Canada-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Part Five - Administrative and Institutional Provisions

Chapter Eight

Article 8.1: Application

1. This Chapter applies with respect to the avoidance or settlement of all disputes regarding the interpretation or application of this Agreement or wherever a Party considers that an actual or proposed measure of the other Party is or would be inconsistent with the obligations of this Agreement or cause nullification or impairment in the sense of Annex 8.1 unless the Parties agree to use another procedure in any particular case.

2. Disputes arising under both this Agreement and the WTO Agreement, including the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994 (WTO), and its successor agreements, to which both Parties are party, may be settled in either forum, according to the rules of that forum, at the discretion of the complaining Party.

3. Once the dispute settlement provisions of this Agreement or the WTO have been initiated pursuant to Article 8.7 or the WTO with respect to any matter, the procedure initiated shall be used to the exclusion of any other.

Article 8.2: The Commission

1. The Parties hereby establish the Canada-Israel Trade Commission (The Commission) to supervise the implementation of this Agreement, to resolve disputes that may arise over its interpretation and application, to oversee its further elaboration, and to consider any other matter that may affect its operation.

2. The Commission shall comprise representatives of both Parties. The principal representative of each Party shall be the cabinet-level officer or Minister primarily responsible for international trade, or a person designated by the cabinet-level officer or Minister.

3. The Commission shall convene at least once a year in regular session to review the functioning of this Agreement. Regular sessions of the Commission shall be held alternately in the two countries.

4. The Commission may establish, and delegate responsibilities to, ad hoc or standing committees or working groups and seek the advice of non-governmental individuals or groups.

5. The Commission may establish its rules and procedures. All decisions of the Commission shall be taken by consensus.

Article 8.3: Administrative Support to the Trade Commission and Dispute Resolution Panels

1. Each Party shall identify an agency, division or branch of its government ("designated agency") to facilitate the operation of this Chapter and to provide administrative assistance to panels established under this Chapter.

2. Where a Party has requested a Commission meeting under Article 8.7(1), the designated agency of the Party complained against shall be responsible for providing support to any mediator or to any panel established to deal with the dispute.

3. During a panel proceeding the Parties shall exchange documents by sending them to the designated agency to be filed and forwarded to the other Party. The designated agency shall administer the Code of Conduct for panelists established pursuant to Article 8.8, and provide administrative support for panels by arranging for hearing rooms, the production of panel reports and the payment of panelists. The designated agency may also provide administrative support for the Commission if so directed by the Commission.

Article 8.4: Contact Points

Each Party shall designate a central contact point to facilitate communication between the Parties on any matter covered by this Agreement. On the request of the other Party, the contact point shall identify the office or official responsible for the matter and assist, as necessary, in facilitating communication with the other Party.

Article 8.5: Publication, Notification and Provision of Information

1. Each party shall, to the extent possible, publish promptly, all laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting matters covered by this Agreement.

2. Each Party shall, to the extent possible, publish, consistent with Article X of GATT 1994, any law, regulation, procedure or administrative ruling of general application that it proposes to adopt respecting the matters covered by this Agreement.

3. Each Party shall, to the extent possible, provide written notice, in an official language of either Party, to the other Party of any proposed or actual measure that might materially affect the operation of this Agreement. The notice shall include, where appropriate, a description of the reasons for the proposed or actual measure.

4. The written notice shall be given as far in advance as possible of the implementation of the measure. If prior notice is not possible, the Party implementing the measure shall provide written notice to the other Party as soon as possible after implementation.

5. On request of the other Party, a Party shall promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to any actual or proposed measure, whether or not previously notified.

6. The provision of written notice shall be without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 8.6: Consultations

1. Either Party may request consultations regarding any actual or proposed measure or any other matter that it considers affects the operation of this Agreement, whether or not the matter has been notified in accordance with Article 8.5.

2. The Parties shall make every attempt to arrive at a mutually satisfactory resolution of any matter through consultations under this Article or other consultative provisions of this Agreement.

3. Each Party shall treat any confidential or proprietary information exchanged in the course of consultations on the same basis as the Party providing the information.

