Canada - Panama Free Trade Agreement

Chapter Twenty: Transparency

Section A - Publication, Notification and Administration of Laws

Article 20.01: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

administrative ruling of general application means an administrative ruling or interpretation applying to persons and situations of fact falling within the general scope of that ruling or interpretation and establishing a norm of conduct, but does not include:

  • 1. a determination or ruling made in an administrative or quasi-judicial proceeding that applies to a particular person, good or service of the other Party in a specific case; or
  • 2. a ruling that adjudicates with respect to a particular act or practice.

Article 20.02: Publication

  • 1. Each Party shall ensure that its laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting a matter covered by this Agreement are promptly published or made available in such a manner as to enable interested persons and the other Party to become acquainted with them.
  • 2. To the extent possible, each Party shall:
    • a. publish in advance any such measure that it proposes to adopt; and
    • b. provide interested persons and the other Party a reasonable opportunity to comment on these proposed measures.

Article 20.03: Notification and Provision of Information

  • 1. To the maximum extent possible, a Party shall notify the other Party of an existing or proposed measure that the Party considers might materially affect the operation of this Agreement or substantially affect the other Party's interests under this Agreement.
  • 2. On request of the other Party, a Party shall promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to an existing or proposed measure, even if the Party was previously notified of that measure.
  • 3. Any notification or information provided under this Article is without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 20.04: Administrative Proceedings

In order to ensure that measures of general application affecting matters covered by this Agreement are applied in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner, a Party shall ensure that in administrative proceedings involving specific cases, where the measures referred to in Article 20.02 are applied to particular persons, goods or services of the other Party:

  • 1. whenever possible, a person of the other Party who is directly affected by a proceeding is given reasonable notice, in accordance with domestic procedures, when it is initiated, including a description of the nature of the proceeding, a statement of the legal authority under which the proceeding is initiated and a general description of the issues;
  • 2. a person referred to in subparagraph (a) is afforded a reasonable opportunity to present facts and arguments in support of their position prior to a final administrative action, when permitted by time, the nature of the proceeding, and the public interest; and
  • 3. the administrative procedures are in accordance with domestic law.

Article 20.05: Review and Appeal

  • 1. Each Party shall establish or maintain judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative tribunals or procedures for the prompt review and, where warranted, correction of final administrative actions in matters covered by this Agreement. Each Party shall ensure that its respective tribunals are impartial and independent of the office or authority entrusted with administrative enforcement and do not have a substantial interest in the outcome of the matter.
  • 2. Each Party shall ensure that the parties to the proceeding are given the following rights in regard to the tribunals or procedures referred to in paragraph 1:
    • a. a reasonable opportunity to support or defend their respective positions; and
    • b. a decision based on the evidence and submissions of record or the record compiled by the administrative authority where this is required by domestic law.
  • 3. Each Party shall ensure, subject to appeal or review as provided in its domestic law, that such decisions are implemented by, and govern the practice of, the offices or authorities with respect to the administrative action at issue.

Article 20.06: Cooperation to Promote Increased Transparency

The Parties agree to cooperate in bilateral, regional and multilateral fora to promote transparency regarding international trade and investment.

Section B - Anti-Corruption

Article 20.07: Definitions

For purposes of this Section:

foreign public official means a natural person holding a legislative, executive, administrative, or judicial office of a foreign country, whether appointed or elected, and a natural person exercising a public function for a foreign country, including for a public agency or public enterprise;

official of a public international organization means an international civil servant or a natural person who is authorized by such an organization to act on behalf of that organization;

public function means a temporary or permanent, paid or honorary activity, performed by a natural person in the name of a Party or in the service of a Party or its institutions, at any level of its hierarchy; and

public official means a natural person holding a legislative, executive, administrative or judicial office of a Party, whether appointed or elected and whether permanent or temporary.

Article 20.08: Statement of Principles

The Parties affirm their resolve to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment.

