Canada-Kuwait Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) Negotiations

Background

On September 26, 2011 in Ottawa, Canada, Canada and Kuwait signed a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). The parties held their inaugural round of FIPA negotiations from September 10-12, 2007 in Ottawa, Canada. Two additional rounds of negotiations were held in March 2008 and October 2008 in Kuwait City and Ottawa respectively. The parties concluded this agreement in April 2009. Parties will now proceed with their respective domestic ratification processes. For Canada, the FIPA will be tabled in the House of Commons for a period of 21 sitting days for Members of Parliament to review and debate. The agreement will come into force once the Governor General has given royal assent to the agreement and the Kuwaiti ratification process has been completed. The text of the agreement will be released publicly once it has been tabled in Parliament.

A bilateral FIPA will provide greater predictability and certainty for Canadian investors considering investment opportunities in Kuwait.  By taking part in these negotiations, Canada has secured a comprehensive, high-quality agreement which will protect investors through the establishment of a framework of legally binding rights and obligations.

Although the current level Canadian investment in Kuwait is modest, given the country’s rapidly expanding economy and increasing openness to FDI, the country offers significant investment opportunities for Canadian investors in a variety of sectors including manufacturing, architecture and engineering, infrastructure, and health care, among others.

Related Links

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments, please contact Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada at:

Investment Trade Policy Division (TNI)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0679
E-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca

Négociations de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) entre le Canada et le Koweït

Contexte

Le 26 septembre 2011, à Ottawa, au Canada, le Canada et le Koweït ont signé un Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE). Les parties ont tenu leur première série de négociations au sujet d’un APIE du 10 au 12 septembre 2007 à Ottawa, au Canada. Deux autres séances de négociations ont eu lieu en mars et octobre 2008 au Koweït et à Ottawa respectivement. Les parties sont arrivées à un accord en avril 2009 et engageront maintenant leur procédure respective de ratification interne. Au Canada, l’APIE sera déposé à la Chambre des communes pendant une période de 21 jours de séance, afin que les députés puissent examiner l’accord et en débattre. L’APIE entrera en vigueur une fois que le gouverneur général aura accordé la sanction royale à l’accord et que le Koweït aura mené à bien sa procédure de ratification. Le texte de l’accord sera rendu public une fois qu’il aura été déposé au Parlement.

Un APIE bilatéral permet d’assurer des conditions plus prévisibles et sûres aux investisseurs canadiens qui songent à investir au Koweït. En prenant part à ces négociations, le Canada a obtenu un accord global et avantageux qui protègera les investisseurs, grâce à l’établissement d’un cadre de droits et d’obligations juridiquement contraignants.

Même si les investissements canadiens au Koweït sont modestes à l’heure actuelle, l’économie en essor rapide du Koweït et son ouverture croissante à l’investissement étranger direct offrent des débouchés prometteurs aux investisseurs canadiens dans une foule de secteurs, tels que la fabrication, l’architecture et le génie, l’infrastructure et les soins de santé, entre autres.

Liens connexes

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de toute question ou observation à ce sujet. Veuillez nous contacter au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada :

Direction de la Politique commerciale sur l’investissement (TNI)
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Téléc : 613-944-0679
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca