Canadian Leads and Contacts for NAFTA Committees and Working Groups

Updated November 2016

Committee on Trade in Goods

(Chapter Three, Article 316)

Lead: Patrick Halley,
Chief, Trade and Tariff Policy
Finance Canada
Tel: 613-369-4036
Email: patrick.halley@canada.ca

Contact: Philipp Jorre de St. Jorre
Trade Policy Officer, Tariffs and Goods Market Access Division
Global Affairs Canada  
Tel: 613-203-4210
Email: Philip.JorredeSt.Jorre@international.gc.ca

Working Group on Textiles & Apparel (WGTA)

Lead: John Szabo
Senior Policy Analyst, Business Services to Manufacturing and Consumer Products
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 613-852-3558
Email: john.szabo@canada.ca

Committee on Trade in Worn Clothing

(Chapter Three, Annex 300-B, Section 9.1)

Lead: John Szabo
Senior Policy Analyst, Business Services to Manufacturing and Consumer Products
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 613-852-3558
Email: john.szabo@canada.ca

Contact: Reuben East
Deputy Director, Trade Controls Policy
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 613-203-4365
Email: Reuben.East@international.gc.ca

Working Group on Rules of Origin

(Chapter Five, Article 513)

Lead: Paul Huynh
Acting Director, Tariffs and Goods Market Access Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4179
Email: Paul.Huynh@international.gc.ca

Contact: Shezara Ali
Senior Trade Policy Officer, Tariffs and Goods Market Access Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4170
Email: Shezara.Ali@international.gc.ca

Contact: Karen LaHay
Senior Economist, Trade and Tariff Policy, International Trade Policy Division
Finance Canada
Tel: 613-369-4043
Email: karen.lahay@canada.ca

Customs Subgroup

(Chapter Five, Article 513.6)

Contact: Richard Lepage
Senior Program Officer, Origin, Valuation and Negotiations Unit
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA)
Tel: 613: 954-6341

Committee on Agricultural Trade (COA)

(Chapter 7, Article 706)

Lead: Nathalie Durand
Director, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-3491
Email: Nathalie.Durand@AGR.GC.CA

Contact: Sara Browne
Senior Trade Policy Analyst, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-0178
Email: Sara.Browne@AGR.GC.CA

Working Group on Tariff Rate Quota Administration

(1999 NAFTA Commission)

Lead: Nathalie Durand
Director, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-3491
Email: Nathalie.Durand@AGR.GC.CA

Contact: Sara Browne
Senior Trade Policy Analyst, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-0178
Email: Sara.Browne@AGR.GC.CA

Working Group on Agricultural Subsidies

(Chapter 7, Article 705.6)

Lead: Nathalie Durand
Director, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-3491
Email: Nathalie.Durand@AGR.GC.CA

Contact: Sara Browne
Senior Trade Policy Analyst, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-0178
Email: Sara.Browne@AGR.GC.CA

Advisory Committee on Private Commercial Disputes Regarding Agricultural Goods

(Chapter 7, Article 707)

Lead: Nathalie Durand
Director, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-3491
Email: Nathalie.Durand@AGR.GC.CA

Contact: Sara Browne
Senior Trade Policy Analyst, Americas Division, Market Access Secretariat
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Tel: 613-773-0178
Email: Sara.Browne@AGR.GC.CA

Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

(Chapter 7, Article 722 and includes FTA Article 708 Working Groups)

Lead: Nina Frid
Executive Director, Strategic Policy and International Affairs
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Tel: 613-773-6739
Email: Nina.Frid@inspection.gc.ca

Contact: Jay Allen
Director, Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4108
Email: Jay.Allen@international.gc.ca

Technical Working Groups on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

(Chapter Seven, Article 722)

Lead: Nina Frid
Executive Director, Strategic Policy and International Affairs
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Tel: 613-773-6739
Email: Nina.Frid@inspection.gc.ca

Contact: Jay Allen
Director, Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4108
Email: Jay.Allen@international.gc.ca

Committee on Standards Related Measures (CSRM)

(Chapter Nine, Article 913)

Lead: Shendra Melia
Director, Technical Barriers & Regulations Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4241
Email: Shendra.Melia@international.gc.ca

Contact: Jay Allen
Director, Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4108
Email: Jay.Allen@international.gc.ca

Land Transportation Standards Sub-Committee

(Chapter Nine, Article 913.5(a)(i), Annex 913.5.a-1)

Lead: Tom Oomen
Director, Highway, Border and Motor Carrier Policy
Transport Canada
Tel: 613-998-0674
Email: tom.oommen@tc.gc.ca

Contact: Alex Vincic
Senior Trade Policy Officer, Technical Barriers & Regulations Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4246
Email: alexander.vincic@international.gc.ca

Telecommunications Standards Sub-Committee

(Chapter Nine, Article 913.5(a)(ii), Annex 913.5.a-2)

Lead: Claude Beaudoin
Acting Senior Director, Regulatory Standards, Conformity and Technical Operations
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 343-291-1978
Email: claude.beaudoin@canada.ca

