Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 12: Transparency

Section A - Publication, Notification and Administration of Laws

Article 12-1: Publication

1. Each Party shall ensure that its laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting any matter covered by this Agreement are promptly published or otherwise made available in such a manner as to enable interested persons and the other Party to become acquainted with them.

2. To the extent possible, each Party shall:

(a) publish in advance any such measure that it proposes to adopt; and

(b) provide interested persons and the other Party a reasonable opportunity to comment on such proposed measures.

Article 12-2: Notification and Provision of Information

1. To the maximum extent possible, each Party shall notify the other Party of any proposed or actual measure that the Party considers might materially affect the operation of this Agreement or otherwise substantially affect the other Party's interests under this Agreement.

2. On request of the other Party, a Party shall, to the maximum extent possible, promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to any actual or proposed measure, whether or not the other Party has been previously notified of that measure.

3. Any notification or information provided under this Article shall not be determinative without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 12-3: Administrative Proceedings

With a view to administering all measures of general application affecting matters covered by this Agreement in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner, each Party shall ensure that in its administrative proceedings applying the measures referred to in Article 12-1 (Publication) to particular persons or goods of the other Party in specific cases:

(a) wherever possible, persons of the other Party that are directly affected by a proceeding are provided reasonable notice, in accordance with domestic procedures, when a proceeding is initiated, including a description of the nature of the proceeding, a statement of the legal authority under which the proceeding is initiated and a general description of any issues in dispute;

(b) such persons are afforded a reasonable opportunity to present facts and arguments in support of their positions prior to any final administrative action, when permitted by time, the nature of the proceeding, and the public interest; and

(c) its procedures are in accordance with domestic law

Article 12-4: Review and Appeal

1. Each Party shall establish or maintain judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative tribunals or procedures for the purpose of the prompt review and, where warranted, correction of final administrative actions regarding matters covered by this Agreement. Such tribunals shall be impartial and independent of the office or authority entrusted with administrative enforcement and shall not have any substantial interest in the outcome of the matter.

2. Each Party shall ensure that, in any such tribunals or procedures, the parties to the proceeding are provided with the right to:

(a) a reasonable opportunity to support or defend their respective positions; and

(b) a decision based on the evidence and submissions of record or, where required by domestic law, the record compiled by the administrative authority.

3. Each Party shall ensure, subject to appeal or further review as provided in its domestic law, that such decisions shall be implemented by, and shall govern the practice of, the offices or authorities with respect to the administrative action at issue.

Article 12-5: Cooperation on Promoting Increased Transparency

The Parties agree to cooperate, to the extent possible, in bilateral, regional and multilateral fora on ways to promote transparency in respect of international trade.

Article 12-6: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

administrative ruling of general application means an administrative ruling or interpretation that applies to all persons and fact situations that fall generally within its ambit and that establishes a norm of conduct but does not include:

(a) a determination or ruling made in an administrative or quasi-judicial proceeding that applies to a particular person or good of the other Party in a specific case; or

(b) a ruling that adjudicates with respect to a particular act or practice.

Section B- – Anti-Corruption

Article 12-7: Statement of Principles

The Parties affirm their resolve to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade.

Article 12-8: Anti-Corruption Measures

1. The Parties affirm their obligations under the United Nations Convention against Corruption, done at New York, 31 October 2003.

2. Each Party shall adopt or maintain the necessary legislative or other measures to establish, in matters affecting international trade, as criminal offences when committed intentionally:

(a) the solicitation or acceptance by a public official, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage, for the official himself or herself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of his or her official duties;

(b) the promise, offering or giving, to a public official, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage, for the official himself or herself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of his or her official duties;

(c) the promise, offering or giving to a foreign public official or an official of a public international organization, directly or indirectly, of an undue advantage, for the official himself or herself or another person or entity, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in relation to the performance of his or her official duties, in order to obtain or retain business or other undue advantage in relation to the conduct of international business;and

(d) aiding, abetting or conspiring to commit any of the offences described in subparagraphs (a) through (c).

3. Each Party shall adopt such measures as may be necessary to establish its jurisdiction over criminal offences referred to in paragraph 2 that have been committed in its territory.

4. Each Party shall make the commission of an offence covered by this Article liable to sanctions that take into account the gravity of that offence.

