Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

NAFTA at Ten

NAFTA: A decade of strengthening a dynamic relationship

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), is an outstanding demonstration of the rewards to outward-looking countries that implement policies of trade liberalization as a way to increase wealth and improve competitiveness. The NAFTA is an example of the benefits that all countries could derive from moving forward with multilateral trade liberalization. Farmers, workers and manufacturers benefit from the reduction of arbitrary and discriminatory trade rules, while consumers enjoy lower prices and more choices.

Strengthening a Dynamic Relationship

January 1, 2004 represents an important milestone in the trade and economic relationship between Canada, the United States and Mexico. This date marks the tenth anniversary of the launching of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). Ten years ago the three countries formed a free trade area with a total gross domestic product (GDP), at present, of US$11.4 trillion. This makes North America the world’s largest free trade area, with about one-third of the world’s total GDP, significantly larger than that of the European Union. Even with the addition of ten new members next year, the EU’s GDP will increase to US$8.3 trillion, still well behind the NAFTA region.

Our three countries have enjoyed a thriving relationship based on derived from their decision to open doors and break down barriers. As we approach NAFTA’s tenth anniversary, markets continue to open up for a freer flow of goods, services and investment;, and our economies are integrating as never before. By expanding trade, investment and employment, the NAFTA is enhancing opportunities for the citizens of all three countries and has made our trilateral relationship more dynamic.

 

 
In looking forward, the Parties are committed to ensuring that the NAFTA strengthens this relationship. By maintaining the NAFTA rules-based framework for expanding the scope of North American business relationships , we are setting the conditions in which citizens of North America can excel.

 

Strengthening trilateral trade and investment.

By strengthening the rules and procedures governing trade and investment on this continent, the NAFTA has allowed trade and investment flows in North America to skyrocket. According to figures of the International Monetary Fund, total trade among the three NAFTA countries has more than doubled, passing from US$306 billion in 1993 to almost US$621 billion in 2002. That’s US$1.2 million every minute. In this same period:

  • Canada’s exports to its NAFTA partners increased by 87 percent in value. Exports to the United States grew from US$113.6 billion to US$213.9 billion, while exports to Mexico reached US$1.6 billion.

  • US exports to Canada and Mexico grew from US$147.7 billion (US$51.1 billion to Mexico and US$96.5 billion to Canada) to US$260.2 billion (US$107.2 and US$152.9 billion, respectively).

  • Mexican exports to the US grew by an outstanding 234 percent, reaching US$136.1 billion. Exports to Canada also grew substantially from US$2.9 to US$8.8 billion, an increase of almost 203 percent.

The NAFTA has allowed both Canada and Mexico to increase their exports to the United States, but not at the expense of each other’s share in the U.S. merchandise import market. That’s because substantial new trade has been generated throughout North America. Canada has consistently accounted for approximately 18 percent U.S. imports, while Mexico has seen its share of the U.S. imports increase from 6.8 percent in 1993 to 11.6 percent in 2002.

The NAFTA has also boosted competitiveness at the global level. The Agreement has been instrumental in making North America one of the most active trading regions in the world. The NAFTA countries now account for almost 19 percent of global exports and 25 percent of imports.

 

 
NAFTA fosters an environment of confidence and stability required to make long-term investments and partnering commitments. With a strong, certain and transparent framework for investment, North America has attracted foreign direct investment (FDI) at record levels. In 2000, FDI by other NAFTA partners in the three countries reached US$299.2 billion, more than double the US$136.9 billion figure registered in 1993. NAFTA has also stimulated increased investment from countries outside of NAFTA. North America now accounts for 23.9 percent of global inward FDI and 25 percent of global outward FDI.

 

Strengthening Prosperity in North America

For businesses and for consumers liberalized trade provides advantages. Manufacturers in the NAFTA region benefit from a greater supply of inputs at lower prices. The result has been a rise in productivity that strengthens their competitiveness in global markets.

 

 
For consumers in all three countries, NAFTA has provided more choices at competitive prices. Lower tariffs mean that families pay less for the products that they buy and they have a greater selection of goods and services, which increases their standards of living.

