North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

NAFTA @ 20 - Fast Facts

History

  • The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), signed by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Mexican President Carlos Salinas, and U.S. President George H.W. Bush, came into effect on January 1, 1994.
  • The NAFTA was built on the success of the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement and provided a compliment to Canada’s efforts through the WTO agreements by making deeper commitments in some key areas.
  • With the signing of the NAFTA, the world's largest free trade area was formed. The Agreement has brought economic growth and rising standards of living for people in all three countries.
  • The NAFTA, being the first comprehensive trade agreement of its type, has set a valuable example of the benefits of trade liberalization for the rest of the world.
  • In the event of a dispute, the NAFTA directs the governments concerned to seek to resolve their differences amicably through the NAFTA’s Committees and Working Groups or other consultations. If no mutually acceptable solution is found, the NAFTA provides for dispute settlement procedures. One of the principle elements of the NAFTA is the establishment of a clear set of rules for dealing with the settlement of disputes. The NAFTA was the first agreement to afford cross-border investors an impartial legal tribunal to address differences.
  • Under the NAFTA, tariffs on all covered goods traded between Canada and Mexico were eliminated in 2008. Tariffs on covered goods traded between Canada and the United States became duty free on January 1, 1989, in accordance with the CUSFTA which was carried forward under NAFTA.

Prosperity

  • Since 1994, NAFTA has generated economic growth and rising standards of living for the people of all three member countries. By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment throughout the continent, NAFTA has proven to be a solid foundation for building Canada’s future prosperity.
  • NAFTA has had an overwhelmingly positive effect on the Canadian economy. It has opened up new export opportunities, acted as a stimulus to build internationally competitive businesses, and helped attract significant foreign investment.
  • By any measure the NAFTA has been a success by serving as a basis to grow both trilateral and bilateral North American relationships and the results speak for themselves. Our integration helps maximize our capabilities and make our economies more innovative and competitive. In 1993, trilateral trade within the North American region was US$289 billion. In 2012, our total trilateral merchandise trade reached nearly US$1.1 trillion – an increase of nearly 3.7 times in US dollar terms.
  • Reflecting the prosperity and development of the region, the North American economy has more than doubled in size since 1994. The combined gross domestic product (GDP) for Canada, the U.S., and Mexico was US$19.2 trillion in 2012 up from nearly US$8.0 trillion in 1993.
  • Cooperation through the NAFTA has created a North America where Canadian, American and Mexican companies do more than make and sell things to each other, now, our companies increasingly make things together. For example, over half of Canadian manufacturing exports to the U.S. are intermediate exports.

Investment

  • The NAFTA’s provisions ensure greater certainty and stability for investment decisions by guaranteeing fair, transparent and non–discriminatory treatment of investors and their investments throughout the free trade area.
  • The NAFTA has contributed to enhancing Canada’s attractiveness to foreign investors while providing more opportunities for Canadians to invest in NAFTA partners’ economies. Investment is a key pillar of economic growth. In 2012, the stock of investment in Canada from U.S. was CA$326.5 billion, while Canada has invested CA$295 billion in our NAFTA partners.
  • Canada and the U.S. have one of the world’s largest investment relationships with a bilateral investment stock totalling almost CA$616.0 billion in 2012, according to Canadian statistics.
  • The stock of Canadian direct investment in Mexico has increased dramatically since NAFTA entered into force, reaching nearly $5.6 billion in 2012, up from only $530 million in 1993.

