Cross Border Movement of Business Persons

Temporary Entry into the United States and Mexico under the North American Free Trade Agreement

A Guide for Canadian Businesspersons

Published by International Trade Canada

5. Traders and Investors

The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) allows Traders to enter the United States and Mexico to conduct substantial trade (over 50 percent) in goods or services, principally between Canada and the NAFTA member country.

The NAFTA allows Investors to enter the United States and Mexico to develop and direct a bona-fide company in which they have made a substantial investment of capital, and thereby own at least 50 percent, or maintain a controlling interest.

The Traders and Investors category also applies to businesspersons who intend to establish, develop, administer or provide consulting or technical services to manage an investment to which foreign capital has been, or is in the process of being, committed.

Employees of Traders and Investors, whose duties are supervisory or executive in nature, or whose skills are essential to the operation of the company, may also qualify.

Requests for Trader (E-1) and Investor (E-2) status are processed only at the U.S. Consulate General in Toronto. For information on how to submit an application, please refer to the U.S. Consulate Web site.

How do I qualify as a NAFTA Trader?

When applying for NAFTA Trader status you must demonstrate that:

  • you are a Canadian citizen
  • the enterprise is Canadian
  • your predominant activity is to conduct substantial trade in goods or services, principally between Canada and the U.S. or Mexico
  • you will be acting in an executive or supervisory capacity, or one which involves essential skills
  • you meet the member country’s existing temporary entry immigration requirements

How do I qualify as a NAFTA Investor?

When applying for NAFTA Investor status you must demonstrate that:

  • you are a Canadian citizen
  • the enterprise is Canadian
  • substantial investment has, or is, being made
  • the enterprise is a real, functioning commercial enterprise which operates continuously to produce some service or commodity for profit
  • you are in a position to “develop and direct” the enterprise, or if an employee of an Investor, you are in an executive or supervisory position, or one which involves essential skills
  • you meet the member country’s existing temporary entry immigration requirements

What documentation do I need at the border?

With your application, you must establish that you qualify as a NAFTA Trader or Investor.

Along with the relevant application forms, you will need to provide clear evidence of your qualifications as a Trader or Investor. You should include the following documents with your application:

  • cover letter summarizing all the attached documents
  • corporate tax returns for the past two years
  • income statement and asset/liability statement
  • loan documents, promissory notes and mortgages
  • proof of citizenship
  • proof of ownership, such as stock certificates
  • evidence of employees

United States

How can I apply as a Trader or Investor?

You must complete Form DS-156 and the supplement DS-156E, available at the U.S. Consulate in Toronto, by phone at 1 900-451-2778 (charges apply), and pay the applicable processing fee. In addition, all males between 16 and 45, regardless of nationality, must complete form DS-157. You will need to demonstrate that you meet the qualifying criteria as a NAFTA Trader or Investor before you are issued an E-1 (Trader) or
E-2 (Investor) visa.

Requests for Trader (e-1) and Investor (e-2) status are processed only at the U.S. consulate general in Toronto. For information on how to submit an application, please refer to the U.S. Consulate web site.

Once your application is approved, you will be contacted to arrange an interview in Toronto before your visa is issued. While the principal applicant must take the interview at the Consulate in Toronto, dependents on your application may choose to have their interviews at one of the other U.S. consulates in Canada. You must pay a fee before the visa(s) is issued. You will be provided with an I-94 document at a U.S. port of entry, which is your employment authorization. You must present the I-94 to the U.S. Social Security Administration to receive a social security number. Applicants should read the information on E-visas provided on the American Citizen Information Services (AMCITS) Web site.

How can I change or renew my status?

Holders of E-visas may reside in the United States as long as they continue to maintain their status with the enterprise. The E-1 and E-2 Visas, initially issued for two years, may be extended up to two additional years at a time and can be renewed indefinitely, with some exceptions. You should use Form I-129 (Petition for Temporary Worker), available on the USCIS Web site (PDF, 40.3 KB), to apply for an extension or change of your status. Please keep in mind that there is a nominal fee and that applications may take three months or longer to process. You should remain in the U.S. while your application is being processed. Leaving the country at this time may negatively affect the successful completion of your application.

