Canada-Jordan Free Trade Agreement

Chapter 9: Monopolies and State Enterprises

Article 9-1: Monopolies

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from designating a monopoly.

2. Where a Party intends to designate a monopoly and the designation may affect the interests of persons of the other Party, the Party shall:

(a) wherever possible, provide prior written notification of the designation to the other Party; and

(b) endeavour to introduce at the time of the designation such conditions on the operation of the monopoly as will minimize or eliminate any nullification or impairment of benefits, within the scope of subparagraph 1(c) of Article 14-2.

3. Each Party shall ensure, through regulatory control, administrative supervision or the application of other measures, that any privately-owned monopoly that it designates and any government monopoly that it maintains or designates:

(a) acts in a manner that is not inconsistent with the Party's obligations under this Agreement wherever such a monopoly exercises any regulatory, administrative or other governmental authority that the Party has delegated to it in connection with the monopoly good, such as the power to grant import or export licenses, approve commercial transactions or impose quotas, fees or other charges;

(b) acts solely in accordance with commercial considerations in its purchase or sale of the monopoly good in the relevant market, including with regard to price, quality, availability, marketability, transportation and other terms and conditions of purchase or sale; except to comply with any terms of its designation that are not inconsistent with subparagraph (c) or (d);

(c) provides non-discriminatory treatment to goods of the other Party, in its purchase or sale of the monopoly good in the relevant market; and

(d) does not use its monopoly position to engage, either directly or indirectly, including through its dealings with its parent, its subsidiary or other enterprise with common ownership, in anticompetitive practices in a non-monopolized market in its territory that adversely affects the other Party, including through the discriminatory provision of the monopoly good.

4. Paragraph 3 does not apply to procurement by governmental agencies of goods for governmental purposes and not with a view to commercial resale or with a view to use in the production of goods for commercial sale.

5. For purposes of this Article, maintain includes a designation prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement and existing on that date.

Article 9-2: State Enterprises

1.Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from maintaining

or establishing a state enterprise.

2. Each Party shall ensure that any state enterprise that it maintains or establishes accords non-discriminatory treatment in the sale of its goods.

Article 9-3: Exceptions

This Chapter shall not apply to practices and arrangements that are exempted from the application of national competition legislation of the Parties. Each Party shall make available to the other Party public information concerning exemptions and relevant changes to their respective national competition legislation.

Article 9-4: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

(a) designate means to establish, authorize, or to expand the scope of a monopoly to cover an additional good, after the date of entry into force of this Agreement;

(b) discriminatory provision includes treating:

(i) a parent, a subsidiary or other enterprise with common ownership more favourably than an unaffiliated enterprise, or

(ii) one class of enterprises more favourably than another, in like circumstances;

(c) government monopoly means a monopoly that is owned, or controlled through ownership interests, by the national government of a Party or by another such government monopoly;

(d) in accordance with commercial considerations means consistent with normal business practices of privately-held enterprises in the relevant business or industry;

(e) market means the geographic and commercial market for a good;

(f) monopoly means an entity, including a consortium or government agency, that in any relevant market in the territory of a Party is designated as the sole provider or purchaser of a good, but does not include an entity that has been granted an exclusive intellectual property right solely by reason of such grant;

(g) non-discriminatory treatment means the better of national treatment or most-favoured-nation treatment, as set out in the relevant provisions of this Agreement; and

(h) state enterprise means, except as set out in Annex 9-3, an enterprise owned, or controlled through ownership interests, by a Party.

Annex 9-3

Country-Specific Definitions of State Enterprises

For purposes of paragraph 2 of Article 9-2, “state enterprise” means:

(a) with respect to Canada, a Crown corporation within the meaning of the Financial Administration Act of Canada, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-11, as amended, a Crown corporation within the meaning of any comparable provincial law or equivalent entity that is incorporated under other applicable provincial law;

(b) with respect to Jordan, any corporation established in accordance with a bilateral agreement between the government of Jordan and any other country, or established in accordance with a cabinet decision or by a special law.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Jordanie

Chapitre 9 : Monopoles et entreprises d’État

Article 9-1 : Monopoles

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord n’est interprétée de manière à empêcher une Partie de désigner un monopole.