 

The NAFTA has provided benefits in other, sometimes unexpected, ways as well. The movement of goods and people is creating growing linkages that facilitate the exchange of ideas and methods of addressing common challenges. People of the three countries are visiting each other in increasing numbers and are forming families and friendships that span the continent, which, in turn, promotes a deeper understanding of their respective cultures.

Strengthening Environmental Protection

 

 
The NAFTA partners recognize the importance of protecting the environment for themselves and for future generations. The economic integration promoted by the NAFTA has spurred better environmental performance across the region by facilitating the transfer of green technologies and market-based solutions to environmental problems and, ultimately, by increasing national wealth. Through the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC), the partners are promoting effective enforcement of environmental laws in all three countries. The Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC), created by the NAAEC, has trilateral programs that facilitate the sharing of information, data, and best practices, promote transparency and public participation, and foster enhanced technical expertise and environmental policies among the three countries.

 

  • In 2003, the CEC Council adopted the Strategic Plan for North American Cooperation in the Conservation of Biodiversity. This is a landmark of cooperation among the NAFTA partners to protect our shared environment , and under this Plan the NAFTA Parties will identify potential collaborative opportunities for biodiversity conservation that arise from regional trade.

  • In 2002, the CEC Secretariat prepared a report on Environmental Challenges and Opportunities of the Evolving North American Electricity Market. In response, The Council established a North American Air Working Group to provide guidance to the Council and to facilitate future cooperative work on air related issues.

  • In 2002, the Parties agreed to a cooperative agenda to protect children from environmental risks, and in 2003 the CEC Council agreed to publish North America's first report on environment and health indicators for children.

  • Over the years, the CEC has prepared North American Regional Action Plans aimed at achieving sound management of chemicals. This program has resulted in the elimination of the production and use of chemicals such as DDT and chlordane within North America.

  • In 2003, the CEC organized its second North American symposium on assessing the environmental effects of trade, which focused on energy and agriculture.

In June 2003, the CEC Council agreed to work toward the development of a green purchasing action plan that is consistent with national and international obligations of the Parties.

Strengthening the Respect for Basic Labour Standards

 

 
The North American Agreement on Labour Cooperation (NAALC) adds a social dimension to the NAFTA. Through NAFTA’s labour supplemental agreement, the continental trading partners seek to improve working conditions and living standards, and commit themselves to promoting eleven labour principles to protect, enhance and enforce basic workers' rights. To accomplish these goals, the NAALC creates mechanisms for cooperative activities and intergovernmental consultations, as well as for independent evaluations and dispute settlement related to the enforcement of labour laws.

 

  • Enforcement of labor laws in the NAALC countries has been greatly enhanced through an active program of cooperative activities in key areas such as occupational safety and health, protection for migrant workers and workforce development. The tripartite participation of labor union representatives, employers and government officials in the continuing dialogue among the NAALC countries also lends important balance to the policy discussions and programs.

  • The Agreement establishes institutions and creates a formal process through which the public may raise concerns about labor law enforcement directly with governments. This process has led to 26 submissions having been filed and reviewed under the NAALC on issues such as freedom of association; the right to organize and bargain collectively, the right to strike; child labor; minimum employment standards; employment discrimination; occupational safety and health; and the protection of migrant workers.

  • Over 50 trilateral cooperative programs have been carried under the NAALC including conferences, seminars, and technical exchanges focusing on labor relations, occupational safety and health, workplace equity, and workforce development.

  • The three countries have established a Trilateral Working Group on Occupational Safety and Health. The purpose of the Working Group is to review issues raised in public submissions, formulate technical recommendations for consideration by the governments; develop and evaluate technical cooperation projects; and identify occupational safety and health issues appropriate for bilateral and trilateral cooperation.

Strengthening our Commitment for further trade liberalization.

The success of the NAFTA in increasing prosperity in our countries through the creation of more and better paying jobs, has strengthened our interest in pursuing further regional and multilateral trade liberalization The NAFTA Parties share the view that the multilateral trading system is a tremendous opportunity for all countries to strengthen their economies and societies. While the WTO’s Cancun Ministerial meeting was a set-back, Canada, the United States and Mexico remain committed to the Doha Round of negotiations and will continue to work to achieve success.

