Canada - U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement

On February 12, 2010, Canada and the United States signed an agreement that will allow Canadian companies to participate in U.S. infrastructure projects financed under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. This information sheet has been prepared in order to provide an overview of the recent Canada-U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement which dealt with the Buy American requirements of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (Recovery Act).

Overview of the Recovery Act

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (“Recovery Act”) seeks to provide a significant stimulus to the U.S. economy, which has been going through a major downturn. Of concern to Canada has been the provision in the legislation that imposes a requirement that “all iron, steel and manufactured goods” used in the construction and repair of “public works and public buildings” funded by the Recovery Act be produced in the United States. Despite the requirement that the Buy American provisions be applied consistently with the United States’ international obligations, Canada remained concerned about the potential negative impact given the lack of international obligations at the sub-federal level between Canada and the United States and the fact much of the Recovery Act infrastructure spending is by way of transfers from the federal government to state and local governments. Prior to the Canada-U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement, Canada and the United States had government procurement commitments to each other at the federal level through NAFTA and WTO Government Procurement Agreement (GPA) meaning Canadian suppliers had access to federal-level procurement under this agreement. The new Agreement means that Canadian suppliers can now access many sub-federal programs, either on a permanent or temporary basis. The Canada-U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement provides the opportunity for U.S. sub-federal governments and contractors to continue to work with Canadian suppliers or renew those relationships.

Overview of the Canada-U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement

The Governments of Canada and the United States initiated negotiations and succeeded in reaching an Agreement on Government Procurement, which came into effect on February 16, 2010. This Agreement has three major components:

  • U.S. suppliers will now have guaranteed access to Canada's sub-federal markets for all provinces and territories, except Nunavut, in accordance with Canadian undertakings under the GPA in exchange for Canadian access to U.S. sub-federal markets under the U.S.' GPA commitments;
  • U.S. exemptions for Canada from the Buy American provisions of the Recovery Actfor seven (7) programs of interest, in exchange for temporary Canadian procurement commitments for construction projects for many provincial/territorial agencies not included in the WTO GPA including for Canadian municipalities; and
  • A commitment by both governments to explore the scope for a long term government procurement agreement between Canada and the U.S., within the next 12 months, to deepen, on a reciprocal basis, procurement commitments beyond those in the WTO GPA and NAFTA.

The Agreement also includes a process for expedited consultation on future concerns related to procurement issues, such as new legislation. The Agreement does not change pre-existing rights of Canadian companies to participate in U.S. federal government procurement, established under the NAFTA and WTO GPA, or of American companies to participate in Canadian federal procurement.

The Canada-U.S. Agreement pertaining to Recovery Act exemptions and its provisions apply to all 50 U.S. states and all U.S. municipalities. The Agreement also covers, on a permanent basis, the 37 U.S. states subject to the WTO GPA in accordance with their respective undertakings.

GPA Commitments

The 37 states subject to the WTO GPA are:

Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New York, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

These commitments extend to the procurement of goods, services and infrastructure construction projects (including non-Recovery Act). Consistent with WTO GPA general rules, the commitment applies to procurement by U.S. states above certain thresholds which are:

  • For goods and services, US$552,000.
  • For construction projects, US$7,777,000.

Additional information can be on the WTO Government Procurement website.

Recovery Act Buy American Exemptions

The temporary part of the Agreement exempts Canadian companies from the Buy American requirements for many infrastructure projects funded under the Recovery Act. The seven programs covered under the Agreement are:

  • 1. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Utilities Services, Water and Waste Disposal Programs
  • 2. U.S. Department of Agriculture, Rural Housing Service, Community Facilities Program
  • 3. U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grants
  • 4. U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, State Energy Program
  • 5. U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Community Planning and Planning and Development, Community Development Block Grants Recovery (CDBG-R)
  • 6. U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Public and Indian Housing, Public Housing Capital Fund
  • 7. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Clean Water and Drinking Water State Revolving Funds, for projects funded by reallocated ARRA funds where the contracts are signed after February 17, 2010

The exemption applies to infrastructure projects above the WTO GPA threshold (US$7,804,000).

