Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 6: Trade Facilitation

Article 6-1: Objectives and Principles

1. With the objectives of facilitating trade under this Agreement and cooperating to pursue trade facilitation initiatives on a multilateral basis, each Party shall administer its import and export processes for goods traded under this Agreement on the basis that, to the extent possible:

(a) procedures be efficient to reduce costs for importers and exporters and simplified where appropriate to achieve such efficiencies;

(b) procedures be based on any international trade instruments or standards to which the Parties have agreed;

(c) entry procedures be transparent to ensure predictability for importers and exporters;

(d) the personnel and procedures involved in those processes reflect standards of integrity;

(e) the development of significant modifications to procedures of a Party include, in advance of implementation, consultations with the representatives of the trading community of that Party; and

(f) procedures be based on risk management principles to focus compliance efforts on transactions that merit attention.

2. The Parties shall, to the extent possible, cooperate, assist each other technically and exchange information, including information on best practices, for the purpose of promoting the application of and compliance with the trade facilitation measures agreed upon under this Agreement.

Article 6-2: Rights and Obligations

1. The Parties affirm their rights and obligations under Article VIII and Article X of the GATT 1994.

2. Each Party shall release unrestricted, uncontrolled and non-regulated goods promptly. Subject to paragraph 3, each Party shall provide the option of either:

(a) releasing such a good based on the submission, before or at the time of arrival of the good, of all the information necessary to obtain a final accounting of the good; or

(b) releasing such a good at the time of its presentation to the competent authority of the importing Party based on the submission of only the information required before the good arrives or at the time of arrival. This shall not prevent a competent authority from requiring the submission of more extensive information through post-entry accounting and verifications, as appropriate.

3. The Parties recognize that, for certain goods or under certain circumstances, such as goods subject to quota or to health-related or public safety requirements, releasing the goods may require the submission of more extensive information, before or at the time of arrival of the goods, to allow the authorities to examine the goods for release.

4. Each Party shall facilitate and simplify its processes and procedures for the release of low-risk goods, and shall improve controls on the release of high-risk goods. For these purposes, each Party shall base its examination and release procedures and its post-entry verification procedures on risk management principles, rather than examining each shipment offered for entry in a comprehensive manner for compliance with all import requirements. This shall not prevent a Party from conducting quality control and compliance reviews, which may require more extensive examinations.

5. Each Party shall ensure that the procedures and activities of its agencies that have requirements on the import or export of goods, and are maintained either by themselves or on their behalf by its competent authority, are coordinated to facilitate trade. To this end, each Party shall take steps to harmonize the data requirements of such agencies with the objective of allowing importers and exporters to present all required data to only one border agency.

6. In its procedures for the clearance of express consignments, each Party shall apply, to the extent possible, the World Customs Organization Guidelines for the Immediate Release of Consignments by Customs.

7. Each Party shall introduce or maintain simplified clearance procedures for the entry of goods that are low in value and for which the revenue associated with such imports is not considered significant by the Party maintaining such expedited procedures.

8. The Parties shall endeavour to achieve common processes and simplification of the information necessary for the release of goods, applying, when appropriate, existing international standards. With this objective, the Parties shall also endeavour to establish a means of providing for the electronic exchange of information between competent authorities and the importers, exporters, their agents or their representatives, for the purpose of encouraging rapid release procedures. For the purpose of this Article, each Party shall use formats based on international standards for the electronic exchange of information, and shall also take into account, to the extent possible, the World Customs Organization Recommendations “Concerning the Use of UN/EDIFACT Rules for Electronic Data Interchange” and “Concerning the Use of Codes for the Representation of Data Elements”. This shall not preclude the use of additional electronic data transmission standards.

9. Each Party shall, to the extent possible, establish means of consultation with its trade and business communities to promote greater cooperation and the exchange of electronic information.

10. Subject to Chapter 5 (Customs Procedures), a Party shall issue a written ruling prior to an importation in response to a written request by an importer in its territory, exporter or producer in the territory of the other Party, or their respective representatives. These rulings shall be issued for tariff classification or rate of customs duty, except any form of surtax or surcharge, applicable upon importation.

11. Each Party shall adopt or maintain procedures for the issuance of rulings referred to in paragraph 10. In accordance with these procedures, a Party may, at any time, modify or revoke a ruling:

(a) after notification to the person that requested the ruling and without retroactive application; or

(b) without notification and with retroactive application in circumstances where inaccurate or false information was provided.

12. The rulings referred to in paragraph 10 shall be as detailed as the nature of the request and the details provided by the person requesting the ruling permit. When a Party determines that a request for a ruling is incomplete, it may request additional information, including, where appropriate, a sample of the goods or materials in question from the person requesting the ruling. A Party shall issue a ruling within 120 days after it has received all the information it considers necessary to issue the ruling. A ruling shall be binding upon the Party that issued the ruling at the time the goods are actually imported provided that the facts and circumstances that were the basis for the issuance of the ruling remain in effect.