Article 8.7: Initiation of Procedures

1. If the Parties fail to resolve a matter through consultations within 30 days of delivery of a request for consultations under Article 8.6, either Party may request in writing a meeting of the Commission. The request shall state the matter complained of, and shall indicate what provisions of this Agreement are considered relevant. Unless otherwise agreed, the Commission shall convene within 20 days after delivery of a request and shall endeavour to resolve the dispute promptly.

2. The Commission may call on such technical advisers as it deems necessary, or on the assistance of a mediator acceptable to both Parties, in an effort to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution of the dispute.

Article 8.8: Code of Conduct

The Parties shall, by the date of the entry into force of this Agreement, exchange letters establishing a Code of Conduct for panelists appointed pursuant to Article 8.9.

Article 8.9: Panel Procedures

1. Panels shall be established in accordance with the provisions of Annex 8.9.

2. If a dispute has been referred to the Commission under Article 8.7 and has not been resolved within a period of 30 days after the Commission has convened or within such other period as the Commission has agreed, the Commission, on the request of either Party, shall establish a panel of experts to consider the matter and to make findings, determinations and, if requested by either Party, recommendations concerning the removal of a measure found not to conform with the Agreement. A panel shall be deemed to be established from the date of delivery to the other Party of the request of a Party.

3. The panel proceedings commenced at the request of one Party shall take place in the territory of the other Party or in a jointly agreed location.

4. Unless the Parties otherwise agree within 20 days from the date of the delivery of the request for the establishment of the panel, the terms of reference shall be:

"To examine, in the light of the relevant provisions of the Agreement, the matter referred to the Commission (as set out in the request for a Commission meeting) and to make such findings, determinations and recommendations if requested as are provided in this Article."

If the complaining Party, having raised it during the Commission meeting, wishes to argue that a matter has nullified or impaired benefits, the terms of reference shall so indicate.

5. The Commission shall, at its first meeting or shortly thereafter, establish Model Rules of Procedure. The Model Rules of Procedure shall:

(a) assure a right to at least one hearing before the panel and the opportunity to provide written submissions and rebuttal arguments;

(b) permit counsel chosen by a Party to advise that Party during panel proceedings including hearings;

(c) require that a Party's positions be presented by official spokespersons of that Party; and

(d) set out provisions concerning confidentiality of the panel's hearings, deliberations and initial report, and written submissions to and communications with the panel.

Unless otherwise agreed by the Parties, the panel shall conduct its proceedings in accordance with the Model Rules of Procedure and shall base its decision on the arguments and submissions of the Parties.

6. Unless the Parties otherwise agree, the panel shall, within 3 months after its Chairperson is appointed, present to the Parties an initial report containing findings of fact, its determination as to whether the measure at issue is or would be inconsistent with the obligations of this Agreement or cause nullification and impairment in the sense of Annex 8.1, and its recommendations, if any, for resolution of the dispute. Where feasible, the panel shall afford the Parties opportunity to comment on its preliminary findings of fact prior to completion of its report. If requested in the terms of reference for the panel, the panel shall also present findings as to the degree of adverse trade effect on the other Party of any measure found not to conform with the obligations of the Agreement.

7. Within 30 days of issuance of the initial report of the panel, a Party disagreeing in whole or in part may present a written statement of its objections and the reasons for those objections to the Commission and the panel. In such an event, the panel on its own motion or at the request of the Commission or either Party may request the views of both Parties, reconsider its report, make any further examination that it deems appropriate and issue a final report, together with any separate opinions, within 60 days of issuance of the initial report.

8. Unless the Commission agrees otherwise, the final report of the panel shall be published along with any separate opinions, and any written views that either Party desires to be published, within 15 days after it is presented to the Commission.

9. On receipt of the final report of the panel, the Commission shall agree on the resolution of the dispute, which normally shall conform with the report of the panel. Whenever possible, the resolution shall be non-implementation or removal of a measure not conforming with this Agreement or causing nullification or impairment in the sense of Annex 8.1 or, failing such a resolution, agreed compensation.