Additional Information

The best overall source of information on the Recovery Act funds is the Recovery.gov website. This site indicates when funds are transferred to states and other recipients. For funds already "awarded", the Recovery.gov/transparency Web site should be consulted. Their "reporting" mechanism also shows contracts completed.

The site Recovery.gov/Accountability provides information on funding allocated (sent) by sending agency, as well as by recipient.

More information on the Canada- U.S. Agreement on Government Procurement is available on the USTR Web site or by reading the full text of the agreement.

L’Accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis

Le 12 févier 2010, le Canada et les États-Unis ont conclu un accord qui permettra aux entreprises canadiennes de participer aux projets d’infrastructure américains financés en vertu de l‘American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. La présente fiche de renseignements fait le survol du récent accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis qui traite des dispositions Buy American de l’American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (la « Recovery Act »).

Survol des dispositions de la Recovery Act

L’American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (la « Recovery Act ») vise à stimuler vigoureusement l’économie des États-Unis, laquelle a été frappée par un ralentissement majeur. Le Canada est préoccupé par les dispositions de cette loi selon lesquelles « le fer, l’acier et les produits fabriqués » qui sont utilisés pour la construction et la réparation « d’ouvrages publics et d’immeubles publics » dans le cadre de projets financés en vertu de la Recovery Act doivent tous être fabriqués aux États-Unis. Bien que les États-Unis soient tenus d’appliquer les dispositions Buy American tout en respectant leurs obligations internationales, le Canada continue d’appréhender les incidences néfastes potentielles des dispositions sur les fournisseurs canadiens. Ces préoccupations reposent sur l’inexistence d’obligations internationales s’appliquant aux marchés conclus aux échelons infranationaux entre le Canada et les États-Unis et sur le fait qu’une grande partie des dépenses prévues par la Recovery Act destinées aux infrastructures prennent la forme de transferts du gouvernement fédéral aux États et aux administrations locales. Avant la conclusion de l’accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis, les obligations à l’égard des marchés publics entre ces deux pays ne s’appliquaient qu’à l’échelon fédéral, dans le cadre de l’ALENA et de l’Accord sur les marchés publics (AMP) de l’OMC, c’est-à-dire que les fournisseurs canadiens avaient accès aux marchés publics fédéraux conformément à cet accord. Le nouvel accord signifie que les fournisseurs canadiens peuvent maintenant accéder à bon nombre de programmes infranationaux, soit à titre permanent ou provisoire. L'Accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis fournit l’occasion aux administrations infranationales et aux entrepreneurs américains de continuer à collaborer avec les fournisseurs canadiens ou de renouer ces relations d’affaires.

Survol de l’Accord sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis

Les gouvernements du Canada et des États-Unis ont amorcé des négociations et sont parvenus à conclure un Accord sur les marchés publics, lequel est entré en vigueur le 16 février 2010. Cet accord comporte trois grands volets :

  • Les fournisseurs américains jouiront maintenant d’un accès garanti aux marchés d’approvisionnement infranationaux du Canada s’appliquant à l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires, à l’exception du Nunavut, en échange d’engagements des É.-U. que les fournisseurs canadiens jouissent du même accès garanti aux marchés infranationaux américains conformément à l’engagement des É.-U. dans les dispositions de l’AMP ;
  • Des exemptions accordées par les États-Unis au Canada à l’endroit des dispositions Buy American de la Recovery Actvisant sept (7) programmes d’intérêt, en échange d’engagements temporaires de la part du Canada s’appliquant aux marchés dans le cadre de projets de construction au Canada menés par bon nombre d’organismes provinciaux et territoriaux exclus de l’AMP de l’OMC, y compris pour des municipalités canadiennes ; et
  • Un engagement des deux pays à examiner la portée d’un éventuel accord à long terme sur les marchés publics entre le Canada et les États-Unis, dans les 12 prochains mois, de façon à établir des engagements réciproques allant au-delà de ceux qui ont été pris dans le cadre de l’AMP de l’OMC et de l'ALENA.

