Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Part Four - Conduct of Business

Chapter Seven – Competition Policy

Article 7.1: Competition Law

1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain measures to proscribe anti-competitive business conduct and take appropriate action with respect thereto, recognizing that such measures will enhance the fulfilment of the objectives of this Agreement. To this end the Parties shall consult from time to time about the effectiveness of measures undertaken by each Party.

2. Each Party recognizes the importance of cooperation and coordination between their authorities to further effective competition law enforcement in the free trade area. The Parties shall cooperate on issues of competition law enforcement policy, including mutual legal assistance, notification, consultation and exchange of information relating to the enforcement of competition laws and policies in the free trade area.

3. Neither Party may have recourse to dispute settlement under this Agreement for any matter arising under this Article.

Article 7.2: Monopolies and State Enterprises

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from designating a monopoly.

2. Where a Party intends to designate a monopoly and the designation may affect the interests of persons of the other Party, the Party shall:

(a) wherever possible, provide prior written notification to the other Party of the designation; and

(b) endeavour to introduce at the time of the designation such conditions on the operation of the monopoly as will minimize or eliminate any nullification or impairment of benefits.

3. Each Party shall ensure, through regulatory control, administrative supervision or the application of other measures, that any privately-owned monopoly that it designates and any government monopoly that it maintains or designates:

(a) acts in a manner that is not inconsistent with the Party's obligations under this Agreement wherever such a monopoly exercises any regulatory, administrative or other governmental authority that the Party has delegated to it in connection with the monopoly good, such as the power to grant import or export licenses, approve commercial transactions or impose quotas, fees or other charges;

(b) except to comply with any terms of its designation that are not inconsistent with subparagraph (c) acts solely in accordance with commercial considerations in its purchase or sale of the monopoly good in the relevant market, including with regard to price, quality, availability, marketability, transportation and other terms and conditions of purchase or sale; and

(c) does not use its monopoly position to engage, either directly or indirectly, including through its dealings with its parent, its subsidiary or other enterprise with common ownership, in anticompetitive practices in a non-monopolized market in its territory that adversely affects the other Party, including through the discriminatory provision of the monopoly good, cross-subsidization or predatory conduct.

4. Paragraph 3 does not apply to procurement by governmental agencies of goods for governmental purposes and not with a view to commercial resale or with a view to use in the production of goods for commercial sale.

5. For purposes of this Article, "maintain" means designate prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement and existing on January 1, 1997.

Article 7.3: State Enterprises

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from maintaining or establishing a state enterprise.

2. Each Party shall ensure, through regulatory control, administrative supervision or the application of other measures, that any state enterprise that it maintains or establishes acts in a manner that is not inconsistent with the Party's obligations wherever such enterprise exercises any regulatory, administrative or other governmental authority that the Party has delegated to it, such as the power to expropriate, grant licenses, approve commercial transactions or impose quotas, fees or other charges.

3. Each Party shall ensure that any state enterprise that it maintains or establishes accords non-discriminatory treatment in the sale of its goods.

Article 7.4: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

designate means to establish, designate or authorize, or to expand the scope of a monopoly to cover an additional good or service, after the date of entry into force of this Agreement;

monopoly means an entity, including a consortium or government agency, that in any relevant market in the territory of a Party is designated as the sole provider or purchaser of a good or service, but does not include an entity that has been granted an exclusive intellectual property right solely by reason of such grant, and

state enterprise means an enterprise owned, or controlled through ownership interests, by a Party and with respect to Canada, means a Crown corporation within the meaning of the Financial Administration Act (Canada) , as amended from time to time, and a Crown corporation within the meaning of any comparable provincial law or equivalent entity that is incorporated under other applicable provincial law.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Partie IV - Conduite des affaires

Chapitre 7 – Politique de concurrence

Article 7.1 : Lois sur la concurrence

1. Chacune des Parties adoptera ou maintiendra des mesures prohibant les comportements anticoncurrentiels et exercera toute action appropriée à cet égard, reconnaissant que de telles mesures favoriseront l'atteinte des objectifs du présent accord. À cette fin, les Parties se consulteront de temps à autre sur l'efficacité des mesures qu'elles auront entreprises.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance de la coopération et de la coordination entre leurs autorités pour l'application effective des lois sur la concurrence dans la zone de libre-échange. Les Parties coopéreront dans le domaine de l'application des lois sur la concurrence, y compris l'entraide juridique, la notification, la consultation et l'échange d'informations concernant l'application des lois et des politiques en matière de concurrence dans la zone de libre-échange.

