issues facing Canadian firms when investing abroad.

  • FIPAs protect investors from discrimination on the basis of nationality. This guarantee is important to ensure that a Canadian investor can compete on equal footing with other investors, both national and foreign.
  • FIPAs provide for fair and equitable treatment and full protection and security in accordance with the principles of customary international law. This is an undertaking to ensure that treatment does not fall below a basic international minimum standard, for example in cases where there is a lack of due process.
  • FIPAs protect against expropriation without compensation. It requires that an expropriation be for a public purpose and provides for payment of prompt, adequate and effective compensation when expropriation does takes place.
  • FIPAs guarantee the free transfer of capital and other payments relating to an investment into and out of the host country. This allows Canadian firms to make payments and repatriate their profits and capital without delay in hard currency using a market rate of exchange.
  • FIPAs address a number of other issues that can affect the operation of Canadian investments such as the right to appoint individuals to senior management positions or to use suppliers of choice.
  • FIPAs provide access to international arbitration to resolves disputes.

While FIPAs typically contain the same type of general protections, investors should be familiar with the specific treaty provisions relating to the foreign market in which they are operating.

How FIPAs are used

It is difficult to measure the immediate economic benefits of FIPAs, as the positive impacts of FIPAs are realized over time, whether in the form of enhanced investment flows or bilateral relations in general. The presence of a FIPA, however, is adding to stability and predictability for Canadian investors, and does enhance the investment climate of the host country. FIPAs also reinforce Canada’s image as a premier investment destination. Recent studies analysing the impact of investment treaties find they are most effective in promoting governance and improving investor perception of the host country.

In practical terms, the existence of a FIPA and its investor-state dispute settlement mechanism reduces risks and allows an aggrieved investor to prosecute their claims before an international tribunal.

More generally, FIPAs open a channel of communication with the host country regarding measures that may affect a Canadian investor. Over the years, Canadian investors have used FIPAs to make representations to host country authorities and engage the host country in constructive consultations towards resolution of the dispute. Recourse to investor-state dispute settlement has also been made in some instances to seek redress for damages incurred.

Bottom line

FIPAs are part of the growing body of international law governing foreign investment, and Canadian investors can benefit from their protections. A Canadian investor relying on a FIPA can look to a comprehensive and specific set of obligations with recourse to international arbitration for their enforcement. The added security and predictability provided by a FIPA supports and enhances Canadian investment activities in foreign markets.

Questions and Answers about FIPAs

The answers to the following questions reflect the nature of most of Canada FIPAs. Investors should review the details of each FIPA relating to the foreign market in which they are operating.

What types of investments are covered by a FIPA?

Various forms of investment are usually covered by a FIPA. They include tangible assets, such as real estate or other property acquired for business purposes; portfolio investments or other forms of participation in a company or joint venture; intangible assets; and property rights, such as intellectual property rights.

Does the FIPA eliminate restrictions to invest in the foreign country?

No. The FIPA is not an instrument of liberalization. It can, however, support the goals of liberalization. For example, most FIPAs, but not all, contain provisions that commit Parties not to adopt measures that are more restrictive with respect to investment; and not to reverse any new liberalization measures that they may adopt. That said, the FIPA does not prevent Parties from regulating in the public interest with respect to health, safety and the environment. Parties may also exempt sensitive sectors from the FIPA’s obligations.

Is minority participation in a joint venture with a local partner covered?

Yes. Typically, an equity security of an enterprise, including a joint venture, is considered to be an investment. More generally, an interest in an enterprise that entitles the owner to share in income or profits of the enterprise is considered an investment under the FIPA.

Is an investment made by a subsidiary via a third country covered?

Yes. Provided the subsidiary is owned or controlled by an investor in Canada, the investment of the subsidiary would be covered by the disciplines of the FIPA.

Does the FIPA address taxation measures?

In general, taxation measures are outside of the scope of a FIPA. Taxation matters are addressed through bilateral double taxation agreements. Canada has 92 such agreements in force and several others under negotiation. For further information visit the Department of Finance website. Canada does, however, negotiate its FIPAs on the basis that tax measures will be subject to the disciplines of the FIPA with respect to expropriation and that tax measures that form part of a private investment agreement or contract between an investor and the host government are covered by the disciplines of the FIPA.