 

 nafta
At the regional level, the NAFTA Parties remain committed to the successful conclusion of the Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) negotiations by January 2005. The FTAA will build on the existing Free Trade Agreements and on the expanding links that the NAFTA countries have elsewhere in the hemisphere, allowing them take full advantage of emerging hemispheric markets.

 

In addition, at the bilateral level, each of our countries has built on the NAFTA experience to negotiate additional free trade agreements. Since 1994:

  • Canada has concluded free trade agreements with Chile, Costa Rica and Israel, and is negotiating with four countries in Central America (El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua), the European Free Trade Association, and Singapore. Canada has agreed to initiate discussions toward bilateral free trade with the Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM), the Dominican Republic (DR) and the Andean Community (Bolivia, Colombia, Peru, Ecuador and Venezuela).

  • The United States has concluded free trade agreements with Chile and Singapore, and is currently negotiating with the five countries of Central America (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua), Morocco, Australia, and the Southern African Customs Union (Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland). The United States has announced its intent to enter into negotiations with the Dominican Republic and Bahrain.

  • Mexico has concluded free trade agreements with Chile, the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Israel, Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela, Nicaragua, the Central America Northern Triangle (El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras), Costa Rica and Uruguay. Mexico is currently negotiating a free trade agreement with Japan and Argentina.

For more information about NAFTA, please visit our websites:

Canada

United States

Mexico

Pierre S. Pettigrew, Minister for International Trade, Canada
Pierre S. Pettigrew
Minister for International Trade
Canada

Robert B. Zoellick, United States Trade Representative, United States of America
Robert B. Zoellick
United States Trade
Representative,
United States of America

Fernando Canales, Secretary of the Economy, Mexico
Fernando Canales
Secretary of the
Economy, Mexico

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'ALÉNA après dix ans

L’ALENA : Une décennie de renforcement d’une relation dynamique

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) constitue une démonstration exceptionnelle des gains que peuvent obtenir des pays ouverts qui appliquent des politiques de libéralisation du commerce comme moyen d’accroître la richesse et d’améliorer la compétitivité. L’ALENA offre un exemple des avantages que pourraient retirer tous les pays en procédant à une libéralisation multilatérale du commerce. Les agriculteurs, les travailleurs et les fabricants profitent de la réduction de règles commerciales arbitraires et discriminatoires, tandis que les consommateurs bénéficient de prix plus bas et ont un choix accru.

Renforcement d’une relation dynamique

Le 1er janvier 2004 représente une étape importante pour les relations commerciales et économiques entre le Canada, les États Unis et le Mexique. Cette date marque le dixième anniversaire de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA). Il y a dix ans, les trois pays ont formé une zone de libre-échange dont le produit intérieur brut (PIB) total représente actuellement 11,4 billions de dollars américains. Cela fait de l’Amérique du Nord la plus importante zone de libre-échange au monde, avec environ un tiers du PIB mondial total, proportion beaucoup plus forte que celle que représente le PIB de l’Union européenne. Même avec l’entente de dix nouveaux membres l’année prochaine, le PIB de l’UE n’atteindra que 8,3 billions de dollars américains, chiffre encore nettement inférieur au PIB de la région de l’ALENA.

Nos trois pays ont profité d’une relation florissante, qui repose sur leur décision d’ouvrir des portes et de briser des barrières. Au moment où nous approchons du dixième anniversaire de l’ALENA, les marchés continuent de s’ouvrir à une circulation plus libre des marchandises, des services et des investissements; et nos économies s’intègrent comme jamais auparavant. Comme il permet un accroissement du commerce, de l’investissement et de l’emploi, l’ALENA améliore les possibilités pour les citoyens des trois pays et a rendu notre relation tripartite plus dynamique.

 

 

Regardant vers l’avenir, les Parties sont décidées à assurer le renforcement de la relation qu’est l’ALENA. En maintenant le cadre à base de règles de l’ALENA pour accroître la portée des relations d’affaires nord américaines, nous fixons les conditions dans lesquelles les citoyens de l’Amérique du Nord peuvent exceller.