You should forward your application for renewal of Trader and Investor (E-1 OR E-2) status to:

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
Texas Service Center
P.O. Box 852211
Mesquite, TX 75185-2211

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
California Service Center
P.O. Box 10129
Laguna Miguel, CA 92607-0129

If you have routine administrative questions about the processing of an application, you may contact the E-visa office by fax (416-595-5466),
e-mail
, or phone (416-595-1700, ext. 500 or 241). Please note that the E-visa office will not decide on cases over the phone.

Mexico

How can I apply as a Trader or Investor?

To work in Mexico as a Trader or Investor, you will require an approved FM-3 FORM, which you can obtain from a Mexican embassy or consulate, from a National Migration Institute office within Mexico, or on the Government of Mexico Web site.

You can also enter Mexico with a Multiple Migratory Form (FMN), which you can obtain at no charge from most travel agencies and airlines or at a Mexican port of entry. The FM-3 form is not issued at Mexican ports of entry. The FMN form is valid for up to 30 days. However, you must obtain the FM-3 form before you start work in Mexico.

When applying for an FM-3 form you must demonstrate that you meet the qualifying criteria as a NAFTA Trader or Investor. FM-3 forms are valid for one year but you may request up to four extensions of one year each before you need to get a new form. Please keep in mind that there is a processing fee for the FM-3 form, which is normally issued within five working days.

Regardless of where you apply for the FM-3, the following information will be required:

  • letter in Spanish from the employer addressed to the immigration authority
  • your passport (valid for at least six months from the date of application)
  • two recent passport-size photos (no eyeglasses)
  • cash or a money order for the application fee
  • copy of your valid FMN, if the application is being made from within Mexico

The letter from the company in Mexico must contain your full name and address, request an FM- 3 Visa, and refer to the attached documentation. In addition, it should explain the purpose of the trip, the arrangements for payment, and the location(s) of work within Mexico. Also, make sure you provide the information required to demonstrate you meet the requirements of a NAFTA Trader or Investor as outlined in the above section, “What documentation do I need at the border?”. If applying from Canada, you must forward four copies of each document. An immigration office must validate the visa within 45 days of your arrival in Mexico.

How can I change or renew my status?

If you wish to change your temporary residency status, you can apply in Mexico at a National Migration Institute office. If you are seeking an extension, you must make a declaration that there has been no change in the purpose or circumstances of your original entry.

Difficulty Entering the United States or Mexico?

Contact the Enquiries Service
Tel.: 1 800-267-8376 (toll free in Canada)
or (613) 944-4000 (in the National Capital region and outside Canada)
Fax: (613) 944-9709
TTY for the Deaf: (613) 944-9134

Table of Contents

Mouvements transfrontaliers de gens d'affaires

L’Admission temporaire aux États-Unis et au Mexique aux termes de l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain

Guide à l’intention des gens d’affaires canadiens

Publié par Commerce international Canada

5. Négociants et investisseurs

L’Accord de libre-change nord-américain (ALENA) autorise l’admission de négociants aux États-Unis ou au Mexique pour effectuer des transactions importantes (plus de 50 %) de biens ou de services, principalement entre le Canada et l’autre pays signataire de l’ALENA.

L’ALENA autorise également l’admission des investisseurs aux États-Unis ou au Mexique pour démarrer et diriger une véritable entreprise dans laquelle ils ont investi des capitaux importants et qui leur appartient donc dans une proportion d’au moins 50 %, ou dans laquelle ils détiennent une participation majoritaire.

La catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » englobe également les gens d’affaires qui projettent d’établir, de développer ou de gérer une entreprise ou encore de fournir des conseils ou des services techniques dans le cadre d’un investissement étranger réalisé ou en voie d’être réalisé. Les employés de négociants et d’investisseurs qui exercent des fonctions de supervision ou de direction ou dont les compétences sont indispensables à la bonne marche de l’entreprise peuvent aussi être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs ».

Les demandes en vue d’obtenir le statut de négociant (E-1) ou d’investisseur (E-2) sont traitées uniquement par le consulat général des États-Unis à Toronto. Pour plus de renseignements concernant la présentation d’une demande, consultez le site Web du consulat.

Quelles conditions dois-je remplir pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants » définie dans l’ALENA?