Does a FIPA provide protection across all sectors and industries?

While a FIPA provides protection for investments in general, it does allow Parties to make exemptions from the FIPAs obligations. For example, Canada’s cultural industries are typically not covered by FIPA protections.

Is the FIPA applicable to actions taken by local governments?

Yes. The FIPA applies to actions taken by all levels of government - local, provincial and federal.

Does the Department provide assistance to resolve a dispute?

The investor-state dispute settlement mechanism in a FIPA allows an investor, on its own, to pursue a claim against the host government. The Government of Canada will not be a party to a dispute launched by a Canadian investor. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, however, can provide assistance to Canadian investors, for example in the form of diplomatic assistance in dealing with the host government or in identifying contacts in the host country. The dispute itself, however, is a legal matter between the investor and the host government.

Where do I go if I encounter a problem?

The first step in resolving an issue with a host government is to pursue the issue directly with that host government. Documenting your complaint and expressing it in clear unambiguous terms are important steps in this process. If you believe there has been a breach of a FIPA obligation, you may wish to obtain legal advice on your options concerning recourse under the FIPA. You can also contact the local Canadian diplomatic mission. They can provide you with relevant contacts should you wish to pursue the matter further.

How long does it take to get a matter resolved by international arbitration?

Each case is different, so it is it difficult to generalize, but resolving a matter through international arbitration is a long process and can take several years.

What is the cost of arbitration?

Arbitral parties are responsible for the costs of the arbitral tribunal, payable in advance. Costs depend on the amount of time needed by the tribunal to hear and decide the case. In recent cases, the investor’s share of tribunal costs has ranged from several hundreds of thousands of dollars to over a million. In addition, the investor would be responsible for its own legal costs. A tribunal may award costs. For example, it may order the losing party to pay some or all of the successful party’s costs.

What countries is Canada negotiating FIPAs with?

For a comprehensive list of Canada's FIPAs, Ongoing FIPA Negotiations, and Recently Concluded FIPA Negotiations, please see the Negotiations and Agreements section.

Are there any complementary instruments available to protect Canadian investors?

Export Development Canada (EDC) is a Crown Corporation that provides financing and risk management services to Canadian exporters and investors in up to 200 markets worldwide.

EDC provides political risk insurance to Canadian businesses investing in emerging markets, including countries with which FIPAs have not yet been negotiated, protecting investors against the effects of unpredictable political events that can have an adverse impact on their foreign operations. Examples of such events include war, civil strife, terrorism, restrictions on the conversion and transfer of currency, breach of contractual obligations by foreign governments, and other foreign government interference that affects investors’ ownership rights or business operations, such as expropriation without prompt and adequate compensation.

EDC can also provide financing to Canadian investors or their foreign investments in support of CDIA. EDC financing support can be at the time of the investment or through-out the term of the investment.

Further Reading

Le Programme d'APIE du Canada : propos, objectif, teneur

Pour de nombreuses sociétés canadiennes actives sur la scène économique mondiale, l’investissement à l’étranger s’inscrit dans une stratégie d’entreprise incontournable. Investir à l’étranger permet aux entreprises d’accéder à des marchés étrangers, de réduire le coût des facteurs de production, d’assurer l’accès à des ressources déterminantes, d’acquérir de nouvelles technologies et d’apporter un soutien accru à des clients étrangers. Les consommateurs et les entreprises du Canada peuvent également profiter des investissements directs étrangers (IDE) faits au Canada en ayant accès à une gamme élargie de produits et de services internationaux, à des possibilités d'emploi accrues et à des sources additionnelles de recettes fiscales qui peuvent contribuer à financer des services publics et des projets d'infrastructure très utiles au pays.

Cependant, le contexte politique, le régime juridique et le cadre réglementaire de chaque pays sont uniques. Nombre d'entre eux peuvent être mal connus des investisseurs canadiens qui cherchent à accroître leurs activités à l'étranger. De même, le Canada accorde une importance particulière à l'autonomie de ses communautés autochtones, à la protection de son environnement naturel et à ses engagements en matière de coopération internationale, tout en soulignant la nécessité de conserver une marge de manœuvre en matière de politique dans certains domaines.

