Canada-India Free Trade Agreement Negotiations

Additional Background Information

The  former Minister of International Trade, the Honourable Peter Van Loan, launched free trade negotiations with India during his visit to New Delhi on November 16, 2010. At the opening session of these negotiations, Minister Van Loan highlighted the importance of cooperation and creativity in reaching a broad and ambitious free trade agreement. (See News Release: Minister Van Loan Launches Free Trade Talks with India)

The launch of the negotiations was preceded by the September 24, 2010 announcement by Minister Van Loan on the results of a Joint Study on the potential benefits of a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) between Canada and India. The announcement was made in Ottawa together with India’s Minister of Commerce and Industry, Anand Sharma, after the First Annual Ministerial Dialogue on Trade and Investment.

The study’s publication fulfils a commitment made by trade ministers on Novemebr 17, 2009, during Prime Minister Harper’s visit to India, when Canada’s and India’s leaders announced the creation of a Joint Study Group to explore the possibility of a comprehensive economic partnership agreemet and to complete a Joint Study within six months  (News Release – November 17, 2009.)

The Joint Study Group, comprised of Canadian and Indian officials, concluded in the report that there was sufficient common ground to recommend moving ahead with next steps towards negotiation of a comprehensive agreement covering substantially all trade in goods and services; investment; trade facilitation; and other areas of economic cooperation, as a 'single undertaking', leading to additional trade flows and economic gains.

Under Canada’s Global Commerce Strategy, the government is working to advance Canada’s trade interests by opening up new opportunities for Canadian exporters, investors and innovators. The strategy includes an aggressive trade negotiation agenda, aimed at securing competitive terms of access in markets that offer significant potential for our products and expertise. Based on extensive consultation with government, academic and Canadian business and industry representatives, the Government has identified priority markets around the world where Canadian opportunities and interests have the greatest potential for growth. The Government of Canada considers India to be a priority market, and we are delivering on our commitment to strengthen our relationship. In line with enhancing this bilateral engagement, on September 2, 2008, the Canadian Council of Chief Executives and the Confederation of Indian Industry issued a joint report entitled “India and Canada: A New Era of Cooperation” which makes recommendations on how to deepen our bilateral economic relationship.

The Joint Study Group engaged in substantive discussions on the parameters of a possible comprehensive economic partnership agreement. The thrust of the exploratory analysis, together with the Joint Study Group's findings and recommendations, are presented in this Government of Canada and Government of India Joint Study.

The Joint Study Group undertook economic modelling work which confirms the quite substantial and symmetric gains to be achieved through the elimination of barriers to trade. The Canadian modelling exercise estimates gross domestic product gains of 0.4 per cent for Canada and 0.5 per cent for India, which amount to approximately US$6 billion at current gross domestic product levels for each country. India’s modelling exercise, based on different assumptions, produced larger gains (1 per cent of gross domestic product, or US$12 billion for India and US$15 billion for Canada).

Canadian modelling work also shows substantial gains in bilateral trade, for Canada as high as 47 per cent and for India as high as 60 per cent. Canada's gains in exports to India would be widely spread across sectors, ranging from primary agricultural and resources-related products, to chemical products, transport equipment, machinery and equipment and services, while India's leading gains in exports to Canada would be concentrated in textile and apparel products and services.

Now one of the fastest-growing economies on the planet, India is projected to be the world’s third largest economy by 2050. India’s growing population, rising per capita income levels, rapidly expanding manufacturing, high-technology and services sectors, and the associated infrastructure and natural resources requirements make it a tremendous market of opportunity for Canadian companies.

Status of the negotiations

Last updated February 2013.

The seventh round of negotiations toward a Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) was held in New Delhi on February 5-6, 2013. Progress was made in most agreed areas of the negotiations. (See News Release: Canada and India Conclude Seventh Round of Negotiations Toward Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement)

Since Canada and India announced the start of free trade negotiations towards a CEPA in November 2010, following the release of the Canada-India Joint Study Report, in September 2010, seven rounds of negotiations have been held. The second round was held in Ottawa in July 2011, and the third, fourth and fifth rounds were held in New Delhi in December 2011, February 2012 and July 2012, respectively. The sixth round was held in Ottawa in November 2012. Additional meetings relating to the fifth round were also held in New Delhi in August 2012.

Progress has been made in all agreed areas of the negotiations, including market access for goods, rules of origin, trade facilitation, origin procedures, technical barriers to trade, sanitary and phytosanitary measures, institutional provisions, and trade in services, including temporary entry for business persons, telecommunications, and financial services. The CEPA negotiations remain a key priority in the Government of Canada’s international trade agenda. Canada will seek to conclude negotiations with India by the end of 2013, as reaffirmed by Prime Minister Harper and India’s Prime Minister Singh during the visit of PM Harper to India in November 2012.

Négociations visant la conclusion d’un Accord de libre-échange Canada-Inde

Renseignements généraux supplémentaires

L’ancien ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, a amorcé des négociations en vue de conclure un accord de libre-échange avec l’Inde lors de sa visite à New Delhi, le 16 novembre 2010. Lors de la séance d’ouverture de ces négociations, le ministre Van Loan a souligné l’importance de la coopération et de la créativité pour parvenir à un accord de libre-échange ambitieux et étendu. (Voir Communiqué : Le ministre Van Loan entame des pourparlers en matière de libre-échange avec l’Inde)

Le 24 septembre 2010, avant le lancement des négociations, le ministre Van Loan a annoncé les résultats de l’étude conjointe sur les avantages possibles d’un accord de partenariat économique global (APEG) entre le Canada et l’Inde. L’annonce a été faite à Ottawa, en compagnie du ministre du Commerce et de l’Industrie de l’Inde, M. Anand Sharma, après le Premier dialogue annuel des ministres sur le commerce et l’investissement.