13. Each Party shall ensure that any administrative action or official decision taken in respect of the import or export of goods is reviewable promptly by judicial, arbitral or administrative tribunals or through administrative procedures. Such tribunal or official acting pursuant to such administrative procedures shall be independent of the official or office issuing the decision and shall have the competence to maintain, modify or reverse the determination, in accordance with the Party’s domestic law. Each Party shall provide for an administrative level of appeal or review, independent of the official or, where applicable, the office responsible for the original action or decision, before requiring a person to seek redress at a more formal or judicial level.

14. Each Party shall publish or otherwise make available, including through electronic means, all their legislation, regulations, judicial decisions and administrative rulings or policies of general application relating to its requirements for imported or exported goods. Each Party shall also make available notices of an administrative nature, such as general agency requirements and entry procedures, hours of operation and points of contacts for information enquiries.

15. Each Party shall, in accordance with its domestic law, treat as strictly confidential all business information obtained pursuant to this Chapter that is by its nature confidential or that is provided on a confidential basis.

Article 6-3: Cooperation

1. The Parties recognize that technical cooperation is fundamental to facilitating compliance with the obligations set forth in this Agreement and for reaching a better degree of trade facilitation.

2. The Parties agree to develop a technical cooperation programme under such mutually agreed terms as the scope, timing and cost of cooperative measures in customs-related areas such as:

(a) training;

(b) risk assessment;

(c) prevention and detection of contraband and illegal activities;

(d) implementation of the Customs Valuation Agreement;

(e) audit and verification frameworks;

(f) customs laboratories;

(g) implementation of the World Customs Organization Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade at Pillar 1, Customs-to-Customs level; and

(h) implementation of this chapter.

3. The Parties shall cooperate in the development of effective mechanisms for communicating with the trade and business communities.

Article 6-4: Future Work Programme

1. With the objective of developing further steps to facilitate trade under this Agreement, the Parties establish the following work programme:

(a) to develop the Cooperation Programme referred to in Article 6-3 for the purpose of facilitating compliance with the obligations set forth in this Agreement; and

(b) as appropriate, to identify and submit for the consideration of the Free Trade Commission new measures aimed at facilitating trade between the Parties, taking as a basis the objectives and principles set forth in Article 6-1, including:

(i) common processes,

(ii) general measures to facilitate trade,

(iii) official controls,

(iv) transportation,

(v) the promotion and use of standards,

(vi) the use of automated systems and Electronic Data Interchange,

(vii) the availability of information,

(viii) customs and other official procedures concerning the means of transportation and transportation equipment, including containers,

(ix) official requirements for imported goods,

(x) simplification of the information necessary for the release of goods,

(xi) customs clearance of exports,

(xii) transshipment of goods,

(xiii) goods in international transit,

(xiv) commercial trade practices, and

(xv) payment procedures.

2. The Parties may periodically review the work programme referred to in this Article for the purpose of agreeing upon new cooperation actions that might be needed to promote application of the trade facilitation obligations and principles, including new measures that might be agreed upon by the Parties.

3. The Parties shall review relevant international initiatives on trade facilitation, including the Compendium of Trade Facilitation Recommendations, developed by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, to identify areas where further joint action would facilitate trade between the Parties and promote shared multilateral objectives.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie

Chaptire 6 : Facilitation du commerce

Article 6-1 : Objectifs et principes

1. Dans le but de faciliter le commerce au titre du présent accord et de coopérer pour donner suite aux initiatives multilatérales de facilitation du commerce, chacune des Parties administre ses processus relatifs à l’importation et à l’exportation de produits au titre du présent accord conformément aux principes suivants, dans la mesure du possible :

a) les procédures sont efficientes, afin de réduire les coûts pour les importateurs et les exportateurs, et au besoin elles sont simplifiées pour réaliser ces gains d’efficience;

b) les procédures sont fondées sur les normes ou les instruments commerciaux internationaux auxquels les Parties ont adhéré;

c) les procédures d’admission sont transparentes, afin de garantir la prévisibilité aux importateurs et aux exportateurs;

d) le personnel et les procédures en question satisfont aux critères d’intégrité;

e) l’élaboration de changements importants aux procédures d’une Partie comprend, avant leur mise en œuvre, des consultations avec les représentants des milieux commerciaux de cette Partie;

f) les procédures sont fondées sur des principes d’évaluation des risques, de manière à concentrer les efforts de contrôle sur les transactions qui en valent la peine.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, les Parties coopèrent, s’aident mutuellement sur le plan technique et échangent de l’information, y compris de l’information sur les pratiques exemplaires, afin de favoriser l’application et l’observation des mesures de facilitation du commerce convenues dans le cadre du présent accord.