Voilà pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada mène une politique de négociation d’accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) qui exposent les obligations contraignantes réciproques auxquelles les pays signataires sont tenus afin d'instaurer des conditions plus transparentes et plus prévisibles pour les investisseurs.

Les APIE font partie d’un réseau mondial en expansion de traités bilatéraux d’investissement (TBI). Selon le Rapport sur l'investissement dans le monde 2015 de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED), il y a près de 3 000 TBI en vigueur dans le monde. À ce jour, le Canada compte 29 APIE en vigueur. À la fin de l'année 2014, ces APIE, alliés aux obligations en matière d’investissement énoncées dans les accords de libre-échange du Canada, garantissent une protection à 57,1 p. 100 des investissements directs recensés à l’étranger par les entreprises canadiennesNote de bas de page 1.

En plus de l’information donnée ci-dessous, visionnez la séance d’information consacrée aux APIE pour un survol du programme d’APIE du Canada, y compris les obligations comprises dans l’APIE et les mythes courants.

Qu’est-ce qu’un APIE?

Un APIE est un traité international qui impose au gouvernement hôte des obligations contraignantes en ce qui a trait au traitement réservé aux investisseurs et aux investissements étrangers. En énonçant des règles claires assorties d’un mécanisme d’application efficace, l’APIE instaure un cadre juridique stable qui contribue à promouvoir et à protéger les investissements étrangers. Généralement, on y énonce une série d’obligations que le gouvernement hôte s’engage à respecter concernant le traitement non discriminatoire, l’expropriation, le transfert de fonds, la transparence, le respect des procédures et le règlement des différends.

Le Canada conclut des APIE pour protéger l’investissement canadien à l’étranger, mais les sanctions prévues sont réciproques et permettent au Canada de renforcer son statut à titre de pays stable où les conditions d’investissement sont prévisibles. À cet égard, les APIE contribuent à intensifier les courants d’investissements entre les pays signataires.

En l’absence d’un APIE, les investisseurs courent le risque d’être l'objet de mesures arbitraires ou discriminatoires de la part du pays hôte. Ces mesures sont souvent motivées par les caractéristiques politiques, géographiques et économiques propres à chaque pays. Bien que les APIE jouent un rôle crucial en établissant des conditions équitables pour les investisseurs, ils contiennent également d'importantes exceptions afin que les États puissent adopter des règlements dans l'intérêt public.

L’importance de l’investissement étranger

Le Rapport sur l'investissement dans le monde 2015 de la CNUCED estime que le volume mondial des investissements directs étrangers (IDE) a enregistré une croissance phénoménale depuis les vingt dernières années. Il s’est en effet multiplié par dix, passant de 2,3 billions de dollars américains en 1990 à 25,9 billions de dollars américains en 2014Note de bas de page 2.

Les IDE au Canada ont augmenté de 92,6 % depuis 2004. En 2004, la somme des IDE était de 380 milliards de dollars alors qu’elle atteint 732 milliards de dollars en 2014Note de bas de page 3. Pendant cette même période, le volume des investissements directs canadiens à l’étranger (IDCE) a augmenté de 84,6 %. Leur somme qui était de 449 milliards de dollars en 2004 atteint 829 milliards de dollars en 2014Note de bas de page 4.

L’IDCE est important pour les sociétés canadiennes qui souhaitent profiter des chaînes de valeurs mondiales et optimiser leur efficience à tous les stades de la production. L’IDCE est un outil qui permet aux entreprises d’accéder aux marchés étrangers (par exemple, en établissant ou en acquérant des systèmes de distribution internationaux), de réduire le coût des facteurs de production, de s’assurer l’accès à des ressources déterminantes (humaines et naturelles) et d’acquérir des biens stratégiques (par exemple, en acquérant des technologies de pointe, des groupes de compétences spécialisées ou de meilleures techniques de gestion). Elles augmentent ainsi leur productivité et leur rentabilité. Dans le secteur des services, l’IDCE est souvent le moyen le plus efficace de satisfaire les besoins et les attentes des clients étrangers.

