Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct a Strategic Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement

On March 25, 2012, Prime Minister Harper and Japanese Prime Minister Noda announced the launch of comprehensive economic partnership agreement (EPA) negotiations, or free trade negotiations, in Tokyo, Japan.
The Government of Canada is conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these free trade negotiations. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada of a prospective FTA with Japan.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade has directed trade officials to seek info and otherwise improve their understanding of the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations and with direction from the 2010 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.

For more information, please visit the following Web sites:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views on any likely and significant environmental impacts on Canada resulting from the prospective Canada-Japan EPA by January 23, 2013.

Contributions can be sent by email, fax or mail to:

Canada-Japan EPA Environmental Assessment
Trade Policy and Negotiations, Asia Division (TPA)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building, 125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale stratégique de l'accord de partenariat économique Canada-Japon

Le 25 mars 2012 à Tokyo, Japon, le Premier Ministre du Canada Stephen Harper et le Premier Ministre japonais Yoshihiko Noda ont annoncé le lancement de négociations en vue de conclure d’un accord de partenariat économique, ou accord de libre-échange avec le Japon.

Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une étude d’impact sur l’environnement en vue d’orienter les négociations de libre-échange en cours. Il recueillera des commentaires sur tous effets environnementaux importants et probables qu’un accord de libre-échange avec le Japon pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolument en faveur du développement durable. Des politiques relatives au commerce, à l’investissement et à l’environnement qui se renforcent mutuellement peuvent contribuer à l’atteinte de cet objectif. À cette fin, le ministre du Commerce international a demandé aux responsables du commerce de recueillir de l’information et d’approfondir leur compréhension de la corrélation entre les enjeux commerciaux et environnementaux dès les premières étapes du processus décisionnel, et ce, de façon ouverte. L’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales constitue un élément essentiel de ce travail.

Ce processus s’inspire du Cadre d’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales du Canada de 2001 et de la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2010.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à présenter, d’ici le 23 janvier 2013, leurs observations relatives aux effets environnementaux probables et considérables sur le Canada qu’engendrerait un APE entre le Canada et le Japon.

Vous pouvez envoyer votre contribution aux coordonnées suivantes :

Évaluation environnementale d’un APE Canada-Japon
Direction de la politique et des négociations commerciales, Asie (TPA)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson, 125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléc. : 613-944-0757
Courriel : EAconsultationsEE@international.gc.ca