Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Part Two - Trade in Goods

Chapter 4 – National Treatment and Other Border Measures

National Treatment

Article 4.1: National Treatment

1. Each Party shall accord national treatment to the goods of the other Party in accordance with Article III of the GATT 1994, including its interpretative notes, and to this end Article III of GATT 1994 and its interpretative notes, or any equivalent provision of a successor agreement to which both Parties are party, are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

2. Paragraph 1 does not apply to the measures set out in Annex 4.1.

Technical Barriers to Trade

Article 4.2: Technical Barriers to Trade

1. The rights and obligations of the Parties relating to standards-related measures shall be governed by the Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade, part of Annex 1A of the WTO Agreement.

2. The Parties shall endeavour to enter into an agreement on mutual recognition respecting conformity assessment.

Article 4.3: Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

1. The rights and obligations of the Parties relating to sanitary and phytosanitary measures shall be governed by the Agreement on the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures, part of Annex 1A of the WTO Agreement.

Border Measures

Article 4.4: Import and Export Restrictions

1. Except as otherwise provided in this Agreement, neither Party may adopt or maintain any prohibition or restriction on the importation of any good of the other Party or on the exportation or sale for export of any good destined for the territory of the other Party, except in accordance with Article XI of GATT 1994, including its interpretative notes. To this end Article XI of GATT 1994 and its interpretative notes, or any equivalent provisions of a successor agreements to which both Parties are party, are incorporated into and made a part of this Agreement.

2. The Parties reaffirm that the GATT 1994 rights and obligations incorporated by paragraph 1 prohibit, in any circumstances in which any other form of restriction is prohibited, export price requirements and, except as permitted in enforcement of countervailing and antidumping orders and undertakings, import price requirements.

3. In the event that a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation from or exportation to a non-Party of a good, nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent the Party from:

(a) limiting or prohibiting the importation from the territory of the other Party of such good of that non-Party; or

(b) requiring as a condition of export of such good of the Party to the territory of the other Party, that the good not be re-exported to the non-Party, directly or indirectly, without being consumed in the territory of the other Party.

4. In the event that a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation of a good from a non-Party, the Parties shall consult, on request of the other Party, with a view to avoiding undue interference with or distortion of pricing, marketing and distribution arrangements in the other Party.

5. Paragraphs 1 through 4 shall not apply to the measures set out in Annex 4.1.

Emergency Action

Article 4.5: Bilateral Emergency Actions

1. Subject to paragraphs 2 and 3, if a good originating in the territory of one Party is, as a result of the reduction or elimination of a duty provided for in Chapter Two, being imported into the territory of the other Party in such increased quantities, in absolute terms, and under such conditions so that the imports of such good from the exporting Party alone constitute a substantial cause of serious injury to a domestic industry producing a like or directly competitive good, the importing Party may, to the extent necessary to remedy the injury:

(a) suspend the further reduction of any rate of duty provided for under this Agreement on such good; or

(b) increase the rate of duty on such good to a level not to exceed the lesser of:

(i) the most-favoured nation (MFN) rate of duty in effect at the time,

(ii) the applicable MFN or GPT rate of duty in effect on the day immediately preceding the date of the entry into force of this Agreement.

2. The following conditions and limitations shall apply to an action authorized by paragraph 1:

(a) notification and consultation shall precede the action;

(b) no action shall be maintained for a period exceeding three years;

(c) no action may be taken or maintained by a Party against any particular good originating in the territory of the other Party after July 1, 1999; and

(d) upon the termination of the action, the rate of duty shall be the rate which would have been in effect but for the action.

3. The Party taking an action pursuant to this Article may provide to the Party against whose good the action is taken mutually agreed trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions having substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action. If the Parties are unable to agree on compensation, the Party against whose good the action is taken may take action having trade effects substantially equivalent to the action taken under paragraph 1.

