Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 15: Exceptions

Article 15-1: General Exceptions

For the purposes of Chapters 2 (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods), 4 (Rules of Origin), 5 (Customs Procedures), 6 (Trade Facilitation) and 8 (Emergency Action), Article XX of GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement. The Parties understand that the measures referred to in Article XX(b) of GATT 1994 include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health. The Parties further understand that Article XX(g) of GATT 1994 applies to measures relating to the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

Article 15-2: National Security

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed:

(a) to require either Party to furnish or allow access to any information the disclosure of which it determines to be contrary to its essential security interests;

(b) to prevent either Party from taking any actions that it considers necessary for the protection of its essential security interests:

(i) relating to the traffic in arms, ammunition and implements of war and to such traffic and transactions in other goods, materials, services and technology undertaken directly or indirectly for the purpose of supplying a military or other security establishment,

(ii) taken in time of war or other emergency in international relations, or

(iii) relating to the implementation of national policies or international agreements respecting the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices; or

(c) to prevent either Party from taking action in pursuance of its obligations under the United Nations Charter for the maintenance of international peace and security.

Article 15-3: Taxation

1. Except as provided in this Article, nothing in this Agreement shall apply to taxation measures.

2. Nothing in this Agreement shall affect the rights and obligations of any Party under any tax convention. In the event of any inconsistency between this Agreement and any such convention, the convention shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2, Article 2-2 and such other provisions of this Agreement as are necessary to give effect to that Article shall apply to taxation measures to the same extent as does Article III of the GATT 1994.

Article 15-4: Disclosure of Information

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require a Party to furnish or allow access to information the disclosure of which would impede law enforcement or would be contrary to the Party's law protecting the deliberative and policy-making processes of the executive branch of government at the cabinet level, personal privacy or the financial affairs and accounts of individual customers of financial institutions.

2. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require, during the course of any dispute settlement procedure under this Agreement, a Party to furnish or allow access to information protected under its competition laws, or a competition authority of a Party to furnish or allow access to any other information that is privileged or otherwise protected from disclosure.

Article 15-5: Cultural Industries

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to apply to measures adopted or maintained by either Party with respect to cultural industries except as specifically provided in Article 2-3.

Article 15-6: World Trade Organization Waivers

To the extent that there are overlapping rights and obligations in this Agreement and the WTO Agreement, the Parties agree that any measures adopted by a Party in conformity with a waiver decision adopted by the World Trade Organization pursuant to paragraph 3 of Article IX of the WTO Agreement, shall be deemed to be also in conformity with the present Agreement.

Article 15-7: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

(a) competition authority means

(i) For Canada, the Commissioner of Competition or any successor notified in writing to the other Party, and

(ii) For Jordan, the Competition Directorate at the Ministry of Industry and Trade or any successor notified in writing to the other Party.

(b) information protected under its competition laws means

(i) For Canada, information within the scope of section 29 of the Competition Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-34, as amended, and

(ii) For Jordan, information protected under any ofits following laws:

  • Competition Law No. 33 of 2004, as amended;
  • Unfair Competition and Trade Secrets Law No. 15 of 2000, as amended; or
  • Protection of State's Secrets and Documents Law No. 50 of 1971, as amended.

(c) tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement; and

(d) taxes and taxation measures do not include:

(i) a customs duty,

(ii) an antidumping or countervailing duty that is applied pursuant to a Party’s domestic law,

(iii) a fee or other charge in connection with importation commensurate with the cost of services rendered, or

(iv) a premium offered or collected on an imported good arising out of any tendering system in respect of the administration of quantitative import restrictions, tariff rate quotas or tariff preference levels.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie

Chapitre 15 : Exceptions

Article 15-1 : Exceptions générales

Aux fins de l’application des chapitres 2 (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits), 4 (Règles d’origine), 5 (Procédures douanières), 6 (Facilitation du commerce) et 8 (Mesures d’urgence), l’article XX du GATT de 1994 est incorporé dans le présent accord et en fait partie intégrante. Il est entendu par les Parties que les mesures visées à l’alinéa XXb) du GATT de 1994 englobent les mesures environnementales nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux, et que l’alinéa XXg) du GATT de 1994 s’applique aux mesures se rapportant à la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, qu’elles soient biologiques ou non biologiques.

