Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Part I - General Part

Chapter One - Objectives

Article 1.1: Establishment of the Free Trade Area

The Parties to this Agreement, consistent with Article XXIV of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, as specified in Annex 1A of the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, hereby establish a free trade area.

Article 1.2: Objective

1. The objective of this Agreement, as elaborated more specifically in its provisions, is to eliminate barriers to trade in, and facilitate the movement of, goods between the territories of the Parties, and thereby to promote conditions of fair competition and increase substantially investment opportunities in the free trade area.

2. The Parties shall interpret and apply the provisions of this Agreement in the light of its objective set out in paragraph 1 and in accordance with applicable rules of international law.

3. Each Party shall administer in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner all laws, regulations, decisions and rulings affecting matters covered by this Agreement.

Article 1.3: Relation to Other Agreements

1. The Parties affirm their existing rights and obligations with respect to each other under the Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, (hereinafter referred to as the WTO Agreement), including the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, (hereinafter referred to as GATT 1994), and its successor agreements and other agreements to which both Parties are party.

2. In the event of any inconsistency between this Agreement and such other agreements, this Agreement shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency, except as otherwise provided in this Agreement.

Article 1.4: Definitions of General Application

1. For the purposes of this Agreement, unless otherwise specified:

  • enterprise means any entity constituted or organized under applicable law, whether or not for profit, and whether privately-owned or governmentally-owned, including any corporation, trust, partnership, sole proprietorship, joint venture or other association;
  • good of a Party means a domestic good as this is understood in the GATT 1994 or such a good as the Parties may agree, and includes an originating good of that Party;
  • Harmonized System means the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System, including its General Rules of Interpretation, Section Notes and Chapter Notes, as adopted and implemented by the Parties in their respective tariff laws;
  • originating good or material means a good or material that qualifies as originating under Chapter Three;
  • person means a natural person or an enterprise; and
  • territory means:

(a) with respect to Canada the territory to which its customs laws apply, including any areas beyond the territorial seas of Canada within which, in accordance with international law and its domestic law, Canada may exercise rights with respect to the seabed and subsoil and their natural resources;

(b) with respect to Israel the territory where its customs laws are applied;

2. The rights and obligations of the Parties relating to the observance of this Agreement by regional and local governments shall be governed by Article XXIV:12 of the GATT 1994.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Partie I - Dispositions générales

Chapitre 1 -Objectifs

Article 1.1: établissement de la zone de libre-échange

Les Parties au présent accord, en conformité avec l'article XXIV de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994, ainsi qu'il est spécifié à l'annexe 1A de l'Accord instituant l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, établissent par les présentes une zone de libre-échange.

Article 1.2: Objectif

1. L'objectif du présent accord, défini de façon plus précise dans ses dispositions, consiste à éliminer les obstacles au commerce et à faciliter le mouvement des produits entre les territoires des Parties, de manière à favoriser une concurrence équitable et à augmenter substantiellement les possibilités d'investissement dans la zone de libre-échange.

2. Les Parties interpréteront et appliqueront les dispositions du présent accord à la lumière de l'objectif énoncé au paragraphe 1 et en conformité avec les règles applicables du droit international.

3. Chacune des Parties administrera de façon uniforme, impartiale et raisonnable toutes les lois, réglementations et décisions touchant les questions visées par le présent accord.

Article 1.3: Rapports avec d'autres accords

1. Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations réciproques existants aux termes de l'Accord instituant l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (ci-après dénommé l'" Accord sur l'OMC »), y compris l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce (ci-après dénommé le " GATT de 1994 »), ainsi que des accords qui lui auront succédé et d'autres accords auxquels elles auront toutes deux adhéré.

2. En cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent accord et ces autres accords, et sauf disposition contraire, le présent accord prévaudra dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

Article 1.4: Définitions d'application générale

1. Aux fins du présent accord, et sauf stipulation contraire :

  • entreprise s'entend de toute entité constituée ou organisée sous le régime juridique applicable, qu'elle ait ou non un but lucratif et qu'elle appartienne à des intérêts privés ou à l'état, et notamment d'une société, d'une fiducie, d'une société en nom collectif, d'une entreprise à propriétaire unique, d'une entreprise commune ou autre association;
  • personne s'entend d'une personne physique ou d'une entreprise;
  • produit d'une Partie s'entend d'un produit national au sens du GATT de 1994 ou de tout produit dont les Parties pourront convenir, et notamment d'un produit originaire de cette Partie;
  • produit ou matière originaire s'entend d'un produit ou d'une matière admissible aux termes du chapitre 3;
  • Système harmonisé (SH) s'entend du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises, y compris ses règles générales d'interprétation, notes de sections et notes de chapitres, que les Parties ont adopté et mettent en oeuvre dans leurs législations douanières respectives; et
  • territoire s'entend :

a) dans le cas du Canada, du territoire auquel s'applique la législation douanière du Canada, y compris les régions s'étendant au-delà des eaux territoriales du Canada et qui, conformément au droit international et à la législation intérieure du Canada, sont des régions à l'égard desquelles le Canada est habilité à exercer des droits pour ce qui concerne les fonds marins et leur sous-sol ainsi que leurs ressources naturelles;

b) dans le cas d'Israël, du territoire auquel s'applique la législation douanière d'Israël.

2. Les droits et obligations des Parties relatives à l'observation du présent accord par les gouvernements et administrations régionaux et locaux seront régis par l'article XXIV:12 du GATT de 1994.