10. If in its final report a panel has determined that a measure is inconsistent with the obligations of this Agreement or causes nullification or impairment in the sense of Annex 8.1 and the Party complained against has not reached agreement with the complaining Party on a mutually satisfactory resolution pursuant to paragraph 9 within 30 days of receiving the final report if the measure was found to be inconsistent with this Agreement or within 180 days if the measure was found to cause nullification or impairment, the complaining Party may suspend the application to the Party complained against of benefits of equivalent effect until such time as they have reached agreement on a resolution of the dispute.

11. In considering what benefits to suspend pursuant to paragraph 9:

(a) a complaining Party should first seek to suspend benefits in the same sector or sectors as that affected by the measure or other matter that the panel has found to be inconsistent with the obligations of this Agreement or to have caused nullification or impairment in the sense of Annex 8.1; and

(b) a complaining Party that considers it is not practicable or effective to suspend benefits in the same sector or sectors may suspend benefits in other sectors.

12. On the written request of the Party complained against delivered to the complaining Party and to its designated agency, the panel which made the determination shall determine whether the level or extent of benefits suspended by the complaining Party pursuant to paragraph 10 is manifestly excessive.

13. The panel proceedings pursuant to paragraph 12 shall be conducted in accordance with the Model Rules of Procedure. The panel shall present its determination within 60 days of the date the Party complained against made the request or such other period as the disputing Parties may agree.

Article 8.10: Private Rights

Neither Party may provide for a right of action under its domestic law against the other Party on the ground that a measure of the other Party is inconsistent with this Agreement.

Annex 8.1

Nullification and Impairment

1. If a Party considers that the application of any measure, that is not inconsistent with the provisions of this Agreement, causes nullification or impairment of any benefit reasonably expected to accrue to that Party, directly or indirectly under the provisions of this Agreement, that Party may, with a view to the satisfactory resolution of the matter, invoke the consultation provisions of Article 8.6 and, if it considers it appropriate, proceed to dispute settlement pursuant to Article 8.7.

2. Paragraph 1 shall not apply to Article 10.5.

Annex 8.9

1. The Commission shall develop and maintain a roster of individuals who are willing and able to serve as panelists. Wherever possible, panelists shall be chosen from this roster. In all cases, panelists shall be chosen strictly on the basis of objectivity, reliability and sound judgment and, where appropriate, have expertise in the particular matter under consideration. Panelists shall not be affiliated with or take instructions from either Party.

2. The remuneration of panelists, their travel and lodging expenses, and all general expenses of the panel shall be borne equally by the Parties. Each panelist shall keep a record and render a final account of his time and expenses, and the panel shall keep a record and render a final account of all general expenses. The Commission shall establish amounts of remuneration and expenses that will be paid to the panelists.

3. The panel shall be composed of three members, who may be citizens of Canada or Israel. Within 45 days of establishment of the panel, each Party, in consultation with the other Party, shall choose one member of the panel, and the Commission shall endeavour to agree on the third member who shall chair the panel. If a Party fails to appoint its panelists within 45 days, such panelists shall be selected by lot from among its citizens on the roster described in paragraph 1. If the Commission is unable to agree on the Chairperson of the panel then each Party shall nominate a candidate for Chairperson and the Chairperson shall be selected by lot from the nominees agreed upon by the Parties.

4. Panelists may furnish separate opinions on matters not unanimously agreed.

5. No panel may, either in its initial report or its final report, disclose which panelists are associated with majority or minority opinions.

6. Panelists shall be subject to the Code of Conduct established pursuant to Article 8.8. If a Party believes that a panelist is in violation of the Code of Conduct, the Parties shall consult and if the Parties agree, the panelist shall be removed and a new panelist shall be selected in accordance with the procedures of this Annex.