Article 15-2 : Sécurité nationale

Le présent accord n’est pas interprété de manière à :

a) obliger l’une ou l’autre des Parties à communiquer des renseignements, ou à donner accès à des renseignements, dont la divulgation serait à son avis contraire à ses intérêts de sécurité essentiels;

b) empêcher l’une ou l’autre des Parties de prendre toutes mesures qu’elle estime nécessaires à la protection de ses intérêts de sécurité essentiels :

i) soit se rapportant au commerce d’armes, de munitions et de matériel de guerre, ou d’autres articles, matériels, services et technologies, destiné directement ou indirectement à assurer l’approvisionnement de forces armées ou d’autres forces de sécurité,

ii) soit appliquées en temps de guerre ou en cas de grave tension internationale,

iii) soit se rapportant à la mise en œuvre de politiques nationales ou d’accords internationaux concernant la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires ou d’autres engins nucléaires explosifs;

c) empêcher l’une ou l’autre des Parties de prendre des mesures découlant des obligations de maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales qu’elle a contractées suivant la Charte des Nations Unies.

Article 15-3 : Fiscalité

1. Sauf disposition contraire du présent article, le présent accord ne s’applique pas aux mesures fiscales.

2. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne modifie les droits et obligations découlant pour une Partie d’une convention fiscale. Les dispositions d’une telle convention l’emportent sur les dispositions incompatibles du présent accord.

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2, l’article 2-2 et les autres dispositions du présent accord qui sont nécessaires pour donner effet à cet article s’appliquent aux mesures fiscales au même degré que l’article III du GATT de 1994.

Article 15-4 : Divulgation de renseignements

1. Le présent accord n’a pas pour effet d’obliger une Partie à communiquer des renseignements, ou à donner accès à des renseignements, dont la divulgation ferait obstacle à l’application de ses lois ou serait contraire à sa législation protégeant les processus de délibération et de décision du pouvoir exécutif au niveau du cabinet, la vie privée, ou les affaires financières et les comptes de clients d’institutions financières.

2. Le présent accord n’a pas pour effet d’obliger, dans le cadre d’une procédure de règlement des différends engagée au titre de ses dispositions, une Partie à communiquer des renseignements protégés par sa législation sur la concurrence, ou à donner accès à de tels renseignements, ni une autorité de contrôle de la concurrence d’une Partie à communiquer d’autres renseignements privilégiés ou autrement protégés contre la divulgation, ou à donner accès à de tels renseignements.

Article 15-5 : Industries culturelles

Le présent accord ne s’applique pas aux mesures adoptées ou maintenues par l’une ou l’autre des Parties relativement aux industries culturelles, sauf dispositions contraires expresses de l’article 2-3.

Article 15-6 : Dérogations accordées par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

Les Parties conviennent que, dans la mesure où se chevauchent les droits et obligations découlant du présent accord et ceux qui résultent de l’Accord sur l’OMC, toute mesure adoptée par l’une des Parties conformément à une dérogation accordée par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce en vertu du paragraphe 3 de l’article IX de l’Accord sur l’OMC, est réputée conforme au présent accord.

Article 15-7 : Définitions

Aux fins de l’application du présent chapitre :

a) autorité de contrôle de la concurrence s’entend :

i) dans le cas du Canada, du commissaire de la concurrence ou de tout successeur, dont le remplacement a fait l’objet d’une notification écrite à l’autre Partie,

ii) dans le cas de la Jordanie, de la Direction de la concurrence au ministère de l’Industrie et du Commerce, ou de toute entité qui lui succède, dont le remplacement a fait l’objet d’une notification écrite à l’autre Partie;

b) renseignements protégés par sa législation sur la concurrence s’entend :

i) dans le cas du Canada, des renseignements entrant dans le champ d’application de l’article 29 de la Loi sur la concurrence, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C‑34, et ses modifications,

ii) dans le cas de la Jordanie, des renseignements protégés par les lois suivantes :

  • Loi no 33 de 2004 sur la concurrence, et ses modifications;
  • Loi no 15 de 2000 sur la concurrence déloyale et les secrets commerciaux, et ses modifications;
  • Loi no 50 de 1971 sur la protection des secrets et documents d’État, et ses modifications;

c) convention fiscale s’entend d’une convention visant à éviter les doubles impositions, ou de tout autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

d) les définitions de taxes et de mesures fiscales excluent :

i) les droits de douane,

ii) les droits antidumping ou droits compensateurs appliqués conformément au droit interne d’une Partie,

iii) les redevances ou autres frais liés à l’importation et proportionnels au coût des services rendus,

iv) les primes offertes ou perçues à l’égard de produits importés dans le cadre d’un mécanisme d’appel d’offres lié à l’administration de restrictions quantitatives à l’importation, de contingents tarifaires ou de niveaux de préférence tarifaire.