Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Joint Statement of NAFTA Governments - On the Establishment, Operation and Initial Agenda of a North American Steel Trade Committee

October 7, 2003

To demonstrate their shared commitment to address market distortions in the steel sector, and to further the integration of their steel industries in the context of greater North American economic integration, the NAFTA governments pledged in a December 2002 joint statement to identify areas in which they might work together to promote more openness in the North American steel market and cooperation on steel trade and industry policies. As a forum to facilitate this work, the NAFTA governments agreed to establish a North American Steel Trade Committee (NASTC). The inaugural meeting of the NASTC is currently scheduled to take place on November 21, 2003, in Mexico City.

The NASTC will have several broadly articulated purposes: (i) to promote continued cooperation among the three governments on steel policy matters, including in the OECD High Level Steel Initiative and in other multilateral fora; (ii) to serve as a consultative mechanism for regular exchanges of information and views, development of complementary approaches to common problems, and review of progress on matters of mutual interest or concern; and (iii) to seek the reduction and elimination, as appropriate and consistent with the rights and obligations of the NAFTA and the WTO, of remaining distortions in the North American steel market, taking account of progress made by other countries in addressing their own market-distorting measures and practices.

The NASTC will provide a venue for:

  • Obtaining input from and enhancing interaction with the steel industries of North America in order to gain a better appreciation of their interests and concerns;

  • Seeking common or better coordinated approaches and responses, where appropriate, to emerging problems and issues, including in the context of multilateral and regional discussions on steel trade issues;

  • Exchanging information on the North American steel market and trade, to maintain a sound understanding of the nature of steel trade within North America and between North America and other regions;

  • Identifying problems in North American steel trade or markets which could adversely affect intra-NAFTA steel trade or market conditions, with a view toward reaching mutually beneficial solutions consistent with the NAFTA governments’ domestic laws and international obligations.

  • Consulting on governmental policies and activities in the steel sector that may have an impact on trade in steel, with a view towards modifying, reducing or eliminating remaining barriers and distortions in the North American steel market where such actions are feasible and appropriate.

  • Considering ways to develop or promote joint, affirmative policies which would facilitate the adjustment and promote the health of the steel sector in North America within the context of and consistent with broader government policies in favor of North American economic growth and integration.

Establishment and Operation

  • The NASTC will operate primarily as an intergovernmental body, with the level and composition of delegations to be determined according to the issues to be discussed. Its work and activities will be reported to senior NAFTA government officials, and authority to take any official actions will derive from decisions of the NAFTA governments.

  • In the context of its meetings, the NASTC will permit and facilitate direct interaction and exchange of information with representatives of North American steel producers and industry associations.

  • Regular meetings will typically be scheduled semi-annually, upon agreement of the parties, with the possibility left open for ad hoc meetings in order to address particular issues should the need arise. Hosting responsibility will rotate on a semi-annual basis and the host government will be responsible for chairing the meeting, circulating a proposed agenda in advance of the meeting, and performing other ministerial functions necessary to the smooth operation of the Committee.

  • In general, responsibility for leading discussion of specific agenda items and, where appropriate, the drafting and circulation of discussion papers will rest with the government that places the item on the agenda. In cases where the item is a regular element of the Committee’s discussions, such responsibility will be decided by consensus of the parties at the suggestion of the Chair of the Committee.

  • Apart from the obligation to report to senior NAFTA government officials on its work, as well as other operational considerations aimed at facilitating oversight and transparency, the activities of the Committee will be kept as informal as possible in order to promote the efficiency of its work. Periodically, the Committee will consider whether it wishes to issue public statements or reports either in conjunction with or independent of the industry representatives.

Proposed Initial Agenda Items

  • Review current multilateral and regional discussions on and developments affecting steel trade issues, including the OECD High Level Steel Initiative, and explore potential areas of cooperation for a successful and mutually beneficial outcome.

  • Take stock of emerging problems, trade trends and areas of concern regarding global steel trade, including problems facing NAFTA countries as a result of actions or developments in other regions of the world. Discuss appropriate approaches and responses to such issues, whether of a unilateral, coordinated or collective nature.

  • Explore a feasible mechanism for the exchange of information on the North American steel market and trade, consistent with antitrust considerations.

  • Identify potential or emerging problems in North American steel trade or markets which could adversely affect intra-NAFTA steel trade or market conditions, with a view towards clarifying the issues and exchanging ideas on reaching mutually beneficial solutions consistent with the NAFTA governments’ domestic laws and international obligations.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Déclaration conjointe des gouvernements de L'ALÉNA au sujet de la création, des activités et du premier ordre du jour du comité nord américain sur le commerce de l'acier

Le 7 octobre 2003

Dans le but, d’une part, de démontrer leur engagement commun à remédier aux distorsions qui touchent le marché de l’acier, et d’autre part d’appuyer une plus grande intégration de leurs secteurs de l’acier dans le cadre du processus d’intégration de l’économie nord américaine, les gouvernements de l’ALÉNA ont fait part, dans une déclaration conjointe rendue publique en décembre 2002, de leur volonté de se pencher sur les mesures communes pouvant être prises en vue de promouvoir une plus grande ouverture du marché nord américain de l’acier et une coopération accrue au chapitre des politiques régissant le secteur et le commerce de l’acier. Pour faciliter ce travail, ces gouvernements ont convenu de mettre sur pied un comité nord américain sur le commerce de l’acier, dont la première réunion est prévue pour le 21 novembre 2003 à Mexico.

