Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Jordan Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA)

Closing date: May 12, 2008

In keeping with the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations, an Initial Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Jordan Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreement (FIPA) negotiations has been conducted to help negotiators to better integrate environmental considerations into the negotiating process.

The Government of Canada has consulted with Canadian stakeholders on this step of the environmental assessment. A Notice of Intent to conduct an Environmental Assessment of the Canada-Jordan FIPA negotiations was posted on the Trade Negotiations and Agreements website of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade on February 18, 2008.

The report on the Initial Environmental Assessment is now released for a 27 day public consultation period until May 12, 2008. We welcome comments on this report, as well as comments on anticipated economic, environmental and policy-making impacts on Canada as a result of the Canada-Jordan FIPA negotiations. The Final Environmental Assessment report will be released before the coming into force of the Canada-Jordan FIPA.

Please send your contributions by email, mail or fax to:

Consultations and Liaison Division (CSL)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
E-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca
Fax: (613) 944-7981

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Évaluation environnementale initiale de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Jordanie

Date limite : 12 mai 2008

Conformément au Cadre pour l’évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales de 2001, une évaluation environnementale initiale concernant les négociations de l’Accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) Canada-Jordanie a été réalisée dans le but d’aider les négociateurs du Canada à mieux intégrer les facteurs environnementaux dans le processus de négociation.

Le gouvernement du Canada a consulté les Canadiens pendant cette étape de l’évaluation environnementale. Un avis d’intention portant sur la réalisation d’une évaluation environnementale concernant les négociations de l’APIE Canada-Jordanie a été publié sur le site web "Négociations et Accords commerciaux" du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international le 18 février 2008.

Le rapport sur cette Évaluation environnementale initiale est rendu public aux fins de consultations pour une période de 27 jours jusqu’au 12 mai 2008. Nous souhaitons recueillir tous les commentaires qu’il pourrait vous inspirer, tout comme ceux que les Canadiens intéressés aimeraient formuler sur les répercussions prévues sur l’économie, l’environnement et l’élaboration des politiques au Canada dans la foulée des négociations sur l’APIE Canada-Jordanie.

Le rapport de l’évaluation environnementale finale sera rendu public avant l’entrée en force de l’APIE Canada-Jordanie.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes :

Direction des consultations et de la liaison (CSL)
Affaires étrangères et commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca
Télécopieur : (613) 944-7981