Article 4.6: Global Emergency Actions

1. The Parties retain their rights and obligations under Article XIX of the GATT 1994 or any safeguard agreement pursuant thereto except those regarding compensation or retaliation and exclusion from an action to the extent that such rights or obligations are inconsistent with this Article. A Party taking emergency action under Article XIX or any such agreement shall exclude from the action imports of a good from the other Party unless:

(a) imports from the other Party account for a substantial share of total imports; and

(b) imports from the other Party, contribute importantly to the serious injury, or threat thereof, caused by imports.

2. In determining whether:

(a) imports from the other Party account for a substantial share of total imports, those imports normally shall not be considered to account for a substantial share of total imports if the other Party is not among the top five suppliers of the good subject to the proceeding, measured in terms of import share during the most recent three-year period; and

(b) imports from the other Party contribute importantly to the serious injury, or threat thereof, the competent investigating authority shall consider such factors as the change in the import share of the other Party, and the level and change in the level of imports from the other Party. In this regard, imports from the other Party normally shall not be deemed to contribute importantly to a serious injury or threat thereof if the growth rate of imports from the other Party during the period in which the injurious surge in imports occurred is appreciably lower than the growth rate of total imports from all sources over the same period.

3. A Party taking such action, from which a good from the other Party is initially excluded, pursuant to paragraph 1, shall have the right subsequently to include that good from the other Party in the action in the event that the competent investigating authority determines that a surge in imports of such good from the other Party undermines the effectiveness of the action.

4. A Party shall, without delay, deliver written notice to the other Party of the institution of a proceeding that may result in emergency action under paragraph 1 or 3.

5. Neither Party may impose restrictions on a good in an action under paragraph 1 or 3:

(a) without delivery of prior written notice to the Commission, and without adequate opportunity for consultation with the other Party against whose good the action is proposed to be taken, as far in advance of taking the action as practicable; and

(b) that would have the effect of reducing imports of such good from a Party below the trend of imports of the good from that Party over a recent representative base period with allowance for reasonable growth.

6. The Party taking an action pursuant to this Article may provide to the Party against whose good the action is taken mutually agreed trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions having substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action. If the Parties are unable to agree on compensation, the Party against whose good the action is taken may take action having trade effects substantially equivalent to the action taken under paragraph 1 or 3.

Article 4.7: Export Taxes

1. Neither Party may adopt or maintain any duty, tax or other charge on the export of any good to the territory of the other Party, unless such duty, tax or charge is adopted or maintained on any such good when destined for domestic consumption.

2. Paragraph 1 does not apply to the measures set out in Annex 4.1.

Article 4.8: Temporary Entry of Business Persons

In view of the preferential trading relationship between the Parties, the Parties will facilitate temporary entry on a reciprocal basis for business persons who are otherwise qualified for entry under applicable measures of the Parties relating to public health, safety and national security and governed by the principles established in the General Agreement on Trade in Services, Annex 1B of the WTO Agreement, in particular the Annex on Movement of Natural Persons Supplying Services under the Agreement.

Consultations

Article 4.9: Consultations

1. The Parties shall meet on the request of either Party to consider any matter arising under this Chapter.

2. Where a Party requests consultations under paragraph 1, the Parties may refer the matter for non-binding technical advice or recommendations to a committee or working group, including an ad hoc committee or working group, or to another forum.

3. Where the Parties have consulted pursuant to this Article, the consultations shall, on the agreement of the Parties, constitute consultations under Article 8.6.

Annex 4.1

Exceptions to Article 4.1
Section A - Canadian Measures

1. Article 4.1 shall not apply to controls by Canada on the export of logs of all species.

2. Article 4.1 shall not apply to controls by Canada on the export of unprocessed fish pursuant to the following existing statutes, as amended as of August 12, 1992:

(a) New Brunswick Fish Processing Act, R.S.N.B. c. F-18.01 (1982), and Fisheries Development Act, S.N.B. c. F-15.1 (1977);

(b) Newfoundland Fish Inspection Act, R.S.N. 1990, c. F-12;

(c) Nova Scotia Fisheries Act, S.N.S. 1977, c. 9;

(d) Prince Edward Island Fish Inspection Act, R.S.P.E.I. 1988, c. F-13; and

(e) Quebec Marine Products Processing Act, No. 38, S.Q. 1987, c. 51.