Vous pourrez être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA, si :

  • vous avez la citoyenneté canadienne;
  • l’entreprise est une entreprise canadienne;
  • vous devez consacrer l’essentiel de votre activité à effectuer un commerce important de biens ou de services, principalement entre le Canada et les États-Unis ou le Mexique;
  • vous devez exécuter des fonctions de direction ou de supervision ou encore des fonctions exigeant des compétences essentielles;
  • vous répondez aux exigences en matière d’immigration régissant l’admission temporaire dans le pays hôte.

Quelles conditions dois-je remplir pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA?

Vous pourrez être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA, si :

  • vous avez la citoyenneté canadienne;
  • l’entreprise est une entreprise canadienne;
  • un investissement important a été réalisé ou est en voie d’être réalisé;
  • l’entreprise est une exploitation commerciale réelle et active qui fonctionne de façon continue et produit des biens ou des services dans un but lucratif;
  • vous occupez un poste pour « démarrer et diriger » l’entreprise ou, si vous êtes un employé de l’investisseur, vous occupez un poste de directeur ou de gestionnaire, ou un poste exigeant des compétences essentielles;
  • vous répondez aux exigences en matière d’immigration régissant l’admission temporaire dans le pays hôte.

De quels documents ai-je besoin à la frontière?

Quand vous présentez votre demande, vous devez établir que vous appartenez à la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA.

Avec les formulaires de demande appropriés, vous devrez fournir des preuves que vous pouvez être considéré comme un négociant ou un investisseur. À votre demande, vous devrez joindre les documents suivants :

  • une lettre explicative énumérant les pièces jointes;
  • les déclarations d’impôt de l’entreprise pour les deux derniers exercices;
  • l’état des résultats et l’état de l’actif et du passif;
  • les documents de prêt, billets et hypothèques;
  • la preuve de votre citoyenneté;
  • la preuve de propriété, telle que des certificats d’actions;
  • la preuve qu’il y a des employés.

États-Unis

Que dois-je faire pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs »?

Vous devez remplir le formulaire DS-156, ainsi que le formulaire supplémentaire DS-156E; ces formulaires sont disponibles auprès du consulat général des États-Unis à Toronto, au 1 900 451-2778 (frais à votre charge); des droits sont exigibles pour le traitement de la demande. Par ailleurs, tous les hommes âgés de 16 ans à 45 ans, quelle que soit leur nationalité, doivent remplir le formulaire DS-157. Vous devrez fournir des preuves que vous répondez aux critères fixés dans l’ALENA en ce qui concerne les négociants ou les investisseurs pour qu’un visa E-1 (négociant) ou E-2 (investisseur) vous soit délivré.

Les demandes du statut de négociant (E-1) ou du statut d’investisseur (E-2) sont traitées uniquement par le consulat général des États-Unis à Toronto. Pour plus de renseignements concernant la présentation d’une demande, consultez le site web du Consulat général.

Une fois que votre demande aura été acceptée, vous serez convoqué à une entrevue à Toronto avant que le visa vous soit délivré. Le demandeur principal doit subir l’entrevue au consulat général des États-Unis à Toronto; par contre, ses personnes à charge peuvent subir leur entrevue dans un autre consulat des États-Unis au Canada. Des droits sont exigibles avant la délivrance du (des) visa(s). Au point d’entrée aux États-Unis, on vous remettra un formulaire I-94. Ce formulaire vous servira de permis de travail; vous devrez le présenter aux autorités de la sécurité sociale des États-Unis pour obtenir un numéro de sécurité sociale.

Si vous voulez présenter une demande de visa, vous pouvez consulter les renseignements concernant les visas E sur le site Web des Services d’information sur la citoyenneté américaine, American Citizen Information Services (AMCITS).

Que dois-je faire si je veux modifier ou renouveler mon statut?

Les détenteurs d’un visa E peuvent résider aux États-Unis tout le temps que leur statut au sein de l’entreprise demeurera le même. Les visas E-1 et E-2, délivrés la première fois pour une durée de deux ans, peuvent être renouvelés pour deux autres années à chaque fois que la personne en fait la demande et ce, indéfiniment, à quelques exceptions près. Pour demander le renouvellement ou la modification de votre statut, vous devez utiliser le formulaire I-129, Petition for temporary worker, disponible sur Internet (PDF, 40,3 KO). Des droits sont exigibles pour ce service et le traitement de la demande peut prendre plusieurs mois. Il est souhaitable que vous restiez aux États-Unis pendant que votre demande est traitée. Si vous quittez le pays, cela pourrait empêcher que votre demande soit acceptée.