L’IDCE est bénéfique à l’économie canadienne, surtout à long terme. Par exemple, il contribue à accroître les retombées sur l’économie nationale en matière de R-D et de technologie, ce qui entraîne une hausse de la productivité. Il peut aussi entraîner une augmentation des exportations de produits et de services.

La plupart des IDCE sont concentrés dans les secteurs des finances et des ressources naturelles. En 2014, 37,8 p. 100 des IDCE ont été réalisés dans les secteurs des finances et de l’assurance, 18,4 p. 100 dans l’extraction minière et l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz, 14,6 p. 100 dans la gestion de sociétés et d’entreprises et 8,3 p. 100 dans le secteur de la fabricationNote de bas de page 5. Également en 2014, les IDE au Canada se divisaient comme suit : 29,4 p. 100 dans la fabrication, 16,6 p. 100 dans la gestion de sociétés et d’entreprise, 20,9 p. 100 dans l’extraction minière et extraction de pétrole et de gaz et 12,5 p. 100 dans les finances et l’assuranceNote de bas de page 6.

Comment le Canada choisit-il les pays avec lesquels il conclut des APIE?

Le Canada choisit les partenaires des APIE essentiellement en fonction de leur compatibilité commerciale en matière d'investissements directs canadiens à l’étranger et d'investissements directs étrangers (IDE) faits au Canada. Le Canada s’est fixé comme priorité de rechercher des accords d'investissement dans des marchés où les entreprises canadiennes ont déterminé qu'il était nécessaire d'améliorer le contexte commercial et oùil y a, notamment, de fortes chances de négocier un accord ambitieux de haute qualité.

Une protection pour les investisseurs canadiens

Vu l’importance qu’occupe l’investissement à l’étranger dans les stratégies de marché des sociétés canadiennes, il est aujourd’hui plus important que jamais d’instaurer des conditions équitables, ouvertes et sûres pour l’investissement canadien à l’étranger. Les protections qu’offrent les APIE touchent un certain nombre de questions fondamentales auxquelles doivent faire face les sociétés canadiennes lorsqu’elles investissent à l’étranger.

  • Les APIE protègent les investisseurs de la discrimination fondée sur l’origine nationale. Cette garantie est essentielle pour que les investisseurs canadiens puissent être sur un pied d’égalité avec les autres investisseurs, qu’ils soient nationaux ou étrangers.
  • Les APIE prévoient un traitement juste et équitable ainsi qu’une protection et une sécurité complètes conformes aux principes du droit international coutumier. Cette mesure permet de garantir que le traitement réservé aux investisseurs ne soit pas inférieur à une norme internationale minimale, par exemple, dans les cas où la loi ne serait pas appliquée en bonne et due forme.
  • Les APIE protègent de l’expropriation sans indemnité. L’expropriation doit être déclarée à des fins d’intérêt public et entraîne le versement immédiat et effectif d’une indemnité convenable.
  • Les APIE garantissent le transfert sans frais de capitaux et de paiements liés à un investissement entre le Canada et le pays hôte. Ainsi, les entreprises canadiennes peuvent effectuer des paiements et rapatrier rapidement leurs bénéfices et leurs capitaux en monnaie forte au taux de change du marché.
  • Les APIE portent sur un certain nombre d’autres questions susceptibles d’influer sur les investissements canadiens, comme le droit de nommer des personnes à des postes de gestion de niveau supérieur ou de faire appel aux fournisseurs de son choix.
  • Les APIE permettent de recourir à l’arbitrage international pour régler les différends.

De manière générale, les APIE contiennent tous le même type de protections générales; toutefois, mieux vaut que les investisseurs examinent attentivement les dispositions du traité conclu avec le pays où ils exercent leurs activités.

Comment utiliser les APIE

Il est difficile de mesurer les avantages immédiats économiques des APIE étant donné que les retombées utiles se font au fil du temps, que ce soit sous la forme de courants d’investissements accrus ou, de manière générale, d’une amélioration des relations bilatérales. Toutefois, l’existence d’un APIE est une sécurité supplémentaire pour les investisseurs canadiens et améliore le climat d’investissement dans le pays hôte. Les APIE rehaussent également l'image du Canada en tant que destination de choix pour l’investissement. Des études récentes analysant l’impact des traités sur l’investissement concluent que ces derniers jouent un rôle très important pour promouvoir la gouvernance et améliorer la perception que l’investisseur a du pays hôte.