3. Article 4.1 shall not apply to:

(a) measures by Canada respecting the exportation of liquor for delivery into any country into which the importation of liquor is prohibited by law under the existing provisions of the Export Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-18, as amended,

(b) Canadian excise duties on absolute alcohol used in manufacturing under the existing provisions of the Excise Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-14, as amended, and

(c) measures by Canada prohibiting the use of foreign or non-duty paid ships in the coasting trade of Canada unless granted a license under the Coasting Trade Act, S.C. 1992, c. 31, to the extent that such provisions were mandatory legislation at the time of Canada's accession to the GATT 1947 and have not been amended so as to decrease their conformity with the GATT 1994.

4. Article 4.1 shall not apply to:

(a) the continuation or prompt renewal of a non-conforming provision of any statute referred to in paragraph 2 or 3; and

(b) the amendment to a non-conforming provision of any statute referred to in paragraph 2 or 3 to the extent that the amendment does not decrease the conformity of the provision with Article 4.1.

Section B - Israeli Measures

1. Article 4.1 shall not apply to:

(a) controls and charges maintained by Israel on the export of metal waste and scrap;

(b) controls on imports of plastic, rubber, paper, metal and glass that are maintained by Israel for ecological purposes;

(c) subject to Israeli law, imports of meat not approved by the Chief Rabbinate; and

(d) controls maintained by Israel on the import of used clothing and made-up textile seconds.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Partie II - Commerce des produits

Chapitre 4 - Traitement national et autres mesures à la frontière

Traitement national

Article 4.1 : Traitement national

1. Chacune des Parties accordera le traitement national aux produits de l'autre Partie, en conformité avec l'article III du GATT de 1994 et ses notes interprétatives; à cette fin, ledit article III du GATT de 1994 et ses notes interprétatives, ou toute disposition équivalente d'un accord qui lui aura succédé et auquel les Parties auront toutes deux adhéré, sont incorporés dans le présent accord et en font partie intégrante.

2. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas aux mesures figurant à l'annexe 4.1.

Obstacles techniques au commerce

Article 4.2 : Obstacles techniques au commerce

1. Les droits et obligations des Parties concernant les mesures normatives seront régis par l'Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce, qui fait partie de l'annexe 1A de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

2. Les Parties s'efforceront de conclure un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle portant sur l'évaluation de la conformité.

Article 4.3 : Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires

1. Les droits et obligations des Parties concernant les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires seront régis par l'Accord sur l'application des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires, qui fait partie de l'annexe 1A de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

Mesures à la frontière

Article 4.4 : Restrictions à l'importation et à l'exportation

1. Sauf disposition contraire du présent accord, aucune des Parties ne pourra adopter ou maintenir une interdiction ou une restriction à l'importation d'un produit de l'autre Partie ou à l'exportation ou à la vente pour exportation d'un produit destiné au territoire de l'autre Partie, sauf en conformité avec l'article XI du GATT de 1994 et ses notes interprétatives. À cette fin, ledit article XI du GATT de 1994 et ses notes interprétatives, ou toute disposition équivalente d'un accord qui lui aura succédé et auquel les Parties auront toutes deux adhéré, sont incorporés dans le présent accord et en font partie intégrante.

2. Les Parties confirment qu'en vertu des droits et obligations découlant du GATT de 1994 et incorporés par l'effet du paragraphe 1, il leur est interdit, dans les circonstances où toute autre forme de restriction est prohibée, d'imposer des prescriptions de prix à l'exportation et, sauf lorsqu'elles sont autorisées à le faire pour l'exécution d'ordonnances et d'engagements en matière de droits antidumping et compensateurs, des prescriptions de prix à l'importation.