Article 6-2 : Droits et obligations

1. Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations visés à l’article VIII et à l’article X du GATT de 1994.

2. Chacune des Parties dédouane promptement les produits exempts de restriction ou de contrôle et les produits non réglementés. Sous réserve du paragraphe 3, elle prévoit les options suivantes :

a) dédouaner les produits sur présentation, avant l’arrivée des produits ou au moment de leur arrivée, de tous les renseignements nécessaires pour obtenir des données comptables finales relativement aux produits;

b) dédouaner les produits au moment de leur présentation à l’autorité compétente de la Partie importatrice sur présentation seulement des renseignements requis avant l’arrivée des produits ou au moment de leur arrivée. Une autorité compétente n’est cependant pas empêchée d’exiger la présentation de renseignements plus circonstanciés sous forme de données comptables ou de vérifications après l’entrée, au besoin.

3. Les Parties reconnaissent que, pour certains produits ou dans certaines situations, par exemple les produits contingentés ou assujettis à des prescriptions sanitaires, ou des exigences liées à la sécurité publique, le dédouanement peut exiger la présentation d’une information plus détaillée, avant l’arrivée des produits ou au moment de leur arrivée, pour permettre aux autorités d’examiner les produits.

4. Chacune des Parties facilite et simplifie son processus et ses procédures de dédouanement des produits à faible risque et améliore les contrôles au dédouanement des produits à risque élevé. À ces fins, chacune des Parties fonde ses procédures d’examen et de dédouanement ainsi que ses procédures de vérification après l’entrée sur les principes d’évaluation des risques, plutôt que d’examiner chaque expédition à l’entrée de manière minutieuse afin de vérifier l’observation de toutes les prescriptions relatives à l’importation. Une Partie n’est toutefois pas empêchée de procéder à des contrôles de qualité et de conformité pouvant exiger des examens plus détaillés.

5. Chacune des Parties s’assure que les procédures et activités de ses organismes qui ont des prescriptions relatives à l’importation et à l’exportation de produits et sont contrôlées par eux-mêmes ou en leur nom par son autorité compétente sont coordonnées de manière à faciliter le commerce. À cette fin, chacune des Parties prend des mesures pour harmoniser les exigences relatives aux données de tous ces organismes, afin que les importateurs et exportateurs puissent présenter toutes les données exigées à une seule autorité frontalière.

6. Dans ses procédures de dédouanement des envois express, chacune des Parties applique, dans la mesure du possible, les Directives aux fins de la mainlevée immédiate des envois par la douane de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes.

7. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des procédures simplifiées pour l’entrée de produits de faible valeur lorsque la Partie qui maintient de telles formalités de dédouanement accéléré estime que ces produits ne rapportent que de modiques recettes douanières.

8. Les Parties s’efforcent d’élaborer des processus communs et de simplifier l’information nécessaire au dédouanement des produits, en appliquant, s’il y a lieu, les normes internationales existantes. À cette fin, les Parties s’efforcent également d’établir un moyen d’échange électronique des données entre les autorités compétentes et les importateurs, les exportateurs, leurs agents ou leurs représentants en vue d’encourager le dédouanement accéléré. Pour l’application du présent article, chacune des Parties utilise des formats basés sur les normes internationales d’échange de données informatisé et tient compte, dans la mesure du possible, de la recommandation de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes « concernant l’utilisation des règles de syntaxe EDIFACT/ONU pour les échanges électroniques de données » et de celle « relative à l’utilisation de codes pour la représentation des éléments d’information ». Elles ne sont pas empêchées d’utiliser des normes de transmission électronique additionnelles.

9. Chacune des Parties établit, dans la mesure du possible, des mécanismes de consultation avec ses communautés commerçantes et son milieu des affaires afin de promouvoir une coopération accrue et l’échange de données informatisé.

10. Sous réserve du chapitre 5 (Procédures douanières), toute Partie a recours à une décision rendue par écrit avant l’importation sur demande écrite d’un importateur sur son territoire, d’un exportateur ou d’un producteur sur le territoire de l’autre Partie ou de leurs représentants respectifs. Ces décisions portent sur la classification tarifaire ou les taux de droit de douane, exception faite de toute forme de surtaxe ou de majoration, applicables à l’importation.

11. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des procédures relatives à la prise des décisions visées au paragraphe 10. Conformément à ces procédures, une Partie peut, à tout moment, modifier ou annuler une décision :

a) après notification à la personne qui a demandé la décision, sans effet rétroactif; ou

b) sans notification et avec effet rétroactif, lorsque des renseignements faux ou inexacts ont été donnés.