D’un point de vue pratique, l’existence d’un APIE et d’un mécanisme de règlement des différends entre un investisseur et un État réduit les risques et permet à un investisseur lésé d’intenter une action devant un tribunal international.

De façon plus générale, les APIE ouvrent une voie de communication avec les pays hôtes sur les mesures susceptibles de nuire aux investisseurs canadiens. Au fil des ans, les investisseurs canadiens ont utilisé les APIE pour faire des représentations auprès des autorités du pays hôte et amener ce dernier à participer à des consultations constructives en vue de régler un différend. Dans certains cas, on a aussi eu recours au règlement des différends entre un investisseur et un État afin d’obtenir réparation pour les dommages subis.

Conclusion

Les APIE font partie des lois internationales régissant l’investissement à l’étranger qui sont de plus en plus nombreuses. Les investisseurs canadiens peuvent profiter de la protection qu’ils offrent. L'investisseur canadien qui compte sur un APIE peut s’appuyer sur un ensemble d'obligations particulières qui comprennent le recours à l’arbitrage international en cas de non-respect. La sécurité et la prévisibilité accrues que confère l’existence d’un APIE soutiennent et stimulent les activités d'investissement des Canadiens sur les marchés étrangers.

Questions et réponses sur les APIE

Les réponses aux questions suivantes illustrent la nature de la plupart des APIE que le Canada a signés. Les investisseurs doivent cependant examiner les détails de chaque APIE signé avec le pays dans lequel ils exercent des activités.

Quels sont les types d’investissement concernés par les APIE?

Les APIE portent généralement sur diverses formes d’investissement qui englobent les actifs corporels, tels que les biens immobiliers ou d'autres biens acquis à des fins commerciales, l’investissement de portefeuille ou d'autres formes de participation dans une société ou une coentreprise ainsi que les actifs incorporels et les droits de propriété, tels que les droits de propriété intellectuelle.

Les APIE abolissent-ils les restrictions à l’investissement dans le pays étranger?

Non. L’APIE n’est pas un instrument de libéralisation. Il peut néanmoins en favoriser les objectifs. Par exemple, la plupart des APIE (pas tous) contiennent des dispositions en vertu desquelles les parties s'engagent à ne pas adopter de mesures plus restrictives à l’égard de l’investissement et à ne pas annuler toute nouvelle mesure de libéralisation qu’elles pourraient adopter. Cela étant dit, un APIE n’empêche pas les parties d’adopter des règlements en matière de santé, de sécurité et d’environnement dans l’intérêt public. Les parties peuvent également exempter certains secteurs sensibles des obligations imposées par un APIE.

Les APIE portent-ils sur la participation minoritaire à une coentreprise avec un associé local?

Oui. Un titre participatif d’une entreprise, y compris une coentreprise, est considéré comme un investissement. De manière plus générale, les intérêts détenus dans une entreprise qui confèrent à son propriétaire le droit de partager les revenus ou les bénéfices de l’entreprise sont considérés comme un investissement au titre d'un APIE.

Les APIE portent-ils sur un investissement réalisé par une filiale située dans un pays tiers?

Oui, si la filiale est détenue ou contrôlée par un investisseur au Canada, les disciplines de l’APIE s’appliquent à l’investissement de cette filiale.

Les APIE portent-ils sur les mesures fiscales?

Les mesures fiscales dépassent généralement la portée des APIE. Celles-ci sont abordées dans le cadre des conventions fiscales bilatérales. Le Canada est partie à 92 conventions fiscales en vigueur et plusieurs autres sont en cours de négociation. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez le site Web du ministère des Finances. Cependant, le Canada négocie ses APIE en partant du fait que les mesures fiscales seront assujetties aux disciplines relatives à l'expropriation de l'APIE et que les mesures fiscales prévues dans un accord d’investissement privé ou un marché entre un investisseur et le gouvernement hôte relèvent des disciplines de l'APIE.