7. If a panelist becomes unable to fulfil panel duties or is disqualified, proceedings of the panel shall be suspended pending the selection of a substitute panelist in accordance with the procedures of this Annex.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Israël

Partie V - Dispositions Institutionnelles et Administratives

Chapitre 8 - Dispositions Institutionnelles et Administratives

Article 8.1 : Application

1. Le présent chapitre s'appliquera lorsqu'on voudra prévenir ou régler tout différend touchant l'interprétation ou l'application du présent accord, ou chaque fois qu'une Partie estimera qu'une mesure envisagée ou adoptée par l'autre Partie est ou serait incompatible avec les obligations découlant du présent accord ou aurait pour effet d'annuler ou de compromettre un avantage, au sens de l'annexe 8.1, sauf si les Parties conviennent de recourir à une autre procédure dans un cas donné.

2. Les différends relatifs à toute question ressortissant à la fois au présent accord et à l'Accord sur l'OMC, y compris l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 (OMC) , ou à tout accord qui lui aura succédé et auquel les Parties auront toutes deux adhéré, pourront être réglés selon l'un ou l'autre instrument, au gré de la Partie plaignante.

3. Une fois qu'une procédure de règlement des différends aura été engagée en vertu du présent accord ou en vertu de l'Accord sur l'OMC pour quelque question que ce soit, l'instrument choisi sera utilisé à l'exclusion de tout autre.

Article 8.2 : La Commission

1. Les Parties instituent la Commission du commerce canado-israélien (la Commission) , qui est chargée de superviser la mise en oeuvre du présent accord, de résoudre les différends pouvant survenir concernant son interprétation et son application, de surveiller son développement et de se pencher sur toute autre question pouvant affecter son fonctionnement.

2. La Commission sera composée de représentants des deux Parties. Le principal représentant de chacune des Parties sera le membre du Cabinet ou le ministre responsable au premier chef du commerce international ou son délégataire.

3. La Commission se réunira au moins une fois l'an en session ordinaire pour examiner le fonctionnement du présent accord. Les sessions ordinaires de la Commission se tiendront alternativement dans l'un et l'autre pays.

4. La Commission pourra établir des comités ou groupes de travail spéciaux ou permanents et leur déléguer des responsabilités; elle pourra également recourir aux avis de personnes ou de groupes privés.

5. La Commission décidera de ses règles et procédures. Toutes les décisions de la Commission se prendront par consensus.

Article 8.3 : Soutien administratif de la Commission du commerce et des groupes spéciaux de règlement des différends

1. Chacune des parties désignera un organisme, une direction ou un secteur de son gouvernement (l'" organisme désigné ») pour faciliter l'application du présent accord et assurer le soutien administratif des groupes spéciaux institués en vertu du présent chapitre.

2. Lorsqu'une Partie aura demandé la convocation de la Commission en vertu du paragraphe 8.7(1) , il incombera à l'organisme désigné de la Partie visée par la plainte d'assurer le soutien de tout médiateur ou de tout groupe spécial saisi du différend.

3. Durant la procédure d'un groupe spécial, les documents à échanger entre les Parties seront adressés à l'organisme désigné, qui en assurera la transmission après en avoir versé copie au dossier. L'organisme désigné administrera le code de conduite établi à l'intention des membres des groupes spéciaux conformément à l'article 8.8 et, pour ce qui est du soutien administratif des groupes spéciaux, il organisera les salles d'audience, produira les rapports des groupes et assurera la rémunération de leurs membres. L'organisme désigné pourra également assurer le soutien administratif de la Commission, sur demande de celle-ci.

Article 8.4 : Points de contact

Chacune des Parties désignera un point de contact central pour faciliter les communications entre les Parties concernant toute question visée par le présent accord. Le point de contact indiquera à l'autre Partie, sur demande, quel bureau ou quel officiel est chargé de la question visée et, selon qu'il sera nécessaire, facilitera la communication avec ladite autre Partie.

Article 8.5 : Publication, notification et information

1. Chacune des Parties, dans la mesure du possible, publiera dans les moindres délais ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d'application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord.

2. Chacune des Parties, dans la mesure du possible et conformément à l'article X du GATT de 1994, publiera les lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d'application générale qu'elle envisage d'adopter concernant toute question visée par le présent accord.