12. Les décisions visées au paragraphe 10 sont aussi détaillées que le permettent la nature de la demande et les détails fournis par la personne qui demande la décision. Dans les cas où une Partie estime que la demande de décision est incomplète, elle peut demander à la personne qui demande la décision des renseignements complémentaires, y compris, au besoin, un échantillon des produits ou matières en question. Toute Partie rend sa décision au plus tard 120 jours après avoir reçu tous les renseignements qu’elle estime nécessaires à la prise de la décision. La décision lie la Partie qui a rendu la décision au moment où les produits sont importés, à la condition que les faits et circonstances à la base de la décision anticipée continuent d’exister.

13. Chacune des Parties s’assure que toute mesure administrative ou décision officielle relative à l’importation ou à l’exportation de produits est susceptible d’appel à bref délai devant un tribunal judiciaire, arbitral ou administratif, ou au moyen d’une procédure administrative. Tout tribunal ou fonctionnaire agissant conformément à une telle procédure administrative est indépendant du fonctionnaire ou du bureau qui rend la décision et a compétence pour confirmer, modifier ou infirmer la décision en conformité avec la législation interne de la Partie. Chacune des Parties prévoit la possibilité pour toute personne de recourir à une procédure d’appel ou de révision administrative, indépendante du fonctionnaire ou, le cas échéant, du bureau qui a pris la mesure ou décision initiale, avant d’être obligée de demander réparation à un palier judiciaire ou plus formaliste.

14. Chacune des Parties publie ou rend disponibles promptement, y compris par des moyens électroniques, ses lois, règlements, décisions judiciaires et décisions administratives ou politiques d’application générale concernant ses exigences relatives aux produits importés ou exportés. Chacune des Parties rend disponibles également les avis de nature administrative, comme les prescriptions générales des autorités et les formalités d’entrée, les heures d’ouverture et les points de contact pour les demandes de renseignements.

15. Chacune des Parties préserve, en conformité avec sa législation interne, le caractère confidentiel de tous les renseignements commerciaux obtenus en vertu du présent chapitre qui sont de nature confidentielle ou qui sont fournis confidentiellement.

Article 6-3 : Coopération

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que la coopération technique est fondamentale pour la facilitation de la conformité aux obligations énoncées dans le présent accord et pour le rehaussement de la facilitation du commerce.

2. Les Parties s’engagent à mettre en place un programme de coopération technique sur des aspects convenus comme la portée, les modalités de temps et le coût des mesures de coopération dans des domaines liés aux douanes, notamment :

a) la formation;

b) l’évaluation des risques;

c) la prévention et la détection de la contrebande et des activités illégales;

d) la mise en œuvre de l’Accord sur la valeur en douane;

e) les cadres de vérification;

f) les laboratoires des douanes;

g) la mise en œuvre du pilier 1, le réseau douane-douane, du Cadre de normes visant à sécuriser et à faciliter le commerce mondial de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes;

h) la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre.

3. Les Parties coopèrent pour l’élaboration de mécanismes efficaces de communication avec les communautés commerçantes et le milieu des affaires.

Article 6-4 : Programme de travail futur

1. En vue de la mise en place d’autres mesures visant à faciliter le commerce conformément au présent accord, les Parties établissent le programme de travail suivant :

a) élaborer le Programme de coopération visé à l’article 6‑3 afin de faciliter la conformité aux obligations énoncées dans le présent accord;

b) au besoin, définir et soumettre à l’examen de la Commission de nouvelles mesures destinées à faciliter le commerce entre les Parties, en se fondant sur les objectifs et les principes exposés à l’article 6‑1 du présent chapitre, notamment :

i) processus communs,

ii) mesures générales de facilitation du commerce,

iii) contrôles officiels,

iv) transports,

v) promotion et utilisation des normes,

vi) utilisation des systèmes automatisés et de l’échange de données informatisé,

vii) disponibilité de l’information,

viii) procédures officielles, notamment douanières, concernant les moyens et le matériel de transport, y compris les conteneurs,

ix) prescriptions officielles relatives aux produits importés,

x) simplification des renseignements nécessaires pour le dédouanement des produits,

xi) dédouanement des exportations,

xii) transbordement des produits,

xiii) transit international des marchandises,

xiv) pratiques commerciales,

xv) formalités de paiement.

2. Les Parties peuvent réviser périodiquement le programme de travail visé au présent article afin de convenir d’autres initiatives de coopération pouvant être nécessaires pour favoriser l’application des obligations et principes en matière de facilitation du commerce, notamment de nouvelles mesures dont elles peuvent convenir.

3. Les Parties réexaminent les initiatives internationales pertinentes concernant la facilitation du commerce, notamment le Recueil des recommandations sur la facilitation du commerce établi par la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement et la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l’Europe, afin de cerner les domaines pour lesquels des mesures conjointes faciliteraient le commerce entre les Parties et favoriseraient l’atteinte des objectifs multilatéraux communs.