Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Commission Meetings

ANNEX

THE NAFTA SECTORAL APPROACH

The global business and trade environment is becoming increasingly complex and competitive, fuelled by rapidly changing patterns of global value chains, the rise of new economic powers, the intense pursuit of bilateral liberalization agendas and new security dynamics.

For Canada, the United States and Mexico, the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) is an important component of our economic success and prosperity. As such, it provides the primary platform for our countries to compete in the global context.

To stay competitive, our three countries must continue working together to build on NAFTA's success by harnessing the region's strengths, bringing down any remaining trade barriers and ensuring that our business sectors have the freedom, tools and market access they need to compete, in a co-ordinated fashion, in the global context.

At the March 2006 NAFTA Commission meeting, Ministers committed to continue building a more competitive North American business platform that will ease the flow of goods, services, and capital between the three NAFTA countries in key sectors.

Today, NAFTA Ministers approved focused sectoral work in four sectors: swine/hogs, steel, consumer electronics, and chemicals.

SWINE
Despite the high degree of co-operation and cross-border trade in this sector, some market access issues remain among the three NAFTA countries, which can increase costs for producers and consumers alike. These include potential border delays, regulatory differences and competitive pressures from emerging players in the North American market.

To help North America's swine sector compete more effectively, NAFTA Ministers agreed to work co-operatively to lower barriers to trade in swine. This includes developing coordinated approaches to standards, regulations and performance objectives, preventing border delays and sharing research. Ministers also agreed to explore the possibility of developing protocols to ensure a predictable, co-ordinated response within North America in the event of an outbreak of swine-related diseases.

STEEL
The North American steel market is highly integrated, and the industry in all three NAFTA countries share common interests and concerns.

Through the work of the North American Steel Trade Committee, NAFTA partners are undertaking a comprehensive analysis of trade barriers in this industry. Once the analysis is complete, partners will make recommendations -- including in the areas of country-of-origin and permit requirements -- that will make North America's steel industry more competitive.

CONSUMER ELECTRONICS
Rapid and dramatic technological advances over the years have created a huge global market for consumer electronics. These advances have also led to increased, low-cost competition and a shortened product lifespan that finds older products ending up in landfills more rapidly. NAFTA Ministers agreed to work together to lower trade barriers to ensure that this industry has the tools and market access it needs to succeed in all three countries. Ministers also agreed to work with the trilateral Commission of Environmental Co-operation to explore ways to address the environmental impacts of the lifespan and disposal of consumer electronics.

CHEMICALS
The chemicals industry is a large and important industry to all three NAFTA partners, providing jobs, consumer products and inputs for a wide range of sectors, including the medical, automotive, textile, electronics, construction and food industries. NAFTA Ministers have agreed to review recommendations provided to the three governments to facilitate trade in this sector - including customs and rules-of-origin requirements and how to make this industry more competitive and cost-effective in the global context.

To promote safety and environmentally friendly standards, Ministers also agreed to explore work that will assist current efforts towards common standards and requirements for the labelling and transportation of hazardous chemicals.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réunions de la Commission

ANNEXE

APPROCHE SECTORIELLE DE L'ALÉNA

Le milieu mondial du commerce et des affaires devient de plus en plus complexe et concurrentiel, en particulier sous l'effet de la mutation rapide de la structure des chaînes de valeur mondiales, de l'émergence de nouvelles puissances économiques, de l'application intensive de programmes de libéralisation bilatéraux et des nouvelles dynamiques en matière de sécurité.

Pour le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique, l'accord de libre échange nord-américain est une composante importante de notre succès et de notre prospérité économique. Dans ce contexte, l'ALÉNA constitue la principale plate-forme qui permet à nos pays de compétitionner à l'échelle mondiale.

Afin de rester compétitif, nos pays doivent poursuivre leur travail conjoint afin de bâtir sur le succès de l'ALÉNA en canalisant les forces de la région, éliminant les obstacles au commerce restant et assurant que nos secteurs d'affaire ont la liberté, les outils et l'accès aux marchés qu'ils ont besoin pour compétitionner de façon coordonnée a l'échelle mondiale.