Article 20.09: Anti-corruption Measures

  • 1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain legislative or other measures establishing the following as criminal offences in matters of international trade or investment when committed intentionally:
    • a. a public official soliciting or accepting, directly or indirectly, undue advantage for the official or another person, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of their official duties;
    • b. promising, offering or giving, to a public official, directly or indirectly, undue advantage for the official or another person, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the exercise of their official duties;
    • c. promising, offering or giving to a foreign public official or an official of a public international organization, directly or indirectly, an undue advantage for the official or another person, in order that the official act or refrain from acting in the performance of official duties, in order to obtain or retain business or other undue advantage in relation to the conduct of international business; and
    • d. aiding, abetting or conspiring to commit an offence described in subparagraphs (a) through (c).
  • 2. Each Party shall adopt such measures as may be necessary to establish its jurisdiction over criminal offences referred to in paragraph 1 that are committed in its territory.
  • 3. The Parties shall ensure that their respective sanctions for offences covered by this Section take into account the gravity of the offence.
  • 4. Each Party shall adopt such measures, as may be necessary, consistent with its legal principles, to establish the liability of enterprises for offences covered by this Section. In particular, each Party shall ensure that enterprises held liable under this Section are subject to effective, proportionate and dissuasive criminal or non-criminal sanctions, including monetary sanctions.
  • 5. Each Party shall consider incorporating in its domestic legal system at the national level appropriate measures to provide protection against unjustified treatment for a person who reports in good faith and on reasonable grounds to the competent authorities facts concerning an offence established in accordance with this Section.

Article 20.10: Cooperation in International Fora

The Parties recognize the importance of regional and multilateral initiatives to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment. The Parties agree to work together to advance efforts in regional and multilateral fora to prevent and combat bribery and corruption in international trade and investment, and to encourage and support appropriate initiatives.

Canada - Panama Accord de libre-échange

Chapitre vingt: Transparence

Section A - Publication, notification et administration des lois

Article 20.01 : Définitions

Pour l'application de la présente section :

décision administrative d'application générale s'entend d'une décision ou d'une interprétation administrative qui s'applique à des personnes et à des situations de fait généralement visées par la décision ou l'interprétation et qui établit une norme de conduite, à l'exclusion :

  • 1. d'une détermination ou d'une décision rendue dans le cadre d'une instance administrative ou quasi judiciaire s'appliquant à une personne, à un produit ou à un service particulier de l'autre Partie dans un cas précis;
  • 2. d'une décision prononcée quant à une pratique ou à un acte particulier.

Article 20.02 : Publication

  • 1. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d'application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord soient publiés sans tarder ou rendus accessibles de manière à permettre aux personnes intéressées et à l'autre Partie d'en prendre connaissance.
  • 2. Dans la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties :
    • a. publie à l'avance toute mesure du genre qu'elle envisage d'adopter;
    • b. ménage aux personnes intéressées et à l'autre Partie une possibilité raisonnable de commenter la mesure envisagée.

Article 20.03 : Notification et communication d'information

  • 1. Dans toute la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties notifie à l'autre Partie toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter et qui, à son avis, pourrait influer de façon appréciable sur l'application du présent accord ou influer considérablement sur les intérêts de l'autre Partie au titre du présent accord.
  • 2. Chacune des Parties, à la demande de l'autre Partie, fournit sans tarder des renseignements et des réponses aux questions portant sur toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter, même si l'autre Partie a préalablement reçu notification de cette mesure.
  • 3. Toute notification ou communication d'information en vertu du présent article ne préjuge aucunement de la question de savoir si la mesure en cause est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 20.04 : Procédures administratives

Afin d'administrer d'une manière cohérente, impartiale et raisonnable les mesures d'application générale touchant les questions visées par le présent accord, chacune des Parties, dans ses procédures administratives appliquant des mesures visées à l'article 20.02 à des personnes, à des produits ou à des services particuliers de l'autre Partie dans des cas précis, fait en sorte :

  • 1. que toute personne de l'autre Partie qui est directement touchée par une procédure reçoive, lorsque cela est possible et en conformité avec les procédures internes, un préavis raisonnable de l'engagement d'une procédure, ainsi que des renseignements sur la nature de la procédure, un énoncé des dispositions législatives l'autorisant et une description générale des questions;
  • 2. que toute personne visée par le sous-paragraphe a) ait une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des éléments factuels et des arguments à l'appui de sa position avant que soit prise toute mesure administrative définitive, pour autant que les délais, la nature de la procédure et l'intérêt public le permettent;
  • 3. que les procédures administratives soient conformes à la législation interne.

Article 20.05 : Révision et appel

  • 1. Chacune des Parties établit ou maintient des tribunaux ou des procédures judiciaires, quasi judiciaires ou administratifs afin que soient révisées sans tarder et, lorsque cela est justifié, corrigées les mesures administratives définitives relatives à des questions visées par le présent accord. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que ses tribunaux soient impartiaux et indépendants du bureau ou de l'autorité chargé de l'application des prescriptions administratives, et qu'ils n'aient aucun intérêt important dans l'issue de l'affaire.
  • 2. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que, eu égard aux tribunaux ou aux procédures visés au paragraphe 1, les parties à une instance bénéficient :
    • a. d'une possibilité raisonnable de soutenir ou de défendre leurs positions respectives;
    • b. d'une décision fondée sur les éléments de preuve et sur les conclusions déposés ou, lorsque la législation interne l'exige, sur le dossier constitué par l'autorité administrative.
  • 3. Chacune des Parties fait en sorte que, sous réserve d'appel ou de révision conformément à sa législation interne, les bureaux ou les autorités mettent en application les décisions, lesquelles dictent la pratique de ces bureaux ou autorités au regard de la mesure administrative en cause.