L'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

ALENA @ 20 ans - Faits saillants

Historique

  • L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), signé par le premier ministre Brian Mulroney, le président du Mexique Carlos Salinas et le président des États-Unis George H.W. Bush, est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994.
  • L’ALENA a tiré parti du succès de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis (ALECEU) et complété les efforts déployés par le Canada dans le cadre des accords de l’OMC en renforçant ses engagements dans certains secteurs clés.
  • La signature de l’ALENA a donné lieu à la formation de la plus grande zone de libre-échange au monde. L’ALENA a permis de stimuler la croissance économique de chacun des trois pays et d’accroître le niveau de vie de leur population.
  • L’ALENA, le premier accord commercial global en son genre, a donné un bel exemple des avantages de la libéralisation du commerce pour le reste du monde.
  • En cas de différend, les gouvernements concernés sont tenus, aux termes de l’ALENA, de le régler à l’amiable par l’intermédiaire des comités et des groupes de travail de l’ALENA ou d’autres mécanismes de consultation. Si aucune solution mutuellement acceptable n’est trouvée, l’ALENA prévoit des procédures de règlement des différends. L’un des éléments principaux de l’ALENA est l’établissement d’une série de règles claires en matière de règlement des différends. L’ALENA a été le premier accord à permettre aux investisseurs transfrontaliers de recourir à des tribunaux impartiaux pour régler les différends.
  • En vertu de l’ALENA, les droits de douane sur les marchandises admissibles entre le Canada et le Mexique ont été complètement éliminés en 2008. Les droits de douane sur les marchandises admissibles entre le Canada et les États-Unis ont été éliminés le 1er janvier 1989, conformément à l’ALECEU, dont les dispositions ont été conservées dans l’ALENA.

Prospérité

  • Depuis 1994, l'ALENA contribue à la croissance économique et à la hausse du niveau de vie de la population des trois pays membres. En renforçant les règles et procédures régissant le commerce et l'investissement d'un bout à l'autre du continent, l'ALENA s’est avéré une base solide pour promouvoir la prospérité du Canada.
  • L’ALENA a eu des répercussions extrêmement positives sur l’économie canadienne. Il a offert de nouvelles possibilités d’exportation, stimulé l’établissement d’entreprises concurrentielles à l’échelle internationale et aidé à attirer d’importants investisseurs étrangers.
  • L’ALENA a été une réussite sur tous les plans, en servant notamment de base au renforcement des relations bilatérales et trilatérales en Amérique du Nord, et les résultats sont à cet égard éloquents. L'intégration aide à maximiser nos capacités et à augmenter l'innovation et la compétitivité de nos économies. En 1993, la valeur du commerce trilatéral au sein de la région nord-américaine s’élevait à 289 milliards de dollars américains. En 2012, la valeur totale de nos échanges trilatéraux de marchandises a atteint près de 1,1 billion de dollars américains, s’étant multipliée par près de 3,7 en dollars américains.
  • Preuve de la prospérité et du développement de la région, l’économie nord-américaine a plus que doublé depuis 1994. Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) combiné du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique est passé de près de 8 billions de dollars américains en 1993 à 19,2 billions en 2012.
  • La coopération dans le cadre de l'ALENA a permis de façonner une Amérique du Nord où les entreprises canadiennes, américaines et mexicaines font davantage que fabriquer et vendre des produits entre elles : nos entreprises produisent de plus en plus ensemble. Par exemple, plus de la moitié des exportations manufacturières du Canada aux États-Unis sont des exportations de produits intermédiaires.

Investissement

  • Les dispositions de l’ALENA assurent une plus grande certitude et une plus grande stabilité en matière de décisions d’investissement en accordant un traitement juste, transparent et non discriminatoire aux investisseurs et à leurs investissements dans toute la zone de libre-échange.
  • L’ALENA a contribué à accroître l'attrait du Canada aux yeux des investisseurs étrangers, tout en offrant davantage de possibilités aux Canadiens d’investir dans les économies partenaires de l’ALENA. L’investissement est un pilier de la croissance économique. En 2012, le stock d’investissement au Canada en provenance des États-Unis se chiffrait à 326,5 milliards de dollars canadiens, tandis que les investissements du Canada dans ses pays partenaires de l’ALENA totalisaient 295 milliards de dollars canadiens.
  • Le Canada et les États-Unis entretiennent l’une des plus importantes relations d’investissement du monde; leur stock d’investissement bilatéral a atteint près de 616 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2012, selon les statistiques canadiennes.
  • Le stock d'investissement direct du Canada au Mexique a aussi connu une croissance spectaculaire depuis l'entrée en vigueur de l'ALENA : de seulement 530 millions de dollars en 1993, il a bondi à près de 5,6 milliards de dollars en 2012.