Lors de la réunion de la Commission de l'ALÉNA qui s'est tenue en mars 2006, les ministres se sont engagés à poursuivre la mise sur pied d'une plate-forme commerciale nord-américaine plus compétitive qui facilitera les échanges de produits, de services et de capitaux entre les trois pays de l'ALÉNA dans des secteurs clés.

Aujourd'hui, les ministres de l'ALÉNA ont approuvés le lancement de travaux sectoriels précis sur quatre secteurs: le porc, l'acier, les produits électroniques et les produits chimiques.

PORC
Malgré le niveau élevé de coopération et les échanges transfrontaliers dans ce secteur, plusieurs questions d'accès aux marchés demeurent non résolues entre les pays de l'ALÉNA, ce qui pourrait causer une augmentation des coûts pour les producteurs et les consommateurs. Parmi ces questions, notons les suivantes : les retards possibles à la frontière, les différences en matière de réglementation ainsi que la concurrence accrue d'acteurs émergeants dans le marché nord-américain.

Pour aider le secteur du porc nord-américain à compétitionner plus efficacement, les ministres ont convenu de travailler conjointement pour réduire les barrières au commerce dans ce secteur. Ceci inclu le développement d'approches coordonnées quant aux normes, règlementations et objectifs de rendement, réduisant les délais aux frontières. Ceci inclus également le partage des résultats dans le domaine de la recherche. Les ministres ont également convenu d'explorer la possibilité d'établir des protocoles pour les maladies graves pour les porcs au niveau nord-américain en vue de garantir une réponse prévisible, efficace et coordonnée aux éclosions possibles de maladies porcines.

ACIER
Le marché sidérurgique nord-américain est hautement intégré, et les industries au sein des trois pays partagent des intérêts et des préoccupations communes.

Via le travail du Comité nord-américain du commerce de l'acier (CNACA), les partenaires de l'ALÉNA entreprennent une analyse complète des obstacles au commerce dans ce secteur. Une fois l'analyse complétée, les partenaires feront des recommandations, incluant dans des domaines tels que les mesures des pays d'origine et la certification, qui feront en sorte que l'industrie nord-américain soit plus compétitive.

PRODUITS ÉLECTRONIQUES
Les avancées technologiques rapides et significatives au cours des dernières années ont créé un immense marché global pour les produits électroniques. En raison des progrès rapides dans le domaine concerné et du taux d'adoption plus élevé, la durée de vie de ces produits diminue puisque les consommateurs les remplacent souvent, accélérant ainsi leurs échanges et leur élimination dans les décharges.

Les ministres de l'ALÉNA ont convenu de travailler conjointement afin de réduire les barrières au commerce afin d'assurer que cette industrie a les outils et l'accès au marché dont elle a besoin pour réussir dans les trois pays. Les ministres ont également convenu de travailler avec la Commission de coopération environnementale pour explorer de nouvelles façons de faire face aux impacts environnementaux liés à la durée de vie et à l'élimination de produits électroniques.

PRODUITS CHIMIQUES
L'industrie des produits chimiques occupe une place importante dans chacun des trois pays partenaires de l'ALÉNA, puisqu'elle fournit des emplois et des produits directement au consommateur aussi qu'à un large éventail d'utilisateurs, comme les secteurs de l'automobile, du textile, de l'électronique, des matériaux de construction, de l'alimentation et de la médecine.

Les ministres ont convenu d'étudier les recommandations faites aux trois gouvernements afin de faciliter le commerce dans ce secteur, dans des domaines tel que les règles d'origine et les procédures douanières, et comment faire en sorte que cette industrie soit plus compétitive et plus rentable à l'échelle mondiale. Afin de promouvoir des normes respectant l'environnement et la sécurité, les ministres ont également convenu de travailler dans l'optique de soutenir les efforts actuels visant des normes et règles communes pour l'étiquetage et le transport des matières dangereuses.