3. Dans le cas où une Partie adopte ou maintient à l'égard d'un pays tiers une interdiction ou une restriction à l'importation ou à l'exportation d'un produit, aucune disposition du présent accord ne pourra être interprétée comme empêchant la Partie :

a) de limiter ou d'interdire l'importation, depuis le territoire de l'autre Partie, d'un tel produit en provenance dudit pays tiers; ou

b) d'exiger, comme condition de l'exportation d'un tel produit de la Partie vers le territoire de l'autre Partie, que le produit ne soit pas réexporté vers le pays tiers, directement ou indirectement, sans avoir été consommé sur le territoire de l'autre Partie.

4. Dans le cas où une Partie adopte ou maintient une interdiction ou une restriction à l'importation d'un produit provenant d'un pays tiers, les Parties procéderont, à la demande de l'autre Partie, à des consultations pour éviter toute ingérence ou distorsion indue touchant les arrangements relatifs à l'établissement des prix, à la commercialisation et à la distribution dans cette autre Partie.

5. Les paragraphes 1 à 4 ne s'appliqueront pas aux mesures figurant à l'annexe 4.1.

Mesures d'urgence

Article 4.5 : Mesures bilatérales

1. Sous réserve des paragraphes 2 et 3, si, par suite de la réduction ou de l'élimination d'un droit prévue au chapitre 2, un produit originaire du territoire de l'une des Parties est importé sur le territoire de l'autre Partie en quantités tellement accrues, en termes absolus, et à des conditions telles que les importations du produit depuis la Partie exportatrice constituent à elles seules une cause importante de préjudice grave à une branche de production nationale qui produit un produit similaire ou directement concurrent, la Partie sur le territoire de laquelle le produit est importé pourra, dans la mesure minimale nécessaire pour réparer le préjudice :

a) suspendre toute réduction ultérieure du taux de droit prévue pour le produit aux termes du présent accord; ou

b) augmenter le taux de droit applicable au produit jusqu'à un niveau n'excédant pas le moins élevé des taux suivants :

(i) le taux de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) en vigueur au moment de l'adoption de la mesure, ou

(ii) le taux NPF ou le TPG applicable en vigueur le jour précédant la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2. Les conditions et limitations suivantes s'appliqueront à toute mesure d'urgence autorisée en vertu du paragraphe 1 :

a) aucune mesure ne pourra être adoptée sans notification et consultations préalables;

b) aucune mesure ne pourra être maintenue pour une durée de plus de trois ans;

c) aucune mesure ne pourra être adoptée ou maintenue par l'une des Parties à l'égard d'un produit quelconque originaire du territoire de l'autre Partie après le 1er juillet 1999; et

d) à l'expiration de la mesure, le taux de droit sera le taux qui aurait été en vigueur en l'absence de la mesure.

3. La Partie qui adopte une mesure d'urgence en vertu du présent article pourra accorder à la Partie dont le produit est visé une compensation mutuellement convenue ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce. Cette compensation pourra prendre la forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux équivalant substantiellement ou correspondant à la valeur des droits de douane additionnels censés résulter de la mesure. Si les Parties ne peuvent s'entendre sur la compensation, la Partie dont le produit est visé pourra prendre une mesure ayant des effets commerciaux équivalant substantiellement à ceux de la mesure adoptée en vertu du paragraphe 1.