Le comité aura plusieurs objectifs généraux : (i) promouvoir la coopération constante des trois gouvernements sur les questions stratégiques relatives à l’acier, par exemple l’Initiative à haut niveau de l’OCDE sur l’acier et d’autres mécanismes multilatéraux; (ii) servir d’instrument de consultation pour permettre des échanges périodiques d’information et d’opinions, la conception d’approches complémentaires portant sur des problèmes communs, et l’examen des progrès accomplis concernant des enjeux communs; (iii) chercher à éliminer ou réduire, lorsque la chose est appropriée et en conformité avec les droits et obligations applicables sous les régimes de l’ALÉNA et de l’OMC, les distorsions qui persistent à l’intérieur du marché nord américain de l’acier, en tenant compte des progrès accomplis par d’autres pays relativement à leurs propres mesures et pratiques causant des distorsions sur les marchés.

La tribune offerte par le comité servira :

  • à connaître les points de vue des participants du secteur nord américain de l’acier et à interagir plus efficacement avec eux, de manière à mieux comprendre leurs points d’intérêt et leurs préoccupations;

  • à chercher, lorsque la chose est pertinente, des approches et des initiatives communes ou mieux coordonnées à l’égard de problèmes et d’enjeux nouveaux, notamment dans le contexte des discussions multilatérales et régionales sur les dossiers relatifs au commerce de l’acier;

  • à partager des renseignements sur le marché nord américain de l’acier et les échanges commerciaux qui s’y déroulent, pour bien comprendre la nature de ces échanges, à la fois à l’intérieur de l’Amérique du Nord et entre l’Amérique du Nord et d’autres régions;

  • à déterminer les problèmes touchant le commerce et le marché de l’acier en Amérique du Nord qui risquent d’influer sur les conditions du marché de l’acier et les échanges visés par l’ALÉNA, le but étant de trouver des solutions qui soient mutuellement avantageuses et conformes aux lois nationales et aux obligations internationales des gouvernements de l’ALÉNA;

  • à mener des consultations sur les politiques et activités gouvernementales relatives au secteur de l’acier qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur le commerce de l’acier, en vue de modifier, de restreindre ou d’éliminer les obstacles et distorsions qui existent encore à l’intérieur du marché nord américain de l’acier lorsque la chose est faisable et utile;

  • à étudier des moyens d’élaborer ou de promouvoir des politiques conjointes positives pour faciliter les ajustements requis et promouvoir la vigueur du secteur de l’acier en Amérique du Nord dans le contexte des politiques publiques générales favorisant l’intégration et la croissance de l’économie nord américaine.

Création et activités

  • Le comité sera essentiellement un organisme intergouvernemental; sa composition sera déterminée en fonction des questions à traiter. Ses activités feront l’objet de rapports aux autorités concernées des gouvernements de l’ALÉNA, et son pouvoir de prise de mesures officielles découlera des décisions prises par les gouvernements de l’ALÉNA.

  • Les réunions du comité favoriseront une interaction directe et des échanges de renseignements avec les représentants des associations sectorielles et des producteurs d’acier de l’Amérique du Nord.

  • Les réunions périodiques se tiendront généralement deux fois par année, avec l’accord des parties; des réunions extraordinaires pourront être tenues pour étudier des questions particulières s’il y a lieu. Il y aura rotation des pays hôtes sur une base semestrielle; le gouvernement hôte présidera la réunion, communiquera avant la réunion un ordre du jour provisoire et remplira les autres fonctions ministérielles nécessaires à la bonne marche des travaux du comité.

  • De façon générale, le gouvernement faisant inscrire un point à l’ordre du jour aura à mener les débats sur ce point et, le cas échéant, aura à rédiger et à distribuer les documents de discussion. Dans le cas des points courants à l’ordre du jour, cette responsabilité fera l’objet d’une décision consensuelle des parties, à la suggestion du président du comité.

  • Outre l’obligation de faire rapport sur ses travaux aux autorités concernées des gouvernements de l’ALÉNA et certaines autres considérations opérationnelles ayant pour objet de faciliter la surveillance et la transparence des travaux du comité, les travaux en question se dérouleront de façon aussi informelle que possible, pour des raisons d’efficience. Le comité décidera ponctuellement s’il souhaite rendre publics des déclarations ou des rapports, seul ou conjointement avec les représentants du secteur.

Premier ordre du jour provisoire

  • Examen des discussions régionales et multilatérales en cours ainsi que des événements et circonstances pouvant avoir des répercussions sur le commerce de l’acier, par exemple l’Initiative à haut niveau de l’OCDE sur l’acier, et examen des axes de coopération pouvant produire des résultats probants et mutuellement avantageux.

  • Faire le point sur les problèmes émergents, les tendances en matière de commerce et les questions importantes touchant le commerce international de l’acier, notamment les problèmes avec lesquels sont aux prises les pays parties à l’ALÉNA par suite d’initiatives ou d’événements dans d’autres régions du globe. Discuter des approches et mesures – unilatérales, coordonnées ou collectives – à prendre relativement à ces questions.

  • Étudier un mécanisme pratique d’échange de renseignements sur le marché nord américain de l’acier, en accord avec les principes antitrust.

  • Détecter les problèmes nouveaux ou éventuels touchant le commerce ou le marché de l’acier en Amérique du Nord qui pourraient nuire aux échanges d’acier entre pays parties à l’ALÉNA ou causer une détérioration des conditions du marché; définir la nature des problèmes et échanger des idées dans le but de trouver des solutions mutuellement avantageuses, en conformité avec les lois nationales et les obligations internationales des gouvernements de l’ALÉNA.