3. Chacune des Parties, dans la mesure du possible, notifiera à l'autre Partie, dans une langue officielle de l'une ou l'autre des Parties, toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter et dont elle estime qu'elle pourrait affecter sensiblement le fonctionnement du présent accord. La notification comportera, s'il y a lieu, une justification de la mesure adoptée ou envisagée.

4. La notification écrite sera donnée aussi longtemps que possible avant la mise en oeuvre de la mesure en cause. Si une notification préalable est impossible, la Partie qui met en oeuvre la mesure en donnera notification par écrit à l'autre Partie le plus tôt possible après la mise en oeuvre.

5. Chacune des Parties, à la demande de l'autre Partie, fournira dans les moindres délais des renseignements et des éclaircissements sur toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter, que celle-ci ait ou non fait l'objet d'une notification préalable.

6. L'envoi d'une notification écrite ne préjugera aucunement la question de savoir si la mesure qui en fait l'objet est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 8.6 : Consultations

1. Chacune des Parties pourra demander des consultations au regard de toute mesure adoptée ou envisagée ou de toute autre question dont elle estime qu'elle affecte le fonctionnement du présent accord, que la question ou la mesure en cause ait ou non fait l'objet d'une notification conformément à l'article 8.5

2. Les Parties ne ménageront aucun effort pour parvenir, de quelque question qu'il s'agisse, à une solution mutuellement satisfaisante par voie de consultations, en vertu du présent article ou d'autres dispositions du présent accord prévoyant la tenue de consultations.

3. Chacune des Parties traitera au même titre que la Partie qui les fournit les renseignements de nature confidentielle ou exclusive communiqués dans le courant des consultations.

Article 8.7 : Engagement d'une procédure

1. Si les Parties ne parviennent pas à résoudre une question dans les 30 jours qui suivent la signification d'une demande de consultations conformément à l'article 8.6, l'une ou l'autre des Parties pourra demander par écrit la convocation de la Commission. La demande de convocation fera état de la question en cause, ainsi que des dispositions du présent accord jugées pertinentes. Sauf entente contraire, la Commission se réunira dans les 20 jours qui suivent la signification de la demande et s'efforcera de régler le différend dans les moindres délais.

2. Dans le but de parvenir à une solution mutuellement satisfaisante, la Commission pourra faire appel aux conseillers techniques qu'elle jugera nécessaires ou au concours d'un médiateur acceptable pour les deux Parties.

Article 8.8 : Code de conduite

Au plus tard à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, les Parties établiront, par un échange de lettres, un code de conduite à l'intention des membres des groupes spéciaux institués conformément à l'article 8.9.

Article 8.9 : Procédure des groupes spéciaux

1. Les groupes spéciaux seront institués conformément aux dispositions de l'annexe 8.9.

2. Si un différend soumis à la Commission en vertu de l'article 8.7 n'est pas réglé dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la convocation de la Commission ou dans tel autre délai convenu par celle-ci, la Commission instituera, à la demande de l'une ou l'autre des Parties, un groupe spécial d'experts pour examiner la question et établir des constatations, des déterminations et, si l'une des Parties en fait la demande, des recommandations concernant la levée d'une mesure déclarée non conforme à l'accord. Le groupe spécial sera réputé être institué à la date de signification de la demande à l'autre Partie.

3. Toute procédure instituée à la demande d'une Partie se déroulera sur le territoire de l'autre Partie ou en tel autre lieu convenu d'un commun accord.

4. Sauf entente contraire entre les Parties dans les 20 jours suivant la signification de la demande d'institution d'un groupe spécial, le mandat du groupe spécial sera le suivant :

" Examiner, à la lumière des dispositions pertinentes de l'accord, la question portée devant la Commission (telle que formulée dans la demande de convocation de la Commission) et établir les constatations, déterminations et recommandations prévues au présent article. »

Si la Partie plaignante, l'ayant déjà fait devant la Commission, entend soutenir qu'une question en litige a eu pour résultat une annulation ou une réduction d'avantages, le mandat devra l'indiquer.