Article 4.6 : Mesures globales

1. Chacune des Parties conserve les droits et obligations résultant pour elle de l'article XIX du GATT de 1994 ou de tout accord de sauvegarde conclu aux termes dudit article, sauf ceux concernant les mesures de compensation ou de rétorsion et l'exemption d'une mesure, pour autant que ces droits et obligations soient incompatibles avec les dispositions du présent article. La Partie qui adopte une mesure d'urgence aux termes de l'article XIX ou de tout accord de même nature devra en exempter les importations depuis l'autre Partie, sauf :

a) si les importations depuis l'autre Partie comptent pour une part substantielle des importations totales; et

b) si les importations depuis l'autre Partie contribuent de manière importante au préjudice grave causé par les importations.

2. Lorsqu'il s'agira de déterminer :

a) si les importations depuis l'autre Partie comptent pour une part substantielle des importations totales, les importations depuis cette Partie ne seront normalement pas réputées en cause si celle-ci n'est pas l'un des cinq principaux fournisseurs du produit visé par la mesure, compte tenu de la part des importations pendant la période de trois ans la plus récente; et

b) si les importations depuis l'autre Partie contribuent de manière importante au préjudice grave ou à la menace de préjudice grave, l'organisme d'enquête compétent tiendra compte de facteurs comme l'évolution de la part des importations de l'autre Partie ainsi que le niveau et l'évolution du niveau des importations de cette Partie. À cet égard, les importations depuis l'autre Partie ne seront normalement pas réputées contribuer de manière importante au préjudice grave ou à la menace de préjudice grave si le coefficient decroissance des importations depuis cette Partie au cours de la période d'augmentation subite et préjudiciable des importations est sensiblement inférieur au coefficient de croissance des importations totales de toutes sources au cours de la même période.

3. La Partie qui adopte une telle mesure et qui, aux termes du paragraphe 1, en exempte initialement un produit de l'autre Partie, aura le droit d'y assujettir ultérieurement ce produit si l'organisme d'enquête compétent détermine qu'une augmentation subite des importations de ce produit de l'autre Partie compromet l'efficacité de ladite mesure.

4. Chacune des Parties devra, sans délai, signifier à l'autre Partie un avis écrit l'informant de l'engagement d'une procédure susceptible d'entraîner l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence aux termes des paragraphes 1 ou 3.

5. Aucune des Parties ne pourra, dans le cadre d'une mesure adoptée en vertu des paragraphes 1 ou 3, imposer des restrictions à l'égard d'un produit :

a) sans l'avoir préalablement signifié par écrit à la Commission et sans avoir prévu une possibilité adéquate de consultations avec la Partie dont le produit est visé par la mesure envisagée, et cela le plus tôt possible avant l'adoption de la mesure; et

b) si la mesure doit avoir pour effet de ramener les importations de ce produit depuis l'autre Partie à un niveau inférieur à la tendance enregistrée pour les importations du produit depuis cette autre Partie pendant une période de base représentative récente, compte tenu d'une marge de croissance raisonnable.

6. La Partie qui adopte une mesure d'urgence en vertu du présent article pourra accorder à la Partie dont le produit est visé une compensation mutuellement convenue ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce. Cette compensation pourra prendre la forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux équivalant substantiellement ou correspondant à la valeur des droits de douane additionnels censés résulter de la mesure. Si les Parties ne peuvent s'entendre sur la compensation, la Partie dont le produit est visé pourra adopter une mesure ayant des effets commerciaux équivalant substantiellement à ceux de la mesure adoptée conformément aux paragraphes 1 ou 3.

Article 4.7 : Taxes à l'exportation

1. Aucune des Parties ne pourra adopter ou maintenir de droits, taxes ou frais relativement à l'exportation d'un produit vers le territoire de l'autre Partie, à moins que ces droits, taxes ou frais ne soient adoptés ou maintenus à l'égard de ce produit lorsqu'il est destiné à la consommation intérieure.

2. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas aux mesures figurant à l'annexe 4.1.

