Canada-Macedonia Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) Negotiations

Background

Canada and Macedonia have agreed to begin negotiations towards a Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA). The parties have pledged to work together to conclude an agreement in a timely manner. The first round of negotiations is being planned for the coming months.

A bilateral FIPA will provide greater predictability and certainty for Canadian investors considering investment opportunities in Macedonia. Canada’s objective in entering these negotiations is to secure a comprehensive, high-quality agreement which will protect investors through the establishment of a framework of legally binding rights and obligations.

There is great potential for increased Canadian investment in Macedonia—especially in the transportation, information and communication technology, agri-food, tourism, mining, environmental technologies, construction and real estate sectors.

Related Links

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments, please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Investment Trade Policy Division (TNI)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0679
E-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca

Négociations de l’Accord de promotion et de protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Macédoine

Contexte

Le Canada et avec la Macédoine ont convenu d’entamer des négociations en vue de conclure un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE). Les parties ont pris l’engagement de travailler ensemble pour arriver à un accord dans les meilleurs délais. La première série de négociations est prévue au cours des mois à venir.

Un APIE bilatéral offrira une plus grande prévisibilité et une certitude accrue aux investisseurs canadiens qui envisagent les possibilités d'investissement au Macédoine. L'objectif du Canada dans le cadre de ces négociations est de conclure un accord global de grande qualité qui permettra de protéger les investisseurs grâce à l'établissement d'un cadre juridiquement contraignant de droits et d'obligations.

La Macédoine offre des opportunités aux investisseurs canadiens en particulier dans les secteurs des transports, des technologies de l’information et des communications, de l’agroalimentaire, du tourisme, de l’exploitation minière, des technologies environnementales, du bâtiment et de l’immobilier.

Liens connexes

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de toute question ou observation à ce sujet. Veuillez nous contacter au ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada :

Direction de la Politique commerciale sur l’investissement (TNI)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125 Promenade Sussex
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Téléc : 613-944-0679
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca