Canada-Morocco Free Trade Agreement Negotiations

Last Updated June 2012.

Canada and Morocco have completed three rounds of negotiations toward a free trade agreement, with a fourth planned for 2013. Good progress has been made so far on all aspects of the negotiations, notably in areas related to custom procedures, sanitary and phytosanitary measures and government procurement. An FTA with Morocco would be Canada’s first such agreement with an African country, and Morocco could be a gateway to a renewed Canadian commercial presence in the Mediterranean region and in North Africa

For more information, please see additional information on the Canada-Morocco Free Trade Agreement negotiations.

Consultations

The government appreciates the input of all Canadians who have contributed to the consultative process to date and wishes to assure them that their views will be taken into account as the Canada-Morocco initiative proceeds and in the development of Canada's trade agenda more broadly. The government will continue to seek stakeholders’ views through the Foreign Affairs and International Trade website to ensure that their interests and concerns are taken into account during the negotiations.

Canada is now conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these negotiations. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts which a Canada-Morocco FTA may have on Canada.

Past consultations on this initiative include:

Interesting Links

Contact Point

If you have questions or comments about this initiative we would like to hear from you. Please contact Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada at:

Canada-Morocco FTA Negotiations
Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I (TPE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2
Fax: 613-944-0757
Email: consultations@international.gc.ca

Négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange Canada-Maroc

Dernière mise à jour en juin 2012.

Le Canada et le Maroc ont conclu trois cycles de négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange, avec un quatrième cycle planifier en 2013. Des progrès ont été réalisés par rapport à tous les aspects abordés dans le cadre de ces négociations, et notamment dans les domaines relatifs aux procédures douanières, aux mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires et aux marchés publics. Cet ALE avec le Maroc serait le premier accord du genre à être signé entre le Canada et un pays d’Afrique, et le Maroc pourrait être une porte d’entrée vers une nouvelle présence commerciale canadienne dans la région de la Méditerranée et en Afrique du Nord.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les renseignements supplémentaires sur les négociations en vue d'un accord de libre-échange Canada-Maroc.

Consultations

Le gouvernement apprécie l’apport de tous les Canadiens qui ont participé au processus de consultation jusqu’à présent et souhaite les assurer que leurs points de vue seront pris en compte dans le cadre de cette initiative de même que dans le contexte plus large du programme commercial canadien. Le gouvernement continuera de solliciter les avis des parties intéressées par l’entremise du site Internet de Affaires étrangères et commerce international Canada afin que leurs intérêts et préoccupations soient pris en compte tout au long des négociations.

Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une évaluation environnementale pour orienter les négociations en cours. Il recueillera des commentaires sur les effets environnementaux significatifs et probables qu’un ALE Canada-Maroc pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Consultations antérieures au sujet de cette initiative:

Liens connexes

Point de contact

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part des questions ou des commentaires que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de cette initiative. Pour ce faire, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, dont les coordonnées se trouvent ci-dessous :

Négociations d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Maroc
Direction des négociations commerciales I (TPE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléc.: 613-944-0757
Courriel: consultations@international.gc.ca