Article 4.8 : Admission temporaire des gens d'affaires

Compte tenu de leur relation commerciale préférentielle et dans le respect de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services, qui forme l'annexe 1B de l'Accord sur l'OMC, et notamment de l'Annexe sur le mouvement des personnes physiques fournissant des services relevant de l'Accord, les Parties continueront de faciliter à titre réciproque l'admission temporaire des gens d'affaires qui satisfont par ailleurs aux conditions d'admission établies en vertu des mesures applicables concernant la santé et la sécurité publique ainsi que la sécurité nationale.

Consultations

Article 4.9 : Consultations

1. Les Parties se réuniront à la demande de l'une d'entre elles pour examiner toute question concernant le présent chapitre.

2. Lorsque des consultations seront demandées en vertu du paragraphe 1, les Parties pourront soumettre la question, pour avis technique ou recommandations non contraignants, à un comité ou groupe de travail, y compris un comité ou groupe de travail spécial, ou à un autre forum.

3. Les consultations tenues conformément au présent article constitueront, si les Parties en conviennent, des consultations en vertu de l'article 8.6.

Annexe 4.1

Exceptions à l'article 4.1
Section A - Mesures du Canada

1. L'article 4.1 ne s'appliquera pas aux contrôles exercés par le Canada sur l'exportation de billes de bois de toutes essences.

2. L'article 4.1 ne s'appliquera pas aux contrôles exercés par le Canada sur l'exportation de poisson non transformé, conformément aux textes législatifs existants suivants, dans leur version modifiée au 12 août 1992 :

a) Loi sur le traitement du poisson, L.R.N.B. 1982 c. F-18.01 et Loi sur le développement des pêches, L.N.B. 1977 c. F-15.1;

b) Fish Inspection Act (Terre-Neuve) , R.S.N. 1990, ch. F-12;

c) Fisheries Act (Nouvelle-Écosse) , S.N.S. 1977, ch. 9;

d) Fish Inspection Act (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) , R.S.P.E.I. 1988, ch. F-13; et

e) Loi sur la transformation des produits marins (Québec) , nº 38, L.Q. 1987, c. 51.

3. L'article 4.1 ne s'appliquera pas

a) aux mesures adoptées par le Canada concernant l'exportation de boissons alcooliques destinées à être livrées dans un pays où l'importation de telles boissons est interdite par la loi, aux termes des dispositions existantes de la Loi sur les exportations, L.R.C. (1985) , ch. E-18, modifiée,

b) aux droits d'accise canadiens sur l'alcool absolu utilisé dans la fabrication, aux termes des dispositions existantes de la Loi sur l'accise, L.R.C. (1985) , ch. E-14, modifiée, et

c) aux mesures adoptées par le Canada interdisant l'utilisation de navires étrangers ou de navires non dédouanés dans le commerce côtier au Canada, sauf obtention d'un permis aux termes de la Loi sur le cabotage, L.C. (1992) , ch. 31, dans la mesure où ces dispositions avaient force de loi au moment de l'accession du Canada au GATT de 1947 et à condition qu'elles n'aient pas été modifiées de façon à en diminuer la conformité au GATT de 1994.

4. L'article 4.1 ne s'appliquera pas :

a) au maintien ou au prompt renouvellement d'une disposition non conforme de toute loi visée aux paragraphes 2 ou 3; et

b) à la modification d'une disposition non conforme de toute loi visée aux paragraphes 2 ou 3, pour autant que la modification ne diminue pas la conformité de cette disposition à l'article 4.1.

Section B - Mesures d'Israël

1. L'article 4.1 ne s'appliquera pas :

a) aux contrôles et frais maintenus par Israël relativement aux exportations de déchets et débris de métaux;

b) aux contrôles maintenus par Israël à des fins écologiques relativement aux importations de matières plastiques, de caoutchouc, de papiers, de métaux et de verre;

c) sous réserve de la législation israélienne, aux importations de viandes non approuvées par le Grand Rabbinat; et

d) aux contrôles maintenus par Israël relativement aux importations de vêtements usagés et d'articles textiles confectionnés de second choix.