NAFTA - Amendments to Appendix 6, Annex 300-B

Rules of Origin Short Supply Goods

On July 1, 2009, Canada and the United States implemented measures to liberalize the NAFTA rules of origin applicable to certain textile goods which are made from acrylic staple fibres, that are not available from domestic producers in commercial quantities – the so-called “short-supply” goods.

Section 7, Annex 300-B of the NAFTA allows any two Parties to agree to different rules of origin for particular textile products made from inputs that are unavailable from domestic production in the NAFTA territory.

The proposals were developed jointly in consultation with industry and government representatives based on specific industry requests.

This new rule of origin will allow for the use of non-originating acrylic or modacrylic synthetic staple fibres of subheading 5503.30 in the production of a good of subheading 5801.36.

Rule Applicable to Chenille Fabric Containing Acrylic Staple Fibres

For purposes of trade between Canada and the United States, a good of either Party of subheading 5801.36 shall be treated as if it were an originating good only if any of the following changes in tariff classification is satisfied within the territory of one or both of the Parties:

  • a change to subheading 5801.36 from any other chapter, except from heading 51.06 through 51.13, 52.04 through 52.12, 53.07 through 53.08 or 53.10 through 53.11, Chapter 54, heading 55.01 through 55.02, subheading 5503.10 through 5503.20 or 5503.40 through 5503.90 or heading 55.04 through 55.16.

The amendments also include a technical rectification to an earlier bilateral Canada-United States short supply modification to Appendix 6 of NAFTA Annex 300-B, Textile and Apparel Goods, implemented by Canada and the United States in July 2005, which is required to align one of the referenced exceptions in the earlier modification with that referenced in the rules of origin applicable to similar fabrics.

Rule Applicable to Pile Fabric Containing Dry Spun Acrylic Fibre

In the last line of the bilaterally agreed rule applicable to pile fabric containing dry spun acrylic fibre, replace “55.15” with “55.16”, as follows:

For purposes of trade between Canada and the United States, a good of either Party of subheading 5801.35 shall be treated as if it were an originating good only if any of the following changes in tariff classification is satisfied within the territory of one or both of the Parties:

  • a change to woven-warp pile fabric, cut, of subheading 5801.35, with pile of dry-spun acrylic staple fibres of subheading 5503.30, which fabric has been dyed in the piece to a single uniform color, from any other chapter, except from heading 51.06 through 51.13, 52.04 through 52.12, 53.07 through 53.08 or 53.10 through 53.11, Chapter 54, heading 55.01 through 55.02, subheading 5503.10 through 5503.20 or 5503.40 through 5503.90 or heading 55.04 through 55.16.

The rules of origin changes are effective between Canada and the United States as of July 1, 2009.

ALENA - Modifications à l'appendice 6, annexe 300-B

Règles d'origine - marchandises dont il y a pénurie

Le 1er juillet 2009, le Canada et les États-Unis ont mis en œuvre des mesures visant à libéraliser les règles d'origine de l'ALENA applicables à certaines matières textiles faites de fibres acryliques discontinues, que les producteurs nationaux n'offrent pas en quantités commerciales, soit les marchandises « dont il y a pénurie ».

L'annexe 300-B de la section 7 de l'ALENA permet à deux des parties de s'entendre sur des règles d'origine différentes pour des produits textiles particuliers fabriqués à partir d'intrants non produits au niveau national dans le territoire de l'ALENA.

Les propositions ont été élaborées conjointement en consultation avec des représentants de l'industrie et du gouvernement en se fondant sur des demandes précises de l'industrie.

Cette nouvelle règle d'origine permettra les fibres synthétiques discontinues d'acryliques ou modacryliques non-originaires de la sous-position 5503.30 dans la production d'un produit de la sous-position 5801.36.

Règle applicable aux tissus chenilles contenant des fibres acryliques discontinues

Aux fins du commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis, un produit de l'une ou l'autre Partie de la sous-position 5801.36 ne sera traité comme un produit originaire que si l'un des changements de classification tarifaire suivants est dûment apporté sur le territoire de l'une des Parties ou des deux:

  • un changement à la sous-position 5801.36 de tout autre chapitre, sauf des positions 51.06 à 51.13, 52.04 à 52.12, 53.07 à 53.08 ou 53.10 à 53.11, du chapitre 54, des positions 55.01 à 55.02, des sous-positions 5503.10 à 5503.20 ou 5503.40 à 5503.90 ou des positions 55.04 à 55.16.

De plus, il est nécessaire d’apporter une rectification technique à une modification antérieure de l’appendice 6 de l’annexe 300-B faite par le Canada et les États-Unis, en vertu des dispositions relatives à l’approvisionnement insuffisant, et mise en œuvre par ces deux pays en juillet 2005. Cette rectification vise à rendre une des exceptions mentionnées dans la modification précédente conforme à celle dont il est question dans les règles d’origine applicables à des tissus semblables.

Règle applicable aux velours et peluches tissés contenant des fibres acryliques filées à sec

Remplacer « 55.15 » par « 55.16 » à la dernière ligne de la règle suivante acceptée bilatéralement, applicable aux velours et peluches tissés contenant des fibres acryliques filées sec:

Aux fins du commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis, un produit de l'une ou l'autre Partie de la sous-position 5801.35 ne sera traité comme un produit originaire que si l'un des changements de classification tarifaire suivants est dûment apporté sur le territoire de l'une des Parties ou des deux:

  • un changement aux velours et peluches tissés par la chaîne, coupes, de la sous-position 5801.35, avec fibres discontinues d'acrylique filées à sec de la sous-position 5503.30, le tissu ayant été teint en pièces d'une seule couleur uniforme, de tout autre chapitre, sauf des positions 51.06 à 51.13, 52.04 à 52.12, 53.07 à 53.08 ou 53.10 à 53.11, du chapitre 54, des positions 55.01 à 55.02, des sous-positions 5503.10 à 5503.20 ou 5503.40 à 5503.90 ou des positions 55.04 à 55.16.

Les changements apportés aux six règles entrent en vigueur entre le Canada et les États-Unis à compter du 1er juillet 2009.