L’accord prévoit également un processus de consultation accélérée sur toute question future pouvant soulever des préoccupations, par exemple une nouvelle loi ayant une incidence sur les marchés. L’accord ne modifie pas le droit d’accès antérieur des entreprises canadiennes aux marchés publics fédéraux des États-Unis aux termes de l’ALENA et de l’AMP de l’OMC, ou le droit des entreprises américaines à participer aux activités d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral canadien.

L’accord canado-américain qui concerne les exemptions de la Recovery Act et ses dispositions s’appliquent aux 50 États américains et à toutes les municipalités américaines. À titre permanent, l’accord couvre également les 37 États américains régis par l’AMP de l’OMC, conformément à leurs engagements respectifs à cet égard.

Engagements relatifs à l’AMP

Les 37 États américains régis par l’AMP de l’OMC sont :

Arizona, Arkansas, Californie, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Floride, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiane, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New York, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvanie, Rhode Island, Dakota du Sud, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, et Wyoming.

Ces engagements s’étendent aux marchés de biens, de services et aux projets de construction d’infrastructures (y compris ceux non visés par la Recovery Act). Conformément aux règles générales de l’AMP de l’OMC, les engagements ne n’appliquent qu’aux marchés passés par les États américains dont la valeur est supérieure à certains seuils fixés :

  • Pour les biens et services, la valeur de l’approvisionnement est 552 000 $US.
  • Pour des projets de construction, la valeur du projet est 7 777 000 $US.

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet, veuillez consulter site web des marchés publics de l’OMC.

Exemptions aux obligations liées aux dispositions Buy American de la Recovery Act

Selon l’entente provisoire faisant partie de l’accord, les entreprises canadiennes ne sont pas visées par les dispositions Buy American dans le cadre d’un bon nombre de projets d’infrastructure (et non pas l’ensemble des projets) financés en vertu de la Recovery Act.

Les sept programmes visés par l’accord sont les suivants:

  • 1. Département de l’Agriculture des États-Unis : Rural Utilities Services, Water and Waste Disposal Programs
  • 2. Département de l’Agriculture des États-Unis : Rural Housing Service, Community Facilities Program
  • 3. Département de l’Énergie des États-Unis : Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grants
  • 4. Département de l’Énergie des États-Unis : Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, State Energy Program
  • 5. Département du Logement et de l’Urbanisme des États-Unis : Office of Community Planning and Planning and Development, Community Development Block Grants Recovery (CDBG-R)
  • 6. Département du Logement et de l’Urbanisme des États-Unis : Office of Public and Indian Housing, Public Housing Capital Fund
  • 7. Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis : Clean Water and Drinking Water State Revolving Funds – Projets financés par des fonds réaffectés prévus par la Recovery Act dans les cas où les contrats sont conclus après le 17 février 2010

La dispense ne s’applique qu’aux projets d’infrastructure dont la valeur globale dépasse le seuil fixé par l’AMP de l’OMC (7 804 000 $US).

Renseignements supplémentaires

La meilleure source de renseignements est le site recovery.gov (en anglais seulement). Ce site indique lorsque les fonds sont transférés à des États ou à d’autres titulaires. Pour les fonds déjà « attribués », on devrait visiter le site Web recovery.gov/Transparency (en anglais seulement). Leur mécanisme de « rapport » indique également les projets qui sont complétés.

Le site recovery.gov/Accountability (en anglais seulement) présente de l’information sur le financement alloué (versé) par les organismes ainsi que sur le financement reçu par les titulaires des marchés.

De plus amples renseignements sur l’Accord sur les marchés publics Canada-États-Unis sont disponibles sur le site du USTR (en anglais seulement) ou en lisant le texte complet de l'accord.