5. Dès sa première réunion ou sitôt après, la Commission établira des règles de procédure types. Celles-ci devront :

a) garantir le droit à au moins une audience devant le groupe spécial, ainsi que la possibilité de présenter par écrit des conclusions et des réfutations;

b) permettre aux Parties de se faire conseiller par l'avocat de leur choix au cours de la procédure du groupe spécial, y compris lors des audiences;

c) exiger que les arguments des Parties soient présentés par les porte-parole officiels de celles-ci; et

d) comporter des dispositions visant la confidentialité des audiences, des délibérations et du rapport initial du groupe spécial, ainsi que des pièces écrites et des communications orales avec celui-ci.

Sauf entente contraire entre les Parties, le groupe spécial mènera sa procédure conformément à ces règles types et fondera sa décision sur les arguments et conclusions des Parties.

6. À moins que les Parties n'en conviennent autrement, le groupe spécial remettra aux Parties, dans un délai de 3 mois à compter de la nomination de son président, un rapport initial contenant ses constatations de fait, sa détermination quant à savoir si la mesure en cause est ou serait incompatible avec les obligations au titre du présent accord ou aurait pour effet d'annuler ou de compromettre des avantages au sens de l'article 8.1, et, le cas échéant, ses recommandations visant le règlement du différend. Lorsque faire se pourra, le groupe spécial donnera aux Parties la possibilité de présenter des observations sur ses constatations de fait préliminaires avant d'achever son rapport. S'il en est fait la demande dans le mandat qui lui est confié, le groupe spécial formulera également ses constatations quant à l'ampleur des effets défavorables que pourrait avoir sur le commerce de l'autre Partie toute mesure déclarée non conforme aux obligations découlant du présent accord.

7. Dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la remise du rapport initial du groupe spécial, toute Partie qui n'accepte pas tout ou partie du rapport présentera un exposé écrit et motivé de ses objections à la Commission et au groupe spécial. En pareil cas, le groupe spécial pourra, de son propre chef ou à la demande de la Commission ou de l'une des Parties, solliciter les vues des deux Parties, réexaminer son rapport, procéder à tout examen supplémentaire qu'il jugera approprié et présenter un rapport final, accompagné de toute opinion individuelle de ses membres, dans les 60 jours suivant la remise du rapport initial.

8. À moins que la Commission n'en décide autrement, le rapport final du groupe spécial sera rendu public dans les 15 jours suivant sa présentation à la Commission, de même que toute opinion individuelle de ses membres et toute observation écrite dont l'une ou l'autre des Parties souhaitera la publication.

9. Dès réception du rapport final du groupe spécial, la Commission s'entendra sur une solution du différend, laquelle devra normalement être conforme aux recommandations du groupe spécial. Dans la mesure du possible, la solution consistera en la non-application ou la levée de la mesure non conforme au présent accord ou ayant pour effet d'annuler ou de compromettre des avantages au sens de l'annexe 8.1, ou, à défaut d'une telle solution, en l'octroi d'une compensation.

10. Si un groupe spécial détermine dans son rapport final qu'une mesure est incompatible avec les obligations découlant du présent accord ou a pour effet d'annuler ou de compromettre un avantage au sens de l'annexe 8.1 et que la Partie visée par la plainte n'a pu s'entendre avec la Partie plaignante sur une situation mutuellement satisfaisante conformément au paragraphe 9, dans un délai de 30 jours à compter de la réception du rapport final en cas d'incompatibilité ou dans un délai de 180 jours en cas d'annulation ou de réduction d'avantages, la Partie plaignante pourra suspendre, à l'égard de la Partie visée par la plainte, l'application d'avantages dont l'effet est équivalent jusqu'à ce que les Parties se soient entendues sur une solution du différend.

11. Pour ce qui est des avantages à suspendre en application du paragraphe 9 :

a) la Partie plaignante devrait d'abord chercher à suspendre les avantages conférés au même secteur ou aux mêmes secteurs que le ou les secteurs touchés par la mesure ou autre question qui, selon le groupe spécial, est incompatible avec les obligations découlant du présent accord ou a eu pour effet d'annuler ou de compromettre un avantage au sens de l'annexe 8.1; et

b) si la Partie plaignante estime qu'il n'est pas matériellement possible ou efficace de suspendre les avantages conférés au même secteur ou aux mêmes secteurs, elle pourra suspendre les avantages conférés à d'autres secteurs.

