Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Intent to Conduct an Environmental Assessment of a Canada-Morocco Free Trade Agreement

On January 27, 2011, Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Prime Minister of Morocco, Abbas El Fassi, announced the two countries will begin negotiations towards a free trade agreement. Canada is now conducting an Environmental Assessment (EA) to inform these negotiations. Comments are invited on any likely and significant environmental impacts which a Canada-Morocco FTA may have on Canada.

The Government of Canada is committed to sustainable development. Mutually supportive trade, investment and environmental policies can contribute to this objective. To this end, the Minister of International Trade has directed trade officials to improve their understanding of, and information based on, the relationship between trade and environmental issues at the earliest stages of decision making, and to do this through an open and inclusive process. Environmental assessments of trade negotiations are critical to this work.

This process is guided by the 2001 Framework for Conducting Environmental Assessments of Trade Negotiations and with direction from the 2004 Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals.
For more information, please visit the following Web sites:

All interested parties are invited to submit their views.

Contributions can be sent by e-mail, fax or mail to:

Consultations and Liaison Division (BSL), Environmental Assessment Consultations — Canada-Morocco FTA
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
e-mail: consultations@international.gc.ca
Fax: 613-944-3214

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d’intention de procéder à une évaluation environnementale des effets d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Maroc

Le 27 janvier 2011, le premier ministre Stephen Harper et le premier ministre du Maroc, Abbas El Fassi, ont annoncé que les deux pays entameront des négociations en vue d’un accord de libre-échange. Le gouvernement du Canada procède actuellement à une évaluation environnementale pour guider ces négociations. Il sollicite des commentaires au sujet des effets environnementaux significatifs et probables qu’un ALE Canada-Maroc pourrait avoir sur le Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada s’engage dans la voie du développement durable. Des relations commerciales, des investissements et des politiques environnementales mutuellement favorables peuvent contribuer à l’atteinte de cet objectif. Pour cela, le ministre du Commerce international a demandé aux représentants du commerce de mieux comprendre, documents à l’appui, les liens qui existent entre les questions commerciales et les questions environnementales, et ce, dès les premières étapes de la prise de décisions, grâce à un processus ouvert et inclusif. L’évaluation environnementale des relations commerciales joue un rôle crucial dans ce processus.

Ce processus s’appuie sur le Cadre d'évaluation environnementale des négociations commerciales du Canada de 2001 et la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes de 2004.

Pour en savoir davantage, veuillez consulter les sites Web suivants :

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à faire connaître leur avis.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste aux coordonnées suivantes :

Direction des consultations et de la liaison (BSL), Consultations sur l’évaluation environnementale d’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Maroc
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2
Courriel : consultations@international.gc.ca
Télécopieur : 613-944-3214