Renforcement du commerce et l’investissement tripartites

En renforçant les règles et les procédures qui régissent le commerce et l’investissement sur ce continent, l’ALENA a permis au flux des échanges commerciaux et au mouvement des investissements en Amérique du Nord de monter en flèche. Selon les chiffres du Fonds monétaire international, la valeur totale des échanges commerciaux entre les trois pays de l’ALENA a plus que doublé, passant de 306 milliards de dollars américains, en 1993, à près de 621 milliards de dollars américains en 2002. Cela équivaut à 1,2 million de dollars américains chaque minute. Pendant cette période :

  • Les exportations du Canada vers ses partenaires de l’ALENA ont augmenté de 87 % en valeur. Les exportations vers les États Unis ont augmenté, passant de 113,6 à 213,9 milliards de dollars américains, alors que les exportations vers le Mexique ont atteint 1,6 milliard de dollars américains.

  • Les exportations des États-Unis vers le Canada et le Mexique ont augmenté, passant de 147,7 milliards de dollars américains (51,1 vers le Mexique et 96,5 milliards vers le Canada) pour atteindre 260,2 milliards de dollars américains (107,2 et 152,9 milliards de dollars américains, respectivement).

  • Les exportations mexicaines vers les États-Unis ont connu une croissance exceptionnelle de 234 %, atteignant 136,1 milliards de dollars américains. Les exportations vers le Canada ont aussi connu une augmentation très importante, passant de 2,9 à 8,8 milliards de dollars américains, soit une augmentation de près de 203 %.

L’ALENA a permis tant au Canada qu’au Mexique d’accroître leurs exportations vers les États Unis, mais pas au détriment de la part que chacun des deux pays avait du marché des importations de marchandises des États Unis. Cette situation est attribuable au fait que beaucoup de nouveaux échanges commerciaux ont été engendrés partout en Amérique du Nord. Le Canada a toujours contribué pour environ 18 % aux importations des États Unis, tandis que le Mexique a vu sa part des importations américaines augmenter, passant de 6,8 %, en 1993, à 11,6 % en 2002.

L’ALENA a aussi accru la compétitivité au niveau mondial. L’Accord a contribué à faire de l’Amérique du Nord l’une des régions commerciales les plus actives au monde. Les pays de l’ALENA réalisent maintenant presque 19 % des exportations et 25 % des importations à l’échelle mondiale.

 

 

L’ALENA favorise l’instauration d’un climat de confiance et de stabilité nécessaire pour attirer les investissements à long terme et encourager les partenariats. Avec un cadre solide, sûr et transparent pour l’investissement, l’Amérique du Nord a attiré de l’investissement étranger direct (IED) à des niveaux jamais atteints. En 2000, l’IED par d’autres partenaires de l’ALENA dans les trois pays a atteint 299,2 milliards de dollars américains, soit plus de deux fois la somme de 136,9 milliards de dollars américains observée en 1993. L’ALENA a aussi stimulé un investissement accru en provenance des pays ne faisant pas partie de l’ALENA. À l’échelle mondiale, l’Amérique du Nord compte maintenant pour 23,9 % des IED entrants et 25 % des IED sortants.

 

Renforcement de la prospérité en Amérique du Nord

La libéralisation du commerce offre des avantages aux entreprises et aux consommateurs. Les fabricants de la région de l’ALENA bénéficient d’un plus grand approvisionnement d’intrants à des prix moins élevés. Cela a eu pour résultat de faire croître la productivité et, donc, de renforcer la compétitivité de ces fabricants sur les marchés mondiaux.

 

 

Pour les consommateurs des trois pays, l’ALENA a permis de fournir plus de choix à des prix concurrentiels. En raison des droits de douane moins élevés, les familles paient moins pour les produits qu’elles achètent et un plus grand choix de biens et de services s’offre à elles, ce qui augmente leur niveau de vie.

 

L’ALENA a aussi offert d’autres avantages, parfois inattendus. La circulation des biens et des personnes crée des liens croissants qui facilitent l’échange d’idées et de méthodes pour faire face aux défis communs. Les résidents des trois pays se visitent en nombre croissant; ils forment des familles et nouent des amitiés qui s’étendent sur tout le continent, ce qui favorise une meilleure compréhension de leurs cultures respectives.