Vous devez présenter votre demande de renouvellement du statut de négociant ou d’investisseur (E-1 or E-2) à :

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
Texas Service Center
P.O. Box 852211
Mesquite, TX 75185-2211

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services
California Service Center
P.O. Box 10129
Laguna Miguel, CA 92607-0129

Si vous avez des questions d’ordre administratif ordinaires à poser concernant le traitement d’une demande, vous pouvez communiquer avec le bureau des visas E, par télécopieur au (416) 595-5466, par courriel ou par téléphone au (416) 595-1700, poste 500 ou 241. Le personnel du bureau des visas E ne prend aucune décision par téléphone.

Mexique

Que dois-je faire pour être admis au titre de la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs »?

Pour travailler au Mexique à titre de négociant ou d’investisseur, vous devez détenir un formulaire FM-3 dûment approuvé. Vous pouvez obtenir ce formulaire en vous adressant à l’ambassade ou à un consulat du Mexique au Canada, à un bureau de l’Institut national des migrations, Instituto Nacional de Migraciòn, au Mexique, ou encore par Internet.

Vous pouvez également être admis au Mexique avec le formulaire FMN, Forma Migratoria Multiple, que l’on peut obtenir sans frais auprès de la plupart des compagnies aériennes et agences de voyage ou à n’importe quel point d’entrée au Mexique. (Le formulaire FM-3 n’est pas délivré aux points d’entrée au Mexique.) La durée de validité du formulaire FMN est de 30 jours. Cependant, vous devez obtenir un formulaire FM-3 avant de commencer à travailler au Mexique.

Lorsque vous faites une demande de formulaire FM-3, vous devez prouver que vous répondez aux critères correspondant à la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA. La durée de validité du formulaire FM-3 est d’un an, mais vous pouvez demander jusqu’à quatre renouvellements d’un an avant de devoir vous procurer un nouveau formulaire. Des droits sont exigibles pour le traitement d’un formulaire FM-3, pour lequel il faut habituellement compter cinq jours ouvrables.

Où que vous vous adressiez pour faire établir un formulaire FM-3, vous devrez fournir les documents suivants :

  • une lettre, en espagnol, de l’employeur adressée aux autorités de l’immigration;
  • votre passeport (valide pour six mois au moins à partir de la date de votre demande de visa FM-3);
  • deux photographies récentes, format passeport (sans lunettes);
  • les droits correspondant à la demande, en espèces ou sous forme de mandat;
  • une copie de votre formulaire FMN valide, si la demande est faite au Mexique.

La lettre de l’employeur au Mexique doit mentionner votre nom et votre adresse au complet, demander un visa FM-3 à votre nom et énumérer les pièces jointes. Elle doit également préciser le but de votre voyage, les modalités de votre rémunération et le (les) endroit(s) où vous travaillerez au Mexique. Ayez soin de fournir les renseignements nécessaires pour prouver que vous répondez aux critères correspondant à la catégorie « Négociants et investisseurs » définie dans l’ALENA, comme il a été exposé précédemment sous la rubrique « De quels documents ai-je besoin à la frontière? ». Si vous faites la demande à partir du Canada, vous devez envoyer quatre copies de chaque document. Une fois que vous serez au Mexique, un agent d’immigration devra valider votre visa dans les 45 jours.

Que dois-je faire si je veux modifier ou renouveler mon statut?

Si vous voulez modifier votre statut de résident temporaire, vous pouvez en faire la demande au Mexique dans un bureau de l’Institut national des migrations, Instituto Nacional de Migraciòn. Si vous voulez obtenir un renouvellement, vous devez faire une déclaration énonçant que le but et les modalités de votre séjour n’ont pas changé depuis votre admission initiale au pays.

Vous avez de la difficulté à entrer aux États-Unis ou au Mexique?

Communiquez avec le Service des renseignements :
Tél. : 1 800-267-8376 (sans frais au Canada)
ou (613) 944-4000 (dans la région de la capitale nationale du Canada et à l’extérieur du pays)
Téléc. : (613) 944-9709
ATS pour les sourds : (613) 944-9134

Table de matières