3. Aucune des Parties ne pourra recourir au mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu par le présent accord pour l'une quelconque des questions concernant le présent article.

Article 7.2 : Monopoles et entreprises d'État

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie de désigner un monopole.

2. Lorsque la désignation d'un monopole risque d'affecter les intérêts de personnes de l'autre Partie, la Partie qui a l'intention d'effectuer la désignation :

a) en donnera, chaque fois que cela sera possible, notification préalable écrite à l'autre Partie; et

b) s'efforcera, au moment de la désignation, de subordonner l'exploitation du monopole à des conditions propres à réduire au minimum ou à éliminer toute annulation ou réduction d'avantages.

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte, par l'application d'un contrôle réglementaire, d'une surveillance administrative ou d'autres mesures, que tout monopole privé qu'elle désigne, ou tout monopole public qu'elle maintient ou désigne :

a) agisse d'une manière qui ne soit pas incompatible avec les obligations de la Partie aux termes du présent accord lorsqu'il exercera des pouvoirs réglementaires, administratifs ou autres pouvoirs gouvernementaux que la Partie lui aura délégués relativement au produit faisant l'objet du monopole, par exemple le pouvoir de délivrer des licences d'importation ou d'exportation, d'approuver des opérations commerciales ou d'imposer des contingents, redevances ou autres frais;

b) si ce n'est pour se conformer à des modalités de sa désignation qui ne sont pas incompatibles avec l'alinéa c) , agisse uniquement en fonction de considérations commerciales au moment d'acheter ou de vendre le produit faisant l'objet du monopole sur le marché pertinent, notamment en ce qui concerne le prix, la qualité, les stocks, les possibilités de commercialisation, le transport et les autres modalités et conditions d'achat ou de vente; et

c) n'utilise pas sa situation de monopole pour se livrer, sur un marché non monopolisé du territoire de la Partie, directement ou indirectement, et notamment à la faveur de ses rapports avec sa société mère, une filiale ou une autre entreprise à participations croisées, à des pratiques anticoncurrentielles pouvant nuire à l'autre Partie, notamment par la fourniture discriminatoire du produit faisant l'objet du monopole, par l'interfinancement ou par un comportement abusif.

4. Le paragraphe 3 ne s'applique pas aux achats de produits effectués par des organismes gouvernementaux à des fins gouvernementales plutôt qu'à des fins de revente ou d'utilisation dans la production de produits destinés à la vente.

5. Aux fins du présent article, " maintenir » s'applique à toute entité désignée avant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord et existante au 1er janvier 1997.

Article 7.3 : Entreprises d'État

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie de maintenir ou d'établir une entreprise d'État.

2. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte, par l'application d'un contrôle réglementaire, d'une surveillance administrative ou d'autres mesures, que toute entreprise d'État qu'elle maintient ou établit, agisse d'une manière qui ne soit pas incompatible avec les obligations de la Partie dans l'exercice de pouvoirs réglementaires, administratifs ou autres pouvoirs

gouvernementaux délégués par la Partie, et notamment le pouvoir d'exproprier, d'accorder des licences, d'approuver des opérations commerciales ou d'imposer des contingents, redevances ou autres frais.

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte qu'une entreprise d'état qu'elle maintient ou établit accorde, dans la vente de ses produits, un traitement non discriminatoire.

Article 7.4 : Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

désigner signifie établir, désigner ou autoriser un monopole, ou étendre un monopole à un produit ou à un service additionnel, après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord;

entreprise d'état s'entend d'une entreprise possédée par une Partie ou contrôlée par elle au moyen d'une participation au capital, et, pour ce qui concerne le Canada, d'une société d'état au sens de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (Canada) , modifiée de temps à autre, et de toute loi provinciale comparable, ou d'une entité équivalente qui est constituée en vertu d'autres lois provinciales applicables; et

monopole s'entend d'une entité, notamment un consortium ou un organisme gouvernemental, qui, sur un marché pertinent du territoire d'une Partie, est désignée comme le seul fournisseur ou le seul acheteur d'un produit ou d'un service, mais exclut une entité à laquelle a été octroyé un droit de propriété intellectuelle exclusif du seul fait de cet octroi.