Renforcement de la protection de l’environnement

 

 

Les partenaires de l’ALENA reconnaissent l’importance de protéger l’environnement pour eux mêmes et pour les générations à venir. L’intégration économique favorisée par l’ALENA a favorisé une meilleure performance environnementale dans toute la région en facilitant le transfert de technologies vertes et de solutions axées sur le marché pouvant être appliqués aux problèmes environnementaux et, en fin de compte, en accroissant la richesse nationale. Dans le cadre de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement (ANACDE), les partenaires favorisent l’application efficace des lois environnementales dans les trois pays. La Commission de coopération environnementale (CCE), créée par l’ANACDE, applique des programmes tripartites qui facilitent le partage de l’information, des données et des meilleures pratiques, favorisent la transparence et la participation du public et contribuent à l’amélioration des politiques environnementales dans les trois pays.

 

  • En 2003, le Conseil de la CCE a adopté le Plan stratégique concerté pour la conservation de la biodiversité en Amérique du Nord. Il s’agit là d’un fait marquant dans le domaine de la coopération entre les partenaires de l’ALENA en vue de protéger l’environnement que nous partageons, et, dans le cadre de ce Plan, les Parties à l’ALENA trouveront des possibilités, découlant du commerce régional, de collaboration à la conservation de la biodiversité.

  • En 2002, le Secrétariat de la CCE a préparé un rapport intitulé “ Les possibilités et les défis environnementaux liés au marché nord-américain de l’électricité en évolution ”. Suite à la publication de ce rapport, le Conseil a créé un Groupe de travail nord-américain sur la qualité de l’air pour fournir des recommandations au Conseil et faciliter une collaboration future sur les questions relatives à la qualité de l’air.

  • En 2002, les Parties se sont entendues sur un programme concerté destiné à protéger la santé des enfants des menaces environnementales et, en 2003, le Conseil de la CCE a accepté de publier le premier rapport nord américain sur des indicateurs de la salubrité de l’environnement des enfants.

  • Au fil des ans, la CCE a préparé des Plans d’action régionaux nord-américains qui visent à en arriver à une gestion rationnelle des produits chimiques. Ce programme a entraîné l’arrêt de la production et de l’utilisation de produits chimiques comme le DDT et le chlordane en Amérique du Nord.

  • En 2003, la CCE a organisé son deuxième symposium nord-américain sur l’évaluation des effets environnementaux du commerce, qui s’est concentré sur l’énergie et sur l’agriculture.

  • En juin 2003, le Conseil de la CCE a accepté de travailler à l’élaboration d’un plan d’action pour des achats écologiques, qui est compatible avec les obligations nationales et internationales des Parties.

Renforcement du respect des normes du travail fondamentales

 

 

L’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine du travail (ANACT) ajoute une dimension sociale à l’ALENA. Par l’intermédiaire de l’accord supplémentaire sur le travail de l’ALENA, les partenaires commerciaux du continent cherchent à améliorer les conditions de travail et les niveaux de vie et s’engagent à promouvoir onze principes liés au travail en vue de protéger, d’améliorer et de mettre en application les droits fondamentaux des travailleurs. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, l’ANACT crée des mécanismes pour des activités de coopération et des consultations intergouvernementales ainsi que pour des évaluations indépendantes et le règlement de différends liés à la mise en application des lois du travail.

 

  • L’application des lois du travail dans les pays de l’ANACT a été grandement améliorée par un programme actif d’activités coopératives dans des domaines clés comme la santé et la sécurité au travail, la protection des travailleurs migrants et le perfectionnement de la main d’oeuvre. La participation tripartite de représentants des syndicats, des entreprises et des gouvernements au dialogue permanent entre les pays de l’ANACT confère aussi un équilibre important aux discussions et aux programmes touchant aux politiques.

  • L’Accord établit des institutions et crée un processus officiel dans le cadre duquel le public peut directement faire part aux gouvernements de ses préoccupations touchant l’application des lois du travail. Ce processus a mené à la présentation et à l’examen de 26 mémoires dans le cadre de l’ANACT à propos de questions telles que la liberté syndicale; le droit d’association et le droit à la négociation collective, le droit de grève; le travail des enfants; les normes minimales du travail; la discrimination dans l’emploi; la santé et la sécurité au travail; et la protection des travailleurs migrants.

