Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 8: Emergency Action

8-1: Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards of the WTO

Each Party retains its rights and obligations under Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards of the WTO Agreement.

8-2: Bilateral Emergency Actions

1. Subject to paragraphs 2 through 4, and during the transition period only, if an originating good, as a result of the reduction or elimination of a duty provided for in this Agreement, is being imported into the territory of the other Party in such increased quantities, in absolute terms, and under such conditions that the imports of the good from that Party alone constitute a principal cause of serious injury, or threat thereof, to a domestic industry producing a like or directly competitive good, the Party into whose territory the good is being imported may to the minimum extent necessary to remedy or prevent the injury:

(a) suspend the further reduction of any rate of duty provided for under this Agreement on the good; and/or

(b) increase the rate of duty on the good to a level not to exceed the lesser of:

(i) the most-favoured-nation (MFN) applied rate of duty in effect at the time the action is taken, and

(ii) the MFN applied rate of duty in effect on the day immediately preceding the date of entry into force of this Agreement; or

(c) in the case of a duty applied to a good on a seasonal basis, increase the rate of duty to a level not to exceed the MFN applied rate of duty that was in effect on the good for the corresponding season immediately preceding the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

2. The following conditions and limitations shall apply to a proceeding that may result in emergency action under paragraph 1:

(a) a Party shall, without delay, deliver to the other Party written notice of, and a request for consultations regarding, the institution of a proceeding that could result in the application of emergency action against an originating good;

(b) any such action shall be initiated no later than one year after the date of institution of the proceeding;

(c) no action may be maintained:

(i) for a period exceeding three years, or

(ii) beyond the expiration of the transition period, except with the consent of the Party against whose good the action is taken;

(d) no emergency action may be taken by a Party against the same originating good more than twice during the transition period provided that the period of non-application is at least two years;

(e) on the termination of an action, the rate of duty shall be the rate that, according to the Party’s Schedule to Annex 2-3 for the staged elimination of the tariff, would have been in effect but for the action;

(f) In order to facilitate the adjustment in a situation where the expected duration of an emergency action is over one year, the Party taking the action shall progressively liberalize it at regular intervals during the period of application.

3. The Party taking an action under this Article shall provide to the other Party mutually agreed trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions having substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action.

4. If the Parties are unable to agree on the compensation referred to in paragraph 3, the Party against whose good the action is taken may take tariff action having trade effects substantially equivalent to the trade effects of the emergency action over the full period of its application. The Party taking the tariff action shall apply the action only for the minimum period necessary to achieve the substantially equivalent effects.

5. The right to take the tariff action referred to in paragraph 4 shall not be exercised for the first 12 months that an emergency action is in effect, provided that the Parties consult actively with a view to finding mutually agreed compensation. Until such time as compensation is mutually agreed, or until the 12 month period has expired, the Joint Commission shall meet every three months at the request of the Party against whose goods the action is taken to discuss the continued application of the action and with a view to finding mutually agreed compensation.

8-3: Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings

1. Each Party shall ensure the consistent, impartial and reasonable administration of its laws, regulations, decisions and rulings governing all emergency action proceedings.

2. Each Party shall entrust determinations of serious injury, or threat thereof, in an emergency action proceeding to a competent investigating authority. Negative injury determinations shall not be subject to modification. The competent investigating authority empowered under domestic law to conduct such proceedings shall be provided with the necessary resources to enable it to fulfil its duties.

3. Each Party shall adopt or maintain equitable, timely, transparent and effective procedures for emergency action proceedings, in accordance with the requirements set out in paragraph 4.

4. A Party shall apply an emergency action only following an investigation by its competent investigating authority in accordance with Articles 3 and 4.2 of the Agreement on Safeguards of the WTO Agreement.

8-4: Definitions

(a) competent investigating authority means:

(i) with respect to Canada, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, or its successor, notified to Jordan through diplomatic channels,

(ii) with respect to Jordan, the National Production Protection Directorate (NPPD) at the Ministry of Industry and Trade, or its successor, notified to Canada through diplomatic channels.

(b) domestic industry means with respect to an imported good, the domestic producers as a whole of the like or directly competitive good or those domestic producers whose collective production of the like or directly competitive good constitutes a major proportion of the total domestic production of such good;

(c) emergency action means any emergency action described in Article 8-2;

(d) serious injury means a significant overall impairment of a domestic industry;

(e) principal cause means an important cause which is not less important than any other cause;

(f) threat of serious injury means serious injury that, on the basis of facts and not merely on allegation, conjecture or remote possibility, is clearly imminent; and

(g) transition period means the ten (10) year period beginning on the entry into force of this Agreement unless extended by mutual agreement of the Parties or by decision of the Joint Commission.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie

Chapitre 8 : Mesures d’urgence

Article 8-1 : Article XIX du GATT de 1994 et Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’OMC

Chacune des Parties conserve les droits et obligations découlant pour elle de l’article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’Accord sur l’OMC.