La publication de l’étude donne suite à une promesse faite par les ministres du Commerce lors de la visite du premier ministre Harper en Inde, le 17 novembre 2009, durant laquelle les dirigeants du Canada et de l’Inde ont annoncé la création du Groupe d’étude conjoint pour explorer la possibilité d’établir un partenariat économique global et de réaliser une étude conjointe en six mois. (Communiqué du 17 novembre 2009.)

Le Groupe d’étude conjoint, composé de fonctionnaires canadiens et indiens, a fait ressortir dans son rapport un terrain d’entente suffisamment important pour aller de l’avant dans le processus de négociation d’un accord global, fondé sur le principe de l’engagement unique et couvrant pratiquement tous les échanges de marchandises et de services, l’investissement, la facilitation des échanges et d’autres domaines de coopération économique, ce qui générera de nouveaux flux commerciaux et des gains économiques.

Par la voie de sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale, le gouvernement s’emploie à faire avancer les intérêts commerciaux du Canada en permettant aux exportateurs, aux investisseurs et aux innovateurs canadiens d’avoir accès à de nouveaux débouchés. La stratégie comprend un programme audacieux de négociations commerciales visant à assurer des conditions concurrentielles d’accès aux marchés qui offrent un potentiel important pour nos produits et notre expertise. En se fondant sur des consultations approfondies menées auprès du gouvernement, d’universités et de représentants d’entreprises canadiennes et de l’industrie, le gouvernement a identifié à l’échelle mondiale des marchés prioritaires dans lesquels les possibilités et les intérêts des Canadiens ont le plus grand potentiel de croissance. Le gouvernement du Canada considère l’Inde comme un marché prioritaire, et nous honorons l’engagement que nous avons pris de renforcer notre relation. En vue de l’amélioration de cet engagement bilatéral, le Conseil canadien des chefs d’entreprise et la Confédération des industries indiennes ont publié un rapport le 2 septembre 2008, intitulé Inde et Canada : une nouvelle ère de coopération qui propose certaines recommandations afin d’approfondir davantage notre relation économique bilatérale.

Le Groupe d’étude conjoint a tenu des discussions de fond afin de se pencher sur les paramètres d’un éventuel accord de partenariat économique global. Le présent rapport, préparé conjointement par le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de l’Inde, vise à exposer les grandes lignes de l’analyse exploratoire de même que les constatations et les recommandations du Groupe d’étude conjoint.

Le Groupe d’étude conjoint a également établi un modèle économique qui a confirmé les gains considérables et symétriques pouvant être réalisés par l’élimination des obstacles au commerce. Selon le modèle élaboré par le Canada, le Canada et l’Inde pourraient enregistrer une croissance respective de 0,4 p. 100 et de 0,5 p. 100 de leur PIB, ce qui équivaut à des gains d’environ 6 milliards $ US par rapport au PIB actuel de chaque pays. Le modèle de l’Inde, lequel se fonde sur des hypothèses différentes, prévoit des gains plus importants (à savoir 1 p. 100 du PIB ou 12 milliards $ US pour l’Inde et 15 milliards $ US pour le Canada).

En outre, le modèle établi par le Canada envisage des gains importants relatifs aux échanges commerciaux bilatéraux, pouvant aller jusqu’à 47 p. 100 pour le Canada et jusqu’à 60 p. 100 pour l’Inde. Sur le plan des exportations, le Canada tirerait des gains de l’exportation d’un large spectre de biens vers l’Inde, englobant les produits agricoles primaires, les produits liés aux ressources, les produits chimiques, le matériel de transport, les machines et l’équipement ainsi que les services. En ce qui concerne l’Inde, la hausse de ses exportations au Canada serait surtout visible dans les secteurs des textiles et des vêtements, ainsi que dans les services connexes.

Affichant une croissance économique parmi les plus rapides de la planète, l’Inde devrait devenir la troisième économie mondiale d’ici 2050. L’augmentation de la population, la hausse du revenu par habitant, l’expansion rapide des secteurs manufacturiers, de la haute technologie et des services, et les besoins en infrastructures et en ressources naturelles qui y sont associés font de l’Inde un marché présentant des débouchés fort intéressants pour les entreprises canadiennes.

État des négociations

Dernière mise à jour en mars 2015.

La neuvième série de négociations visant la conclusion d’un Accord de partenariat économique global (APEG) entre le Canada et l’Inde a eu lieu les 19 et 20 mars 2015, à New Delhi. Les négociations ont porté essentiellement sur les biens et les services, et des progrès continuent d’être réalisés. Le Canada est déterminé à conclure un accord ambitieux avec l’Inde.

Depuis que le Canada et l’Inde ont annoncé, en novembre 2010, le début des négociations de libre-échange en vue d’un APEG à la suite de la publication du Rapport du Groupe d’étude conjoint Canada-Inde en septembre 2010, sept séries de négociations ont eu lieu. La deuxième série a été tenue à Ottawa, en juillet 2011, et les troisième, quatrième et cinquième séries se sont déroulées à New Delhi, en décembre 2011, février 2012 et juillet 2012, respectivement. La sixieme série s’est tenue à Ottawa en novembre 2012. D’autres réunions, dans le cadre de la cinquième série de négociations, ont également été organisées à New Delhi, en août 2012.

Des progrès ont été réalisés dans tous les domaines convenus des négociations, y compris l’accès aux marchés des produits, les règles d’origine, la facilitation du commerce, les procédures liées à l’origine, les obstacles techniques au commerce, les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires, les dispositions institutionnelles, le commerce de services, l’admission temporaire des gens d’affaires, les télécommunications et les services financiers. Les négociations en vue d’un APEG demeurent une priorité clé du programme de commerce international du gouvernement du Canada.