5. Each Party shall adopt such measures, as may be necessary, consistent with its legal principles, to establish the liability of legal persons for participation in the offences covered by this Article. In particular, each Party shall ensure that legal persons convicted for offences established in accordance with this article are subject to effective, proportionate and dissuasive criminal or non-criminal sanctions, including monetary sanctions.

6. Each Party shall consider incorporating in its domestic legal system at the national level appropriate measures to provide protection against any unjustified treatment for any person who reports in good faith and on reasonable grounds to the competent authorities any facts concerning offences established in accordance with this Article.

7. Subparagraph 2(c) applies without prejudice to any obligations of each of the Parties as to diplomatic immunity under international law.

Article 12-9: Cooperation in International Fora

1. The Parties recognize the importance of regional and multilateral initiatives to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade.

2. The Parties agree to work together to advance efforts in regional and multilateral fora to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade, including by encouraging and supporting appropriate initiatives.

Article 12-10: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

(a) foreign public official means any person holding a legislative, executive, administrative, or judicial office of a foreign country, whether appointed or elected, and any person exercising a public function for a foreign country, including for a public agency or public enterprise;

(b) public official means any person holding a legislative, executive, administrative or judicial office of a Party, whether appointed or elected and whether permanent or temporary.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie

Chapitre 12 : Transparence

Section A – Publication, notification et administration des lois

Article 12-1 : Publication

1. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d’application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord, soient publiés ou rendus accessibles d’une autre manière dans les moindres délais de façon à permettre à l’autre Partie et aux intéressés d’en prendre connaissance.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties :

a) publie à l’avance toute mesure de la nature susvisée qu’elle envisage d’adopter;

b) fournit à l’autre Partie et aux intéressés une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des observations sur cette mesure.

Article 12-2 : Notification et information

1. Dans toute la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties notifie à l’autre Partie toute mesure qu’elle envisage d’adopter ou adopte et dont elle estime qu’elle pourrait influer sensiblement sur l’application du présent accord ou, d’une autre manière, influer considérablement sur les intérêts de l’autre Partie au titre de l’accord.

2. Chacune des Parties, à la demande de l’autre Partie, fournit des renseignements, dans toute la mesure du possible et dans les moindres délais, et répond aux questions sur toute mesure qu’elle adopte ou envisage d’adopter, que l’autre Partie ait ou non préalablement reçu notification de cette mesure.

3. Les notifications ou communications de renseignements visées au présent article n’ont pas d’effet déterminant quant à la question de savoir si la mesure en cause est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 12-3 : Procédures administratives

Afin d’administrer de manière cohérente, impartiale et raisonnable toutes les mesures d’application générale touchant les questions qui relèvent du présent accord, chacune des Parties, dans ses procédures administratives appliquant les mesures visées à l’article 12-1 à des personnes ou à des produits déterminés de l’autre Partie dans des cas particuliers, fait en sorte :

a) que les personnes de l’autre Partie qui sont directement touchées par une procédure reçoivent, lorsque cela est possible et en conformité avec les procédures internes, un préavis raisonnable de l’engagement d’une procédure, ainsi que des renseignements sur la nature de celle‑ci, une déclaration précisant les dispositions législatives qui l’autorisent et un exposé général des questions en litige;

b) que ces personnes se voient accorder une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des éléments factuels et des arguments à l’appui de leur position avant que soit prise toute mesure administrative finale, dans les cas où les délais, la nature de la procédure et l’intérêt public le permettent;

c) que ses procédures soient conformes à son droit interne.

Article 12-4 : Révision et recours

1. Chacune des Parties établit ou maintient des tribunaux ou des procédures judiciaires, quasi judiciaires ou administratifs afin que soient révisées et, le cas échéant, corrigées dans les moindres délais les mesures administratives finales relatives à des questions visées au présent accord. Ces tribunaux sont impartiaux et indépendants de l’autorité ou du service chargé de l’exécution administrative, et ils n’ont aucun intérêt important dans l’issue de la question en litige.

2. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que les tribunaux ou procédures de la nature susvisée garantissent aux parties contestantes le droit :

a) à une possibilité raisonnable de soutenir ou de défendre leurs positions respectives;

b) à une décision fondée sur la preuve et les observations déposés ou, lorsque le droit interne l’exige, sur le dossier constitué par l’autorité administrative.

3. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que, sous réserve de recours ou de révision selon les voies que prévoit son droit interne, les décisions de la nature susvisée soient appliquées par les autorités ou les services compétents, et régissent leur pratique, relativement à la mesure administrative en cause.