2. Lorsqu’une Partie a l’intention de désigner un monopole et que cette désignation risque d’influer sur les intérêts de personnes de l’autre Partie, la Partie qui désigne un monopole :

a) lorsque cela est possible, en donne notification écrite préalable à l’autre Partie;

b) s’efforce, au moment de la désignation, de subordonner l’exploitation du monopole à des conditions telles que les avantages soient le moins possible annulés ou compromis, selon le champ d’application du sous‑paragraphe 1c) de l’article 14‑2.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte, par l’application d’un contrôle réglementaire, d’une surveillance administrative ou d’autres mesures, que tout monopole privé qu’elle désigne et tout monopole public qu’elle désigne ou qu’elle maintient :

a) agisse d’une manière qui ne soit pas incompatible avec les obligations de la Partie aux termes du présent accord dans l’exercice de pouvoirs réglementaires, administratifs ou autres pouvoirs gouvernementaux délégués par la Partie relativement au produit faisant l’objet du monopole, par exemple le pouvoir de délivrer des licences d’importation ou d’exportation, d’approuver des opérations commerciales ou d’imposer des contingents, des droits ou d’autres redevances;

b) sous réserve de se conformer aux modalités de sa désignation qui ne soient pas incompatibles avec le sous-paragraphe c) ou d), agisse uniquement en fonction de considérations commerciales au moment d’acheter ou de vendre le produit faisant l’objet du monopole sur le marché pertinent, notamment en ce qui concerne le prix, la qualité, les stocks, les possibilités de commercialisation, le transport et les autres modalités d’achat ou de vente;

c) accorde un traitement non discriminatoire aux produits de l’autre Partie au moment d’acheter ou de vendre le produit faisant l’objet du monopole sur le marché pertinent;

d) n’utilise pas sa situation de monopole pour se livrer, sur un marché non monopolisé du territoire de la Partie, directement ou indirectement, notamment à la faveur de ses rapports avec sa société mère, une filiale ou une autre entreprise à participations croisées, à des pratiques anticoncurrentielles qui nuisent à l’autre Partie, notamment par la fourniture discriminatoire du produit faisant l’objet du monopole.

4. Le paragraphe 3 ne s’applique pas aux achats, par des organismes gouvernementaux, de produits pour les besoins des pouvoirs publics et non en vue de la revente dans le commerce ou de l’utilisation dans la production de produits destinés à la vente dans le commerce.

5. Aux fins de l’application du présent article, « maintenir » s’applique à toute désignation faite avant l’entrée en vigueur du présent accord et existant à cette date.

Article 9-2 : Entreprises d’État

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord n’est interprétée de manière à empêcher une Partie de maintenir ou d’établir une entreprise d’État.

2. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que toute entreprise d’État qu’elle maintient ou établit accorde un traitement non discriminatoire dans la vente de ses produits.

Article 9-3 : Exceptions

Le présent chapitre ne vise pas les pratiques et les arrangements qui sont soustraits à l’application de la législation interne sur la concurrence des Parties. Chacune des Parties met à la disposition de l’autre Partie les renseignements publics concernant les exemptions prévues dans sa législation interne sur la concurrence et les modifications pertinentes qui y sont apportées.

Article 9-4 : Définitions

Pour l’application du présent chapitre :

a) désigner signifie établir ou autoriser un monopole, ou étendre un monopole à un produit additionnel, après la date d’entrée en vigueur du présent accord;

b) fourniture discriminatoire s’entend de la fourniture qui consiste, dans des circonstances analogues :

i) soit à traiter une société mère, une filiale ou une autre entreprise à participations croisées plus favorablement qu’une entreprise non affiliée;,

ii) soit à traiter une catégorie d’entreprises plus favorablement qu’une autre;

c) monopole public s’entend d’un monopole qui est détenu, ou contrôlé au moyen d’une participation au capital, par un gouvernement national d’une Partie ou par un autre monopole public semblable;

d) en fonction de considérations commerciales signifie d’une manière conforme aux pratiques commerciales normales des entreprises privées de l’industrie ou de la branche de production pertinente;

e) marché s’entend du marché géographique et commercial d’un produit;

f) monopole s’entend d’une entité, y compris un consortium ou un organisme gouvernemental, qui, sur un marché pertinent du territoire d’une Partie, est désignée comme le seul fournisseur ou le seul acheteur d’un produit, à l’exception d’une entité à laquelle a été octroyé un droit de propriété intellectuelle exclusif du seul fait de cet octroi;

g) traitement non discriminatoire s’entend du plus favorable du traitement national ou du traitement de la nation la plus favorisée, selon qu’il est établi dans les dispositions pertinentes du présent accord;

h) entreprise d’État désigne, sauf pour ce qui est indiqué à l’annexe 9‑3, une entreprise détenue, ou contrôlée au moyen d’une participation au capital, par une Partie.

Annexe 9-3

Définition d’« entreprise d’État » propre à chaque pays

Aux fins de l’application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 9-2, « entreprise d’État » :

a) s’entend, pour ce qui concerne le Canada, d’une société d’État au sens de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques du Canada, L.R.C. 1985, ch. F‑11, et ses modifications, ou de toute loi provinciale comparable, ou d’une entité équivalente qui est constituée en vertu d’autres lois provinciales applicables;

b) s’entend, pour ce qui concerne la Jordanie, d’une société constituée conformément à une entente bilatérale entre le gouvernement de la Jordanie et tout autre pays, ou constituée conformément à une décision du Cabinet ou par une loi spéciale.