Article 20.06 : Coopération pour la promotion d'un accroissement de la transparence

Les Parties conviennent d'apporter leur coopération dans les forums bilatéraux, régionaux et multilatéraux sur les façons de promouvoir la transparence en matière de commerce et d'investissement internationaux.

Section B - Anticorruption

Article 20.07 : Définitions

Pour l'application de la présente section :

agent d'une organisation internationale publique s'entend d'un fonctionnaire international ou de toute personne physique autorisée par une telle organisation à agir en son nom;

agent public s'entend de toute personne physique occupant un poste législatif, exécutif, administratif ou judiciaire qui relève d'une Partie, qu'elle y soit nommée ou élue et que son poste soit permanent ou temporaire;

agent public étranger s'entend de toute personne physique occupant un poste législatif, exécutif, administratif ou judiciaire qui relève d'un pays étranger, qu'elle y soit nommée ou élue, et de toute personne physique qui exerce une fonction publique pour un pays étranger, y compris pour un organisme public ou une entreprise publique;

fonction publique s'entend de toute activité temporaire ou permanente, rémunérée ou menée à titre honorifique, exercée par une personne physique au nom ou au service d'une Partie ou de ses institutions à tout niveau hiérarchique.

Article 20.08 : Déclaration de principes

Les Parties affirment leur détermination à prévenir et à combattre la corruption dans le commerce et l'investissement internationaux.

Article 20.09 : Mesures anticorruption

  • 1. Chacune des Parties adopte ou maintient des mesures législatives ou autres mesures pour établir qu'en matière de commerce ou d'investissement international, constitue une infraction criminelle, lorsqu'il est commis intentionnellement :
    • a. le fait, pour un agent public, de solliciter ou d'accepter, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même ou une autre personne, en contrepartie d'un acte ou d'une omission dans le cadre de l'exécution de ses fonctions officielles;
    • b. le fait de promettre, d'offrir ou de donner à un agent public, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même ou une autre personne, en contrepartie d'un acte ou d'une omission dans le cadre de l'exécution de ses fonctions officielles;
    • c. le fait de promettre, d'offrir ou de donner à un agent public étranger ou à un agent d'une organisation internationale publique, directement ou indirectement, un avantage indu pour lui-même ou une autre personne, en contrepartie d'un acte ou d'une omission dans le cadre de l'exécution de ses fonctions officielles, en vue d'obtenir ou de conserver certaines affaires ou un autre avantage indu lié à la conduite du commerce international;
    • d. le fait d'aider ou d'inciter à la perpétration d'une infraction visée aux sous-paragraphes a) à c) ou de participer à un complot à cet égard.
  • 2. Chacune des Parties adopte les mesures nécessaires pour établir sa compétence sur les infractions criminelles visées au paragraphe 1, commises sur son territoire.
  • 3. Les Parties font en sorte que les sanctions qu'elles exercent en réponse aux infractions décrites à la présente section prennent en considération la gravité de l'infraction.
  • 4. Chacune des Parties adopte, conformément à ses principes de droit, les mesures nécessaires pour établir la responsabilité des entreprises eu égard aux infractions visées à la présente section. En particulier, chacune des Parties fait en sorte que les entreprises tenues responsables au titre de la présente section soient passibles de sanctions criminelles ou non criminelles effectives, proportionnées et dissuasives, notamment de sanctions pécuniaires.
  • 5. Chacune des Parties étudie la possibilité d'incorporer dans son système juridique interne, au niveau national, des mesures appropriées pour protéger contre tout traitement injustifié les personnes qui signalent, de bonne foi et sur le fondement de motifs raisonnables, aux autorités compétentes des faits concernant les infractions à la présente section.

Article 20.10 : Coopération dans les forums internationaux

Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance des initiatives régionales et multilatérales pour prévenir et combattre la corruption dans le commerce et l'investissement internationaux. Les Parties conviennent d'unir leurs efforts dans les forums régionaux et multilatéraux pour prévenir et combattre la corruption dans le commerce et l'investissement internationaux, et conviennent d'encourager et d'appuyer les initiatives appropriées.