Article 8-2 : Mesures d’urgence bilatérales

1. Sous réserve des paragraphes 2 à 4 et pendant la période de transition seulement, si, par suite de la réduction ou de l’élimination d’un droit prévu au présent accord, un produit originaire d’une Partie est importé sur le territoire de l’autre Partie en quantités tellement accrues, en termes absolus, et dans des conditions telles que les importations du produit en provenance de la Partie exportatrice constituent à elles seules une cause principale de préjudice grave, ou de menace de préjudice grave, pour une branche de production nationale qui produit un produit similaire ou directement concurrent, la Partie importatrice peut, dans la mesure minimale nécessaire pour réparer ou empêcher un tel préjudice, prendre l’une ou plusieurs des mesures suivantes :

a) suspendre la réduction ultérieure du taux de droit prévue au présent accord pour le produit considéré;

b) augmenter le taux de droit applicable à ce produit jusqu’à un niveau n’excédant pas le moins élevé des deux taux suivants :

i) le taux de droit de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) appliqué au moment de la mesure,

ii) le taux de droit NPF appliqué la veille de la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord;

c) dans le cas d’un droit saisonnier, augmenter le taux de ce droit jusqu’à un niveau n’excédant pas le taux NPF appliqué au produit considéré pour la saison correspondante ayant précédé immédiatement la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2. Les conditions et limitations suivantes s’appliquent à toute procédure pouvant entraîner l’adoption d’une mesure d’urgence en vertu du paragraphe 1 :

a) la Partie concernée signifie sans délai à l’autre Partie un avis écrit l’informant de l’engagement d’une procédure pouvant entraîner l’application d’une mesure d’urgence contre un produit originaire de son territoire, ainsi qu’une demande de consultations à cet égard;

b) toute mesure de cette nature est instituée au plus tard un an après la date d’engagement de la procédure;

c) aucune mesure ne peut être maintenue :

i) pour une période de plus de trois ans, ou

ii) après l’expiration de la période de transition, sauf consentement de la Partie contre laquelle cette mesure a été adoptée;

d) une Partie ne peut prendre de mesure d’urgence contre le même produit originaire que deux fois au maximum pendant la période de transition, étant entendu que la période intermédiaire de non-application est d’au moins deux ans;

e) à l’expiration de la mesure, le taux de droit est le taux qui, selon le plan d’élimination par étapes que la Partie concernée a spécifié dans sa liste de l’annexe 2-3, aurait été applicable n’eût été la mesure;

f) afin de faciliter l’ajustement dans les cas où elle prévoit appliquer une mesure d’urgence plus d’un an, la Partie qui a adopté cette mesure la libéralise progressivement à intervalles réguliers pendant la durée de son application.

3. La Partie qui adopte une mesure en vertu du présent article accorde à l’autre Partie une compensation mutuellement convenue ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce. Cette compensation prend la forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux équivalents, ou substantiellement équivalents, à la valeur des droits de douane additionnels devant résulter de la mesure considérée.

4. Si les Parties ne peuvent s’entendre sur la compensation prévue au paragraphe 3, la Partie dont le produit est visé peut prendre une mesure tarifaire ayant des effets commerciaux substantiellement équivalents à ceux de la mesure d’urgence sur toute la durée de son application, mais ne peut appliquer cette mesure que durant la période minimale nécessaire pour produire de tels effets.

5. Le droit de prendre une mesure tarifaire prévue au paragraphe 4 n’est pas exercé pendant les douze premiers mois de l’application de la mesure d’urgence, à condition que les Parties se consultent activement afin de convenir d’une compensation. Jusqu’à ce qu’elles conviennent d’une telle compensation, ou jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de douze mois, la Commission mixte se réunit tous les trois mois à la demande de la Partie dont les produits sont visés par la mesure afin d’examiner la question du maintien de l’application de la mesure et de convenir d’une compensation.

Article 8-3 : Administration des procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence

1. Chacune des Parties veille à l’application uniforme, impartiale et raisonnable de ses lois, règlements, dispositions et décisions régissant les procédures relatives aux mesures d’urgence.

2. La Partie qui engage une procédure relative à l’adoption d’une mesure d’urgence confie à un organisme d’enquête compétent la détermination de l’existence d’un préjudice grave ou d’une menace de préjudice grave. Les déterminations négatives de préjudice ne peuvent être modifiées. L’organisme d’enquête compétent habilité par la législation interne à mener les procédures relatives à l’adoption d’une mesure d’urgence dispose des ressources nécessaires pour remplir ses fonctions.

3. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des modalités équitables, rapides, transparentes et efficaces pour les procédures relatives à l’adoption d’une mesure d’urgence, conformément aux conditions énoncées au paragraphe 4.

4. Une Partie n’adopte une mesure d’urgence qu’à la suite d’une enquête menée par son organisme d’enquête compétent conformément aux articles 3 et 4.2 de l’Accord sur les sauvegardes de l’Accord sur l’OMC.

Article 8-4 : Définitions

a) organisme d’enquête compétent s’entend :

i) à l’égard du Canada, du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ou de l’organisme qui lui aura succédé, dont notification sera faite à la Jordanie par voie diplomatique,

ii) à l’égard de la Jordanie, de la Direction de la protection de la production nationale (DPPN), au ministère de l’Industrie et du Commerce, ou de l’organisme qui lui aura succédé, dont notification sera faite au Canada par voie diplomatique;

b) branche de production nationale s’entend, à l’égard d’un produit importé, de l’ensemble des producteurs nationaux du produit similaire ou directement concurrent, ou des producteurs nationaux dont les productions additionnées du produit similaire ou directement concurrent constituent une proportion majeure de la production nationale totale de ce produit;

c) mesure d’urgence s’entend de toute mesure de la nature visée à l’article 8-2;

d) préjudice grave s’entend d’une dégradation générale notable de la situation d’une branche de production nationale;

e) cause principale s’entend d’une cause importante, qui n’est pas moins importante que toute autre;

f) menace de préjudice grave s’entend de l’imminence manifeste d’un préjudice grave, établie d’après des faits, et non simplement d’après des allégations, des conjectures ou de lointaines possibilités;

g) période de transition s’entend de la période de dix (10) ans commençant à la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord, sauf prorogation convenue entre les Parties ou décidée par la Commission mixte.