Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA FREE TRADE COMMISSION JOINT STATEMENT

Montreal, October 7, 2003

“Celebrating NAFTA at Ten”

The Honourable Pierre S. Pettigrew, Canada’s Minister for International Trade; Fernando Canales, Mexico’s Secretary of Economy; and Ambassador Robert B. Zoellick, United States Trade Representative, are pleased to release the following Joint Statement, which outlines the overall results of the October 7, 2003, meeting of the NAFTA Free Trade Commission, in Montréal, Québec, Canada.

As we near the tenth anniversary of the entry into force of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), it is important to evaluate its impact on our three countries. The evidence is clear -- the NAFTA has been a great success for all three Parties. It is an outstanding demonstration of the rewards that flow to outward-looking, confident countries that implement policies of trade liberalization as a way to increase wealth, improve competitiveness and expand benefits to consumers, workers and businesses. We remain committed to ensuring that the NAFTA continues to help us to strengthen the North American economy through a rules-based framework for doing business in an increasingly integrated market.

Since January 1, 1994, when the NAFTA entered into force, three-way trade amongst our countries has reached over US $621 billion, more than double the pre-NAFTA level. Foreign Direct Investment by other NAFTA partners in our three countries more than doubled to reach US$299.2 billion in 2000.

The NAFTA story is about more than impressive trade and investment figures. January 1, 2004 will also mark ten years since the North American Agreement on Environmental Co-operation and the North American Agreement on Labour Co-operation entered into force. These successful agreements have helped to ensure that the economic integration promoted by the NAFTA is accompanied by better environmental performance and efforts to improve working conditions.

When the NAFTA Free Trade Commission last met in May 2002, we instructed our officials to review the prospects of additional trilateral work that could stimulate further trade between our three countries, to allow the realization of the full potential of a more integrated and efficient North American economy.

On the basis of work achieved to date, we have today agreed on a series of actions to further stimulate trade and investment between our three countries, and we have directed our officials to continue to review opportunities for further trilateral work.

We reviewed the recommendations of the Investment Experts Group (IEG), which we had tasked with examining the operation of the investment chapter of the NAFTA. We agreed on statements and recommended procedures regarding submissions from non-disputing parties and a standard form for Notices of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration. These will enhance the transparency and efficiency of the investment chapter's investor-state dispute settlement process. Copies of these statements are attached. Much of the work that led to the IEG’s recommendations was informed by input from interested stakeholders, including input received at the NAFTA Trilateral Multi-stakeholder Consultations that were held in Montreal this past May. The Council of the Commission for Environmental Cooperation -- our environmental counterparts -- and the Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC), provided important input on the organization of these consultations. We directed the IEG to continue its work seeking ways to improve the implementation of the Chapter, including, where appropriate, an examination of investment provisions in other agreements.

We were pleased to note that trade in North America for most non-agricultural goods is no longer hindered by tariffs. However, we noted that certain export-related transaction costs still impede possibilities for even more vigorous growth in trilateral trade. We asked the NAFTA Trade in Goods Committee to commence a study of our most-favoured-nation tariffs, in order to determine whether harmonizing these tariffs could further promote trade by reducing export-related transaction costs. We asked the NAFTA Rules of Origin Working Group to pursue further liberalization of the NAFTA rules of origin. We instructed officials to initiate the necessary consultations with domestic industries to determine which products could be covered by this exercise and to report to our Deputies at their next meeting.

Ministers discussed the impending liberalization of international textile and apparel trade at the end of 2004 and steps that could be taken to prepare our industries for an increasingly competitive global market.

We have accepted the recommendation of the NAFTA Temporary Entry Working Group to provide temporary entry to actuaries and plant pathologists. We have agreed that each Party will complete its domestic procedures to admit professionals in these two occupations and the Parties will implement this change trilaterally on February 1, 2004. We asked the Temporary Entry Working Group to develop trilaterally-agreed procedures for adding and deleting professions in Appendix 1603.D.1 (Professionals) of the NAFTA.