Les APIE garantissent-ils une protection dans tous les secteurs d’activités?

Même si les APIE assurent la protection des investissements en général, les parties à ceux-ci peuvent prévoir des exemptions aux obligations qu'ils imposent. Par exemple, les industries culturelles canadiennes échappent généralement aux protections des APIE.

Les APIE s’appliquent-ils aux mesures prises par les gouvernements locaux?

Oui. Les APIE s’appliquent aux mesures prises par tous les ordres de gouvernement — administration locale, gouvernement provincial et fédéral.

Le Ministère apporte-t-il son aide en cas de litige?

Le mécanisme de règlement des différends entre un investisseur et un État prévu dans les APIE permet à l'investisseur de poursuivre seul une cause d’action contre le gouvernement hôte. Le gouvernement du Canada n’intervient pas dans les poursuites engagées par les investisseurs canadiens. Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international peut cependant apporter une aide aux investisseurs canadiens sous la forme de soutien diplomatique dans leurs contacts avec le gouvernement hôte ou de désignation de personnes-ressources dans le pays hôte. Le différend en soi demeure toutefois une affaire juridique entre l’investisseur et le gouvernement hôte.

À qui s’adresser en cas de problème?

La première étape du règlement d'un différend avec un gouvernement hôte consiste à s’adresser directement à celui-ci. Étayer la plainte et la formuler sans ambiguïté dans des termes clairs sont des étapes fondamentales de ce processus. Si vous croyez qu’une obligation de l’APIE n’a pas été respectée, peut-être voudrez-vous obtenir des conseils juridiques sur les options de recours qui s’offrent à vous. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec la mission diplomatique locale du Canada qui pourra vous donner les coordonnées de personnes-ressources compétentes si vous souhaitez poursuivre l’affaire.

En combien de temps une affaire soumise à l’arbitrage international est-elle réglée?

Comme chaque affaire est différente, il est difficile de généraliser. Il reste que la soumission d'un différend à l'arbitrage international est un processus long qui peut durer plusieurs années.

Combien coûte un tel arbitrage?

Les parties à un arbitrage sont responsables des coûts du tribunal arbitral qui doivent être payés à l’avance. Les coûts dépendent de la période de temps dont le tribunal a besoin pour entendre l’affaire et rendre une décision. Dans de récentes affaires, la part des coûts du tribunal qui incombe à l’investisseur varie de plusieurs centaines de milliers de dollars à plus d'un million de dollars. En outre, l’investisseur doit assumer ses propres dépens, et le tribunal peut allouer des dépens. Par exemple, le tribunal peut ordonner à la partie qui succombe de régler une partie ou la totalité des dépens de la partie qui obtient gain de cause.

Avec quels pays le Canada négocie-t-il des APIE?

Pour obtenir une liste exhaustive des APIE du Canada, des négociations d'APIE en cours et des négociations d'APIE récemment conclues, veuillez consulter la page Internet Accords et négociations.

Existe-t-il des instruments complémentaires qui protègent les investisseurs canadiens?

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) est une société d’État qui offre des services de financement et de gestion des risques aux exportateurs et aux investisseurs canadiens sur quelque 200 marchés étrangers.

EDC propose une assurance-risques politiques aux entreprises canadiennes qui investissent dans les marchés émergents, notamment les pays avec lesquels le Canada n’a pas encore négocié d’APIE, afin de protéger les investisseurs contre les effets défavorables que pourraient avoir des événements politiques imprévisibles sur leurs activités à l’étranger, par exemple, les guerres, conflits civils, attaques terroristes, restrictions à la conversion et au transfert de devises, non-respect d’obligations contractuelles et autres entraves posées par un gouvernement étranger qui ont une incidence sur les droits de propriété ou les activités commerciales d’un investisseur, comme une expropriation sans le versement rapide d'une indemnité suffisante.

EDC peut également assurer un financement aux investisseurs canadiens ou financer leurs investissements à l’étranger afin de soutenir les IDCE. Le soutien financier d’EDC peut être consenti au moment même de l’investissement ou pendant toute la durée de celui-ci.

Ouvrages à consulter