Contact: Christian Larose
Senior Trade Policy Officer, Technical Barriers & Regulations Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4335
Email: Christian.Larose@international.gc.ca

Automotive Standards Council

(Chapter Nine, Article 913.5(a)(iii), Annex 913.5.a-3)

Lead: Merz Rustom
Director, Motor Vehicle Standards, Research and Development
Transport Canada
Tel: 613-990-2913
Email: merz.rustom@tc.gc.ca

Contact: Dan Davis
Chief, Motor Vehicule Standards, Research and Development
Standards & Regulations
Transport Canada
Tel: 613-998-1956
Email: dan.davis@tc.gc.ca

Contact: Stéphane Couroux
Director, Transportation Division
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Tel: 819-420-8020
Email: stephane.couroux@canada.ca

Contact: Alex Vincic
Senior Trade Policy Officer, Technical Barriers & Regulations Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4246
Email: alexander.vincic@international.gc.ca

Sub-Committee on Labelling of Textile and Apparel Goods

(Chapter Nine, Article 913.5(a)(iv), Annex 913.5.a-4)

Lead: Arthur Carson
Competition Law Officer, Competition Bureau
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 514-283-9946
Email: arthur.carson@canada.ca

Contact: Mante Molepo
Senior Trade Policy Officer, Technical Barriers & Regulations Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4254
Email: Mante.Molepo@international.gc.ca

Sub-Committee on Labelling of Packaging and Food Standards

Lead: Kathy Twardek
Director, Consumer Protection and Market Fairness Division
Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Tel: 613-773-5489
Email: kathy.twardek@inspection.gc.ca

Contact: Nancy Ing
Regulatory Policy & Risk Management Specialist
International and Interagency Affairs and CODEX Contact Point
Health Canada
Tel: 613-941-5163
Email: nancy.ing@hc-sc.gc.ca

Working Group on Government Procurement and Committee on Small Business

(Chapter Ten, Article 1021)

Lead: Nadine Nickner
Deputy Director, Government Procurement, Trade and Environment Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4379
Email: nadine.nickner@international.gc.ca

Investments Experts Group (IEG)

(Chapter 11)

Lead: Vernon Mackay
Director, Investment Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4300
Email: Vernon.MacKay@international.gc.ca

Contact: Julie Boisvert
Deputy Director, Investment Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4286
Email: Julie.Boisvert@international.gc.ca

Working Group on Services

(Chapter 12)

Lead: Darren Smith
Director, Services Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4474
Email: Darren.Smith@international.gc.ca

Contact: Sean Clark
Deputy Director, Services Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4484
Email: Sean.Clark@international.gc.ca

Financial Services Committee

(Chapter Fourteen, Article 1412, Annex 1412.1)

Lead: Glenn Campbell
Director, Financial Institutions Division
Finance Canada
Tel: 613-369-3945
Email: glenn.campbell@canada.ca

Contact: Manuel Dussault
Chief, Financial Services Trade and Relations Section
Financial Institutions Division
Finance Canada
Tel: 613-369-3912
Email: manuel.dussault@canada.ca

Ad-Hoc Committee of Experts on Trade and Competition Policy

(Chapter Fifteen, Article 1504)

Lead: Nadia Vassos
Senior Competition Law Officer, International Affairs Directorate
Competition Bureau
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 819-934-6755
Email: nadia.vassos@canada.ca

Contact: Daniel Wilcock  
Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Competition, International Affairs Directorate
Competition Bureau
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Tel: 819-934-5646
Email: daniel.wilcock@canada.ca

Temporary Entry Working Group

(Chapter Sixteen, Article 1605)

Co-Lead: Robert Judge
Director, Temporary Resident Policy and Program
Citizenship and Immigration Canada
Tel: 613-437-6694

Co-Lead: Darren Smith
Director, Services Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4474
Email: Darren.Smith@international.gc.ca

Contact: Julia Buss
Trade Policy Officer, Services Trade Policy Division
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4472
Email: Julia.Buss@international.gc.ca

Chapter 19 Operational Working Group

(Chapter 19 Article 1907.1)

Co-Lead: Nadine Mawle-Valenti
Counsel, Market Access & Trade Remedies Law Division, Trade Law Bureau
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-2508
Email: Nadine.Valenti@international.gc.ca

Co-Lead: Deborah Gowling
Secretary, NAFTA Secretariat, Canadian Section
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-4268
Email: Deborah.Gowling@international.gc.ca

Advisory Committee on Private Commercial Disputes

(Chapter Twenty, Article 2022)

Lead: Yasmin Shaker
Counsel, Market Access and Trade Remedies Law, Trade Law Bureau
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 343-203-2487
Email: Yasmin.Shaker@international.gc.ca

Contact: Jennifer Sadaka Alberti
Paralegal, Investment and Services Law, Trade Law Bureau
Global Affairs Canada
Tel: 613-944-8008
Email: Jennifer.Sadaka-Alberti@international.gc.ca