12. Sur demande écrite signifiée par la Partie visée par la plainte à la Partie plaignante et à son organisme désigné, le même groupe spécial déterminera si la suspension d'avantages en vertu du paragraphe 10 est manifestement excessive par son niveau ou son étendue.

13. La procédure du groupe spécial prévue au paragraphe 12 sera menée conformément aux règles de procédure types. Le groupe spécial présentera sa détermination dans un délai de 60 jours à compter de la date de signification de la demande de la Partie visée par la plainte ou dans tel autre délai dont les Parties en litige pourront convenir.

Article 8.10 : Droits privés

Aucune des Parties ne pourra prévoir dans sa législation intérieure le droit d'engager une action contre l'autre Partie au motif qu'une mesure de cette autre Partie est incompatible avec le présent accord.

Annexe 8.1

Annulation et réduction d'avantages

1. Toute Partie qui estime qu'un avantage dont elle pouvait raisonnablement s'attendre à bénéficier en vertu des dispositions du présent accord, directement ou indirectement, est annulé ou compromis par suite de l'application d'une mesure qui n'est pas incompatible avec le présent accord, pourra demander les consultations prévues à l'article 8.6 et, si elle le juge approprié, recourir par la suite au mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu à l'article 8.7.

2. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'appliquera pas à l'article 10.5.

Annexe 8.9

1. La Commission dressera et tiendra une liste de personnes privées disposées et aptes à faire partie de groupe spéciaux. Dans la mesure du possible, les membres des groupes spéciaux seront choisis dans cette liste. Dans tous les cas, les candidats seront choisis strictement pour leur objectivité, leur fiabilité et leur discernement et devront, s'il y a lieu, être compétents dans le domaine dont relève la question à l'étude. Les candidats n'auront d'attaches avec aucune des Parties, et ne pourront en aucun cas en recevoir d'instructions.

2. Les Parties assumeront à part égale la rémunération des membres, leurs frais de déplacement et de logement ainsi que les dépenses générales du groupe spécial. Chaque membre consignera ses heures et ses dépenses et en fera un compte rendu final, et le groupe spécial consignera toutes ses dépenses générales et en fera un compte rendu final. La Commission établira le montant de la rémunération et des indemnités qui seront versées aux membres.

3. Le groupe spécial sera composé de trois membres, qui pourront être des citoyens du Canada ou d'Israël. Dans un délai de 45 jours à compter de l'institution du groupe spécial, chacune des Parties désignera un membre du groupe spécial en consultation avec l'autre Partie, et la Commission s'efforcera de s'entendre sur le choix du troisième membre, qui présidera le groupe. Si une Partie ne désigne pas son membre du groupe spécial dans le délai de 45 jours, celui-ci sera choisi par tirage au sort parmi ses citoyens figurant sur la liste visée au paragraphe 1. Si la Commission ne peut s'entendre sur le choix du président du groupe, chacune des Parties désignera un candidat à cet effet et le président du groupe sera choisi par tirage au sort entre les candidats ainsi désignés par les Parties.

4. Les membres des groupes spéciaux pourront présenter des opinions individuelles sur les questions qui ne font pas l'unanimité.

5. Aucun groupe spécial ne pourra indiquer, dans son rapport initial ou son rapport final, lesquels de ses membres sont associés à l'opinion majoritaire ou minoritaire.

6. Les membres des groupes spéciaux devront se conformer au code de conduite établi en application de l'article 8.8. Si une Partie estime qu'un membre viole le code de conduite, les Parties se consulteront, et si elles sont d'accord, ledit membre sera relevé de ses fonctions, et un nouveau membre sera désigné conformément aux procédures énoncées dans la présente annexe.

7. Si un membre devient incapable de remplir ses fonctions ou est exclu, le groupe spécial suspendra ses travaux jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau membre ait été désigné conformément aux procédures énoncées dans la présente annexe.