We were pleased to accept the Mutual Recognition Agreement that has been signed by the accounting professions of Canada, Mexico and the United States. We hereby encourage our respective competent authorities to implement it in a manner consistent with the NAFTA. This agreement will facilitate the recognition of credentials within the three NAFTA countries. By facilitating the cross-border trade in services, this type of agreement contributes to achieving the objectives of the NAFTA, and we encourage other bodies of professionals to complete the agreements that are being negotiated to develop mutually acceptable standards and criteria for licensing and certification of professional service providers.

We welcomed the establishment of a North American Steel Trade Committee, which will meet for the first time on November 21 in Mexico City. The objective of the Committee is to promote continued cooperation among the three governments on international steel policy matters; to serve as a consultative mechanism for regular exchanges of information and review of progress on matters of mutual interest or concern; and reduce remaining distortions in the North American steel market. We look forward to receiving reports of the Committee’s work. We have attached a separate statement on the establishment of this Committee.

We have accepted the recommendation of the NAFTA Advisory Committee on Private Commercial Disputes, and we encourage the competent authorities to adopt in each of our countries the "UNCITRAL Model Law on International Commercial Conciliation." This will facilitate the effective resolution of private commercial disputes by establishing a harmonized legal framework within the NAFTA region.

Looking beyond the NAFTA region, we also discussed the essential role that further trade and investment liberalization plays in the promotion of economic growth and poverty reduction worldwide, and the leadership that our three countries are showing in this regard.

Despite the setback at the WTO Ministerial Conference in Cancun, we agreed that the Doha Round of multilateral trade negotiations continues to hold tremendous prospects for the world economy; especially for developing countries. We call on Members to re-double their efforts to build bridges and find consensus in the months ahead. We agreed on the need to re-energize the multilateral process and move forward with multilateral trade liberalization that benefits all participants. We also agreed to seize all opportunities to rebuild momentum, including at the APEC Leaders’ and Trade Ministers’ meetings in Thailand later this month.

At the same time, we reaffirmed our commitment to the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) process and the successful conclusion by January 2005 of negotiations on a comprehensive, ambitious multilateral agreement including both market access and common rules. As we approach the November 20-21, 2003 FTAA Ministerial meeting in Miami, we will continue to work with our Hemispheric partners to achieve the promise that the FTAA holds for growth and economic development through enhanced economic integration.

We approved the publication of a trilateral brochure on NAFTA, which can be found at the three Ministries’ web sites.

Finally, we agreed that the United States will host the next NAFTA Commission meeting, at the Ministerial level, next year.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

COMMISSION DU LIBRE-ÉCHANGE DE L’ALENA DÉCLARATION CONJOINTE

Montréal, le 7 octobre 2003

« Dixième anniversaire de l’ALENA »

L'honorable Pierre S. Pettigrew, ministre du Commerce international du Canada, M. Fernando Canales, secrétaire de l'Économie du Mexique, ainsi que M. Robert B. Zoellick, représentant au Commerce des États-Unis, sont heureux de rendre publique la déclaration conjointe suivante, qui donne un aperçu des résultats de la réunion de la Commission du libre-échange de l'ALENA tenue le 7 octobre 2003, à Montréal (Québec), au Canada.

À la veille du dixième anniversaire de l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), il importe d'évaluer l'incidence de cet accord sur nos trois pays. Les faits le montrent clairement : l'ALENA a été un grand succès dans les trois Parties. Il s’agit d’une démonstration convaincante des bienfaits retirés par les pays confiants et tournés vers l'avenir qui mettent en œuvre des politiques de libéralisation des échanges afin d'accroître la richesse et la compétitivité, ainsi que les avantages pour les consommateurs, les travailleurs et les entreprises. Nous restons décidés à faire en sorte que l'ALENA nous permette de renforcer l'économie nord-américaine dans un cadre fondé sur des règles pour la conduite des affaires sur un marché de plus en plus intégré.

Depuis le 1er janvier 1994, date d'entrée en vigueur de l'ALENA, la valeur des échanges trilatéraux entre nos pays a plus que doublé; elle dépasse maintenant 621 milliards de dollars américains. Les investissements étrangers directs effectués dans nos trois pays par les autres partenaires de l'ALENA ont plus que doublé, passant à 299,2 milliards de dollars américains en 2000.