Article 12-5 : Coopération en vue de promouvoir l’accroissement de la transparence

Les Parties conviennent de coopérer, dans la mesure du possible, dans les instances bilatérales, régionales et multilatérales, en vue de promouvoir la transparence en matière de commerce international.

Article 12-6 : Définitions

Dans de la présente section :

décision administratived’application générale s’entend d’une décision ou d’une interprétation administrative qui s’applique à toutes les personnes et situations de fait généralement visées par elle et qui établit une norme de conduite. La présente définition exclut :

a) une détermination ou une décision rendue dans le cadre d’une procédure administrative ou quasi judiciaire s’appliquant à une personne ou à un produit particulier de l’autre Partie dans un cas particulier;

b) une décision qui statue sur un acte ou sur une pratique en particulier.

Section B – Anticorruption

Article 12-7 : Déclaration de principe

Les Parties affirment leur détermination à prévenir et à combattre la corruption dans le commerce international.

Article 12-8 : Mesures anticorruption

1. Les Parties affirment les obligations qui leur incombent en vertu de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la corruption, faite à New York le 31 octobre 2003.

2. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient les mesures législatives ou autres mesures nécessaires pour constituer en infractions pénales les actes suivants, lorsqu’ils sont commis intentionnellement et touchent au commerce international :

a) le fait, pour un agent public, de solliciter ou d’accepter, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, afin d’accomplir ou de s’abstenir d’accomplir un acte dans l’exercice de ses fonctions officielles;

b) le fait de promettre, d’offrir ou d’accorder à un agent public, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, afin qu’il accomplisse ou s’abstienne d’accomplir un acte dans l’exercice de ses fonctions officielles;

c) le fait de promettre, d’offrir ou d’accorder à un agent public étranger ou à un agent d’une organisation internationale publique, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même, une autre personne ou une entité, afin qu’il accomplisse ou s’abstienne d’accomplir un acte relativement à l’accomplissement de ses fonctions officielles, en vue d’obtenir ou de conserver un marché ou un autre avantage indu dans le cadre du commerce international;

d) l’aide, l’incitation ou la collusion à l’égard de la perpétration de toute infraction visée aux sous‑paragraphes a) à c).

3. Chacune des Parties adopte les mesures nécessaires pour établir sa compétence à l’égard des infractions pénales visées au paragraphe 2 qui ont été commises sur son territoire.

4. Chacune des Parties rend la perpétration d’une infraction visée au présent article passible de sanctions qui tiennent compte de la gravité de cette infraction.

5. Chacune des Parties adopte, conformément à ses principes de droit, les mesures nécessaires pour établir la responsabilité des personnes morales qui participent aux infractions visées au présent article. En particulier, chacune des Parties veille à ce que les personnes morales déclarées coupables d’infractions au titre du présent article fassent l’objet de sanctions efficaces, proportionnées et dissuasives de nature pénale ou non pénale, y compris de sanctions pécuniaires.

6. Chacune des Parties envisage la possibilité d’incorporer dans son système juridique interne, sur le plan national, des mesures appropriées pour assurer la protection contre tout traitement injustifié de toute personne qui signale aux autorités compétentes, de bonne foi et sur le fondement de soupçons raisonnables, tous faits concernant les infractions constituées conformément au présent article.

7. Le sous–paragraphe 2c) s’applique sous réserve des obligations de chacune des Parties relatives à l’immunité diplomatique découlant du droit international.

Article 12-9 : Coopération dans les instances internationales

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance des initiatives régionales et multilatérales pour prévenir et combattre la corruption dans le commerce international.

2. Les Parties conviennent de collaborer, notamment en encourageant et en appuyant les initiatives appropriées, en vue de faire progresser les efforts que déploient les instances régionales et multilatérales pour prévenir et combattre la corruption dans le commerce international.

Article 12-10 : Définitions

Dans la présente section :

a) agent public étranger s’entend de toute personne qui occupe un poste administratif, législatif, exécutif ou judiciaire relevant d’un pays étranger, qu’elle y soit nommée ou élue, et de toute personne qui remplit une fonction publique pour un pays étranger, y compris pour un organisme public ou une entreprise publique;

b) agent public s’entend de toute personne qui occupe à titre permanent ou temporaire un poste administratif, législatif, exécutif ou judiciaire relevant d’une Partie, qu’elle y soit nommée ou élue.