Canada-Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador (Formerly Canada – Central American Four) Free Trade Agreement Negotiations

Background Information

At the Canada-Central America Summit in Guatemala on September 28, 2000, Canada agreed to a request by the leaders of the Central American Four countries (The CA4) – Honduras, Guatemala, El Salvador and Nicaragua – to pursue free trade negotiations. Following extensive domestic consultations, formal negotiations were launched on November 21, 2001. Negotiations on parallel agreements on labour cooperation and the environment were launched at the same time.

After 10 rounds of negotiations, the talks reached an impasse in 2004, primarily over market access issues. Canada and the CA4 countries, however, continued to work to address the outstanding issues and lay the groundwork towards an eventual resumption of negotiations. To this end, Canadian and CA4 officials met three times in 2006, were in contact throughout 2007, and met again on three separate occasions in 2008. These discussions were useful and allowed officials to have a full exchange of views. Following the meetings in 2008, the Parties met in Ottawa from February 23 to 27, 2009, for the first full round of free trade agreement negotiations since 2004. Following further intersessional discussions via videoconferences, teleconferences and other exchanges, Canada and the CA4 met in Ottawa for the 12th round of negotiations from March 8 to 12, 2010.

Following the March 2010 round, Canada concluded that, among the CA4 countries, Honduras offered the best opportunity to conclude a free trade agreement in the short-term. As such, in October 2010, Canada and Honduras decided to concentrate on bilateral negotiations. To this end, Canadian and Honduran officials met three times for bilateral meetings: in Ottawa from December 6 to 9, 2010, in Tegucigalpa from February 14 to 18, 2011, and, for a final round in Ottawa from July 18 to 25, 2011.

On August 12, 2011, Prime Minister Harper announced the conclusion of negotiations on a Canada-Honduras free trade agreement during an official visit to San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

Canada-Guatemala, Nicaragua et El Salvador (Anciennement Canada – CA4) négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange

Renseignements supplémentaires

Au Sommet Canada-Amérique centrale qui a eu lieu au Guatemala le 28 septembre 2000, le Canada a acquiescé à la demande des dirigeants des pays du Groupe des 4 de l’Amérique centrale (CA4), soit le Honduras, le Guatemala, El Salvador et le Nicaragua de mener des négociations sur le libre-échange. Après la tenue de vastes consultations nationales, des négociations officielles ont été amorcées le 21 novembre 2001. Des pourparlers sur des accords parallèles relatifs à l'environnement et à la coopération dans le domaine du travail ont débuté au même moment.

Après dix séances de négociations, les pourparlers se sont retrouvés au point mort en 2004, principalement en raison de questions d'accès au marché. Le Canada et les pays du CA4 ont néanmoins poursuivi leurs efforts pour régler les questions en suspens et préparer le terrain en vue d'une reprise éventuelle des négociations. À cette fin, les représentants des deux parties se sont rencontrés à trois reprises en 2006, sont restés en contact tout au long de 2007 et se sont rencontrés de nouveau à trois reprises en 2008. Ces discussions se sont avérées utiles et ont permis aux représentants d'exprimer pleinement leurs points de vue. À la suite des réunions en 2008, les parties se sont rencontrées à Ottawa, du 23 au 27 février 2009, pour la première séance complète de négociations de l'accord de libre-échange depuis 2004. Les négociateurs ont continué de participer à des discussions intersessions lors de vidéoconférences, de téléconférences et d'autres échanges, puis se sont rencontrés à Ottawa pour la 12e séance de négociations, qui s'est tenue du 8 au 12 mars 2010.

Après la séance de mars 2010, le Canada a conclu que, parmi les pays du CA4, il serait plus facile de conclure un accord de libre-échange à court terme avec le Honduras. En octobre 2010, le Canada et le Honduras ont décidé de concentrer leurs efforts sur la conclusion d'un accord de libre-échange bilatéral. À cette fin, les représentants du Canada et du Honduras ont tenu trois séries de rencontres bilatérales : à Ottawa, du 6 au 9 décembre 2010, à Tegucigalpa, du 14 au 18 février 2011, et pour un dernier cycle à Ottawa, du 18 au 25 juillet 2011.

Le 12 août 2011, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé la conclusion des négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Honduras lors d’une visite officielle du premier ministre à San Pedro Sula, au Honduras.