L'histoire de l’ALENA ne se résume pas qu’à des chiffres impressionnants sur les plans du commerce et des investissements. En effet, le 1er janvier 2004 marquera également le dixième anniversaire de l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l'environnement et de l'Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail. Ces accords efficaces ont contribué à faire en sorte que l’intégration économique visée par l'ALENA aille de pair avec un accroissement des résultats dans le domaine de l’environnement et la multiplication des efforts en vue d'améliorer les conditions de travail.

Lors de la réunion précédente de la Commission du libre-échange de l'ALENA, en mai 2002, nous avons demandé à nos responsables d'étudier la possibilité d'entreprendre d'autres travaux trilatéraux susceptibles de développer encore plus le commerce et les investissements entre nos trois pays et de permettre la réalisation de tout le potentiel d'une économie nord-américaine davantage intégrée et efficace.

Sur la base des réalisations passées, nous avons convenu aujourd'hui d'une série de mesures à prendre en vue de stimuler le commerce et l’investissement entre nos trois pays et avons demandé à nos responsables de continuer à étudier les possibilités d’étendre encore plus la collaboration trilatérale.

Nous avons pris connaissance des recommandations du Groupe d’experts sur l’investissement (GEI), que nous avions chargé d’examiner le fonctionnement du chapitre sur l’investissement de l’ALENA. Nous avons convenu de déclarations et recommandé des procédures concernant la présentation de mémoires par des tierces parties et un formulaire normalisé de notification de l’intention de soumettre une plainte à l’arbitrage. Ces mesures accroissent la transparence et l’efficacité du processus de règlement des différends opposant un investisseur et un État qui est prévu dans le chapitre sur l’investissement. Vous trouverez ci-jointes des copies de ces déclarations. Une grande partie des travaux ayant mené aux recommandations du GEI se sont appuyés sur des propositions formulées par des intéressés, notamment lors des consultations multisectorielles trilatérales dans le cadre de l’ALENA qui ont eu lieu à Montréal en mai dernier. Le Conseil de la Commission nord-américaine de coopération environnementale – nos homologues en matière d’environnement – et le Comité consultatif public mixte (CCPM), ont grandement collaboré à l’organisation de ces consultations. Nous avons demandé au GEI de poursuivre ses travaux afin de trouver des moyens d’améliorer la mise en oeuvre du chapitre, notamment d’examiner, le cas échéant, les dispositions relatives à l’investissement que renferment d’autres accords.

Nous avons été heureux de constater que les droits de douane ne gênent plus le commerce de la plupart des biens non agricoles en Amérique du Nord. Cela dit, il reste que certains coûts de transaction associés à l'exportation continuent de nuire à la croissance des échanges trilatéraux, laquelle pourrait être encore plus vigoureuse. Nous avons demandé au Comité du commerce des marchandises de l'ALENA d'entreprendre une étude afin de déterminer si l'harmonisation de nos droits de douane de la nation la plus favorisée pourrait favoriser davantage le commerce en réduisant les coûts de transaction liés à l'exportation. Nous avons demandé au Groupe de travail sur les règles d'origine de l'ALENA de se pencher sur la question d’une plus grande libéralisation des règles d'origine de l'ALENA. Nous avons en outre demandé aux responsables d'organiser les consultations nécessaires avec les branches de production nationales afin de déterminer quels produits pourraient faire l’objet d’une telle mesure et d'en faire rapport à nos sous-ministres à la prochaine réunion.

Les Ministres ont également discuté de la libéralisation des échanges dans le secteur des textiles et vêtements à la fin de 2004 et des moyens à prendre de préparer ces industries à faire face à un marché mondial plus compétitif.