  • Plus de 50 projets tripartites de coopération ont été réalisés dans le cadre de l’ANACT, y compris des conférences, des séminaires et des échanges techniques centrés sur les relations de travail, la santé et la sécurité au travail, l’équité en milieu de travail et le perfectionnement de la main d’oeuvre.

  • Les trois pays ont créé un groupe de travail tripartite sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. L’objet du groupe de travail est d’examiner les questions soulevées dans les mémoires présentés par le public; de formuler des recommandations techniques pour étude par les gouvernements; d’élaborer et d’évaluer des projets de coopération technique; et de trouver des questions en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail qui pourraient faire l’objet d’une coopération bilatérale ou tripartite.

Renforcement de notre engagement en vue d’une libéralisation accrue du commerce

Le succès qu’a eu l’ALENA pour accroître la prospérité dans nos pays suite à la création d’un plus grand nombre d’emplois mieux rémunérés a renforcé notre volonté de poursuivre la libéralisation du commerce à l’échelle régionale et multilatérale. Les Parties à l’ALENA partagent l’opinion que le système commercial multilatéral offre une occasion extraordinaire, pour tous les pays, de renforcer leurs économies et leurs sociétés. Bien que la réunion ministérielle de l’OMC à Cancun ait été une déconvenue, le Canada, les États Unis et le Mexique demeurent attachés au cycle de négociations de Doha et continueront de travailler en vue de sa réussite.

 

 nafta

Au niveau régional, les Parties à l’ALENA ont toujours à coeur la réussite, d’ici janvier 2005, des négociations devant mener à l’Accord de libre-échange des Amériques (ALEA). L’ALEA s’appuiera sur les accords de libre échange existants et sur les liens croissants que les pays de l’ALENA ont ailleurs dans l’hémisphère, ce qui leur permettra de tirer pleinement profit des marchés en développement dans cette partie du monde.

 

De plus, au niveau bilatéral, chacun de nos pays a mis à profit l’expérience acquise dans le cadre de l’ALENA pour négocier d’autres accords de libre-échange. Depuis 1994 :

  • Le Canada a conclu des accords de libre-échange avec le Chili, le Costa Rica et Israël et il est en train de négocier avec quatre pays de l’Amérique centrale (le Salvador, le Guatemala, le Honduras et le Nicaragua), l’Association européenne de libre-échange et Singapour. Le Canada a accepté d’entreprendre des négociations en vue d’un libre-échange bilatéral avec le Marché commun des Caraïbes (CARICOM), la République dominicaine et la Communauté andine (Bolivie, Colombie, Pérou, Équateur et Venezuela).

  • Les États-Unis ont conclu des accords de libre-échange avec le Chili et Singapour et sont en train de négocier avec cinq pays de l’Amérique centrale (Costa Rica, Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras et Nicaragua), le Maroc, l’Australie et l’Union douanière d’Afrique australe (Botswana, Lesotho, Namibie, Afrique du Sud et Swaziland). Les États-Unis ont annoncé leur intention d’entreprendre des négociations avec la République dominicaine et Bahreïn.

  • Le Mexique a conclu des accords de libre-échange avec le Chili, l’Union européenne, l’Association européenne de libre-échange, Israël, la Bolivie, la Colombie, le Venezuela, le Nicaragua, le Triangle nord d’Amérique centrale (Salvador, Guatemala et Honduras) le Costa Rica et L'Uruguay. Le Mexique négocie actuellement un accord de libre-échange avec le Japon et L'Argentine.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'ALÉNA,

veuillez visiter nos sites Web:

Canada

États-Unis

Mexique

Pierre S. Pettigrew, Minister for International Trade, Canada
Pierre S. Pettigrew
Ministre du Commerce
international du Canada

Robert B. Zoellick, United States Trade Representative, United States of America
Robert B. Zoellick
Représentante au Commerce des
États-Unis

Fernando Canales, Secretary of the Economy, Mexico
Fernando Canales
Secretary of the
Economy, Mexico