Nous avons accepté la recommandation du Groupe de travail sur l'admission temporaire de l'ALENA visant à permettre l'admission temporaire des actuaires et des pathologistes des végétaux en tant que professionnels. Nous avons convenu que chaque Partie suivra sa procédure interne pour l'admission de ces deux catégories professionnelles et que les Parties mettront en œuvre ce changement trilatéral le 1er février 2004. Nous avons demandé au Groupe de travail sur l'admission temporaire d’établir des procédures convenues trilatéralement en ce qui concerne l'ajout et la suppression de professions visées à l'Appendice 1603.D.1 (Professionnels) de l'ALENA.

Nous sommes heureux de constater qu’un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle a été conclu par les associations professionnelles de comptables du Canada, du Mexique et des États-Unis. Nous incitons donc les autorités compétentes de nos pays à mettre cet accord en oeuvre d’une manière compatible avec l’ALENA. Cet accord facilitera la reconnaissance des titres de compétences dans les trois pays de l’ALENA. En favorisant les échanges transfrontières de services, cet accord contribue à la réalisation des objectifs de l’ALENA, et nous encourageons les autres associations professionnelles à conclure les ententes en cours de négociation et à établir des normes et des critères mutuellement acceptables pour la délivrance de permis et d’attestations aux fournisseurs de servies professionnels.

Nous nous sommes réjouis de la création du Comité nord-américain du commerce de l'acier, dont la première réunion aura lieu le 21 novembre à Mexico. L'objectif du Comité est de promouvoir la coopération continue entre les trois États en matière de politique internationale dans le domaine de l'acier, d'agir en qualité de mécanisme de consultation pour l'échange continu de renseignements et l'évaluation des progrès réalisés en ce qui concerne les questions ou problèmes d'intérêt commun et de réduire les distorsions qui subsistent sur le marché nord-américain de l'acier. Nous attendons avec intérêt les comptes rendus des travaux du Comité. Nous avons annexé une déclaration distincte sur la création de ce Comité.

Nous avons accepté la recommandation du Comité consultatif de l’ALENA sur les différends commerciaux privés, et nous encourageons les autorités compétentes de nos trois pays à adopter la « Loi type de la CNUDCI sur la conciliation commerciale internationale ». Cette mesure facilitera le règlement efficace des différends commerciaux privés par l’harmonisation des cadres législatifs dans la zone de l’ALENA.

Au-delà de la zone de l’ALENA, nous avons également débattu du rôle essentiel que tient la libéralisation continue des échanges et des investissements dans la promotion de la croissance économique et la réduction de la pauvreté dans le monde, ainsi que du rôle de chef de file que jouent en ce sens nos trois pays.

En dépit du revers essuyé à la Conférence ministérielle de l'OMC à Cancun, nous avons convenu que le cycle de négociations commerciales multilatérales de Doha présente toujours des possibilités énormes pour l'économie mondiale, particulièrement pour les pays en développement. Nous demandons aux pays membres de redoubler d'efforts afin de réduire les tensions et d'atteindre un consensus dans les prochains mois. Nous avons convenu de la nécessité de raviver le processus multilatéral et de travailler en vue d’une libéralisation des échanges multilatéraux qui soit favorable à tous les participants. Nous avons également convenu de tirer parti de toutes les possibilités qui se présenteront afin de donner une nouvelle impulsion aux négociations, notamment lors des réunions des dirigeants et des ministres du Commerce de l'APEC, qui auront lieu plus tard ce mois-ci en Thaïlande.

De même, nous avons réaffirmé notre engagement envers le processus de la Zone de libre-échange des Amériques (ZLEA) et la conclusion, d’ici janvier 2005, des négociations qui aboutiront à un accord multilatéral général d’envergure prévoyant tant des règles d’accès aux marchés que des règles communes. D'ici la réunion ministérielle de la ZLEA prévue les 20 et 21 novembre 2003 à Miami, nous continuerons à collaborer avec nos partenaires de l'hémisphère afin que la ZLEA apporte, grâce à une intégration économique accrue, la croissance et le développement économique attendus.

Nous avons approuvé la publication d'une brochure trilatérale portant sur l'ALENA, qui est disponible sur le site Web des trois ministères.

En dernier lieu, nous avons convenu que les États-Unis seraient l’hôte de la prochaine réunion ministérielle de la Commission de l'ALENA, l'an prochain.